我们在参议院楼层的邮局!

本周二,默克利参议员带着 Tiller 和 Juntura 邮局的大海报在参议院发言,并谈到了这些邮局和其他农村邮局提供的重要服务, 直接引用“占领我们的邮局”组织者的证词。  在这里观看视频! 

2 月 22 日,由“占领我们的邮局”收集的 1,600 多份请愿书由农村人类尊严组织领导人、邮政工人和退休邮政局长的代表团提交给俄勒冈州的每位联邦立法者。蒂勒的退休邮政局长戴安娜法里斯在她自己的信中提供了这些请愿签名,描述了她所在社区可怕的经济状况,并强调了缺乏互联网和手机服务等通信服务的可及性。戴安娜的信,以及我们的请愿书,都从德法齐奥的罗斯堡办公室传给了参议员默克利,默克利在参议院宣读了这封信的部分内容。  在下面阅读更多戴安娜的故事以及成为农村邮政局长的意义。下面还包括以戴安娜和 Tiller 社区为特色的头版俄勒冈故事!

与每份请愿书一起提交的求职信的结尾是:“我们呼吁您解决 USPS 制造的金融危机 并公开代表可能失去身份的数十个农村社区和数千名俄勒冈州农村人。

我们的胜利值得重复: 我们从 12 月中旬关闭的 41 个俄勒冈农村邮局开始。 12 月 19 日,23 个社区占领了他们的邮局,团结起来支持农村社区基础设施和邮政服务提供的就业。  所有 41 个邮局仍然开放。 21个邮局已从关闭名单中删除。尽管存在党派、经济和社会分歧,但仍有可能失去邮局的 20 个社区团结一致。  整个州都团结起来拯救这些农村邮局,四个邮件加工厂也将关闭。

我们从俄勒冈州农村城镇的中心传达了我们的信息,而不仅仅是默克利。  怀登参议员刚刚提出立法,将暂停邮局和邮件加工厂关闭的期限延长至选举后。农村邮局和四个邮件处理中心的关闭迫使我们问,民主进程,邮寄投票,将如何影响俄勒冈州许多最小的社区?我们很高兴听到 Wyden 和农村邮局的顾客一样关心这一点。

既然我们知道他们在听我们的话,让我们继续施加压力吧!  我们希望国会解决他们在 2006 年制造的 USPS 金融危机,我们希望暂停延期,直到危机得到解决,我们希望每个农村邮局都保持开放!  立即致电您的参议员和众议员!  在此处了解有关这场人为金融危机的更多信息。

想帮助制定围绕农村邮局的全州战略吗?  与来自全州的领导人、组织者和活动家一起参加 5 月 12 日的农村核心小组和战略会议!现在报名还为时不晚。  现在注册!

 

热烈地,

杰西卡

 

戴安娜·法里斯,退休的分蘖邮政局长

带领请愿传递代表团的一位退休邮政局长是一位 13 岁的 71 岁曾祖母,她是她所在教堂社区服务小组的敬业成员,也是 Tiller 邮局的退休邮政局长。去年 12 月,当我们协调占领我们的邮局时,ROP 首次与戴安娜交谈。在 ROP 联系她之前,她正在 Tiller 组织一次集会,她很高兴听到我们将这些点与“占领”联系起来。她觉得组织她的社区来对抗他们的邮局关闭是很自然的—— 她直接了解邮局对社区健康的重要性。

戴安娜一个接一个地讲述了她作为邮政局长的角色对蒂勒社区的重要性。她帮助居民平衡他们的支票簿,报税,并填写汇票以支付账单。当人们对城里发生的事情有疑问时,他们会在邮局给她打电话。一个男人打电话给她,听起来很迷茫。戴安娜关闭了邮局,开车到他家,发现他已经摔倒,流血致死。她开车送他去医院,因为救护车需要 2.5 小时才能到达蒂勒。戴安娜救了他的命。

这只是戴安娜因在 Tiller 中的角色而挽救的众多生命之一。如果她发现邮件堆积如山,她会去家中确保一切正常。  正是这种考虑和关怀使戴安娜拯救了几名独居并患有中风和动脉瘤的蒂勒居民的生命。

这只是我们从退休邮政局长那里听到的众多故事之一。俄勒冈州东部的一位退休邮政局长在他的职业生涯中四次分享了这一点,因为邮政局长带着蛇咬伤进来了,他让他们乘坐直升机空运到医院。还有一次,他被要求履行荣誉并将居民的骨灰撒入河中,因为他是少数几个在生活中非常了解他的人之一。用他自己的话来说,“邮政局长的角色远不止你的职位描述。”
 

关闭俄勒冈州邮局的计划引发国会“退回寄件人”的回应

2012 年 3 月 26 日,星期一,晚上 9:09

华盛顿——Tiller 是俄勒冈州的一个非法人社区,紧靠 Umpqua 国家森林的西部边界,在讨论即将在国会推翻的情况时,这并不是首先想到的地方。

就此而言,Cascadia、Juntura 或 Helix 或其他 16 个难以找到且易于忽视的俄勒冈州城镇中的任何一个也不例外。

然而,这些社区和全国成千上万的类似社区已经成为未来的战场。 美国邮政服务。 为了阻止到 2015 年可能达到 $185 亿的年度损失,作为最后的努力,邮政服务已提议关闭所有这些社区和全国 3,700 多个邮局,以节省资金、整合服务和应对竞争来自私人竞争对手的压力。它还将关闭 252 个邮件处理中心,其中包括俄勒冈州的 4 个。

邮政经理说,为了纠正在数字时代不再有效并有可能使全国范围广泛的邮件服务破产的有缺陷的商业模式,必须采取严厉措施。

所以必须关门,必须失去工作,人们必须进一步推动与美国邮件的业务往来。在俄勒冈州,该计划要求关闭 20 个农村邮局以及塞勒姆、本德、尤金和彭德尔顿的处理中心。

说它在国会不受欢迎是轻描淡写的。

“他们完全没有经济分析。这只是他们的预算,而不是什么对经济有利,”说 参议员杰夫默克利,D-Ore., 像其他批评者一样指出,农村社区将受到特别严重的打击,并且拥有当地邮局对于健康的当地经济至关重要。

邮政官员承认没有简单的选择。但是,他们说,生存受到威胁。

“我们制定的计划需要结合积极降低成本、重新思考我们管理医疗保健成本的方式和全面立法以改革邮政服务的商业模式,”邮政局长帕特里克·多纳霍 (Patrick Donahoe) 在 2 月表示。 “如果提供快速实施该计划的灵活性,我们可以恢复盈利并更好地为美国公众服务。否则,我们就有可能成为美国纳税人的沉重负担。”

这就是 Tiller 和俄勒冈州的其他设施最终被列入美国邮政局以外的任何人都不想列入的名单的原因。很容易看出原因。 Tiller 是一个大约有 300 人的社区(没有人确切知道),这意味着它的邮局既没有大量的邮件量,也没有太多的收入。

其他办事处也很小,主要服务于农村地区。官员们说,处理中心没有得到充分利用,而且

合并它们将在不影响服务的情况下节省资金。默克利不同意。 “这基本上意味着头等舱邮件的隔夜投递结束,”默克利的女发言人朱莉·爱德华兹说。

美国邮政官员原本计划在今年年初搬迁,但面对国会内外的激烈批评而撤回。

“当他们坐在华盛顿特区时,他们根本不知道美国农村是什么样子,”73 岁的退休人员戴安娜·法里斯 (Diana Farris) 说,她在 Tiller 设施担任了 20 年的邮政局长。 “缩短营业时间,她说。法里斯说,降低高级官员的薪水和奖金,甚至取消周六服务。没有关闭的任何东西。

“在 Tiller 有很多人没有电。手机服务可能不存在并且速度很快

如果你能得到一个互联网连接是很困难的,”她说,驳斥了老式邮件可以被现代技术取代的建议。

她说,失去的也将成为社区主播。 “他们来到邮局,当他们见面时,就像老家一样,”法里斯说。 “邮局在农村社区一直很重要。”

邮政官员已经感受到了压力。作为回应,他们承诺将任何行动推迟到 5 月 15 日,以便国会有时间考虑立法。这可能最早在本周发生。

有多项法案,包括 Merkley 的一项法案,禁止关闭距离下一个最近设施 10 英里以上的任何邮局。

“如果你计算浪费的经济潜力的小时数,那么让邮局开放更合乎逻辑,”默克利在接受采访时说。

“意识到人们现在可以开车去他们现在的邮局;他们可能会开车 10 或 15 英里。然后再开 30 或 40 英里到达下一个邮局,完全是在浪费汽油、时间和资源,”他说。

俄勒冈州民主党参议员罗恩·怀登(Ron Wyden)准备提出一项修正案,将任何关闭时间推迟到 11 月总统大选之后,因为担心关闭可能会影响俄勒冈州的全邮寄投票。在众议院,俄勒冈州民主党众议员彼得·德法齐奥(Peter DeFazio)将这位同伴介绍给
默克利的法案以及他说的第二项措施将稳定该服务的财务状况,而不会大范围关闭。

默克利说,他的法案将允许邮政局在不大规模关闭的情况下稳定其财务状况。这将为小城镇保留一个重要的社会和文化支柱。

“在这些小城镇,人们依靠他们来获取药品,依靠他们来获得小企业的订单、运送订单以及城镇本身之间的沟通。这是一个枢纽,”默克利说。 “当你取消邮局时,它将摧毁这些小镇。它将对经济造成更大的损害。

Merkley 说,在不严重中断服务的情况下可以节省成本。除此之外,他说可靠和普遍的邮政服务是一项重要的政府职能,即使经济并不总是加起来也必须得到保护。

“这是我们集体做某事的一个例子,因为一起做这件事很聪明,”他说。 “……这个网络为创建一体化经济提供了整体利益。正如在宪法制定时它对我们的社区至关重要一样,今天它仍然是必不可少的,”他说。

DeFazio 分享了这一评估,但更进一步,向邮政局收取实质上的烹饪费用以证明关闭设施的合理性。

“这些关闭是基于 USPS 承认的有问题的数据并不能解决长期偿付能力问题,”DeFazio 说。 “邮政局长一次又一次地未能倾听依赖 USPS 的数十万个人和小企业的担忧。他还忽视了国会为避免采取此类严厉措施而提供的替代解决方案。”

简体中文

Our Post Offices on the Senate Floor!

This Tuesday Senator Merkley took the Senate floor with large posters of the Tiller and Juntura post offices and spoke to the crucial service these and other rural post offices provide, directly quoting testimony from organizers of Occupy Our Post Offices.  Watch the video here! 

On February 22, over 1,600 petition collected by Occupy Our Post Offices were delivered by delegations of rural human dignity group leaders, postal workers, and retired postmasters to each of Oregon’s federal legislators.  Tiller’s retired postmaster Diana Farris delivered those petition signatures along her own letter describing the dire economic conditions in her community and emphasizing the lack of accessibility to communication services like internet and cell service.  Diana’s letter, and our petitions, were passed from DeFazio’s Roseburg office to Sen. Merkley who read parts of the letter on the Senate floor.  Read more of Diana’s stories and what it means to be a rural postmaster below.  Also included below is the front-page Oregonian story featuring Diana and the community of Tiller!

The cover letter that joined every petition delivery concluded with: “We call on you to fix the USPS’ manufactured financial crisis and to publicly represent the dozens of rural communities and thousands of rural Oregonians who are at risk of losing their identity.

Our victories bear repeating: we started with 41 rural Oregon post offices up for closure in mid-December.  On December 19, 23 communities Occupied their Post Offices, rallying in support of rural community infrastructure and the employment the postal service provides.  All 41 post offices are still open. 21 post offices have been taken off of the closure list.  The 20 communities still at risk of losing their post offices are united despite partisan, economic, and social divides.  The entire state is rallied around saving these rural post offices and the four mail processing plants also up for closure.

Our message from the hearts of rural towns across Oregon was heard, and not just by Merkley.  Senator Wyden just introduced legislation that extends the moratorium on post office and mail processing plant closures until after the election. The closure of rural post offices and the four mail processing centers compels us to ask how the democratic process, vote-by-mail, will be impacted for many of Oregon’s smallest communities?  We are glad to hear that Wyden is as concerned as rural post office patrons are by this.

Let’s keep the pressure on now that we know they are listening to us!  We want Congress to fix the USPS’ financial crisis they created in 2006, we want a moratorium extension until the crisis is fixed, and we want every rural post office to stay open!  Call your Senators and Representative today!  Learn more about this manufactured financial crisis here.

Want to help shape statewide strategy around rural post offices?  Join leaders, organizers, and activists from across the state at the Rural Caucus & Strategy Session on May 12th!  It is not too late to sign up.  Register now!

 

Warmly,

Jessica

 

Diana Farris, Retired Tiller Postmaster

One of the retired Postmasters that led a petition delivery delegation was a 71 year old great-grandmother of 13, dedicated member of the community service group at her church, and retired Postmaster for the Tiller Post Office.  ROP first talked with Diana in December when we coordinated Occupy Our Post Offices.  She was organizing a rally in Tiller before ROP contacted her and she was thrilled to hear that we were connecting the dots to Occupy.  She felt it was natural to organize her community to fight the closure of their post office – she knows firsthand how vital the post office is to community health.

Diana told story after story about how important her role as a Postmaster was to the community of Tiller.  She helped residents balance their checkbooks, file their taxes, and fill out money orders to pay their bills.  When folks had questions about what was happening in town, they would call her at the post office.  One man called her, sounding disoriented.  Diana closed the post office and drove to his house to find that he had fallen and was bleeding to death.  She drove him to the hospital because the ambulance would take 2.5 hours to get to Tiller.  Diana saved his life.

This is just one of the many lives Diana saved thanks to her role in Tiller.  If she noticed mail piling up, she would visit homes to make sure everything was okay.  It is this consideration and care that led Diana to save several lives of Tiller residents who lived alone and had suffered strokes and aneurisms.

This is just one of many stories we are hearing from retired postmasters.  An Eastern Oregon retired postmaster shared that four times in his career as postmaster people came in with snakebites and he got them a helicopter air lift out to hospitals.   Another time he was asked to do the honors and spread the ashes of a resident into the river since he was one of the few people that knew him very well in life.  In his own words, “the role of a postmaster is so much more than what is in your job description.”
 

Plan to close Oregon post offices triggers ‘return to sender’ response in Congress

Monday, March 26, 2012, 9:09 PM

WASHINGTON — Tiller, an unincorporated Oregon community pressed against the western boundary of the Umpqua National Forest, is not the first place that comes to mind when discussing an impending throw-down in Congress.

Nor for that matter is Cascadia, Juntura or Helix, or any of 16 other difficult to find and easy-to-overlook Oregon towns.

Yet those communities and thousands like them across the nation have emerged as the battleground over the future of the U.S. Postal Service. In a last-gasp effort to head off annual losses that could hit $18.5 billion by 2015, the Postal Service has proposed closing post offices in all those communities and 3,700 more nationwide as a way to save money, consolidate services and respond to competitive pressures from private rivals. It also would close 252 mail processing centers, including four in Oregon.

The drastic step is necessary, postal managers say, to correct a flawed business model that no longer works in the digital age and threatens to bankrupt the nation’s far-flung mail service.

So doors must close, jobs must be lost and people must drive further to conduct business with the U.S. mail. In Oregon, the plan calls for 20 rural post offices to close as well as processing centers in Salem, Bend, Eugene and Pendleton.

To say it’s unpopular in Congress is an understatement.

“They have absolutely no economic analysis. It’s just about their budget, not about what’s smart for the economy,” said Sen. Jeff Merkley, D-Ore., noting like other critics that rural communities would be especially hard hit and that having a local post office is essential for a healthy local economy.

Postal officials concede there are no easy choices. But, they say, survival is at stake.

“The plan we have developed requires a combination of aggressive cost reduction, rethinking the way we manage our health care costs and comprehensive legislation to reform the business model of the Postal Service,” Postmaster General Patrick Donahoe said in February. “If provided the flexibility to quickly implement this plan, we can return to profitability and better serve the American public. If not, we risk becoming a significant burden to the American taxpayer.”

That’s how Tiller and the other Oregon facilities ended up on a list nobody outside the U.S. Postal Service wants to be on. It’s easy to see why. Tiller is a community of perhaps 300 people (nobody knows for sure) which means its post office has neither a lot of mail volume nor revenue.

The other offices are also small, serving mostly rural areas. The processing centers are underutilized, officials say, and

consolidating them will save money without affecting service. Merkley disagrees. “It would essentially mean the end of overnight delivery of first class mail,” Merkley’s spokeswoman Julie Edwards said.

U.S. postal officials originally planned to move early this year but pulled back in the face of blistering criticism in Congress and beyond.

“When they’re sitting in Washington, D.C., they have no idea what rural America looks like,” said Diana Farris, a 73-year-old retiree who was postmaster at the Tiller facility for 20 years. “Cut operating hours, she says. Reduce salaries and bonuses for senior officials or even eliminate Saturday service, Farris says. Anything short of closing.

“In Tiller there are a lot of people who don’t have electricity. Cellphone service can be nonexistent and getting a fast

Internet connection is hard if you can get one at all,” she says, batting down suggestions that old-fashioned mail can be replaced with modern technology.

Lost too, she says, will be a community anchor. “They come to the post office and when they see each other it’s like old home week,” Farris said. “The post office has always been a big deal in rural communities.”

Postal officials have felt the pressure. And in response, they have promised to delay any action until May 15 to give time for Congress to consider legislation. That could happen as early as this week.

There are multiple bills, including one from Merkley that would prohibit the closing of any post office that is more than 10 miles from the next closest facility.

“If you take the number of hours of wasted economic potential, it’s far more logical to have the post office open,” Merkley said in an interview.

“Realize folks may drive now to get to their current post office; they may drive 10 or 15 miles. Then to drive another 30 or 40 miles to get to the next post office is just a complete waste of gasoline and time and resources,” he said.

Sen. Ron Wyden, D-Ore., is prepared to offer an amendment to delay any closings until after the presidential election in November out of concerns that closures could affect Oregon’s all-mail balloting. In the House, Rep. Peter DeFazio, D-Ore., has introduced the companion to
Merkley’s bill as well as a second measure that he says would stabilize the service’s finances without widespread closures.

Merkley says his bill would allow the Postal Service to stabilize it’s finances without widespread closures. That would preserve an important social and cultural anchor for small towns.

“In these small towns people depend upon them to get their medicines, they depend on them to get their orders for their small businesses, ship their orders and for communication among the town itself. It’s a hub,” Merkley said. “It’s going to devastate these small towns when you eliminate the post office. And it will do greater damage to the economy.

Merkley says there are savings that can be found without serious disruptions to service. Beyond that, he says reliable and universal postal service is a crucial government function that must be protected even if the economics don’t always add up.

“This is an example of something we do collectively because it is smart to do it together,” he said. “… This network provides an overall benefit to creating an integrated economy. Just as it was essential to our communities when the Constitution was written, it’s still essential today,” he said.

DeFazio shares that assessment but goes further, charging the Postal Service with essentially cooking the books to justify closing facilities.

“These closures are based on questionable data that the USPS admits doesn’t address long-term solvency,” DeFazio said. “Time and again the postmaster general has failed to listen to the concerns of hundreds of thousands of individuals and small businesses that rely on USPS. He has also ignored alternative solutions offered by Congress to avoid such drastic measures.”

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English