在 Cottage Grove 抵抗新纳粹分子

在 Cottage Grove,一个空荡荡的店面里挂着一条横幅,这里曾经是当地博物馆的所在地,它宣布了一项新业务:狼族军械库。这家商店以前位于邻近的 Creswell 社区,出售刀具和生存装备,但更重要的是,它被用作 I-5 走廊对面新纳粹分子的聚集地。它由 Laskey 家族拥有和经营,其中包括 Jake Laskey,据说他领导美国阵线,这是一个长期存在的新纳粹光头党团伙。虽然大多数城镇都欢迎新企业占据以前关闭的店面,但宣布狼族军械库到来的横幅 为 Cottage Grove 的人们敲响了警钟.在进行了自己的研究并查看了狼族军械库的社交媒体后,当地人感到震惊,他们立即采取行动,在教室、企业和客厅聚集和组织,以评估和计划下一步行动。

政治研究协会报告说:“几十年来,美国阵线的成员参与了袭击、谋杀、驾车枪击和犹太教堂袭击。”杰克·拉斯基本人因与他的兄弟袭击尤金的一座犹太教堂并谋求谋杀而在联邦监狱服刑。获释后,他回到狼族军械库工作,直到他再次因刺伤他人而被捕,目前正在监狱等待审判。 在政治研究协会的简介中阅读有关杰克·拉斯基和美国阵线的更多信息 以下。

Cottage Grove 惊慌失措的社区成员召开了一个仅限受邀者参加的会议,以在安全的空间中共享信息并讨论下一步行动。会议吸引了来自整个社区的 40 多人,包括市中心的企业主、教师、学生和农民,他们就市中心的新纳粹分子对社区安全、商业、旅游等方面的负面影响进行了发言。在会议上,人们分享了关于美国阵线、狼族军械库以及拉斯基家族与白人权力帮派和新纳粹运动的关系的文章和研究。

学生们讨论了他们的同龄人如何会兴奋地去镇上的一家刀具店,在这样一个经济遭受破坏的地区,青少年无所事事,剥削拼命寻找社区的年轻人是多么容易。有几个人讲述了他们在大街上的新地点与 Laskeys 的谈话,他们坚称他们与新纳粹分子没有任何联系,并且杰克在离开监狱后进行了改革。杰克假释的条款之一是禁止参与白人至上主义组织,但不幸的是,有很多证据表明杰克一直在组织和招募,狼族军械库一直是组织和招募发生的地方(见以下)。房间里的每个人都同意:这需要社区立即做出回应。

一个共同的行动计划汇集在一起:1.) 打电话给大楼的房东,分享社区将支持她将 Wolfclan Armory 搬出大楼,2.) 打电话给 Cottage Grove 商会,为他们对房东的支持打气,并且其他企业正在调查让 Wolfclan Armory 出城的可能选择,以及 3.) 当人们感到害怕时,很容易关闭、孤立和互相反对,所以人们离开会议致力于共享信息并切断与邻居的谣言,打破了这种孤立。每个人都同意他们想要一个每个人都可以在城里感到安全和受欢迎的社区,并致力于专注于为社区中的每个人建立安全所需要的一切。他们确定了下一次会议的日期并开始工作!

很快,消息传来,房东不希望狼族军械库进入她的大楼,但她签了一年的租约。房东后来分享说,她让一位律师审查租约,看看是否有任何解决办法。社区成员继续与房东联系,了解是否取得进展。

当房东与她的律师一起审查她的案件时,社区成员正在拉票主街与企业主交谈并分享有关 Wolfclan Armory 的准确信息,以尽量减少谣言并澄清他们与白人至上主义活动的联系。学区已通知当地所有学校的管理人员。教师和学校董事会成员正在讨论如何建立谈论大屠杀的课程(杰克·拉斯基写了一本否认大屠杀发生的书)并消化当我们“其他”邻居时会发生什么。人们正在设计一张海报,贴在市中心的商业橱窗里,以支持 Cottage Grove 成为一个欢迎所有人的社区的愿望。

Cottage Grove 的组织活动让人想起了数十个例子,这些例子表明,当与社区无关的掠夺者来到城镇时,俄勒冈州的农村社区和小镇如何成功地动员起来维护社区的价值观。 约瑟芬县 1,500 人游行反对雅利安民族 1995年, 格兰特县在 2010 年推出了雅利安民族的一个分支, 哈尼县和伯恩斯派尤特部落在 2016 年推出了所谓的爱国者队之间,有无数社区以包容、欢迎和所有人安全的前瞻性愿景来对抗偏见和仇恨的例子。

在农村核心小组和战略会议上与 Cottage Grove 组织者见面 星期六,5 月 19 日 在达尔斯,并在下面查看政治研究协会关于杰克拉斯基和美国阵线的简介。

杰克·拉斯基和美国阵线
作者:Spencer Sunshine,政治研究协会

在尤金以南的俄勒冈州小镇 Cottage Grove,一个曾经是当地博物馆的空荡荡的店面上的标志宣布了一项新业务:Wolfclan Armory。虽然大多数城镇会欢迎新血液,但 抗议活动已经开始.这家商店出售刀具和生存装备,由 Laskey 家族所有 想搬家 来自俄勒冈州较小的克雷斯韦尔,以便他们可以发展业务。但有一个问题:经营这家商店的拉斯基家族包括雅各布“杰克”拉斯基,据说他领导美国阵线,这是一个长期存在的新光头党团伙。几十年来,美国阵线的成员参与了袭击、谋杀、驾车枪击和犹太教堂袭击。拉斯基本人因袭击犹太教堂和谋求谋杀而在联邦监狱服刑,目前正在监狱等待新的指控。

美国阵线前四位领导人:1984—2012

复兴的美国阵线现在是它的第五个化身。它由鲍勃·海克 (Bob Heick) 于 1984 年在旧金山创立,并成为美国最早的全国性新光头党组织之一。美国阵线于 1988 年和 1990 年在旧金山举行了白人工人日游行,并与汤姆梅茨格的白人雅利安抵抗运动密切合作。

Heick 于 1990 年搬到俄勒冈州的波特兰,1988 年 11 月,埃塞俄比亚移民穆卢格塔·塞劳 (Mulugeta Seraw) 在那里被白雅利安抵抗运动附属的新纳粹光头党杀害。一位移居那里的主要种族主义领袖不受欢迎,他很快就从他的职位上退休了。到 1990 年代中期,詹姆斯·波拉佐取代了他。波拉佐驱使美国阵线进入 严肃的三等政治;一种反资本主义的法西斯主义,寻求种族分离主义而不是霸权,这意味着他们寻求与也是种族分离主义者的有色人种结盟。波拉佐甚至赞扬了基地组织。 9/11之后,这让美国阵线成为联邦关注的焦点,波拉佐沉寂了很多年。

到 2005 年,他被第三位领导人大卫林奇取代,他带领组织回归更传统的新纳粹光头党政治,与类似的团体合作,如 Volksfront 和 Hammerskins。在林奇的领导下,美国阵线支持被囚禁的 The Order 成员,这是一个臭名昭著的 1980 年代早期地下种族主义组织,从事暗杀和抢劫。

林奇 2011 年 3 月未破的谋杀案引发了领导层的不和。 Porrazzo 回来并试图在组建他自己的组织 New Resistance 之前再次接管该组织。佛罗里达分会的领导人马库斯·法埃拉 (Marcus Faella) 成为美国阵线的新领导人,直到他和其他 13 名成员于 2012 年被捕并被指控策划发动种族战争。 2014 年 11 月,Faella 被判处 入狱仅六个月 进行准军事训练,但他的领导角色结束了。 Faella 的上诉律师是 奥古斯都无敌, 一位极右翼活动家,2017 年 8 月在弗吉尼亚州夏洛茨维尔举行的法西斯领导的“团结右翼”集会的预定发言人之一,该集会以反种族主义活动家希瑟·海耶被谋杀而告终。

多年来,美国阵线成员因各种罪行而入狱。 1990 年,七名美国阵线成员,包括当时的佛罗里达分会领袖理查德迈尔斯, 试图杀死一名成员 他们发现的秘密是犹太人;迈尔斯被判处十年徒刑。同年,在加利福尼亚,迈克尔·吉尔伯特·奥尔蒂斯 (Michael Gilbert Ortiz) 在杀死一名反种族主义光头党后被判九年,而在乔治亚州,罗伯特·昆西·史密斯 (Robert Quincy Smith) 因殴打一名他认为背叛了他的少年而被定罪。 1994 年,马克·弗兰克·科瓦尔斯基(又名马克·史蒂文森)因轰炸华盛顿州有色人种协进会大楼而被判刑 11 年以上。同年,俄勒冈州尤金市犹太教堂贝丝以色列的一次驾车射击以克里斯托弗洛德被判入狱告终。 1995 年,梅森·奥尔德里奇因亵渎宾夕法尼亚州的一座犹太教堂而被定罪。 1997 年在丹佛,Jeremiah Mark Barnum 谋杀了一名西非移民并使另一个人瘫痪。 1998 年,波拉佐因在密苏里州袭击一名反种族主义活动家而被判一年徒刑。罗伯特克莱德于 2001 年在加利福尼亚州里弗赛德因威胁和仇恨犯罪被捕。 2006 年,大卫兰斯加德纳因在犹他州盐湖城袭击一名黑人而被判近 9 年。 2010 年,克里斯托弗·布鲁克斯因在弗吉尼亚州诺福克市破坏犹太教堂而被判刑。同年,肯特麦克莱伦和理查德亚当斯托克代尔分别因故意破坏和殴打在佛罗里达州被判刑。

杰克·拉斯基和美国前线的第五代

2015 年 10 月,杰克·拉斯基从俄勒冈州的联邦监狱获释。 Laskey 曾是 Volksfront 的成员,该组织最初是一个俄勒冈州新纳粹监狱团伙,在外面发展了成员。 Laskey 是该组织的囚犯事务协调员,因此与 Volksfront 成员 Kurtis Monschke 保持联系,后者因在华盛顿州谋杀而被捕(最终被判处 不得假释的生活)。 Volksfront 还积极支持谋杀 Seraw 的 Kenneth Mieske。 Laskey 代表 Volksfront 参加了爱达荷州 2003 年雅利安国家世界大会等活动,并吹嘘说他“亲自邀请”了现已去世的雅利安国家创始人理查德巴特勒参加他的最后一次公开演讲。

拉斯基于 2000 年在佛罗里达州杰克逊维尔因仇恨犯罪被捕,此前他和另外两人在新纳粹光头党节后袭击了一名黑人。 (拉斯基只接受了缓刑。)2002 年,拉斯基与其他四人,包括他的兄弟加布里埃尔一起,向贝斯以色列圣殿投掷了刻有万字符的石头,这也是 1994 年驾车射击目标的尤金犹太教堂。由于 Laskey 还威胁要杀死一名证人并扰乱大陪审团,因此在 2007 年 4 月他被 被判刑十一年.加布里埃尔·拉斯基 也隶属于 与 Volksfront 合作,今天在 Wolfclan 工作,获得六个月的工作释放和五年的试用期。

根据反种族主义监测组织 One People's Project 的说法,拉斯基在 2010 年称自己为美国阵线成员,当时他仍在狱中。他一被释放,就传来警告说他打算重建美国阵线。 Laskey 是许多自行出版的书籍的作者,包括 灰皮书,这在亚马逊上被描述为美国阵线的计划和宪法。在 2016 年冬季的一次会议上(Invictus 作为发言人),他们以新的结构和战略重新启动了该小组。由于 Laskey 被公开与这次会议有关,亚马逊的书描述说他“立即被他的联邦缓刑官警告说,如果他继续参与此类活动或因为违反条件而离开州,他将重新入狱。他的缓刑。从那以后,他不得不与任何政治活动保持距离,直到他在 2019 年成功完成缓刑。”

这解释了 Laskey 一直拒绝表明自己是美国阵线或其任何相关组织(包括 Greystorm Productions、美国民族主义阵线和美国爱国者旅 (APB))的成员的原因。 Laskey 还是 APB 章程的作者,该章程被描述为“官方支持俱乐部和美国阵线的唯一盟友”。在 Laskey 的众多漫无边际的其中之一中 YouTube 视频,他说:“我不是这个 AF [美国阵线] 的成员。我退休了,”在另一个中,“我不是白人至上主义者......我是一个反抗法至上主义者。”他说这家店 会卖产品 对任何人:“我们 Wolfclan Armory 不歧视任何人的种族、民族、性别、性取向或任何类似的东西。”

尽管如此,除了他自己出版的书——其中包括否认大屠杀的著作 质疑六百万的骗局——他清楚地表明他的信念没有改变。他的纹身包括脖子后面的美国阵线标志;右侧脸的“白色力量”;一个卐字符,以及他手指上的“14”和“88”(这是“十四个字”和“希特勒万岁”的字母数字代码);在他的脖子上写着“2yt4u”(发音为“too white for you”)。他特别拒绝为他“过去”的信仰和行为谴责或道歉。 2015 年,他的推特横幅上有一个美国阵线的标志,2015 年 12 月的一条推文说“美国阵线正式回归!”美国阵线的推特账号经常转发 Wolfclan。在 2017 年 6 月的合影中,拉斯基 正在穿 美国前线补丁。最近,拉斯基主张支持法西斯传统工人党成员威廉·普莱纳 (William Planer),他因参与 2016 年加利福尼亚州萨克拉门托的对抗而被捕,这场对抗以多次刺伤反种族主义活动家而告终。

在另一段视频中,拉斯基说“我不是纳粹”——戴着黑太阳补丁,在一面巨大的黑太阳旗帜前讲话。黑太阳是与纳粹主义直接相关的象征;它取自德国纳粹领导人海因里希希姆莱城堡的设计。这对 Laskey 的观众来说是一个清晰的视觉信息,尽管他说了这么多,但它传达了他的实际信仰。这一切似乎都是一种规避缓刑规则的诡计。

然而,美国阵线和 APB 的其他成员对他们的政治工作不那么害羞。他们包括 Matthew Combs,他的妻子 Bethany Sherman 在俄勒冈州尤金经营大麻测试业务,在他作为这些团体的成员被曝光后引发了丑闻,而 Sherman 则是同一圈子的参与者。包括库姆斯在内的成员在俄勒冈州斯普林菲尔德的“种族灭绝”吉米马尔的房子前参加了支持大屠杀的否认示威;马尔以驾驶汽车而闻名 带有纳粹标志的卡车 在俄勒冈州的 I-5 走廊附近。

2018 年 1 月,拉斯基因对另一名据称是美国阵线成员的刀袭击而被捕,并在 2018 年 2 月被拒绝保释金后仍被关押。他并未因与白人至上主义者有关联而被宣布违反缓刑条款,或者再次被捕——至少目前还没有。他的母亲珍妮特·拉斯基 (Jeanette Laskey) 也与丈夫一起在 Wolfclan 工作,她为这家新店辩护,称他们都不是种族主义者。 (这家商店悬挂邦联旗帜并出售伊斯兰恐惧症用具,例如“骄傲的美国异教徒”帽子,上面写着“用培根和子弹长大”。)然而,来自区域性 Discord 服务器的泄漏,这是白人民族主义者用于团体的在线服务讨论,表明种族主义活动家正在使用 Wolfclan 进行聚会。位于 Cottage Grove 主街的新狼族军械库将有可能成为俄勒冈州西部新纳粹分子的中心和焦点。

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Resisting Neonazis in Cottage Grove

In Cottage Grove, a banner in an empty storefront that used to house a local museum announces a new business: Wolfclan Armory. The store, previously located in the neighboring community of Creswell, sells knives and survivalist gear, but more importantly has been used as a gathering place for neonazis across the I-5 corridor. It is owned and ran by the Laskey family, including Jake Laskey, who is said to lead the American Front, a long-standing neonazi skinhead gang. While most towns would welcome new businesses to occupy previously shuttered storefronts, the banner announcing Wolfclan Armory’s arrival rang alarm bells for folks in Cottage Grove. Shocked after doing their own research and looking at Wolfclan Armory’s social media, locals jumped into action, gathering and organizing in classrooms, businesses, and living rooms to assess and plan next steps.

Political Research Associates reports: “Over several decades, members of the American Front have been involved in assaults, murders, drive-by shootings, and synagogue attacks.” Jake Laskey himself served a long federal prison sentence for attacking a synagogue in Eugene with his brother and soliciting murder. After his release, he returned to work at Wolfclan Armory until he was arrested again for and is currently in jail awaiting trial for stabbing someone. Read more about Jake Laskey and the American Front in the profile from Political Research Associates below.

Alarmed community members in Cottage Grove convened an invitation-only meeting to share information and discuss next steps in a secure space. The meeting drew over 40 people from across the community, including downtown business owners, teachers, students, and farmers speaking to the negative impact of having neonazis in downtown on community safety, business, tourism, and more. At the meeting, folks shared articles and research on the American Front, Wolfclan Armory, and the Laskey family’s relationships to white power gangs and the neonazi movement.

Students discussed how their peers could be excited to go to a knife store in town and, in such an economically devastated area with so little for teens to do, how easy it would be to exploit young folks desperately looking for community. Several people recounted the conversations they had with the Laskeys in their new location on Main Street, who insisted they had no connection to neonazis and that Jake was reformed since leaving prison. One of the terms of Jake’s parole was to refrain from engaging in white supremacist organizing, but unfortunately, there is much evidence to demonstrate that Jakehas continued to organize and recruit , and that the Wolfclan Armory has been a place where organizing and recruiting happened (see below). Everyone in the room agreed: this needs an immediate community response.

A shared plan of action came together: 1.) Call the building’s landlord, share that the community will support her to get Wolfclan Armory out of the building, 2.) Call the Cottage Grove Chamber of Commerce to cheerlead their support for the landlord and other businesses surveying the possible options for getting Wolfclan Armory out of town, and 3.) When folks are scared, it’s easy to shut down, isolate, and turn against each other, so folks left the meeting committed to share information and cut through the rumors with their neighbors, breaking that isolation. Everyone agreed that they want a community where everyone can feel safe and welcomed in town, and are committed to focus on what it will take to build safety for everyone in the community. They set the next meeting date and got to work!

Soon, the news was shared that the landlord does not want Wolfclan Armory in her building, but she signed a one year lease. The landlord later shared that she had a lawyer reviewing the lease to see if there was any way out of it. Community members continue to follow up with the landlord for updates on whether progress is being made.

While the landlord reviews her case with her lawyer, community members are canvassing Main Street to talk with business owners and share accurate information about Wolfclan Armory to minimize rumors and clarify their connections to white supremacist activity. The school district has notified the administrators of all of the local schools. Teachers and school board members are discussing ways to build curriculum that talks about the Holocaust (Jake Laskey has authored a book denying the Holocaust happened) and digests what happens when we “other” our neighbors. Folks are designing a poster to put in downtown business windows that upholds Cottage Grove’s aspirations to be a welcoming community for all.

The organizing in Cottage Grove is reminiscent of dozens of examples of how rural communities and small towns across Oregon have successfully mobilized to uphold their community’s values when predators, who have no stake in the community, have come to town. 1,500 people marched in Josephine County against the Aryan Nation in 1995, Grant County pushed out a splinter of the Aryan Nation in 2010, Harney County and the Burns Paiute Tribe pushed out the so-called Patriots in 2016, and in between there have been countless examples of communities countering bigotry and hate with a forward-looking vision of inclusion, welcoming, and safety for all.

Come meet Cottage Grove organizers at the Rural Caucus & Strategy Session on Saturday, May 19th in The Dalles, and check out the Political Research Associates’ profile on Jake Laskey and the American Front below.

Jake Laskey and the American Front
By Spencer Sunshine, Political Research Associates

In the small Oregon town of Cottage Grove, just south of Eugene, a sign on an empty storefront that used to house a local museum announces a new business: Wolfclan Armory. While most towns would welcome the new blood, instead protests have already begun. The store, which sells knives and survivalist gear, is owned by the Laskey family and wants to move from the smaller Creswell, Oregon so they can grow their business. But there’s a hitch: the Laskey clan which runs the shop includes Jacob “Jake” Laskey, who is said to lead the American Front, a long-standing neonazi skinhead gang. Over several decades, members of the American Front have been involved in assaults, murders, drive-by shootings, and synagogue attacks. Laskey himself served a long federal prison sentence for a synagogue attack and soliciting murder, and is currently in jail awaiting new charges.

THE AMERICAN FRONT’S FIRST FOUR LEADERS: 1984—2012

The revived American Front is now in its fifth incarnation. It was started in 1984 in San Francisco by Bob Heick, and became one of the first U.S. national neonazi skinhead organizations. The American Front held White Workers Day marches in San Francisco in 1988 and 1990, and worked closely with Tom Metzger’s White Aryan Resistance.

Heick moved to Portland, Oregon in 1990, where, in November 1988, Ethiopian immigrant Mulugeta Seraw was murdered by White Aryan Resistance-affiliated neonazi skinheads. A major racist leader moving there was not taken well, and he soon retired from his position. By the mid-1990s, James Porrazzo replaced him. Porrazzo drove the American Front into serious Third Position politics; a strain of fascism that is anti-capitalist and seeks racial separatism instead of supremacy, meaning they seek alliances with people of color who are also racial separatists. Porrazzo went so far as to praise Al-Qaeda. After 9/11, this made the the American Front the focus of federal attention, and Porrazzo went quiet for many years.

By 2005 he was replaced by a third leader, David Lynch, who steered the organization back to more traditional neonazi skinhead politics, working with similar groups like Volksfront and the Hammerskins. Under Lynch’s leadership, American Front supported imprisoned members of The Order, a notorious early-1980s underground racist group that engaged in assassinations and robberies.

Lynch’s March 2011 unsolved murder set off a leadership feud. Porrazzo came back and tried to take the organization over again before forming his own group, New Resistance. Marcus Faella, the leader of the Florida chapter, became the American Front’s new leader until he and thirteen other members were arrested in 2012 and accused of plotting to start a race war. In November 2014, Faella was sentenced to only six months in jail for conducting paramilitary training, but his leadership role ended. Faella’s appeal lawyer was Augustus Invictus, a Far Right activist who was one of the scheduled speakers at the fascist-led “Unite the Right” rally in Charlottesville, Virginia in August 2017, which ended with the murder of anti-racist activist Heather Heyer.

American Front members have served time in prison for a variety of crimes over the years. In 1990, seven American Front members, including then-Florida chapter leader Richard Myers, tried to kill a member who they found out was secretly Jewish; Myers was sentenced to ten years. The same year, in California, Michael Gilbert Ortiz received nine years after killing an anti-racist skinhead, while in Georgia Robert Quincy Smith was convicted for beating a teenager he thought betrayed him. In 1994, Mark Frank Kowaalski (aka Mark Stevenson) received over eleven years for bombing a Tacoma, Washington NAACP building. The same year a drive-by shooting at the Eugene, Oregon synagogue Temple Beth Israel ended in a prison sentence for Christopher Lord. In 1995, Mason Aldrich was convicted for desecrating a synagogue in Pennsylvania. In 1997 in Denver, Jeremiah Mark Barnum murdered a West African immigrant and paralyzed another person. In 1998, Porrazzo was given a one-year sentence for assaulting an anti-racist activist in Missouri. Robert Clyde was arrested in for making threats and a hate crime in Riverside, California in 2001. In 2006, David Lance Gardner was given almost nine years for an attack on a black man in Salt Lake City, Utah. In 2010, Christopher Brooks was sentenced for synagogue vandalism in Norfolk, Virginia. And the same year, Kent McLellan and Richard Adam Stockdale were both sentenced in Florida for vandalism and battery, respectively.

JAKE LASKEY AND THE FIFTH GENERATION OF THE AMERICAN FRONT

In October 2015 Jake Laskey was released from federal prison in Oregon. Laskey had been a member of the Volksfront, originally an Oregon neonazi prison gang that developed members on the outside. Laskey was the group’s Prisoner Affairs Coordinator, and as such was in touch with Volksfront member Kurtis Monschke, who was arrested for murder in Washington state (and was eventually was sentenced to life without parole). Volksfront also was active in supporting Kenneth Mieske, who murdered Seraw. Laskey represented Volksfront at events like Idaho’s 2003 Aryan Nations World Congress, and bragged that he had “personally invited” now-deceased Aryan Nations founder Richard Butler to his last public talk.

Laskey had been arrested for a hate crime in Jacksonville, Florida in 2000 after he and two others attacked a black man following a neonazi skinhead festival. (Laskey only received probation.) In 2002—along with four others, including his brother Gabriel—Laskey threw rocks etched with swastikas at Temple Beth Israel, the same Eugene synagogue that had been the 1994 drive-by shooting’s target. Because Laskey also threatened to kill a witness and disrupt a grand jury, in April 2007 he was sentenced to eleven years. Gabriel Laskey, who was also affiliated with Volksfront and today works at Wolfclan, got off with six months work release and five years of probation.

According to the anti-racist monitoring group One People’s Project, Laskey was referring to himself as an American Front member by 2010, while still in prison. As soon as he was released, warnings were circulated that he was intent on rebuilding the American Front. Laskey is the author of a number of self-published books, including The Grey Book, which is described on Amazon as the program and constitution of the American Front. At a winter 2016 meeting (which featured Invictus as a speaker), they relaunched the group with a new structure and strategy. Since Laskey was publicly identified with the meeting, the Amazon book description says he “was immediately warned by his federal Probation Officer that he will go back to prison if he continues to be involved in such activities or go out of state as they were against conditions of his probation. He has since had to distance himself from any political activities until he successfully completes probation in 2019.”

This explains Laskey’s continual refusal to identify himself as a member of the American Front, or any of its related organizations, which include Greystorm Productions, the American Nationalist Front, and the American Patriots Brigade (APB). Laskey is also the author of the constitution of the APB, which is described as “the official Support Club and only ally of the American Front.” In one of Laskey’s many rambling YouTube videos, he says “I’m not a member of this AF [American Front]. I retired,” and in another, “I am not a white supremacist… I am an anti-antifa supremacist.” He says the store will sell products to anyone: “We at Wolfclan Armory do not discriminate against anyone’s race, ethnicity, gender, sexual orientation or anything of the like.”

Nonetheless, in addition to his self-published books—which include the Holocaust Denial work Questioning the Hoax of the Six Million—he clearly indicates that none of his beliefs have changed. His tattoos include the American Front logo on the back of his neck; “White Power” on the right side of his face; a swastika, as well as “14” and “88” on his fingers (which are alphanumeric code for the “Fourteen Words” and “Heil Hitler”); and on his neck, “2yt4u” (pronounced “too white for you”). He specifically refuses to denounce or apologize for his “past” beliefs and actions. In 2015, his Twitter banner had an American Front logo, and a December 2015 tweet said “American Front is officially coming back!” The American Front twitter account frequently retweets Wolfclan. In a group picture from June 2017, Laskey is wearing an American Front patch. More recently, Laskey has advocated support for  William Planer, a member of the fascist Traditionalist Worker Party who was arrested for his part in a 2016 Sacramento, California confrontation which ended with multiple stabbings of anti-racist activists.

In another video, Laskey says “I’m not a Nazi”—while wearing a Black Sun patch while speaking in front of a huge Black Sun flag. The Black Sun is a symbol directly associated with Nazism; it taken from a design in German Nazi leader Heinrich Himmler’s castle. This is a clear visual message to Laskey’s viewers, which communicates what his actual beliefs are, despite his words. This all appears to be a ruse to skirt the rules of his probation.

Other members of the American Front and the APB are less shy about their political work, however. They include Matthew Combs, whose wife Bethany Sherman runs a marijuana testing business in Eugene, Oregon, which created a scandal after he was outed as a member of these groups, and Sherman as a participant in the same circles. Members, including Combs, have taken part in a pro-Holocaust Denial demonstration in front of “Genocide” Jimmy Marr’s house in Springfield, Oregon; Marr is well-known for driving a swastika-emblazoned truck around Oregon’s I-5 corridor.

In January 2018 Laskey was arrested for a knife attack on another alleged American Front member, and remains in jail after being denied a bail reduction in February 2018. He has not been declared in violation of the terms of his probation for associating with White supremacists, or for being arrested again—at least not as of yet. His mother, Jeanette Laskey, who also works at Wolfclan with her husband, defends the new store by saying that neither of them are racist. (The store flies Confederate flags and sells Islamophobic  paraphernalia, such as a “proud American infidel” cap with the words “raised on bacon and bullets.”) However, leaks from a regional Discord server, an online service used by White Nationalists for group discussions, show that racist activists are using Wolfclan for meetups. A new Wolfclan Armory on Cottage Grove’s Main Street will potentially become a center and focal point for western Oregon neonazis.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English