乌克兰及其他地区的和平

每天的头条新闻充斥着最新的更新,因为 俄罗斯入侵乌克兰,美军被派往加强北大西洋公约组织 (NATO) 国家的防御。 俄勒冈州和世界各地社区的人类尊严团体已作出回应,呼吁和平并资助我们的社区,而不是俄罗斯和北约的全球军事扩张。 继续阅读,寻找机会让您的声音被听到,并从俄勒冈农村人如何为乌克兰及其他地区的和平采取行动中获得灵感!

准备好采取行动了吗?以下是一些让您的声音被听到的方法:

→ 标志 国家立法之友委员会的请愿书谴责俄罗斯的入侵并敦促外交。

→ 寄明信片 给你的美国代表,告诉他们为什么和平对你个人很重要,以及你希望他们资助哪些乡村学校、图书馆和其他项目而不是 国防承包商和军事干预你可以在这里找到他们的邮寄地址.这 整合俄勒冈不可分割网络 特别是鼓励人们给美国第 2 区众议员 Cliff Bentz 写反对战争的明信片。

→ 加入或组织集会 在你的社区!看看下面的几个例子,别忘了带上 签到表 这样您就可以与第一次采取行动的新人保持联系! 额外学分: 向您当地的报纸发送新闻稿,或给编辑写一封信,说明您为扩大影响而采取的行动!

→ 支持难民 呼吁美国和欧洲政府优先考虑所有逃离冲突的人的健康和福祉。 黑人和棕色难民正面临特别困难 因为种族主义和仇外心理增加了寻求安全的障碍。

→ 需要支持制定当地行动计划?给我们发电子邮件让我们知道 艾玛@rop.org.

你的团队是如何采取行动的? 作为回应,您的社区正在发生什么?给我们发电子邮件让我们知道 艾玛@rop.org.不知道从哪里开始?

在下面查看俄勒冈农村人采取行动的强大方式! 请务必与 ROP 分享和平集会和守夜公告,以便我们可以在我们的社交媒体等上分享它们。

热烈地,
艾玛和 ROP 团队

支持乌克兰民主的和平集会

胡德河县: 与乌克兰标志挥动和筹款活动站在一起

表达你对乌克兰战争的反对,你对乌克兰人民的支持,你对国内外独裁统治的反对,以及你对各地民主的支持。请携带旗帜、标志和善意。

地点:Hood River、Overlook Memorial 喷泉、2nd 和 State St.

时间:3月5日星期六,12:00-1:00PM

乌马蒂拉县: 3 月 2 日星期三下午 4:00 在 Roy Raley 人行道上放弃与乌克兰站在一起的标志。请带上标志和/或旗帜,来表达你对乌克兰的声援! 

战争对儿童和其他生物不健康,印刷品

德舒特县: 声乐资历将本德的人们聚集在一起,并发表了这样的声明:“周二中午加入我们的和平角,表达你对乌克兰战争的反对,你对乌克兰人民的支持,你对国内独裁统治和在国外,或任何你内心的声音想要表达的东西。带上你自己的标志。和平。”

与拿着标志阅读的人的集会

杰克逊县: Oregon District 2 Indivisible,Rogue Valley Chapter of Veterans for Peace and Peace House 都邀请您参加集会 3 月 2 日星期三下午 4:30 – 6:00 与乌克兰站在一起 在梅德福的沃格尔广场.参与者被要求身着蓝色和黄色衣服以纪念乌克兰国旗,并携带标语、向日葵和捐款以造福无国界医生组织,该组织正在为因冲突而受伤和流离失所的人们提供援助。

乌克兰塞勒姆集会图形没有战争。不管问题是什么……战争不是答案

马里恩县: Oregon PeaceWorks 和 Oregon Fellowship of Reconciliation 邀请人们“于 3 月 6 日在塞勒姆加入我们,呼吁结束乌克兰的战斗。中午在 NE Liberty 和 Chemeketa 街的拐角处见面。带上横幅、和平标志和旗帜。”

奥尔巴尼和平寻求者说,“战争不是答案”

2 月 23 日星期三,在 15 名社区成员聚集在林恩县法院附近之后,奥尔巴尼和平寻求者在奥尔巴尼民主党先驱报上写了一篇关于他们的战争不是答案守夜的精彩文章。

人行道上的人举着牌子阅读

“我们的使命是鼓励一个和平、公正的世界,”活动组织者 Sharon Gisler 说。 “现在世界上有太多的困惑和恐惧。现在是坚持和平仍然可能的想法的时刻……战争从来都不是一个好的选择。”

亲民主的俄罗斯人抗议普京袭击乌克兰

“周五,抗议者走上莫斯科、圣彼得堡和俄罗斯各地的街头,谴责入侵乌克兰,尽管当局试图压制蔓延的反战情绪,并展示力量和正义的形象。” 美国新闻。

上图:2022 年 2 月 25 日星期五,示威者在俄罗斯圣彼得堡高喊口号。随着社交媒体上对抗议活动的情绪高涨,成千上万的俄罗斯人震惊了,他们谴责他们的国家入侵乌克兰。俄罗斯 54 个城市的约 1,745 人被拘留,其中至少有 957 人在莫斯科。 (美联社照片/德米特里洛维茨基)

和平之家关于乌克兰战争的声明:化解恐惧,倾听

和平之家致力于和平。和平涉及倾听冲突各方需求的能力,以及努力满足所有人的合理关切。甘地告诉我们,最可怕的暴力是恐惧。为战争做准备的军国主义被当作通往安全的途径出售,但它只会制造不安全感和更多的恐惧。乌克兰人民和世界人民不应受制于对战争的恐惧及其在乌克兰的意外后果,这将不可避免地以某种方式影响我们所有人,尤其是在涉及核大国的情况下。化解恐惧是维和的本分,而在这种情况下,化解恐惧需要从战争的边缘撤退,走一条艰难但必要的倾听之路,作为和平的开始。

乌克兰局势复杂且充满后果,不仅对乌克兰及其人民,而且在更大的国际背景下。对这么多人来说,军事接触的后果将是灾难性的。 我们在这种情况下的军事干预和战争的历史是未能实现和平解决的惨败之一,但却成功地造成了意想不到的非常负面的后果。 显然,战争、军事干预不是答案。寻找倾听和满足各方需求的方法是困难的,但这是为每个人创造和平和更安全局势的唯一途径。

Peace House 董事 Elizabeth Hallett 和 Peace House 董事会主席 Jim Phillips 的声明。

本茨问责组为本茨组织明信片:“拒绝普京对乌克兰的攻击”

俄勒冈州不可分割联合网络正在邀请第 2 区的人们告诉美国众议员 Cliff Bentz 为什么这对您个人而言很重要。这对您的家人有何影响?你的社区?用您的名字和姓氏以及您居住的城市或县签名。在上面贴上 40 美分的邮票,请尽快将其放入邮件中!

将您的明信片寄至: 

    众议员克里夫·本茨            
    1239 朗沃斯办公大楼
    华盛顿特区 20515

简体中文

Peace in Ukraine & Beyond

The daily headlines are flooded with the latest updates as Russia invades Ukraine and US troops are sent to bolster North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) countries’ defenses. Human dignity groups across Oregon and communities around the world have responded, calling for peace and funding our communities instead of the global military expansion of Russia and NATO. Read on for opportunities to make your voice heard and to get inspired by how rural Oregonians have already taken action for peace in Ukraine and beyond!

Ready to take action? Here are some ways to make your voice heard:

→ Sign the Friends Committee on National Legislation’s petition to condemn the Russian invasion and press for diplomacy.

→ Send a postcard to your US Representative telling them why peace matters to YOU personally, and what rural schools, libraries, and other programs you would rather they fund instead of defense contractors and military interventionYou can find their mailing addresses here. The Consolidated Oregon Indivisible Network is encouraging people to write postcards against the war to US District 2 Representative Cliff Bentz in particular.

→ Join or organize a rally in your community! Check out a few examples below and don’t forget to bring a sign-in sheet so you can stay connected to new people taking action for the first time! Extra credit: send a press release to your local papers, or write a letter to the editor about your action to broaden the impact!

→ Support refugees across the world by calling on US and European governments to prioritize the health and wellbeing of all people fleeing conflict. Black and brown refugees are facing particular hardship as racism and xenophobia add barriers to seeking safety.

→ Want support making your local action plan? Let us know by emailing us at Emma@rop.org.

How is your group taking action? What’s happening in your community in response? Let us know by emailing us at Emma@rop.org. Not sure where to start?

Check out the powerful ways rural Oregonians are taking action below! Be sure to share peace rally and vigil announcements with ROP so we can share them out on our social media and more.

Warmly,
Emma and the ROP Team

Peace Rallies in Support of Ukrainian Democracy

Hood River County: Stand with Ukraine Sign Waving & Fundraiser

Express your opposition to the war in Ukraine, your support for the people of Ukraine, your opposition to the rise of autocracy at home and abroad, and your support of democracy everywhere. Please bring flags, signs and goodwill.

Where: Hood River, Overlook Memorial fountain, 2nd and State St.

When: Saturday, March 5th, 12:00-1:00PM

Umatilla County: Stand With Ukraine sign waive on Roy Raley sidewalk Wednesday, March 2nd at 4:00 pm.Please bring a sign and/or flag and come show your solidarity with Ukraine! 

War is not healthy for children and other living things, print

Deschutes County: The Vocal Seniority brought people in Bend together with this statement: “Join us at Peace Corner at noon on Tuesday to express your opposition to the war in Ukraine, your support for the people of Ukraine, your opposition to the rise of autocracy at home and abroad, or whatever your inner voice wishes to express. Bring your own signs. Peace.”

Rally with person holding a sign reading

Jackson County: Oregon District 2 Indivisible, the Rogue Valley Chapter of Veterans for Peace and Peace House all invite you to attend a rally to Stand With Ukraine on Wednesday, March 2nd, 4:30 pm – 6:00 pm at Vogel Plaza in Medford. Participants are asked to wear blue and yellow in honor of Ukraine’s flag and to bring signs, sunflowers, and donations to benefit Doctors Without Borders, which is providing aid to people injured and displaced by the conflict.

No War in Ukraine Salem rally graphic. Whatever the question is... War is not the answer

Marion County: Oregon PeaceWorks and the Oregon Fellowship of Reconciliation invite folks to “Join Us on March 6 in Salem to call for an end to the fighting in Ukraine. Meet at noon at the corner of NE Liberty and Chemeketa Streets. Bring banners, peaceful signs and flags.”

Albany Peace Seekers say, ‘War is not the answer’

Albany Peace Seekers had a great article written up about their War is Not the Answer vigil in the Albany Democrat-Herald after 15 community members gathered near the Linn County Courthouse on Wednesday, Feb 23.

People on a sidewalk hold a sign reading

“Our mission is to encourage a peaceful, just world,” event organizer Sharon Gisler said. “There’s so much confusion and fear in the world right now. It’s a moment to hold up the idea that peace is still possible…War is never a good option.”

Pro-Democracy Russians Protest Putin’s assault on Ukraine

“Protesters took to the streets in Moscow, St. Petersburg, and across Russia on Friday to decry the invasion of Ukraine, even as authorities sought to suppress the spreading antiwar sentiment and project an image of strength and righteousness.” US News.

Pictured above: Demonstrators shout slogans in St. Petersburg, Russia, Friday, Feb. 25, 2022. Shocked Russians turned out by the thousands to decry their country’s invasion of Ukraine as emotional calls for protests grew on social media. Some 1,745 people in 54 Russian cities were detained, at least 957 of them in Moscow. (AP Photo/Dmitri Lovetsky)

Peace House Statement on War in Ukraine: Defuse Fear, Listen

Peace House is committed to peace. Peace involves the ability to listen to the needs of all parties in a conflict, and the attempt to accommodate the legitimate concerns of all. Gandhi tells us that the worst kind of violence is fear. Militarism, preparing for war, is sold as the way to security, but it only creates insecurity and more fear. The people of Ukraine and the world should not be held hostage to the fear of war and its unintended consequences in Ukraine that will inevitably affect us all in some way, especially if nuclear powers are involved. Defusing fear is the proper work of peacekeeping, and in this case, defusing fear requires pulling back from the brink of war, and walking instead the difficult but necessary path of listening as a beginning toward peace.

The Ukraine situation is complex and fraught with consequences, not only for Ukraine and its people but also in a much larger international context. The consequences of military engagement would be disastrous for so many people. Our history of military intervention and war in such situations is one of dismal failure to achieve peaceful resolutions, but success in creating unintended and very negative consequences. Clearly, war, military intervention, is not an answer. Finding ways to listen to and accommodate the needs of all parties is difficult but it is the only way to produce a peaceful and more secure situation for everyone.

Statement by Elizabeth Hallett, Peace House Director, and Jim Phillips, Peace House Board of Directors Chair.

Bentz Accountability Team Organizes Postcards to Bentz: “Reject Putin’s Attacks on Ukraine”

The Consolidated Oregon Indivisible Network is inviting people in House District 2 to tell US Representative Cliff Bentz why this matters to YOU personally. How has this affected your family? Your community? Sign with your first and last name, and the city or county you live in. Stick a 40-cent stamp on it and please put it in the mail ASAP!

Address your postcard to: 

    Rep. Cliff Bentz            
    1239 Longworth House Office Bldg
    Washington, D.C. 20515

English