أعد بناء أمريكا

كانت عبارة "اجعلوا السدود ليست حربًا" إحدى العلامات المؤثرة والقوية في وقفات السلام في جميع أنحاء البلاد يوم 24 سبتمبر - حيث ربطت النقاط ببلاغة بين بناء الإمبراطورية في الخارج وعدم تمويل المجتمعات في الداخل. في عصر المحافظين الجدد ، تغيرت شعاراتنا. نجد أنفسنا نتوسل من أجل السدود لا الحب. نظرًا لأن عواقب عدم التمويل لمجتمعاتنا تكشف عن نفسها ، فمن الراديكالي حقًا النظر في دعم أبسط أشكال الحكومة - تلك الموجودة للتأكد من أن مياهنا صالحة للشرب ، وأن أطفالنا لديهم مدارس ، ولدينا أنظمة اتصالات تعمل في السراء والضراء. مرت أمتنا بلحظة مذهلة من الإجماع خلال الأيام الأولى لإعصار كاترينا. كنا نعلم جميعًا أننا لا نريد أن نجد أنفسنا أو أن أي عضو آخر في مجتمعنا هبط إلى القبة العظمى. دعونا نبني من هذا الإجماع.

إعادة بناء أمريكا:

البلد ، مجتمعاتنا ، ساحل الخليج

كشف إعصار كاترينا عن كارثة وطنية في القيادة والأولويات. هناك حاجة لتغيير المسار الآن! يتمثل دور الحكومة في حماية الحقوق وتعزيز صحة وسلامة ورفاهية جميع الأشخاص الذين يعيشون في هذا البلد. نحن الموقعون أدناه ، ندعو قادتنا المنتخبين إلى اتخاذ إجراءات لإعادة بناء أمريكا: البلد ومجتمعاتنا وساحل الخليج.

1. خلق أمن حقيقي: الفجوة بين فاحشي الثراء والآخرين لم تكن أكبر من أي وقت مضى. إنه يهدد قدرتنا على إعادة بناء أمريكا. نريد: أ. مساهمات ضريبية عادلة من الشركات والأثرياء. ب. حد أدنى للأجور صالح للعيش. ج. شبكة أمان حقيقية لحماية احتياجات الناس الأساسية من الرعاية الصحية والغذاء والمأوى والتعليم. د. مشاريع التوظيف العامة التي تدفع الناس إلى العمل لإعادة بناء بنيتنا التحتية المتداعية.

2. الانسحاب من العراق: الاحتلال الأمريكي للعراق يهدد الآن بشكل مباشر أمن الولايات المتحدة ويؤجج الحرب الأهلية في العراق. نحن نطالب بانسحاب منظم لجميع القوات الأمريكية في العراق ، وخلق جهد إغاثة دولي حقيقي لإعادة بناء ذلك البلد. نريد حاكم ولاية أوريغون أن يدعو إلى عودة الحرس الوطني للولاية من العراق.

3. حماية حقوق الجميع: منذ الحادي عشر من سبتمبر ، قامت الحكومة الفيدرالية بعسكرة المجتمع باسم "الأمن القومي". السلامة الحقيقية تعني حماية حقوق جميع الناس وخلق مجتمع يوفر للجميع مستوى معيشيًا لائقًا. تم تحديد هذه الحقوق الأساسية في دستور الولايات المتحدة ووثيقة الحقوق والإعلان العالمي لحقوق الإنسان واتفاقيات جنيف. لذلك نطالب بما يلي: أ. احترم ميثاق الحقوق لدينا! قم بإلغاء قانون باتريوت الأمريكي وقانون الهوية الحقيقية. ب. سياسة هجرة واقعية وعادلة وإنسانية. ج. اغلاق جميع السجون السرية. أوقفوا التعذيب. الإجراءات القانونية الواجبة لجميع السجناء في الداخل والخارج.

4. بناء مجتمعات مستدامة: تعزيز الحفاظ على الطاقة كأمن وطني. تضر أزمة الطاقة بأمننا واقتصادنا وبيئتنا. نقول: أعد بناء أمريكا بالاستثمارات العامة في كفاءة الطاقة والحفاظ عليها - لخلق فرص عمل وتقليل اعتمادنا على المصادر الأجنبية - باستخدام تحالف أبولو كنموذج.

تبدأ إعادة بناء أمريكا بحساب Co$t للحرب. انقر هنا لمعرفة المزيد.

العربية

Rebuild America

‘Make Levees Not War’ was one poignant and powerful sign at the peace vigils across the nation September 24th – connecting the dots eloquently between empire building abroad and de-funding of communities at home. In the neo-conservative age, our mantras have shifted. We find ourselves pleading for levees not love. As the consequences of de-funding our communities reveal themselves, it is radical indeed to look at shoring up the most basic forms of government – those that exist to make sure our water is potable, our children have schools, and we have communication systems that function in good times and in bad. Our nation had a staggering moment of consensus during the early days of Katrina. We all knew that we did not want to find ourselves or any other member of our community relegated to the superdome. Let’s build from that consensus.

Rebuild America:

The Country, Our Communities, The Gulf Coast

Hurricane Katrina revealed a national disaster in leadership and priorities. A change of course is needed now! The role of government is to protect the rights and promote the health, safety and well being of all people living in this country. We, the undersigned, call upon our elected leaders to take action to Rebuild America: The Country, Our Communities, The Gulf Coast.

1. Create Real Security: The gap between the super-rich and everyone else has never been greater. It threatens our ability to Rebuild America. We want: a. Fair tax contributions from corporations & the wealthy. b. A livable minimum wage. c. A real safety net to protect people’s basic needs of healthcare, food, shelter & education. d. Public employment projects that put people to work rebuilding our crumbling infrastructure.

2. Withdraw from Iraq: The US occupation of Iraq is now directly endangering US security and inflaming civil war in Iraq. We demand an orderly withdrawal of all US forces in Iraq, and the creation of a true international relief effort to rebuild that country. We want Oregon’s Governor to call for the return of the state’s National Guard from Iraq.

3. Protect the Rights of All: Since 9/11, the federal government has militarized society in the name of ‘National Security’. True safety means protecting the rights of all people and creating a society that offers everyone a decent standard of living. These basic rights are outlined in the US Constitution and Bill of Rights, Universal Declaration of Human Rights, and Geneva Conventions. We therefore demand: a. Respect our Bill of Rights! Abolish the USA PATRIOT ACT and the REAL ID ACT. b. A realistic, fair, and humane immigration policy. c. Close down all secret prisons. Stop torture. Due process for all prisoners at home and abroad.

4. Build Sustainable Communities: Promote Energy Conservation as National Security. The energy crisis damages our security, our economy, and our environment. We say: Rebuild America with public investments in energy efficiency and conservation- to create jobs and reduce our dependence on foreign sources – using the Apollo Alliance as a model.

Rebuilding America starts with accounting for the Co$t of War. Click HERE to learn more.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English