弹性社区

 

民主经济的家乡战略是以地方为重点的项目或计划,人类尊严团体正在使用这些项目或计划来建立一个可以在我们新的经济现实中生存的强大社区,并努力实现使民主经济成为现实的长期目标。 
家乡战略旨在扩大我们的运动,联系在一起并建立长期的关系。

***

在 ROP 年度核心小组 4 月,自力更生社区研讨会试图命名“成为一个有弹性的社区意味着什么?”我们列出了至少 30 个不同的元素——从生活工资工作到内部繁荣,从消除压迫系统到备灾。每一个精彩的补充都出现了相互依存的主题。 我们决定以这个特定主题开始我们的民主经济家乡战略系列——人们、社区和社会运动的相互依存和相互联系是我们试图创造的所有变革的暗流。

建立本地弹性社区的一个有用工具是 ROP 在接下来的几个月中分享的第一个家乡战略:共同安全俱乐部 (CSC)。 Common Security Club,通常被称为 Resiliency Circle,提供了一个超越困难时期的愿景,并使您能够建立我们许多人所缺少的社区。

在过去的几十年里,最接近我们的家园、心灵以及与我们自己的权力最相关的社区通常被优先考虑。幸运的是,对于我们这些将每一次危机都视为机遇的人来说,CSC 是一个让问题变得清晰、解决方案可行并将熟人变成深思熟虑的朋友的计划。

MacLeay Grange,ROP 在农村的朋友 马里昂 ,是最早使用 CSC 的一些人。正如 Randi Embree 所说,弹性社区是关于相互依存的,“我认为 [相互依赖] 是这里的核心……[建立社区] 确实是重新认识(重新付诸行动)我们一直所做的事情。我们如何超越分歧,就是看到我们在一起有多好,以及我们每个人都带来了多少。”联系 Randi 以了解有关 Grange 与 CSC 正在进行的项目的更多信息。

 弹性圈解决三个主要领域:

  • 共同学习:我们对健康可持续经济的愿景是什么?
  • 互助:是什么让人们有安全感?我们可以一起做些什么来提高我们在地方层面的“安全”?
  • 社会行动:走到一起,我们能做些什么来从赌场资本家手中夺回我们的经济?

查看和 下载 可以帮助您入门的一页资源表。

这些弹性圈的美妙之处在于过程就是目标。   建立社区并思考在我们的世界中播撒正义的种子应该是愉快的! CSC 为我们提供了一个框架来使用和适应我们自己的社区:将我们对社会变革的热情与适合您的任何形式相结合。让 CSC 每周举行一次聚餐,或者每周在不同的后院花园(或社区花园!)举办。

有很多人愿意支持您开发自己的 CSC 或 弹性圈;我们有要印刷的材料和准备与您交谈的小镇同行。

CSC 只是自力更生社区和强大的当地经济车轮上的一根辐条。对于那些想要使用良好工具帮助耕种土壤以播种种子的人建立社区的人来说,这是一个起点。是你的!用它。

如果您想了解更多信息或需要资源,请告诉我们,请联系 Kari cara@rop.org 或 503.543.5417

 

简体中文

Resilient Communities

 

Hometown Strategies for a Democratic Economy are locally focused projects or programs that human dignity groups are using to both build a strong community that can survive our new economic reality, and work towards the longer-term goal of making a democratic economy a reality. 
Hometown Strategies are designed to expand our movement, connect together and build relationships for the long haul.

***

At the ROP Annual Caucus in April, the self-reliant communities workshop tried to name "What does it mean to be ‘a resilient community?’ We listed at least 30 different elements — from living wage jobs to prosperity from within and from eliminating systems of oppression to disaster preparedness. The theme that emerged from each wonderful addition was interdependence. We decided to kick-off our series on Hometown Strategies for a Democratic Economy with that particular theme — interdependence & interconnectedness of people, communities & social movements is the undercurrent for all of the change that we are trying to create.

A useful tool for building your local resilient community is the first Hometown Strategy that ROP share over the next several months: The Common Security Club (CSC). The Common Security Club, often referred to as a Resiliency Circle, offers a vision beyond the troubled times and enables you to build the community that many of us are missing.

Often the communities that are closest to our homes, hearts and most related to our own power were deprioritized over the last few decades. Fortunately, for those of us who see every crisis as an opportunity, the CSC is a program that makes the problems clear, the solutions achievable and turns acquaintances into thoughtful friends.

The MacLeay Grange, friends of ROP in rural Marion County, were some of the first to make use of CSC. As Randi Embree says, resilient communities are about interdependence, “I think that [interdependence] is what’s at the heart here…[Building community] really is a matter of re-membering  (putting back into action ) what we’ve always done. How we see beyond our differences is about seeing how much better we all are together and how much we each bring to the table.” Contact Randi to learn more about the Grange’s on going projects with CSC.

 Resiliency Circles tackle three main areas:

  • Learning Together: What is our vision of a healthy sustainable economy?
  • Mutual Aid: What makes people secure? What can we do together to increase our ‘security’ on a local level?
  • Social Action: Coming together, what can we do to reclaim our economy from the casino capitalists?

View and download the one-page resource sheet that will get you started.

The beautiful thing about these Resiliency Circles is that the process is the goal.   Building community and thinking about growing the seeds of justice in our world should be enjoyable! The CSC gives us a framework to use and adapt to our own communities: blending our enthusiasm for social change with whatever format works for you. Have the CSC be a weekly potluck or have each week be hosted in a different backyard garden (or in the community garden!).

There are many people who are willing to support you in developing your own CSC or Resiliency Circle; we have materials to print and small-town peers who are ready to talk you through getting started.

CSC is only one spoke on the wheel of self-reliant communities and strong local economies. This is a starting place for those that want to build community using a good tool to help till the soil to plant the seeds. It’s yours! Use it.

Let us know if you want to learn more or want resources, contact Kari at cara@rop.org or 503.543.5417

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English