2020年强大的农村组织!

我们知道在 2020 年初,我们的工作已经完成,全国各地都在进行明显的民主斗争。我们几乎不知道我们还将直接与反乌托邦科幻小说中的事情作斗争,包括全球大流行、经济衰退、灾难性的野火以及对新的黑人解放运动的强烈反对。

我们无法预料到 2020 年会对我们提出的所有要求,但我们为成千上万的农村人采取行动的方式感到无比自豪,即使他们面临威胁、暴力和照顾我们最脆弱的社区成员所带来的健康风险。在大流行中。

ROP 成员团体全年为人类尊严和民主采取行动在俄勒冈州,我们由 83 个自治团体组成的网络正在地方和全州范围内建立力量并做出改变。而 ROP 的网络也在不断壮大——今年有 26 个新团体加入了网络!

我们的年度报告强调了我们在这个极具挑战性的一年中取得的一些最引以为豪的成就。我们感谢我们的支持者,他们帮助我们专注于我们面前的工作。感谢您与我们一起在俄勒冈州建立更强大、更有弹性的农村社区!

您对 ROP 的支持帮助我们专注于我们面前的工作——谢谢!柯林斯基金会将按 1:1 的比例匹配新的和增加的礼物,最高可达 $25,000。

在大流行期间建立社区

冠状病毒、经济衰退和毁灭性的野火暴露了社会安全网的差距,使农村社区无法可靠地获得紧急资源、食物、住房、医疗保健、儿童保育、互联网等。俄勒冈州农村人建立了数十个互助网络,为邻居提供食物,分享健康和安全信息,并确保任何需要帮助的人都能获得帮助。应我们镇上合作伙伴的要求,ROP 的 社区建设中心 位于 Cottage Grove 的 Main Street 变成了一个资源共享中心。我们与数十家服务机构、学区工作人员、信仰社区和志愿者进行了协调,以确保在裁员和住房短缺、通过 COVID-19 进行隔离并撤离野火的家庭能够毫无疑问地获得食品盒、卫生用品和热餐,没有限制,没有障碍。


打破农村隔离

通过虚拟聚会,ROP 将数百名农村社区领袖和人类尊严团体聚集在一起,分享策略、交流思想并相互支持。我们举行了我们的 第 29 届年度农村核心小组和战略会议 在线举办了 17 场战略会议,有 800 名参与者,主题包括 营造安全和安保文化 (在全州“黑人的命也是命”示威活动中遭到强烈反对时) 农村互助会 & 野火响应。


 

我们结束了与俄勒冈州 ICE 的最后一份监狱合同。 经过 3 年由被拘留者、哥伦比亚峡谷组织者以及全州其他数十个团结一致的团体领导的组织,我们建立了足够的人民力量 在俄勒冈州北部地区惩教所 (NORCOR) 终止移民和海关执法局 (ICE) 合同,公共监狱。由被拘留在 NORCOR 内的人领导的两次绝食抗议要求结束不人道待遇、游行、数百次团结集会和数千次邻里对话为 NORCOR 委员会一致投票结束监狱与 ICE 的合同铺平了道路八月!


 

推动黑人生活运动: 俄勒冈州的农村人聚集在街角、教堂、公园和大篷车里,为被警察杀害的黑人和棕色人种守夜。 ROP 支持长期和新兴团体组建领导团队、计划行动并制定植根于我们社区关怀价值观的安全和安保计划。克拉克马斯县的组织者将新发现的精力集中在禁止在校园内悬挂邦联旗帜上,联合县的人们专注于扩大警务的替代方案,哈尼县的领导人正在为他们社区的第一批黑人牧场主建造一座纪念碑。 

通过战略会议和与俄勒冈州农村地区领导者的数百次一对一对话, 蓬勃发展的俄勒冈州农村路线图, 它概述了我们的社区从勉强生存到繁荣所需的优先事项。路线图将我们网络中 83 个自治团体的组织联系起来,这样我们就可以一起行动,确保所有俄勒冈州农村人都有我们需要的东西,包括宽带互联网、儿童保育、住房、健康食品、清洁水等等!

捍卫民主

从邻里间就这些问题的对话到回应选民的恐吓,俄勒冈州农村人在每个县都动不动捍卫民主! ROP 发起捍卫民主倡议反对关于谁可以投票和如何投票的虚假信息,支持所有选民安全进入投票箱,并降低任何与选举相关的威胁和恐吓。该倡议包括捍卫民主热线、工具包和广播公共服务公告。我们收到并响应了热线电话,从克拉索普县的投票站人满为患,莱克县的院子标志被盗,到武装人员在斯普林菲尔德的投票站阻止选民。

STAND 选举指南 俄勒冈州农村人通过 36,000 份纸质副本、社交媒体和超过 19 个社区广播电台在全州范围内分发了关于投票措施以及如何用英语和西班牙语投票的易于理解的信息!我们播放了我们的特别选举版 农村根崛起 广播节目和播客,包括我们的投票措施建议、围绕选举组织的人类尊严团体的故事以及电台有用的公共服务公告。

人类尊严团体召集数千名选民讨论这些问题,组织选票和投递投递箱,并在卫生诊所外设立分发个人防护设备,登记选民并分发 STAND 指南!在很大程度上要感谢农村社区的投票,俄勒冈州通过了开创性的全州投票措施,促进了民主、种族正义、非刑事化和获得药物治疗的机会。

激励年轻的组织者

我们的第二 农村组织奖学金 汇集了 10 位 16 至 30 岁的农村组织者,他们正在改变他们的社区!今年的学员一直在虚拟召开会议,以培养他们的组织技能、分享策略并围绕选举、COVID-19 救援和灾难性野火共同采取集体行动

农村根崛起,我们的每月播客和广播节目以农村组织者为特色,讲述他们如何以及为何组织以建立农村人民力量的故事,完成了我们为期一年的第一个赛季!剧集讲述了普通农村人如何联合起来对抗警察的暴行和系统性种族主义,建立权力让 100 多名寻求庇护者从 Yamhill 县的联邦监狱获释,并在 600 多人庆祝丰富的文化马赛克时建立了新的联系杰佛逊县!在我们遍布俄勒冈州的 19 个合作社区广播电台之一上收听 Rural Roots Rising,或者在您收听播客的任何地方订阅。

PS:到 2020 年底,新的和增加的礼物将通过柯林斯基金会的慷慨礼物匹配高达 $25,000。这意味着 $100 礼物增长到 $200!一次性贡献或成为月度维持者,全年帮助 ROP。欢迎所有礼物!我们感谢您的支持!

如果您已经捐赠了 – 谢谢!

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Powerful Rural Organizing in 2020!

We knew we had our work cut out for us at the beginning of 2020, with an obvious struggle for democracy taking place across the country. Little did we know that we would also be contending with things straight from a dystopian sci-fi novel, including a global pandemic, a recession, catastrophic wildfires, and a violent backlash to a renewed Black liberation movement.

We couldn’t have anticipated all that 2020 would ask of us, but we are incredibly proud of the way thousands of rural people took action even when facing threats, violence and the health risks that come with taking care of our most vulnerable community members in the midst of the pandemic.

ROP member groups take action all year round for human dignity and democracyAcross Oregon, our network of 83 autonomous groups is building power and making change at the local and statewide level. And ROP’s network is growing – 26 new groups joined the network this year!

Our annual report highlights some of our proudest accomplishments from this incredibly challenging year. We are grateful for our supporters, who help us stay focused on the work in front of us. Thank you for joining with us to build stronger and more resilient rural communities across Oregon!

Your support for ROP helps us to stay focused on the work in front of us – thank you! New and increased gifts up to $25,000 will be matched 1:1 by the Collins Foundation.

BUILDING COMMUNITY DURING A PANDEMIC

The coronavirus, economic recession and devastating wildfires exposed the gaps in social safety nets that leave rural communities without reliable access to emergency resources, food, housing, healthcare, childcare, internet and more. Rural Oregonians built dozens of mutual aid networks to feed neighbors, share health and safety information and make sure anyone who needs help gets it. In response to requests from our partners around town, ROP’s Community Building Center on Main Street in Cottage Grove turned into a resource-sharing hub. We coordinated with dozens of service agencies, school district workers, faith communities and volunteers to make sure families struggling from layoffs and housing shortages, quarantining through COVID-19 and evacuating wildfires could get food boxes, hygiene supplies and hot meals with no questions asked, no limits and no barriers.


BREAKING RURAL ISOLATION

Through virtual gatherings, ROP brought together hundreds of rural community leaders and human dignity groups to share strategies, cross-pollinate ideas and support one another. We held our 29th annual Rural Caucus & Strategy Session online and have hosted 17 strategy sessions with 800 participants, ranging in topics from Creating a Culture of Safety & Security (during violent backlash at Black Lives Matter demonstrations across the state) to Rural Mutual Aid & Wildfire Response.


 

We Ended the Last Jail Contract with ICE in Oregon. After 3 years of organizing led by detained people, Columbia Gorge organizers, and dozens of other groups acting solidarity across the state, webuilt enough people power to end the Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) contract at the Northern Oregon Regional Correctional Facility (NORCOR), a public jail. Two hunger strikes led by people detained inside NORCOR demanding an end to inhumane treatment, a march, hundreds of solidarity rallies and thousands of neighbor-to-neighbor conversations paved the way for the NORCOR Board to vote unanimously to end the jail’s contract with ICE in August!


 

Growing the Movement for Black Lives: Rural Oregonians gathered on street corners, in churches, parks and in car caravans tohold vigil for the Black and brown people killed by police. ROP supported long-time and emerging groups to form leadership teams, plan actions and create safety and security plans rooted in our values of community care. Clackamas County organizers focused that newfound energy on banning Confederate flags from school grounds, folks in Union County focused on expanding alternatives to policing and leaders in Harney County are creating a monument to the first Black ranchers in their community. 

From strategy sessions and hundreds of one-on-one conversations with leaders across rural Oregon came the Roadmap to a Thriving Rural Oregon, which outlines the priorities our communities need to move from barely surviving to thriving. The Roadmap connects the dots between organizing happening across our network’s 83 autonomous groups so we can move together to ensure all rural Oregonians have what we need, including broadband internet, childcare, housing, healthy food, clean water and much more!

DEFENDING DEMOCRACY

From neighbor-to-neighbor conversations about the issues to responding to voter intimidation, rural Oregonians have defended democracy in every county at every turn! ROP launched the Defend Democracy initiativeto counter disinformation about who can vote and how to vote, to support all voters in safely accessing ballot drop boxes and to deescalate any election-related threats and intimidation. The initiative included the Defend Democracy hotline, toolkit and radio public service announcements. We received and responded to hotline calls ranging from overflowing ballot drop sites in Clatsop County to stolen yard signs in Lake County to armed people stopping voters at a ballot drop site in Springfield.

The STAND Election Guide by and for rural Oregonians that shared easy-to-understand information on the ballot measures and how to vote in English and Spanish was distributed statewide through 36,000 paper copies, social media, and more than 19 community radio stations! We broadcast a special election edition of our Rural Roots Rising radio show and podcast to include our ballot measure recommendations, stories of human dignity groups organizing around the elections and helpful public service announcements for stations.

Human dignity groups called thousands of voters to talk about the issues, organized ballot pick-ups and deliveries to drop boxes and set up outside of health clinics to pass out personal protective equipment, register people to vote and hand out STAND Guides! Thanks in large part to rural communities getting out the vote, Oregon passed ground-breaking statewide ballot measures that advance democracy, racial justice, decriminalization, and access to drug treatment.

INSPIRING YOUNG ORGANIZERS

Our second Rural Organizing Fellowship has brought together a group of 10 rural organizers between 16 and 30 years old who are making change in their communities! This year’s cohort has been convening virtually to build their organizing skills, share strategies and take collective action together around the election, COVID-19 relief and catastrophic wildfires

Rural Roots Rising, our monthly podcast and radio show featuring rural organizers telling the stories of how and why they organize to build rural people power, completed our first year-long season! Episodes featured how ordinary rural people have joined together to confront police brutality and systemic racism, built power to get more than 100 asylum seekers released from a federal prison in Yamhill County and forged new connections as more than 600 people celebrated the rich mosaic of cultures in Jefferson County! Listen to Rural Roots Rising on one of our 19 partnered community radio stations across Oregon or subscribe wherever you listen to podcasts.

P.S.: Through the end of 2020, new and increased gifts will be matched up to $25,000 by a generous gift from the Collins Foundation. That means a $100 gift grows to $200!  Make a one-time contribution or become a monthly sustainer and help ROP throughout the entire year. All gifts are welcome! We are grateful for your support!

If you have already donated – thank you!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English