重新连接,重振精神,一起反思

农村核心小组和战略会议没有让人失望!尘埃落定,每个人都回家了,美好的周末给我们留下了温暖的光芒,还有无数的故事和组织想法,我们迫不及待地想继续与大家分享。今年,来自俄勒冈州 25 个县和两个部落社区的 100 多人齐聚一堂,共同制定战略。 ROP 是由一个核心小组成立的,从那时起,我们每年都会聚在一起打破面包、反思、庆祝和计划来年。在接下来的几周内,我们将继续分享个人战略会议的要点、故事和下一步行动,敬请期待更多细节! 

为了欢迎来自全州各地的人们进入该地区,俄勒冈州中部维和人员的当地组织者卢克·里希特 (Luke Richter)、土著帮助者 (Indigenous Helpers) 的雷切尔·布罗德 (Rachel Brodeur) 和雷德蒙集体行动 (Redmond Collective Action) 的莉娜·贝瑞 (Lena Berry) 分享了他们在俄勒冈州中部开展的一些强有力的组织活动。 我们一起庆祝这些人类尊严团体在过去几年中取得的一些重大胜利,包括维和人员在 2020 年 8 月提请注意两名移民社区成员被拘留并成功阻止其中一名被驱逐出境。雷德蒙德集体行动分享了他们的市议会出现并提出棘手的问题如何使市议会感到对人类尊严的新标准负责!土著帮助者庆祝他们的组织从为无家可归的人提供互助到更有意识地关注土著食物主权和文化振兴的转变。

四个人坐在舞台上与观众交谈。

此后不久,我们分成小组讨论我们在全州所经历的事情。许多人分享了他们在过去几年中参与的强大组织,包括互助努力,以支持受 COVID-19 大流行、住房危机、极端野火等影响最严重的人们。将问题和社区之间的点点滴滴联系起来,并就我们如何相互学习和相互合作制定战略,开始让我们所有因三年的社会疏离而生锈的混合技能开始升温。通过这些早期联系所产生的能量在周末的剩余时间里进行着! 

午餐后,我们分成了 10 场战略会议,主题从“剖析制度种族主义”到“社区媒体就是社区力量”。 由于要消化的内容太多,我们将在接下来的几周内分享各种会议的更多细节,但这里有一些亮点!

一群微笑的人围坐在一张桌子旁吃饭。

核心小组的日程安排发生了变化,以适应更多围绕生殖正义的战略,因为我们在最高法院否决了他们之前的罗伊诉韦德案的决定并取消了全国堕胎权的一天后就开会了。一些地方领导人回顾了他们在堕胎合法之前的经历,我们都在咀嚼这样一个事实,即尽管堕胎在俄勒冈州仍然是合法的,但这并不意味着每个人都能获得这种基本的医疗保健,因为农村提供者很少俄勒冈州。人们共享资源,包括 西北堕胎准入基金 这可以帮助人们支付医疗保健和交通费用以及纪录片之类的 简氏您是否有其他资源可以分享或采取行动的方式?我们很乐意将它们添加到我们的 生殖正义资源清单给我们发电子邮件让我们知道 艾玛@rop.org!

一群身穿鲜艳色彩并举着旗帜和横幅的活动人士,上面写着“去你的堕胎禁令”、“我的身体我的选择”和“科学是真实的,黑人的生命很重要,没有人是非法的,爱就是爱”

在会话中 骄傲与骄傲的男孩:建立欢迎社区和要求空间,许多人分享了组织骄傲和六月节活动以及公平摊位和街头抗议警察谋杀黑人或支持生殖正义的事情。来自该州不同地区的团体反映了您如何根据当地情况采取不同的方法来声明公共空间。在瓦洛瓦县,人们举办了一个 Pride 开放麦克风之夜,人们可以匿名提交声明以大声朗读。哈尼县农村多元化联盟公开举办了 Pride 活动,但在当地一家啤酒厂举行了活动,保镖随时准备擅自闯入任何试图威胁或恐吓参与者的人。 

科瓦利斯的人们分享了他们看到种族主义传单和贴纸时将其取下,雷德蒙德组织者分享了他们出现反抗议的故事 人民权利,以阿蒙邦迪为首的右翼团体。其他人一直在将精力投入到在幕后建立关系,以使他们的当地机构——无论是学校、医院还是寄养系统——对讲其他语言的人、酷儿和有色人种更具包容性。来自种族和社会公平 Tillamook 的 Samantha Goodwin 回顾了这次讨论,分享了: “如果感觉就像我们用头撞墙,那就让我们成为将石头从地上打碎的根。” 在建立欢迎社区和占用公共空间方面,您和您的当地团体如何采取行动?给我们发电子邮件 艾玛@rop.org 分享您的组织故事和想法! 

一群人围坐在椅子上围成一圈聊天。

会上, 由人民、为人民、为人民的地方政府,当我们的学校资金不足以至于很少有人有机会真正了解我们的民主应该如何运作时,许多领导人提出了打击错误信息的挑战。人们问,我们如何与图书馆和其他地方机构合作,以扩大我们对地方政府如何运作的了解,从预算和公开会议到罗伯茨规则和特区?我们对我们的民主应该如何运作有很多疑问,而使系统更加透明的一部分是了解应该发生的事情与当前正在发生的事情之间的差距! 该网络中的一些团体已经在就民主如何运作进行培训,而另一些团体则渴望与当地图书馆或女性选民联盟分会合作来做到这一点。 给我们发电子邮件 艾玛@rop.org 分享您的组织故事和想法并加入此对话! 

一整天,许多谈话都谈到了 11 月的选举。我们围绕如何培训地方领导人制定战略,让他们在竞选当地民选职位时感到自在,人们分享了他们的计划,以确保每个人都拥有能够充分参与所需的信息。如果您正在为此寻求支持,请通过以下方式与我们联系 艾玛@rop.org这 2022 年立场选举指南 即将推出,现在是制定计划的好时机,您的团队将如何充分利用这次选举,开始与朋友和邻居就参与推进民主进行对话。

一天结束时,我们跟随当地东道主的带领,许多核心小组参加者出现了声援雷德蒙德集体行动,他们在雷德蒙德市政厅外举办了一场集会,要求每个人都享有身体自主权和医疗保健。那天晚上,我们再次被提醒,我们在一起会变得更强大,我们感到精力充沛,可以继续在全州长期相互支持。

一群举着牌子的人站在人行道上听演讲者。
四项活动举着带有亲选择语录的标志。

周日,超过 50 人参加了农村组织密集活动,参与者分成了两条轨道: 为每个人组织 和 营造安全文化.在这些扩展的培训空间之后,我们所有人都回到了一个令人惊讶的场景中,人们练习了他们在即兴的生殖正义集会上建立的技能,安全团队和假的反抗议者结束了周末!

我们知道,在核心小组会议上,有很多人满载而归,带着更深的团结、对我们彼此支持的更大信心以及在俄勒冈州农村地区的联系中感受到了家的感觉。在两年没有亲自召开会议之后,我们非常感谢所有使今年的农村核心小组和战略会议不仅成为可能而且取得圆满成功的人!

想了解更多关于战略会议的成果吗?联系 ROP 或在接下来的几周内继续关注我们在 ROPnet 上分享的更多亮点。

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Reconnecting, Reinvigorating, Reflecting Together

The Rural Caucus and Strategy Session did not disappoint! Once the dust settled and everyone headed home, we were left with a warm glow from the beautiful weekend, as well as countless stories and organizing ideas that we can’t wait to continue sharing with you all. This year over 100 people from 25 Oregon counties and two tribal communities gathered together to strategize with each other. ROP was founded with a Caucus, and every year since then we have come together to break bread, reflect, celebrate, and plan for the year ahead. We will be continuing to share takeaways, stories, and next moves coming out of individual strategy sessions in the coming weeks, so stay tuned for even more details! 

To welcome folks from across the state into the region, local organizers Luke Richter of Central Oregon Peacekeepers, Rachel Brodeur from Indigenous Helpers, and Lena Berry from Redmond Collective Action shared some of the powerful organizing they have been up to in Central Oregon. Together we celebrated some of the major victories these human dignity groups have won in the past few years, including the Peacekeepers drawing attention to the detention of two immigrant community members in August of 2020 and successfully preventing the deportation of one of them. Redmond Collective Action shared how showing up and asking hard questions of their city council has led the council to feel accountable to a new standard of human dignity! Indigenous Helpers celebrated the transition that their organization has made from mutual aid for unhoused folks towards a more intentional focus on indigenous food sovereignty and cultural revitalization.

Four people sitting on a stage talking to an audience.

Shortly after this, we broke into small groups to talk about what we are experiencing across the state. Many folks shared about powerful organizing they’ve been engaged in over the past few years, including mutual aid efforts to support people most impacted by the COVID-19 pandemic, the housing crisis, extreme wildfires, and more. Connecting the dots across issues and communities and strategizing about how we can learn from and collaborate with one another started to warm up all of our mingling skills made rusty by three years of social distancing. The energy created through these early connections carried through the rest of the weekend! 

After lunch, we broke into 10 strategy sessions on topics ranging from “dissecting institutional racism” to “community media is community power.” We will be sharing MANY more details from various sessions in the coming weeks since there’s so much to digest, but here are a few highlights!

Group of smiling people sitting around a table eating a meal.

The Caucus schedule shifted to accommodate more strategizing around reproductive justicesince we met just one day after the Supreme Court overruled their previous Roe vs Wade decision and struck down the national right to an abortion. Some local leaders reflected on their experiences before abortion was legal and we all chewed on the fact that even though abortion is still legal in Oregon, that doesn’t mean that everyone has access to this essential health care given how few providers there are in rural Oregon. Folks shared resources including the Northwest Abortion Access Fund that can help folks cover health care and transportation costs and documentaries like The JanesDo you have other resources to share or ways you’re taking action? We would love to add them to our reproductive justice resource listLet us know by emailing us at emma@rop.org!

A group of activists wearing bright colors and holding a flag and a banner that say "fuck your abortion ban," "my body my choice," and "science is real, black lives matter, no human is illegal, love is love"

In the session Pride vs Proud Boys: Building Welcoming Communities and Claiming Space, many folks shared about organizing Pride and Juneteenth events as well as fair booths and street protests against police murders of Black people or in support of reproductive justice. Groups from different parts of the state reflected on how you might take a different approach to claiming public space depending on your local context. In Wallowa County, folks hosted a Pride open mic night where people could anonymously submit statements to be read out loud. Rural Alliance for Diversity in Harney County hosted Pride publicly but held their event at a local brewery where bouncers were ready to trespass anyone who tried to threaten or intimidate participants. 

Folks in Corvallis shared about taking racist flyers and stickers down when they see them, and Redmond organizers shared their story of showing up to counter-protest People’s Rights, the Right-wing group led by Ammon Bundy. Others have been putting their energy into building relationships behind the scenes to make their local institutions – whether that’s schools, hospitals, or the foster care system – more inclusive for people who speak other languages, queer folks, and people of color. Reflecting on this discussion, Samantha Goodwin from Racial and Social Equity Tillamook shared: “If it feels like we’re banging our heads against a wall, let’s be the roots that break the stone from the ground up.” When it comes to building welcoming communities and claiming public space, how are you and your local group taking action? Email us at emma@rop.org to share your organizing stories and ideas! 

A group of people sitting in chairs in a big circle talking.

Inthe session, Local Government By, For, and Of the People, many leaders brought up the challenges of countering misinformation when our schools are so underfunded that very few people have had a chance to truly understand how our democracy is supposed to work. People asked, how can we be partnering with libraries and other local institutions to expand our knowledge about how local government works, from budgeting and public meetings to Roberts Rules and special districts? We have a lot of questions about how our democracy should function, and part of making the system more transparent is understanding the gaps between what should be happening and what’s currently going on! Some groups in the network are already running trainings in how democracy works, and others are eager to partner with their local libraries or League of Women Voters chapters to do this. Email us at emma@rop.org to share your organizing stories and ideas and join this conversation! 

Throughout the day, many conversations touched on the November election. We strategized around how to train up local leaders to feel comfortable running for local elected positions, and folks shared their plans for making sure that everyone has the information they need to be able to fully participate. If you are looking for support around this, please reach out to us at emma@rop.orgThe 2022 STAND Election Guide is coming out soon, and now is a great time to make a plan around how your group will make the most of this election to start conversations with friends and neighbors about participating in advancing democracy.

At the end of the day, we followed the lead of our local hosts and many caucus-goers showed up in solidarity with Redmond Collective Action, who hosted a rally outside Redmond City Hall to demand bodily autonomy and health care for everyone. That evening we were reminded once more that we are stronger together, and we left feeling energized to continue supporting one another across the state for the long haul.

Crowd of people holding signs standing around a sidewalk listening to a speaker.
Four activities holding signs with pro-choice sayings.

On Sunday, over 50 people joined the Rural Organizing Intensive where participants broke into two tracks: Organizing for Everyone and Creating a Culture of Safety and Security. After these extended training spaces, we all came back together for a surprise scenario where folks practiced the skills they had built in an impromptu reproductive justice rally complete with security teams and fake counter-protesters to close out the weekend!

We know that so many folks filled their cup at the Caucus and came away with deepened solidarity, greater confidence that we have each other’s backs, and a sense of home in the connection we feel across rural Oregon. After two too many years without an in-person convening, we are so grateful to all the people that made the Rural Caucus and Strategy Session not only possible but a resounding success this year!

Want to know more about what came out of the strategy sessions? Contact ROP or stay tuned over the next few weeks as we share additional highlights over ROPnet.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English