تكتسب جولة الصمت الريفية في ولاية أوريغون زخمًا!

إنه رسمي. بدأت جولة OUT IN THE SILENCE في ريف ولاية أوريغون.

في العشرة أيام القادمة ، سيسافر صانعو الأفلام الوثائقية جو ويلسون ودين هامر مسافة 1500 ميل ويزورون 15 مجتمعًا في أوريغون، عرض فيلمهم الحائز على جائزة حول تجربة أن يكونوا مثليي الجنس في المناطق الريفية في أمريكا ، وتسهيل الحوار الحقيقي حول ما الذي يتطلبه الأمر لتحقيق العدالة والشمول والمساواة.

كمواطن من بلدة أويل سيتي الصغيرة ، بنسلفانيا ، يعرف جو ويلسون ما يعنيه أن يكبر مثليًا في مجتمع ريفي غير مستعد لاحتضان من هو تمامًا. كمخرجين ومنظمين ، سافر جو ودين إلى مئات المدن في جميع أنحاء البلاد لنقل الناس ، لإلهامنا لمواصلة عملنا من أجل الكرامة الإنسانية ، وتحدي المعتقدات والمخاوف والافتراضات التي تعيقنا.

في الشهرين الماضيين ، استغلت كل مجموعة من المجموعات المضيفة هذه الفرصة للتقديم أمام مجلس إدارة المدرسة ، في اجتماعات مجلس المدينة ، للخروج ودعوة زملاء العمل ، ومعلمي الأطفال ، لبدء العلاقات مع الصحفيين المحليين والقادة الدينيين. .  النجاحات التي حققتها هذه الجولة كثيرة للغاية ، وبالكاد بدأت!

لذا تهانينا لريف أوريغون ، أنت مصدر إلهام.

والآن ، حددت الأيام القليلة الأولى من الجولة نغمة مهمة ، حيث سلطت الضوء على التباين الذي يبقي ROPers دائمًا على أقدامنا. بالأمس ، تم إحضار عرض في كلية لين بينتون المجتمعية أمطار من المنشورات السيئة التي وجدها رواد السينما متناثرة في سياراتهم وموقف السيارات بعد الحدث (ارى الكراهية تربي رأسها في حرم كلية المجتمع الريفية في ولاية أوريغون).

ثم هذا الصباح ، عرض فيلم Scappoose الذي استضافته Columbia County Citizens for Human Dignity تعبئة السينما المحلية لدينا ، كادت أن تفيض بغرفة بسعة 114. أمهات مع أطفال ، أزواج مثليين ومثليات جنسيا ، ممثلون سياسيون محليون ، مقدمو رعاية صحية ومعلمون امتلأوا المسرح ، مستعدين لاكتشاف المزيد وإجراء حوار هادف.

لأولئك الذين يرغبون في معرفة المزيد عن الجولة ، هناك قائمة كاملة بمحطات التوقف هنا. وتذكر أن كل يوم هو فرصة لبدء محادثة في مجتمعك حول دمج LGBT. تتوفر حزم العرض عن طريق البريد للمجموعات والأفراد الذين يرغبون في استضافة عرض الفيلم الخاص بهم. فقط اسمحوا لنا أن نعرف.

 

سهل الطباعة، PDF والبريد الإلكتروني
العربية

Out in the Silence Rural Oregon Tour gaining Momentum!

It’s official.  The OUT IN THE SILENCE tour of rural Oregon has begun.

In the next 10 days, documentary filmmakers Joe Wilson & Dean Hamer will travel 1,500 miles and visit 15 Oregon communities, screening their award-winning film about the experience of being LGBT in rural America, and facilitating real dialogue about what it will take to achieve fairness, inclusion, and equality.

As a native of the small town of Oil City, Pennsylvania, Joe Wilson knows what it is like to grow up gay in a rural community not ready to fully embrace who he is.  As filmmakers and organizers, Joe & Dean have traveled to hundreds of towns across the country to move people, to inspire us to continue our work for human dignity, and to challenge the beliefs, fears, and assumptions that hold us back.

In the past two months each of the host groups have used this opportunity to present in front of the school board, at city council meetings, to come out and invite to coworkers, childrens’ teachers, to start relationships with their local journalists, faith leaders.  The successes of this tour are too many to count, and it has scarcely begun!

So congratulations rural Oregon, you are an inspiration.

And now, the first few days of the tour have set an important tone, bringing into focus the contrast that keeps ROPers always on our feet.  Yesterday, a screening at Linn Benton Community College brought a rain of nasty fliers that moviegoers found littering their cars and parking lot after the event (see Hate Rears Its Head On Rural Oregon Community College Campus).

Then this morning, the Scappoose screening hosted by Columbia County Citizens for Human Dignity packed our local cinema, nearly overflowing a room with capacity of 114.  Mothers with children, gay and lesbian couples, local political representatives, health care providers and teachers packed the theater, ready to find out more and have meaningful dialogue.

For those of you itching to know more about the tour, a complete list of stops is here.  And remember that every day is an opportunity to begin the conversation in your community about LGBT inclusion.  Screening packets are available by mail to groups and individuals that want to host their own film screening.  Just let us know.

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English