2010 年将美国农村放在地图上

 

在掌舵 ROP 的近 20 年里,Marcy Westerling 已经将俄勒冈州的乡村放在了地图上。

在 ROP 成立之初,Marcy 是一个小团队的一员,该团队前往该州的偏远角落,相信击败投票措施 9 的仇恨和偏执不是城市事务。虽然正式运动利用他们的资源专注于波特兰、塞勒姆和尤金的人口中心,但这个团队与全州小城镇志同道合的农村人聚集在客厅和教堂地下室,以确认人类尊严属于所有人我们和民主要求所有人的权利得到尊重。这种对民主和人类尊严的肯定在我们州的农村地区尤为重要,当时和现在,极右翼认为我们中的一些人——酷儿、移民、穷人、妇女——无权享有我们应得的尊严或民主。

今天,在俄勒冈州农村地区,ROP 参与了两项将俄勒冈州农村地区列为优先事项的运动——1 月份的 Yes on 66 和 67 税收公平运动以及将导致 2012 年结婚的自由婚姻运动。这些都没有无需在俄勒冈州农村组织开展活动即可。我们在俄勒冈州了解到,如果没有农村社区,我们就无法在我们的州创造持久的进步胜利。我们还了解到,我们可以在俄勒冈州农村建立持久的进步社区,培养和播种对人类尊严和真正民主的坚定而深刻的承诺。我们要感谢 ROP 和 Marcy。

并非所有州都如此幸运,但 Marcy 将在 2010 年努力改变这种状况。在来年,创始董事 Marcy Westerling 将休假工作 开放社会研究员.开放社会奖学金是一项享有盛誉的奖项,它支持寻求创新和非常规方法来应对基本开放社会挑战的个人。奖学金基金的工作将丰富公众对这些挑战的理解,并在世界范围内激发影响深远和探索性的对话。

Marcy 2010 年的工作将在内布拉斯加州、科罗拉多州、华盛顿州和爱达荷州开展,其使命是“与农村社区一起为正义组织映射”。正如玛西所写:

投入到这个项目中的每一美元、每一小时和呼吸的目的是找到公正的人,他们明白民主的使命是他们所在州每个社区的责任和权利,无论是农村、保守、分裂还是抵抗。并挑战他们以提高他们进步的声音。

这在概念和结果上都是大胆的。这个过程可能很缓慢而且令人印象深刻。由于选举和政策总是悬而未决,更不用说全球战争和气候危机,大多数组织都感到巨大的压力,需要快速产生最容易从高人口城市社区获得的结果。

然而,在美国农村建设持久能力可以减弱社会中公民崩溃的可能性,同时有助于更直接的政策胜利。它还为包括美国农村在内的正义运动创造了可能性。

与我和 ROP 的其他员工和董事会一起祝愿 Marcy 度过令人难以置信的一年,同时她将美国其他农村地区置于地图上。我们很幸运有 Marcy 在俄勒冈州,很高兴我们可以与世界其他地方分享她,很幸运她将在 2011 年回到我们身边!

艾米

简体中文

Putting Rural America on the Map in 2010

 

In her nearly two decades at the helm of ROP, Marcy Westerling has put rural Oregon on the map.

In the founding days of ROP, Marcy was part of a small team that traveled to the far corners of the state believing that defeating the hate and bigotry of ballot measure 9 was not an urban affair.  While the formal campaign used their resources to focus on the populations centers of Portland, Salem, and Eugene, this team gathered in living rooms and church basements with like minded rural people in small towns across the state to affirm that human dignity belongs to all of us and that democracy requires the rights of all to be respected.  This affirmation of democracy and human dignity is especially vital in the rural parts of our state where the extreme Right, then and now, argues that some of us – queers, immigrants, the poor, women – aren’t entitled to our share of dignity or democracy.

Today in rural Oregon, ROP is engaged in two campaigns that have made rural Oregon a priority – the Yes on 66 and 67 tax fairness campaign in January and the Freedom to Marry campaign that will lead to a yes for marriage in 2012.  Neither of these campaigns would be possible without organizing in rural Oregon.  We have learned in Oregon that we can’t create lasting progressive victories in our state without our rural communities.  We have also learned that we can create lasting progressive community in rural Oregon that nurtures and seeds strong and deep commitment to human dignity and true democracy.   We have ROP and Marcy to thank for that.

Not all states are so lucky, but in 2010 Marcy will be working to change that.  In the coming year, founding director Marcy Westerling will be on leave working as an Open Society Fellow.  The Open Society Fellowship is a prestigious award that supports individuals seeking innovative and unconventional approaches to fundamental open society challenges. The fellowship funds work that will enrich public understanding of those challenges and stimulate far-reaching and probing conversations in the world.

Marcy’s work in 2010 will be in Nebraska, Colorado, Washington, and Idaho with the mission of “Mapping to Organize for Justice with Rural Communities.”  As Marcy writes:

The purpose of every dollar, hour and breathe going into this project is to find fair minded people who understand that the mandates of democracy are the responsibility and right of every community in their state however rural, conservative, divided or resistant.  And to challenge them to grow their progressive voice.

This is daring in concept and outcome.  The process can be slow and underwhelming.  With elections and policy always pending, let alone global crises of war and climate, most organizations feel enormous pressure to produce fast results that are most accessible from high population, urban communities.

The building of enduring capacity in rural America, though, offers to dull the potential for civil breakdown in society while contributing to more immediate policy victories.  It also creates the possibility for a movement for justice that includes rural America.

Join me and the rest of the staff and board of ROP in wishing Marcy an incredible year while she puts the rest of rural America on the map.  We are so lucky to have Marcy here in Oregon, so pleased that we can share her with the rest of the world, and so lucky that she will be returning to us in 2011!

Amy

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English