加沙和平农村行动

在过去的几个月里,俄勒冈州农村居民和各种背景的人们一直组织起来,声援受到以色列和巴勒斯坦可怕暴力影响的巴勒斯坦人和以色列人。这项工作植根于每个人都享有安全和自决权的信念,建立在三十多年来人类尊严组织的基础上。 1996年,组织者发起了一项运动来回应 塞勒姆一所学校的反犹太主义传单。在 2000 年代,我们聚集在一起呼吁停止 伊拉克和阿富汗等国外战争以及国内战争 涉及加强政府监视和剥夺公民自由。 2018 年,社区在全州举办了示威活动,要求释放在边境与家人失散并被送往亚姆希尔县 FCI 谢里登的难民。 2022年我们 为乌克兰和平而组织. 俄勒冈州农村居民一次又一次地表明,我们不会容忍歧视和暴力,所有生命都是宝贵的。

在全国范围内,半岛电视台报道称,根据智库“进步数据”,“60% 的美国选民希望停火,而只有 11% 的议员支持停火。 为了回应国会脱离现实的立场,许多俄勒冈州农村居民大声呼吁停火、停止美国对以色列右翼政府的军事援助以及制止反犹太主义的兴起和这个国家的伊斯兰恐惧症。许多其他人感到陷入困境,认识到影响无辜人民的可怕暴力,但不确定如何产生有意义的影响。 

下面您将找到俄勒冈州乡村及其他地区团结行动的故事和照片摘要。 在这里没有看到您的社区代表吗? 向我们发送有关您的组织的故事、照片或文章,我们可以发布到社交媒体或分享其他综述! 您是否有关于如何在当地采取行动并希望获得支持的想法? 给我们发电子邮件 艾玛@rop.org 或直接在 Facebook 上给我们留言(@农村组织项目)或Instagram(@ruralorganizingproject).

俄勒冈州农村及其他地区的组织综述

胡德河县

自十月以来,胡德里弗的河滨教堂一直为社区提供空间,哀悼以色列和巴勒斯坦的暴力事件,并共同学习和采取行动。 12 月 22 日,正义与见证团队和教会牧师为不同信仰、年龄和背景、渴望和平的人们举办了和平与停火跨宗教守夜活动。与会者被邀请携带蜡烛和和平与停火的标志或标志。

活动邀请函还呼吁采取行动:“邀请你们将愤怒和绝望转化为行动,要求你们的总统、众议员和参议员呼吁立即停火。周日崇拜结束后,河景室将设立写信桌。停下来几分钟,采取行动结束暴力。”

人们站在蜡烛周围,举着牌子,听有人讲话。

以下是他们对守夜活动的回顾:

“上周五晚上,超过 75 人参加了加沙和平与停火跨宗教守夜活动 [...]。参与者分享了来自各种信仰传统的歌曲、圣歌、祈祷和读物,包括犹太教、伊斯兰教、基督教、巴哈教、一神论普遍主义和佛教。与会者围着一双童鞋围成一圈,敦促拜登总统及其国会领导人支持加沙立即停火。

“这些鞋子代表了过去八周内在加沙被我们购买的武器杀害的 8,000 多名儿童,”维琪牧师说。 “虽然我们不知道他们的名字,但他们有名字。我们哀悼他们再也不会奔跑、玩耍、跳跃、希望或欢笑。”

瓦洛瓦县

人类尊严领导人为农村组织者创建了一个工具包,以采取行动声援巴勒斯坦。 在这里查看他们的完整工具包,包括如何致电联邦民选官员、有关抵制和撤资运动的信息以及每周集会的详细信息(也包含在下文中)。

瓦洛厄县的组织者每周日下午 4 点至 5 点在县法院举行集会。这里是 脸书活动链接

“哈马斯 10 月 7 日在以色列发动袭击,造成 1,200 人死亡,此后,以色列政府发起了针对加沙的行动,根据消息来源,造成约 10,000 至 14,000 人死亡。截至 11 月 25 日,其中 40% 是儿童……”阅读他们声明的其余部分 这里.

沃姆斯普林斯保留地和杰斐逊县

沃姆斯普林斯和杰斐逊县的组织者一直在组织集会,呼吁他们的代表支持停火。在 12 月初在保留地举行一次集会(第一张照片)之后,他们于 12 月 16 日在马德拉斯市中心组织了第二次集会(第二张照片),以继续对话。

大约 30 人举着标语和巴勒斯坦国旗挤在一起拍照。
大约 40 人举着标语和巴勒斯坦国旗挤在一起拍照。

库斯县

南俄勒冈海岸骄傲节的青年组织者一直在参与并分享以下信息: 全国抵制 反对星巴克和其他支持以色列国的公司,以此向目前掌权的右翼政府施压。有关抵制的更多信息,请查看 北斗卫星导航系统。一名成员也是 向她的青年团体展示 关于以色列/巴勒斯坦正在发生的事情。

本顿县

科瓦利斯巴勒斯坦团结组织 (CPS)正在集结 每周六中午在法院! 他们还分享道:“我们科瓦利斯每年通过联邦税收向以色列提供近 $900,000 的军事援助。通过我们的决议,我们作为一个社区呼吁[...]立即在加沙停火并提供大量人道主义援助进入加沙,同时也谴责以色列的战争罪行[...]” 

科瓦利斯的组织者正在向市议会施压,要求其通过一项“确认对巴勒斯坦人民的支持和声援”的决议。 12 月 4 日星期一,他们收集了请愿书签名并挤满了安理会会议厅,以表示对该决议的支持。他们还鼓励社区成员在理事会会议之前提交书面证词,和/或通过电话和电子邮件联系议员。 

12 月 4 日的会议包括广泛的证词,人们对拟议的停火决议表示支持和反对。大多数反对派似乎认为,支持巴勒斯坦人本质上是反犹太主义——以色列右翼政府几十年来一直通过媒体和流行文化来强化这一主张。该委员会决定推迟对该主题的投票,并在随后的会议上继续留出空间以征求更多公众意见。该委员会已经起草了自己的和平决议措辞,但一些组织者担心这将导致措辞被淡化,无法在正义与和平方面采取足够强有力的立场。

德舒特县

俄勒冈州中部人权倡导小组 (也称为中央俄勒冈自由巴勒斯坦)一直在组织 每周集会 在本德市中心的和平角(NW Greenwood Ave 和 NW Wall St 的拐角处)。截至撰写本 ROPnet 时,集会时间为周六 12 点至 2 点,但是 在 Facebook 上关注他们, 要么 阅读来源,用于切换到该时间表。查看 当地电视新闻报道 他们的工作!

来自俄勒冈州中部各地的组织者一直在拜访参议员罗恩·怀登的本德办公室,向他施压,要求他支持停火。到目前为止,他拒绝直接与社区成员会面。

俄勒冈州中部“自由巴勒斯坦”组织也在圣诞节前几天聚集在本德,演唱“停火颂歌”,用修改后的歌词演绎传统的圣诞颂歌。他们在新闻稿中写道,“颂歌者举着印有鸽子和冬青叶的标语,上面写着‘立即停火’和‘向所有人致以善意’,同时唱着‘我梦想停火’和‘伯利恒破碎之城’的歌曲。” .'当他们唱歌时,乐队成员宣传他们的 Change.org请愿书 向公众敦促参议员罗恩·怀登和众议员洛里·查韦斯-德雷默呼吁永久停火。” 

停火现在图形化。

他们还举办了一场 电影《抵抗之光》放映,由 Unlocked Films 的 Bend 电影制片人 Jesse Locke 于 1 月 9 日创作,并促成了 当地巴勒斯坦人小组 然后。此次活动的所有收益将捐赠给巴勒斯坦儿童救济基金。 更多详情可在这找到。

50 人坐着听由四名巴勒斯坦人和白人电影制片人组成的小组的演讲。

全州行动

科瓦利斯巴勒斯坦团结组织 瓦洛瓦县的组织者还建议人们在全州范围内采取以下行动:俄勒冈州财政部已将公共退休基金投资于以色列最大的军事承包商埃尔比特系统公司。科瓦利斯巴勒斯坦团结工会分享:

“2022 年,OR PERS 通过一家私募股权公司获得了埃尔比特 500 股股份。鉴于埃尔比特弹药在加沙犯下的暴行,这项投资是不可接受的。 请通过电子邮件向负责监督公共雇员退休基金管理的俄勒冈州投资委员会发送公众意见 OIC.PublicComments@ost.state.or.us. 

让伊斯兰会议组织知道,俄勒冈州纳税人不想投资于战争罪和其他反人类罪。以下是示例脚本和谈话要点。如果您是 PERS 收件人,请在您的消息中注明…… 但无论什么时候发送,仍然会注明。

尊敬的俄勒冈州投资委员会成员,

请立即从以色列军事承包商埃尔比特系统公司撤资公职人员退休基金。作为俄勒冈州[纳税人/PERS 接受者],我反对我的[税收/养老金]被用来支持以色列对巴勒斯坦人民犯下的战争罪行。过去两个月,以色列使用埃尔比特制造的弹药和其他战争武器对加沙进行轰炸,造成近 15,000 名平民死亡,其中包括 6,000 多名儿童。俄勒冈州财政部对埃尔比特的投资使俄勒冈人参与了《日内瓦公约》所禁止的集体惩罚罪。我们不会同谋,也不会保持沉默。立即撤资!”

俄勒冈州以外的行动

科瓦利斯巴勒斯坦团结组织还建议人们通过以下方式采取国家行动: 犹太和平之声:“加沙力量半小时:将悲伤和恐惧转化为阻止种族灭绝的行动。”

                                                    ~

瓦洛瓦组织者还建议:“我们鼓励您每天致电我们的代表,要求永久停火(请感谢默克利参议员,他是第二位呼吁停火的美国参议员)。您可以使用 5 Calls 应用程序或以下位置的呼叫工具和脚本: https://act.uscpr.org/a/callforgaza。”

                                                    ~

社会主义解放党举办电影放映会 加沙为自由而战 12 月 8 日星期五下午 5 点至 7 点在 Walla Walla 公共图书馆。他们还正在创建推荐电影列表。想看看他们的名单吗?电子邮件 艾玛@rop.org 完成后我们可以分享!

标题为“加沙为自由而战”的海报图片。
简体中文

Rural Actions for Peace in Gaza

Over the past few months, rural Oregonians and people of all backgrounds have been organizing in solidarity with Palestinians and Israelis impacted by the terrible violence in Israel and Palestine. This work, rooted in the belief that everyone has a right to safety and self-determination, builds on more than three decades of human dignity organizing. In 1996 organizers launched a campaign responding to antisemitic flyers at a school in Salem. In the 2000s we came together to call for a stop to the wars abroad in Iraq and Afghanistan and the ones at home involving increased government surveillance and the dismantling of civil liberties. In 2018 communities hosted demonstrations across the state to release refugees separated from their families at the border and sent to FCI Sheridan in Yamhill County. In 2022 we organized for peace in Ukraine. Time and time again, rural Oregonians have demonstrated that we won’t tolerate discrimination and violence and that all life is precious.

Nationally, Al Jazeera reported that according to the think tank Data for Progress, “60% of US voters want a ceasefire, while only 11% of lawmakers” have supported one. In response to Congress’s out-of-touch positions, many rural Oregonians are making their voices ring loud and clear for a ceasefire, the end to US military aid to the right-wing Israeli government, and a stop to the rise of anti-semitism and Islamophobia in this country. Many others are feeling stuck, recognizing the awful violence impacting innocent people but unsure of how to have a meaningful impact. 

Below you will find a round-up of stories and photos of solidarity actions from across rural Oregon and beyond. Don’t see your community represented here? Send us stories, photos, or articles about your organizing and we can post to social media or share another roundup! Do you have ideas about how you want to take action locally and want support to get started? Email us at emma@rop.org or message us directly on Facebook (@Rural Organizing Project) or Instagram (@ruralorganizingproject).

A round-up of organizing in rural Oregon and beyond

Hood River County

Since October, Riverside Church in Hood River has been holding space for the community to grieve the violence in Israel and Palestine as well as to learn and take action together. On December 22nd, the Justice and Witness team and the church Pastor hosted an Interfaith Vigil for Peace and Ceasefire for people of all faiths, ages, and backgrounds who are hungry for peace. Attendees were invited to bring candles and a sign or symbol for peace and ceasefire.

The invitation to the event also included a call to action: “You are invited to turn your anger and despair into action by asking your president, representative, and senators to call for an immediate ceasefire. A letter-writing table will be set up in the Riverview room after worship on Sunday. Stop by for a few minutes and take action to end the violence.”

People stand around candles, holding signs and listening to someone speak.

Here is their recap of the vigil:

“More than 75 people attended an Interfaith Vigil for Peace and Ceasefire in Gaza last Friday evening […]. Participants shared songs, chants, prayers and readings from a variety of faith traditions including Judaism, Islam, Christianity, Bahai, Unitarian Universalism and Buddhism. Attendees gathered in a circle around a pair of children’s shoes, urging President Biden and their congressional leaders to support an immediate ceasefire in Gaza.

‘The shoes represent the more than 8,000 children who have been killed in Gaza in the past eight weeks by weapons that we’ve paid for,’ said Pastor Vicky. ‘Though we don’t know their names, they had names. And we mourn the fact that they will never again run, play, hop, hope or laugh.'”

Wallowa County

Human dignity leaders have created a toolkit for rural organizers to take action in solidarity with Palestine. Check out their full toolkit here, including how to call your federal elected officials, information on boycott and divestment campaigns, and details on their weekly rally (also included below).

Organizers in Wallowa County have been hosting weekly rallies on Sundays from 4-5 pm at the County Courthouse. Here is the Facebook event link

“Following the October 7th attack in Israel by Hamas which killed 1,200 people, the government of Israel launched a campaign against Gaza that has killed, depending on the source, between 10,000 and 14,000 people, approx. 40% of whom are children, as of Nov. 25th…” Read the rest of their statement here.

Warm Springs Reservation and Jefferson County

Organizers in Warm Springs and Jefferson County have been organizing rallies and calling on their representatives to support a ceasefire. After one rally on the reservation in early December (first picture), they organized a second in downtown Madras (second picture) on December 16th to keep the conversation going.

About 30 people huddle for a photo holding signs and Palestinian flags.
About 40 people huddle for a photo holding signs and Palestinian flags.

Coos County

Youth organizers who are a part of Southern Oregon Coast Pride have been participating in and sharing information about nationwide boycotts against Starbucks and other companies that support the state of Israel as a way to pressure the right-wing government, currently in power. For more information on boycotts, check out BDS. One member is also presenting to her youth group about what’s going on in Israel/Palestine.

Benton County

Corvallis Palestine Solidarity (CPS) is rallying every Saturday at noon at the Courthouse! They also shared: “We in Corvallis send Israel nearly $900,000 per year for military aid through our federal taxes. Through our Resolution, we as a community are calling for […] an immediate ceasefire in Gaza and substantial amounts of humanitarian aid to enter, but also calling out Israel’s war crimes […]” 

Corvallis organizers are pressuring the City Council to pass a resolution “Affirming Support and Solidarity with the Palestinian People.” They collected petition signatures and packed the Council Chamber on Monday, December 4th to show support for the resolution. They also encouraged community members to submit written testimony before the council meeting, and/or to contact the councilors by phone and email. 

The December 4th meeting included a wide range of testimony, with people speaking both in favor and against the proposed ceasefire resolution. Most of the opposition seemed to believe that supporting Palestinians is inherently antisemitic–a claim that the right-wing Israeli government has worked for decades to reinforce through the media and popular culture. The council decided to delay their vote on the topic and has continued to hold space at subsequent meetings for additional public comment. The council has drafted its own language for a peace resolution, but some organizers are worried that this will result in watered-down language that doesn’t take a strong enough position for justice and peace.

Deschutes County

Central Oregon Human Rights Advocacy Group (also known as Central Oregon for a Free Palestine) has been organizing weekly rallies at the Peace Corner in downtown Bend (the corner of NW Greenwood Ave and NW Wall St). As of the writing of this ROPnet, the rallies are on Saturdays from 12-2, but follow them on Facebook, or read The Source, for shifts to that schedule. Check out local TV news coverage of their work!

Organizers from across Central Oregon have been visiting Senator Ron Wyden’s Bend office to pressure him to support the Ceasefire. So far he has refused to meet directly with community members.

Central Oregon for a Free Palestine also gathered in Bend a few days before Christmas to sing “ceasefire carols,” renditions of traditional Christmas carols with modified lyrics. In their press release, they wrote “Carolers held signs with stenciled doves and holly leaves stating ‘Ceasefire Now’ and ‘Good Will to All’ as they sang songs titled ‘I’m Dreaming of a Ceasefire’ and ‘O Broken Town of Bethlehem.’ As they sang, members of the group promoted their Change.org petition to the public urging Sen. Ron Wyden and Rep. Lori Chavez-DeRemer to call for a permanent ceasefire.” 

Ceasefire now graphic.

They also hosted a film screening of Radiance of Resistance, created by Bend filmmaker Jesse Locke of Unlocked Films on January 9, and facilitated a panel of local Palestinians afterwards. All proceeds from the event will be donated to the Palestinian Children’s Relief Fund. More details can be found here.

50 people sit listening to a panel of four Palestinians and the white film maker.

Statewide Action

Corvallis Palestine Solidarity and organizers in Wallowa County are also recommending folks take the following statewide action: The Oregon State Treasury has invested Public Retirement funds in Israel’s largest military contractor, Elbit Systems. Corvallis Palestine Solidarity shared:

“In 2022, OR PERS secured a 500-share stake in Elbit through a private equity firm. Given the atrocities committed in Gaza with Elbit munitions, this investment is unacceptable. Please send a public comment to the Oregon Investment Council, which oversees the management of the Public Employee Retirement Fund, by emailing OIC.PublicComments@ost.state.or.us. 

Let the OIC know that Oregon taxpayers do not want to be invested in war crimes and other crimes against humanity. Below is a sample script and talking points. If you are a PERS recipient, please note that in your message… But no matter when it is sent, it will still be noted.

Dear members of the Oregon Investment Council,

Please immediately divest the Public Employee Retirement Fund from the Israeli military contractor Elbit Systems. As an Oregon [taxpayer/PERS recipient], I object to my [taxes/pension] being used to support Israeli war crimes against the Palestinian people. In the last two months, Israel’s bombardment of Gaza has killed nearly 15,000 civilians, including more than 6,000 children, using munitions and other weapons of war made by Elbit. The Oregon Treasury’s investment in Elbit makes Oregonians complicit in the crime of collective punishment, which is forbidden by the Geneva Conventions. We will not be complicit, and we will not be silent. Divest Now!”

Action beyond Oregon

Corvallis Palestine Solidarity is also recommending folks take national action through Jewish Voice for Peace: “Power Half-Hour for Gaza: Channel grief & fear into action to stop a genocide.”

                                                    ~

Wallowa Organizers also suggest: “You are encouraged to call our representatives daily to ask for a permanent ceasefire (please thank Senator Merkley, who is only the 2nd US Senator to have called for one). You can use the 5 Calls app or the call tool and script found at https://act.uscpr.org/a/callforgaza.”

                                                    ~

Party for Socialism and Liberation hosted a film screening of Gaza Fights for Freedom on Friday, December 8th from 5-7 pm at the public library in Walla Walla. They are also creating a list of recommended films. Want to see their list? Email emma@rop.org and we can share it once it’s done!

Image of a poster titled "Gaza fights for freedom."
Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English