وضع أمريكا الريفية على الخريطة في عام 2010

 

خلال عقدين من الزمن تقريبًا على رأس شرطة عمان السلطانية ، وضعت مارسي ويسترلينغ ريف ولاية أوريغون على الخريطة.

في أيام تأسيس شرطة عمان السلطانية ، كان مارسي جزءًا من فريق صغير سافر إلى أقصى زوايا الولاية معتقدًا أن هزيمة الكراهية والتعصب في الاقتراع 9 لم يكن شأنًا حضريًا. بينما استخدمت الحملة الرسمية مواردهم للتركيز على المراكز السكانية في بورتلاند وسالم ويوجين ، اجتمع هذا الفريق في غرف المعيشة والطوابق السفلية للكنيسة مع سكان ريفيين متشابهين في التفكير في المدن الصغيرة عبر الولاية للتأكيد على أن الكرامة الإنسانية ملك للجميع علينا وتلك الديمقراطية تتطلب احترام حقوق الجميع. هذا التأكيد على الديمقراطية والكرامة الإنسانية أمر حيوي بشكل خاص في المناطق الريفية من دولتنا حيث يجادل اليمين المتطرف ، آنذاك والآن ، بأن بعضنا - المثليون والمهاجرون والفقراء والنساء - لا يحق لهم الحصول على نصيبنا من الكرامة. أو الديمقراطية.

اليوم في ريف ولاية أوريغون ، تشارك شرطة عمان السلطانية في حملتين جعلت من ريف أوريغون أولوية - حملة العدالة الضريبية نعم في 66 و 67 في يناير وحملة حرية الزواج التي ستؤدي إلى نعم للزواج في عام 2012. ولا أحد من هاتين ستكون الحملات ممكنة بدون تنظيم في ريف ولاية أوريغون. لقد تعلمنا في ولاية أوريغون أنه لا يمكننا تحقيق انتصارات تقدمية دائمة في ولايتنا بدون مجتمعاتنا الريفية. لقد تعلمنا أيضًا أنه يمكننا إنشاء مجتمع تقدمي دائم في ريف ولاية أوريغون يغذي ويبذر التزامًا قويًا وعميقًا بالكرامة الإنسانية والديمقراطية الحقيقية. لدينا شرطة عمان السلطانية ومارسي نشكرهما على ذلك.

ليست كل الدول محظوظة جدًا ، لكن في عام 2010 ستعمل مارسي على تغيير ذلك. في العام المقبل ، سيكون المدير المؤسس مارسي ويسترلنغ في إجازة للعمل كمسؤول زميل المجتمع المفتوح. زمالة المجتمع المفتوح هي جائزة مرموقة تدعم الأفراد الذين يبحثون عن مناهج مبتكرة وغير تقليدية لتحديات المجتمع المفتوح الأساسية. تعمل أموال الزمالة على إثراء فهم الجمهور لتلك التحديات وتحفيز المحادثات بعيدة المدى والتحقيق في العالم.

سيكون عمل مارسي في عام 2010 في نبراسكا وكولورادو وواشنطن وأيداهو بمهمة "رسم الخرائط للتنظيم من أجل العدالة مع المجتمعات الريفية". كما كتب مارسي:

الغرض من كل دولار وساعة وتنفس في هذا المشروع هو العثور على أشخاص ذوي عقلية عادلة يفهمون أن تفويضات الديمقراطية هي مسؤولية وحق كل مجتمع في ولايته بغض النظر عن المناطق الريفية أو المحافظة أو المنقسمة أو المقاومة. ولتحديهم لتنمية صوتهم التقدمي.

هذا جريء في المفهوم والنتيجة. يمكن أن تكون العملية بطيئة ومربكة. مع انتظار الانتخابات والسياسة دائمًا ، ناهيك عن أزمات الحرب والمناخ العالمية ، تشعر معظم المنظمات بضغط هائل لتحقيق نتائج سريعة يمكن الوصول إليها من قبل المجتمعات الحضرية ذات الكثافة السكانية العالية.

على الرغم من ذلك ، فإن بناء القدرة الدائمة في المناطق الريفية بأمريكا يضعف احتمالية الانهيار المدني في المجتمع بينما يساهم في تحقيق المزيد من الانتصارات الفورية في السياسة. كما أنه يخلق إمكانية قيام حركة من أجل العدالة تشمل أمريكا الريفية.

انضم إليّ وبقية طاقم العمل ومجلس شرطة عمان السلطانية متمنياً لمارسي عاماً مذهلاً بينما تضع بقية المناطق الريفية في أمريكا على الخريطة. نحن محظوظون جدًا لوجود مارسي هنا في أوريغون ، ويسعدنا جدًا أن نتمكن من مشاركتها مع بقية العالم ، ومن حسن الحظ أنها ستعود إلينا في عام 2011!

ايمي

العربية

Putting Rural America on the Map in 2010

 

In her nearly two decades at the helm of ROP, Marcy Westerling has put rural Oregon on the map.

In the founding days of ROP, Marcy was part of a small team that traveled to the far corners of the state believing that defeating the hate and bigotry of ballot measure 9 was not an urban affair.  While the formal campaign used their resources to focus on the populations centers of Portland, Salem, and Eugene, this team gathered in living rooms and church basements with like minded rural people in small towns across the state to affirm that human dignity belongs to all of us and that democracy requires the rights of all to be respected.  This affirmation of democracy and human dignity is especially vital in the rural parts of our state where the extreme Right, then and now, argues that some of us – queers, immigrants, the poor, women – aren’t entitled to our share of dignity or democracy.

Today in rural Oregon, ROP is engaged in two campaigns that have made rural Oregon a priority – the Yes on 66 and 67 tax fairness campaign in January and the Freedom to Marry campaign that will lead to a yes for marriage in 2012.  Neither of these campaigns would be possible without organizing in rural Oregon.  We have learned in Oregon that we can’t create lasting progressive victories in our state without our rural communities.  We have also learned that we can create lasting progressive community in rural Oregon that nurtures and seeds strong and deep commitment to human dignity and true democracy.   We have ROP and Marcy to thank for that.

Not all states are so lucky, but in 2010 Marcy will be working to change that.  In the coming year, founding director Marcy Westerling will be on leave working as an Open Society Fellow.  The Open Society Fellowship is a prestigious award that supports individuals seeking innovative and unconventional approaches to fundamental open society challenges. The fellowship funds work that will enrich public understanding of those challenges and stimulate far-reaching and probing conversations in the world.

Marcy’s work in 2010 will be in Nebraska, Colorado, Washington, and Idaho with the mission of “Mapping to Organize for Justice with Rural Communities.”  As Marcy writes:

The purpose of every dollar, hour and breathe going into this project is to find fair minded people who understand that the mandates of democracy are the responsibility and right of every community in their state however rural, conservative, divided or resistant.  And to challenge them to grow their progressive voice.

This is daring in concept and outcome.  The process can be slow and underwhelming.  With elections and policy always pending, let alone global crises of war and climate, most organizations feel enormous pressure to produce fast results that are most accessible from high population, urban communities.

The building of enduring capacity in rural America, though, offers to dull the potential for civil breakdown in society while contributing to more immediate policy victories.  It also creates the possibility for a movement for justice that includes rural America.

Join me and the rest of the staff and board of ROP in wishing Marcy an incredible year while she puts the rest of rural America on the map.  We are so lucky to have Marcy here in Oregon, so pleased that we can share her with the rest of the world, and so lucky that she will be returning to us in 2011!

Amy

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English