العنصرية غير مرحب بها في ولاية أوريغون!

هذا تنبيه عمل!

يستضيف حزب أوريغون الجمهوري و Oregonians for Immigration Reform (مجموعة كراهية معترف بها من قبل مركز قانون الفقر الجنوبي) الشريف جو أربايو يوم السبت ، 27 يونيو لجمع التبرعات وحشدًا في مبنى الكابيتول بولاية أوريغون في سالم.

أصبح شريف أربايو من مقاطعة ماريكوبا بولاية أريزونا الطفل الملصق الوطني للحركة المناهضة للمهاجرين بسبب تكتيكاته العنصرية وانتهاكاته الصارخة لحقوق الإنسان. تمت إدانته بارتكاب انتهاكات للحقوق المدنية ، والتنميط العنصري ، وإساءة استخدام السلطة ، وسوء إدارة الأموال ، مما كلف دافعي الضرائب في مقاطعة ماريكوبا أكثر من $40 مليون للدفاع عنه في المحكمة. رفعت وزارة العدل الأمريكية دعوى قضائية ضده في عام 2012 لأنه لم يغير سلوكه. يشتهر بالتمييز والإساءة تجاه اللاتينيين ويسعى للانتقام من أولئك الذين يتحدثون ضده.

يبدو أنه تم إحضار الشريف أربايو إلى ولاية أوريغون للترويج لإجراءات الاقتراع المناهضة للمهاجرين المقترحة في اقتراع نوفمبر 2016. مزيد من المعلومات من حلفائنا في مركز المجتمع الجديد أدناه.

ينظم أصدقاؤنا في PCUN ، اتحاد عمال المزارع في ولاية أوريغون ، مسيرة مضادة ونحن ننضم إليهم في إرسال رسالة واضحة: العنصرية ليست موضع ترحيب في OREGON!

هناك طريقتان لك لاتخاذ الإجراءات!

1. انضم إلى التجمع المضاد!

يوم السبت ، 27 يونيو في تمام الساعة 2:30 ظهرًا ، سوف نجتمع في نافورة أوريغون ستيت كابيتول (بالقرب من 900 شارع المحكمة شمال شرق ، سالم)!

إحضار اللافتات! إليك بعض الأفكار:

Arpaio لا يتحدث باسم ولاية أوريغون!
نحن ندعم الحقوق المدنية في ولاية أوريغون!
نحن ندعم جيراننا المهاجرين!
2. اكتب جمعية عمدة ولاية أوريغون (OSSA) تطلب منهم إدانة الشريف أربايو وتكتيكاته العنصرية علانية!

إرسال بريد إلكتروني إلى رئيس OSSA شريف جيسون مايرز والمدير التنفيذي المتقاعد. الشريف جون بيشوب واطلب منهم التنديد علناً بتكتيكات الشريف أربايو وأساليبه وسلوكه! شريف أربايو لا يمثل قيم أوريغون!

اجمع مجموعتك واكتب رسالة مشتركة. أرسلها إلى عمدة المقاطعة وممثلي الدولة! انقر هنا لتنزيل نموذج الرسالة!

OSSA المدير التنفيذي ، متقاعد. الشريف جون بيشوب: bishop@oregonsheriffs.org
رئيس OSSA ، الشريف جيسون مايرز: jmyers@co.marion.or.us
كيف ستتخذ إجراءات؟ أرسل لنا بريدًا إلكترونيًا على jessica@rop.org وأخبرنا!

اراك في سالم!

بحرارة
جيسيكا

تكثيف التنظيم المناهض للمهاجرين في ولاية أوريغون ، بدعم من Arpaio
Lindsay Schubiner • 22 يونيو 2015
اقترح أعضاء الهيئة التشريعية لولاية أوريغون ممن لهم صلات معادية للمهاجرين أربعة إجراءات اقتراع جديدة لانتخابات عام 2016.

في علامة مقلقة على زيادة التعاون حول الأهداف المناهضة للمهاجرين ، دعا الحزب الجمهوري في ولاية أوريغون شريف مقاطعة ماريكوبا سيئ السمعة جو أربايو للتحدث في تجمع حاشد على درجات مبنى الكابيتول بولاية أوريغون يوم السبت ، 27 يونيو. تشتهر Arpaio بترويجها للسياسات المعادية للمهاجرين التي تعتمد على التنميط العرقي لاستهداف اللاتينيين.

يتم الترويج لهذا التجمع من قبل Oregonians for Immigration Repair. OFIR هي مجموعة اتصال رسمية تابعة لاتحاد إصلاح الهجرة الأمريكية - والتي تم تصنيفها كمجموعة كراهية من قبل مركز قانون الفقر الجنوبي - وهي وراء الكثير من التنظيمات المناهضة للمهاجرين مؤخرًا في ولاية أوريغون.

أعلن OFIR عن سحب يانصيب "للمساعدة في تعويض تكاليف هذا الحدث" ، بجوائز تشمل كتابًا بتوقيع شريف أربايو وعشاء خاص مع Arpaio في منزل نائب ولاية أوريغون جريج باريتو. سيقوم منظمو الحدث أيضًا بالسحب على زوج من الملابس الداخلية الوردية التي يتعين على النزلاء في مقاطعة ماريكوبا ارتداؤها ، وفقًا لسياسة وضعتها Arpaio.

فيما يتعلق بسياسة الملابس الداخلية الوردية ، أشارت الرابطة إلى أنه "في عام 2012 ، انتقدت محكمة استئناف فيدرالية في أريزونا هذه السياسة ، قائلة إنها بدت وكأنها" عقاب بدون مبرر قانوني ". كما قالت المحكمة إنه كان من العدل أن نستنتج أن اختيار السجانين للون الوردي للملابس الداخلية كان وسيلة لوصم السجناء الذكور على أنهم أنثى ".

قرار مُشكّل لحزب أوريغون الجمهوري
في ولاية صوّت فيها العديد من أعضاء الحزب الجمهوري في الهيئة التشريعية SB 833 ، كان التشريع الناجح لتوسيع الوصول إلى رخص القيادة لسكان ولاية أوريغون غير المسجلين ، قرار الحزب الجمهوري في ولاية أوريغون بتوفير منصة لـ Arpaio وعلى ما يبدو ، للعمل عن كثب مع OFIR ، محزن للغاية.

أصبح Arpaio شخصية بارزة في الحركة المناهضة للمهاجرين بسبب عمله البارز لتنفيذ سياسات تمييزية عبر مقاطعة ماريكوبا. تم الطعن في هذه السياسات من قبل وزارة العدل ، وحكم قاضٍ فيدرالي بأن مكتب أربايو يجب أن يتوقف عن استخدام التنميط العرقي وأن ينهي دورياته لإنفاذ قوانين الهجرة. يُزعم أن Arpaio انتهك أمر المحكمة هذا.

لوحة في بيفيرتون ، أوريغون. (الائتمان: VDARE عبر Cynthia Kendoll)

وبالمثل ، فإن علاقة العمل الظاهرة للحزب الجمهوري في ولاية أوريغون مع OFIR لا تبشر بالخير بالنسبة لحقوق المهاجرين في ولاية أوريغون. في عام 2014 ، بذلت OFIR ومجموعة شريكة لها ، Protect Oregon Driver Licenses ، جهودًا كبيرة لهزيمة Oregon Ballot Measure 88. أخضع استفتاء الفيتو SB 833 لتصويت شعبي ، بهدف سحب حق الوصول الجديد إلى رخص القيادة للجميع سكان ولاية أوريغون ، بغض النظر عن وضع الهجرة الخاص بهم.

يرجع جزء كبير من جهود OFIR التنظيمية والدعم من الحركة الوطنية المناهضة للهجرة ، فشل Ballot Measure 88 بهامش اثنين إلى واحد ، مما يضمن عدم تمكن سكان أوريغون غير المسجلين من الوصول إلى رخص القيادة.

أعطى فشل الإجراء 88 وقودًا للحركة الوطنية المناهضة للهجرة ، ونحن نشهد بالفعل محاولاتهم لتكرار هذا النجاح في دول أخرى. وهذا يجعل ولاية أوريغون دولة ذات أهمية خاصة في ساحة المعركة حيث يمكن للفوز بحقوق المهاجرين - أو الإخفاقات - أن يتردد صداها على المستوى الوطني.

علامة على المزيد من منظمة مكافحة الهجرة للمجيء
للبناء على الزخم الناتج عن فشل الإجراء 88 ، اقترح أعضاء الهيئة التشريعية لولاية أوريغون ممن لهم صلات معادية للمهاجرين أربعة إجراءات اقتراع جديدة لانتخابات 2016. سيحدد إجراءان للاقتراع اللغة الإنجليزية كلغة رسمية في ولاية أوريغون ، ومن شأن اثنين ، في الواقع ، أن يفرضا استخدام أرباب العمل في ولاية أوريغون للتحقق الإلكتروني. من المحتمل أن تكون هذه المقترحات عناصر نائبة ، وأن مقياس اقتراع واحد فقط لكل موضوع سوف يمضي قدمًا.

هذه الإجراءات اقترحها النائب سال إسكيفيل ، وهو معارض أساسي للإجراء 88 وله روابط قوية بالحركة المناهضة للهجرة ؛ السناتور كيم تاتشر ، عضو جماعة مشرعي الولايات للهجرة القانونية المناهضة للمهاجرين ؛ النائب مايك نيرمان ، عضو كبير في مجلس إدارة OFIR ؛ وجيم لودويك ، المؤسس والرئيس السابق لـ OFIR ، وكذلك المدير الحالي للاتصالات والاتصال التشريعي في OFIR. كان كل منهم نشطًا في معركة التدبير 88.

إذن ، لماذا هذه الإجراءات الجديدة في الاقتراع معادية للمهاجرين؟

يعتبر E-Verify أداة مهمة في سعي الحركة المناهضة للمهاجرين لتحقيق "الاستنزاف من خلال التنفيذ" ، والمعروف أيضًا باسم "الترحيل الذاتي". إنه برنامج إلكتروني للتحقق من العمل طوعي في المقام الأول ، على الرغم من أن بعض الدول جعلت استخدامه من قبل أصحاب العمل إلزاميًا. تأمل الحركة المناهضة للهجرة في استخدام E-Verify لجعل الحياة مستحيلة للغاية بالنسبة للمهاجرين غير المسجلين لدرجة أنهم يضطرون إلى مغادرة الولايات المتحدة

تثير هذه المبادرات المتجددة الخوف من المهاجرين وتولد دعمًا شعبيًا لتدابير أوسع لاستبعاد المهاجرين.

وبالمثل ، لطالما كانت الجهود المبذولة لتعيين اللغة الإنجليزية كلغة رسمية جزءًا من إستراتيجية الحركة المنظمة المناهضة للهجرة. لا تزال الولايات المتحدة دولة ذات أغلبية إنجليزية ، ولا يتعرض المتحدثون باللغة الإنجليزية في الولايات المتحدة لخطر فقدان الوصول إلى الخدمات أو المزايا الحكومية على أساس المهارات اللغوية. فلماذا تقدم الحركة المناهضة للمهاجرين مبادرات "اللغة الإنجليزية كلغة رسمية"؟ لأن هذه المبادرات تحرض على الخوف من المهاجرين وتولد دعمًا شعبيًا لتدابير أوسع لاستبعاد المهاجرين. يمكنهم أيضًا تقييد وصول غير الناطقين باللغة الإنجليزية إلى الخدمات الحكومية ، وحتى منع الوكالات الحكومية من الوصول إلى المجتمعات غير الناطقة باللغة الإنجليزية.

إن إجراءات الاقتراع هذه مثيرة للقلق بالفعل ، ولكن مع وجود مجتمع قوي لحقوق المهاجرين في ولاية أوريغون ، فإن الحركة المناهضة للمهاجرين قد قطعت عنهم عملهم. سيستمر برنامج Imagine2050 في تتبع إجراءات الاقتراع والتنظيم المناهض للمهاجرين من حولهم ، لذا ترقبوا ذلك.

Lindsay Schubiner هي كبيرة مديري البرامج في مركز المجتمع الجديد.

سهل الطباعة، PDF والبريد الإلكتروني
العربية

Racism is NOT welcome in Oregon!‏

This is an action alert!

The Oregon Republican Party and Oregonians for Immigration Reform (a recognized hate group by the Southern Poverty Law Center) are hosting Sheriff Joe Arpaio on Saturday, June 27th for fundraisers and a rally at the Oregon State Capitol in Salem.

Sheriff Arpaio of Maricopa County, Arizona has become the national posterchild for the anti-immigrant movement because of his racist tactics and blatant abuse of human rights. He has been found guilty of civil rights violations, racial profiling, abuse of power, and mismanagement of funds, costing Maricopa County taxpayers over $40 million to defend him in court. The U.S. Department of Justice filed a lawsuit against him in 2012 because he was not changing his behavior. He is notoriously discriminatory and abusive toward Latinos and seeks revenge against those who speak out against him.

It appears Sheriff Arpaio is being brought to Oregon to promote anti-immigrant ballot measures proposed for the November 2016 ballot. More information from our allies at the Center for New Community is below.

Our friends at PCUN, Oregon’s farmworker union, are organizing a counter-rally and we are joining them in sending a clear message: RACISM IS NOT WELCOME IN OREGON!

There are two ways for you to take action!

1. Join the counter-rally!

On Saturday, June 27th at 2:30PM, we will gather at the Oregon State Capitol Fountain (near 900 Court St. NE, Salem)!

Bring signs! Here are some ideas:

Arpaio Doesn’t Speak for Oregon!
We support civil rights in Oregon!
We support our immigrant neighbors!
2. Write the Oregon State Sheriffs’ Association (OSSA) asking them to publicly denounce Sheriff Arpaio and his racist tactics!

Email OSSA President Sheriff Jason Myers and Executive Director Ret. Sheriff John Bishop and ask them to publicly denounce Sheriff Arpaio’s tactics, methods, and behavior! Sheriff Arpaio does not represent Oregon’s values!

Get your group together and write a joint letter. Send it to your own county’s sheriff and state representatives! Click here to download a sample letter!

OSSA Executive Director, Ret. Sheriff John Bishop: bishop@oregonsheriffs.org
OSSA President, Sheriff Jason Myers: jmyers@co.marion.or.us
How will you take action? Send us an email at jessica@rop.org and let us know!

See you in Salem!

Warmly,
Jessica

Anti-immigrant organizing in Oregon intensifies, with a boost from Arpaio
Lindsay Schubiner • Jun 22, 2015
Members of the Oregon State Legislature with anti-immigrant connections have proposed four new ballot measures for the 2016 election.

In a disturbing sign of increasing collaboration around anti-immigrant goals, the Oregon Republican Party has invited Arizona’s infamous Maricopa County Sheriff Joe Arpaio to speak at a rally on the steps of the Oregon State Capitol on Saturday, June 27th. Arpaio is well known for promoting anti-immigrant policies that rely on racial profiling to target Latinos.

The rally is being promoted by Oregonians for Immigration Reform. OFIR is an official state contact group of the Federation for American Immigration Reform —which has been designated a hate group by the Southern Poverty Law Center — and is behind much of the recent anti-immigrant organizing in Oregon.

OFIR has announced a raffle to “help offset the costs of this event,” with prizes including a book written a signed by Sheriff Arpaio and a private dinner with Arpaio at the home of Oregon State Rep. Greg Barreto. The event organizers will also raffle off a pair of the pink underwear that inmates in Maricopa County are required to wear, a policy Arpaio instituted.

Regarding the pink underwear policy, the ADL noted, “In 2012, a fed­eral appeals court in Ari­zona crit­i­cized this pol­icy, say­ing it seemed to be ‘pun­ish­ment with­out legal jus­ti­fi­ca­tion.’ The court also said that it was fair to infer that the jail­ers’ choice of the color pink for the under­wear was a way to stig­ma­tize male pris­on­ers as fem­i­nine.”

A TROUBLING DECISION FOR THE OREGON REPUBLICAN PARTY
In a state in which several GOP members of the legislature voted for SB 833, successful legislation to expand access to driver’s licenses for undocumented Oregon residents, the Oregon Republican Party’s decision to provide a platform for Arpaio and apparently, to work closely with OFIR, is deeply distressing.

Arpaio has become a figurehead of the anti-immigrant movement because of his high-profile work to implement discriminatory policies across Maricopa County. These policies have been contested by the Justice Department, and a federal judge has ruled that Arpaio’s office must stop using racial profiling and must end its immigration enforcement patrols. Arpaio has allegedly violated this court order.

Billboard in Beaverton, Oregon. (Credit: VDARE via Cynthia Kendoll)

The Oregon Republican party’s apparent working relationship with OFIR similarly does not bode well for immigrant rights in Oregon. In 2014, OFIR and its partner group, Protect Oregon Driver Licenses, expended considerable effort to defeat Oregon Ballot Measure 88. This veto referendum subjected SB 833 to a popular vote, with the intention of taking away the newly won access to driver’s licenses for all Oregon residents, regardless of their immigration status.

Due in large part to OFIR’s organizing efforts and support from the national anti-immigrant movement, Ballot Measure 88 failed by a margin of two to one, ensuring that undocumented Oregon residents won’t be able to access drivers licenses.

Measure 88’s failure gave fuel to the national anti-immigrant movement, and we are already seeing their attempts to replicate this success in other states. That makes Oregon a particularly important battleground state where wins for immigrant rights–or failures–can reverberate nationally.

A SIGN OF MORE ANTI-IMMIGRANT ORGANIZING TO COME
To build on the momentum from Measure 88’s failure, members of the Oregon State Legislature with anti-immigrant connections have proposed four new ballot measures for the 2016 election. Two ballot measures would designate English as the official language in Oregon, and two would, in effect, mandate the use of E-Verify by Oregon employers. It is likely that these proposals are placeholders, and that only one ballot measure on each topic will actually move forward.

The measures were proposed by Rep. Sal Esquivel, a primary opponent of Measure 88 with strong ties to the anti-immigrant movement; Sen. Kim Thatcher, a member of the anti-immigrant group State Legislators for Legal Immigration; Rep. Mike Nearman, a member at large of OFIR’s board; and Jim Ludwick, a founder and former president of OFIR, as well as OFIR’s current director of communications and legislative liaison. Each of them was active in the Measure 88 fight.

So, why are these new ballot measures anti-immigrant?

E-Verify is an important tool in the anti-immigrant movement’s quest to achieve “attrition through enforcement,” also known as “self-deportation.” It is an electronic employment-verification program that is primarily voluntary, although certain states have made its use by employers mandatory. The anti-immigrant movement hopes to use E-Verify to make life so impossible for undocumented immigrants that they are forced to leave the U.S.

These renewed initiatives incite fear of immigrants and generate popular support for broader measures to exclude immigrants.

Similarly, efforts to designate English as the official language have long been part of the organized anti-immigrant movement’s strategy. The U.S. remains an English-majority country, and English-speakers in the U.S. are not in danger of losing access to government services or benefits based on language skills. So why is the anti-immigrant movement introducing “English as the official language” initiatives? Because these initiatives incite fear of immigrants and generate popular support for broader measures to exclude immigrants. They can also restrict non-English speakers’ access to government services, and even prevent government agencies from reaching out to non-English speaking communities.

These ballot measures are indeed worrisome, but with a strong immigrant rights community in Oregon, the anti-immigrant movement has their work cut out for them. Imagine2050 will continue to track the ballot measures and the anti-immigrant organizing around them, so stay tuned.

Lindsay Schubiner is the Senior Program Manager at the Center for New Community.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English