2008 年核心小组和战略会议的报告

我们被提醒,在这个选举年,每一座山都是一座山,但无论我们是像过去 8 年那样上山,还是绕过顶峰,或者能够在背面稍微喘口气,我们都是在这方面是长期的,我们需要长期的支持。

有一种真正的感觉,人们聚集在一起需要重新关注和教育选民,使我们真正自由的基本原则,而不是以某种反动模式运作。他们似乎明白,这种方法是对扭转局面产生持久和持续影响的唯一真正途径。我最享受的事情是处于这种真正积极和治愈的能量之中。 – Jeff Rogers,哥伦比亚县人类尊严公民

然后我们(在朋友之间)分享了我们讨厌选举的地方——关注琐碎的事情、浪费金钱、缺乏对我们关心的问题的良好媒体报道——以及我们喜欢什么——因为一旦人们谈论政治,这是一个多么好的机会今年新选民人数创历史新高,对政治的可能性充满热情!从那里,我们以与选民的反复接触为基础,用心潜入 ROP 的选举机器,与选民建立关系以争取正义,但在选举日之后发展我们与我们的团体有联系的人类尊严活动家的基础。 ROP 自己的“人类尊严团体活动家的日子”的客人向我们介绍了基本工具和策略,然后我们闯入国会选区团体,讨论我们如何将其应用于我们当地的人类尊严团体和我们的集体力量和作为一个区的目标。请参阅下面的更多细节!

对我来说,一个亮点是将我们的公民参与项目理解为建立和激发 SOD(我们当地的人类尊严小组)的机会的“啊哈”时刻。我终于明白,敲门并不一定是改变主意、面对反对者,或者为某个问题或候选人投票。我明白了,使用 ROP 工具,敲门可以成为潜在会员的试金石,也是与新人建立联系以建立我们的会员资格、使命和社区意识的第一步。我不再害怕它了。 – Ann Kneeland,寻求民主,Junction City

我们的主旨发言人在下午的演讲中概述了随着时间的推移,种族主义和恐惧和分裂的楔形政治被用来削弱民主并让位于更加威权的政府的方式——以及这些相同的策略如何在这个过程中实施选举年通过针对移民和通过强制性最低刑期扩大监狱的投票措施。

在我们俄勒冈州的历史中重新听到种族主义的历史是一个发人深省的提醒,我很高兴能够对有关移民的谎言进行有力的反驳。现在我需要记住它们。人们听到歪曲和谎言,并认为这是事实。 – Martin Mijal,波特兰盟友和格兰特县支持者

下午的会议让人们有机会深入探讨有关当天关键问题的对话和策略:组织制止移民反弹,将自己包裹在权利法案中,以及那些在国外的战争:和平之路。

Peace Track 的重点是建立一个媒体中心,该中心可以作为一个长期的工具,用于逐步传递信息,说明为什么国内外的战争反映了失败的政策,以及具体的民主政策是什么样的。 ROP 在人们认可的大选举周期之前探索的一个新想法是揭露和记录众多新的小镇军事招募中心实际上是否符合法律规定,积极向他们接触的每个人提供有机会抵制投票。请继续关注更多详情!

我参加了和平之路。我喜欢迈克激励我们将战争重新放在头版并将其与其他所有问题联系起来的方式!这非常重要,媒体中心的建立应该是实现这一目标的好方法。我还得到了很多与媒体合作的技巧。优秀的。 – Kathy Paterno,人类尊严倡导者,克鲁克县

组织制止移民反弹使当地领导人能够分享应对这场人类尊严危机的关键和困难的故事,并讨论成功的工具和策略。该小组肯定了拉丁裔社区与俄勒冈州农村的非移民和白人盟友之间的不同角色和重要关系。在这个选举年,我们特别重视为我们的会员资格、我们的扩展基础和我们的整个社区接种反移民论点和神话的工具。每个人都同意需要一个快速反应结构,该结构被整合到正在进行的人类尊严组织中,但无论是当地法令、给编辑的信还是移民突袭,都会对反移民情绪做出反应。 ROP的Immigration Fairness Network电子邮件列表(https://lists.riseup.net/www/info/ropifn)将作为资源共享和讨论的站点。

这是一个很好的提醒,让我更新我们的快速响应信息,并更好地合作应对布拉德·波特菲尔德(来自拉丁裔社区协会)报告的那种一次一次的骚扰、监禁和驱逐出境。这听起来太可怕了……让一个心爱的人在半夜挑出来捡起来寄到某个地方,但你不知道在哪里或可以做什么。当地必须有某种方式来监控和跟踪,以便个别家庭能够获得支持(并且 ICE 将被迫更加透明)。 – Betsy Lamb、Code Pink Bend 和 Interfaith in Action for Justice

权利法案会议的重点是确认权利法案的框架作为一种工具,以 1) 确定我们的民主如何运作,2) 让我们的社区参与我们的民主状态(以及它与威权主义的接近程度), 3) 使用这个框架来讨论棘手的问题(移民问题的后门)和 4) 练习使用自由选民工具包作为工具,让我们的社区参与整个选举周期的对话。

我参加了《权利法案》会议,发现这可能是与在其他主题上不一定有相同想法的其他团体团结起来的好方法。 – Denise Steffenhagan,人类尊严倡导者,克鲁克县

在一天结束时,我们真的在门口唱歌,用伍迪格思里的话鼓励我们的运动,就像哥伦比亚一样,继续前进!

参与 ROP 就像打了一针强心剂。我可以收回我在那里吸收的所有集体知识和经验。这太棒了。 – Dian Courtwright,Coquille 关心的公民,库斯县

要访问工具和计划以帮助您的人类尊严团体在这个选举年取得成功,请访问 www.FreedomVoters.com,查看本月的 厨房餐桌激进主义 通过 amy@rop.org 或 503-543-8417 联系 ROP。

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Report from the Caucus and Strategy Session 2008

We were reminded that in this election year beyond every mountain is a mountain, but whether we are heading uphill, as we have over the last 8 years, or rounding a summit, or able to catch our breaths a little on the backside, we are in this for the long haul and we are needed for the long haul.

There was a genuine sense that people were coming together around the need to refocus and educate voters on the basic tenets that make us truly free, rather than operating in some sort of reactionary mode. They seemed to grasp that such an approach is the only real way to have any durable and sustaining impact on turning things around. The thing I enjoyed the most was being in the midst of such truly positive and healing energy. – Jeff Rogers, Columbia County Citizens for Human Dignity

We then shared (amongst friends) what we hate about elections – the focus on the trivial, the money wasted, the lack of good media coverage of issues we care about – and what we love – for once people are talking politics and what an opportunity this year with record highs of new voters and enthusiasm for the possibility of politics! From there, we dove into ROP’s electoral machine with heart based on repeat contacts with voters that build relationships with voters to get out the vote for justice, but grow our base of human dignity activists who are connected to our groups beyond election day. The guests of ROP’s own “Days of the Lives of Human Dignity Group Activists” walked us through the basics tools and tactics and then we broke into Congressional District groups to talk about how we would apply this in our local human dignity groups and our collective power and goals as a district. See below for more details!

One highlight for me was the “ah-ha” moment of understanding our civic engagement project as an opportunity to build and energize SOD (our local human dignity group). I finally got that door-knocking doesn’t have to be about changing minds, confronting nay-sayers, or getting votes for an issue or candidate. I got that, using the ROP tools, door knocking can be a litmus test for potential members and first step in connecting with new people to build our membership, our mission and community awareness. I don’t dread it anymore. – Ann Kneeland, Seeking Out Democracy, Junction City

Our keynote speakers opened the afternoon with a talk that outlined the way that racism and wedge politics of fear and division have been used over time to diminish democracy and give way to more authoritarian government – and how these same tactics are being put into place in this election year through ballot measures that would target immigrants and expand prisons through mandatory minimum sentences.

Re-hearing the history of racism in our Oregon history is a sobering reminder I was VERY pleased to have a great rebuttal to lies about immigration. Now I need to memorize them. People are hearing distortions and lies and think that is the truth. – Martin Mijal, Portland Ally and Grant County Supporter

Afternoon sessions gave folks a chance to delve deeper into conversations and strategy about the key issues of the day: Organizing to Stop Immigration Backlash, Wrapping Ourselves in the Bill of Rights, and Those Wars Abroad: Peace Track.

The Peace Track focused on establishment of a Media Center that could be a long term tool for progressive messaging on why the wars at home and abroad reflect failed policy and what concrete, pro-democracy policies look like. A new idea that ROP is exploring in advance of the big election cycle that folks endorsed was exposing and documenting whether the numerous new small town military recruitment centers were, in fact, in compliance with legal mandates to actively offer every person they have contact with a chance to resister to vote. Stay tuned for more details!

I attended the Peace Track. I liked the way Mike motivated us to get the war back on the front page and connecting it to every other issue! This is so important and the establishment of the media center should be a great way to make this happen. I also got lots of tips to work with media. Excellent. – Kathy Paterno, Human Dignity Advocates, Crook County

Organizing to Stop Immigration Backlash allowed local leaders to share stories of how critical and difficult responding to this human dignity crisis is – and to discuss tools and strategies that have been successful. The group affirmed the different roles and significant relationship between the Latino community and non-immigrant and white allies in rural Oregon. Tools for inoculating our membership, our extended base, and our community at large against anti-immigrant arguments and myths was especially valued in this election year. Everyone agreed a Rapid Response structure was needed that was integrated into ongoing human dignity organizing but that would respond to anti-immigrant sentiment whether a local ordinance, letter to the editor, or immigration raid. ROP’s Immigration Fairness Network email list (https://lists.riseup.net/www/info/ropifn) will be used as a site for resource sharing and discussion.

It was a good reminder for me to update our Rapid Response info and … better collaborate on responding to the kind of one-at-a-time harassment, incarceration and deportation that Brad Porterfield (from Latino Community Association) was reporting. That is so scary-sounding… to have a loved one singled out and picked up and sent someplace in the middle of the night but you don’t know where or what you can do. There has to be some way within local areas to monitor and track that so that individual families can have support (and ICE will be forced to be more transparent). – Betsy Lamb, Code Pink Bend and Interfaith in Action for Justice

The Bill of Rights Session focused on affirming the framework of the Bill of Rights as a tool to 1) identify how our democracy is doing, 2) engage our communities in the state of our democracy (and how close it has moved to authoritarianism), 3) use this framework to talk through tough issues (a backdoor to immigration issues) and 4) practice using the Freedom Voters kit as the tool to engage our communities in this conversation through the election cycle.

I attended the Bill of Rights session and found out that this might be a good way to unite with other groups that do not necessarily think the same way on other topics. – Denise Steffenhagan, Human Dignity Advocates, Crook County

At the close of the day, we literally sang our way at the door and in the words of Woody Guthrie encouraged our movement, just like the might Columbia, to roll on!

Being involved with ROP is like a shot in the arm. I can take back all the collective knowledge & experience I absorbed while I was there. It was wonderful. – Dian Courtwright, Concerned Citizens of Coquille, Coos County

To access the tools and plans to help your human dignity group roll on this election year, go to www.FreedomVoters.com, check out this month’s Kitchen Table Activism contact ROP at amy@rop.org or 503-543-8417.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English