组织响应 NORCOR 法院裁决

在过去两年中,移民和海关执法局 (ICE) 拘留在俄勒冈州北部地区惩教所 (NORCOR) 内的移民和难民以及峡谷中的社区一直在组织挑战地区监狱与 ICE 的合作关系。此外,Wasco 县的几名社区成员及其律师起诉 NORCOR 违反 ORS 181.A820,通常被称为俄勒冈州的庇护法。 这正是俄勒冈州选民在 11 月以压倒性多数通过的法律.今天早些时候,沃斯科县法官对 NORCOR 诉讼作出了最终裁决。结果喜忧参半,有一些令人失望的决定和一些机会,因为我们组织起来将 ICE 带出我们的社区。

 

正如下面创新法律实验室的新闻声明所描述的那样,法院认定 NORCOR 在个人被释放时通知 ICE 并在 ICE 的要求下将他们关押在释放日期之后,这违反了州法律。法院还发现,根据我们俄勒冈州庇护法的当前措辞,NORCOR 当前与 ICE 的合同并未被禁止。很可能会对其中一项或所有决定提出上诉。虽然我们今天在 ICE 合同上蒙受损失,但有几项决定让我们有理由庆祝并加强我们的组织,因为我们加强了我们的社区。

 

自 2017 年 5 月以来,被拘留在 NORCOR 的移民和难民已经 组织了两次绝食抗议,要求终止 NORCOR 的 ICE 合同,并要求人道条件,例如获得美食、户外锻炼、及时医疗和探望家人.为了支持来自 NORCOR 内部组织者的强烈要求,峡谷和俄勒冈州农村地区的领导人举行了游行和集会,会见了县专员,并组织了社区活动,要求他们当地的公共机构在拘留和驱逐人员方面发挥任何作用.

 

随着 NORCOR 的新董事会本月就座,监狱内外的组织者将继续呼吁决策者做正义和正确的事情。今天的裁决并不是斗争的结束;令人难以置信的社区组织和公众压力将持续下去,直到我们在所有社区中看到 NORCOR 和 ICE 的 ICE 合同终止。

 

随着组织和法律策略的展开,ROP 将继续为您提供最新信息,我们将分享加入组织工作的机会,以结束 NORCOR 的 ICE 合同。今天,我们请您与您的人类尊严团体、朋友、家人和社区分享这一信息。让我们开始讨论我们如何能够在我们的社区中执行今天的裁决——确保当地监狱知道如果他们在个人获释时通知 ICE,或者如果他们在释放日期之后将他们关押在 ICE,他们将被追究责任。此外, 考虑 向 NORCOR 电话基金捐款 因此,被拘留在 NORCOR 的人可以在拘留期间给律师和家人打电话。

 

团结一致,

Cara、Hannah、Cathy、Rindy 和 ROP 团队

 

法官裁定 NORCOR 违反俄勒冈州法律

法院认定 NORCOR 以违反 ORS 181A.820 的方式协助 ICE;发现拘留合同不受禁止 

 

即时发布

2019 年 2 月 8 日

 

联系人:

Erin M. Pettigrew,创新法实验室,erin@innovationlawlab.org,971-612-0540

Victoria Bejarano Muirhead,创新法实验室,victoria@innovationlawlab.org,971-801-6047

 

俄勒冈州达尔斯——在今天发布的一项决定中,沃斯科县的约翰沃尔夫法官确定,根据俄勒冈州的解除纠缠法 ORS 181A.820(通常被称为俄勒冈州的庇护所),俄勒冈州北部地区惩教署 (NORCOR) 的两项移民执法行为是非法的成文法和全国同类法律中的第一部。

 

首先,法院对 NORCOR 在某人计划从当地监狱获释时通知移民和海关执法局 (ICE) 的做法提出异议。法院裁定,“[t] 他在本案中的记录没有说明发布通知的目的,除了在美国发现和逮捕违反联邦移民法的人的目的。”

 

法院继续得出结论,根据州法律,监狱据称停止在 ICE 释放日期之后关押个人的做法同样是非法的。法院推断,“当囚犯在最初的监禁基础不复存在后仍留在监狱中时,就会发生重新扣押或随后扣押的情况。”因此,NORCOR 必须根据州法律的要求释放个人,否则违反 ORS 181A.820,沃尔夫法官说。

 

然而,初审法院认为,NORCOR 与 ICE 签订的“接受并提供安全监护”的合同不违反 ORS 181A.820,也不违反其通知 ICE 外国移民存在的政策。按州或当地收费预订时出生的人。关于合同,法院认定,法规中的“逮捕”一词“通常不被理解为将某人关押在监狱或监狱中”。法院继续得出结论,将外国出生的人在监狱中的存在通知 ICE 并没有违反俄勒冈州的法律,因为这些人可能违反了其他州的法律,并且因为交换信息以核实移民的法规有一个例外。地位。

 

尽管 NORCOR 辩称原告缺乏资格,但初审法院不同意,裁定原告有资格提起诉讼,因为由于 NORCOR 与 ICE 的关系,他们已经表现出负面的税收后果。

 

“我们对法院关于 NORCOR 在某些方面违反俄勒冈州法律的决定感到高兴,但对法院关于 ICE 合同的决定感到失望,”代表原告的律师之一、创新法律实验室的 Erin M. Pettigrew 说。 “正如沃尔夫法官在听证会上所观察到的那样,他的部分或全部裁决很可能会被上诉,因为它们涉及对俄勒冈人具有广泛重要性的问题。”

 

在这里阅读决定.

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Organizing in Response to NORCOR Court Ruling

Over the last two years, immigrants and refugees detained by Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) inside the Northern Oregon Regional Correctional Facility (NORCOR) and communities in the Gorge have been organizing to challenge the regional jail’s collaborative relationship with ICE. In addition, several community members in Wasco County and their attorneys sued NORCOR for violation of ORS 181.A820, often referred to as Oregon’s sanctuary law. This is the very law that was overwhelmingly affirmed by Oregon voters in November. Earlier today, a Wasco County judge issued a final ruling on the NORCOR lawsuit. The results are mixed, with some disappointing decisions and several opportunities to build from as we organize to get ICE out of our communities.

 

As Innovation Law Lab’s press statement below describes, the court found that NORCOR violated state law by notifying ICE when individuals were released from jail and for holding them beyond their release dates at ICE’s request. The court also found that NORCOR’s current contract with ICE is not prohibited under the current wording of our Oregon sanctuary law. It is likely that one or all of the decisions will be appealed. Though we suffered a loss on the ICE contract today, there are several decisions that give us reason to celebrate and build upon our organizing as we strengthen our communities.

 

Since May 2017, immigrants and refugees detained at NORCOR have organized two hunger strikes to demand an end to the ICE contract at NORCOR and for humane conditions, like access to good food, outdoor exercise, timely medical care, and visits with family. In support of the powerful demands coming from organizers inside NORCOR, leaders in the Gorge and across rural Oregon have held marches and rallies, met with county commissioners, and organized community events to demand that their local public institution play no role in detaining and deporting people.

 

As a new board at NORCOR is seated this month, organizers both inside and outside the jail will continue to call upon decision-makers to do what is just and right. Today’s ruling is not the end of the fight; the incredible community organizing and public pressure will continue until we see an end to the ICE contract at NORCOR and ICE out of all of our communities.

 

ROP will continue to keep you updated as the organizing and legal strategies unfold and we’ll share opportunities to join the organizing efforts to end the ICE contract at NORCOR. Today, we ask you to share this message with your human dignity group, friends, family, and community. Let’s start conversations on how we can enforce the victories in today’s ruling in our communities – making sure local jails know that they will be held accountable if they notify ICE when individuals are released or if they hold them for ICE beyond their release dates. In addition, consider making a contribution to the NORCOR phone fund so those who are detained at NORCOR can make calls to lawyers and family members while held at the jail.

 

In solidarity,

Cara, Hannah, Cathy, Rindy and the ROP Team

 

Judge rules NORCOR violated Oregon law

Court finds that NORCOR assisted ICE in a manner that violates ORS 181A.820; finds detention contract not prohibited 

 

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

February 8, 2019

 

CONTACTS:

Erin M. Pettigrew, Innovation Law Lab, erin@innovationlawlab.org, 971-612-0540

Victoria Bejarano Muirhead, Innovation Law Lab, victoria@innovationlawlab.org, 971-801-6047

 

The Dalles, Oregon – In a decision issued today, Judge John Wolf of Wasco County determined that two of Northern Oregon Regional Corrections’ (NORCOR) immigration enforcement practices are illegal under Oregon’s disentanglement law, ORS 181A.820, often referred to as Oregon’s sanctuary statute and the first law of its kind in the nation.

 

First, the court took issue with NORCOR’s practices of notifying Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) when a person is scheduled to be released from the local jail. The court determined that “[t]he record in this case establishes no purpose for the release notifications except for the purpose of detecting and apprehending persons in the United States in violation of federal immigration laws.”

 

The court went on to conclude that the jail’s allegedly discontinued practice of holding individuals beyond their release date for ICE is likewise illegal under state law. The court reasoned, “re-seizure or subsequent seizure occurs when an inmate remains in jail after the original basis for incarceration ceases to exist.” Therefore, NORCOR must release the individual as required under state law, and to do otherwise violates ORS 181A.820, said Judge Wolf.

 

The trial court held, however, that NORCOR’s contract with ICE to “accept and provide for secure custody” of persons detained for federal immigration enforcement does not violate ORS 181A.820, nor does its policy of notifying ICE of the presence of a foreign-born person upon booking on state or local charges. With respect to the contract, the court determined that the term “apprehend” in the statute “is not commonly understood to mean holding someone in jail or prison.” The court went on to conclude that notifying ICE of the presence of foreign-born persons in the jail did not violate Oregon law because those persons may have violated other state laws and because there is an exception to the statute for exchanges of information to verify immigration status.

 

Though NORCOR argued the Plaintiffs lacked standing, the trial court disagreed, ruling that the Plaintiffs had standing to bring suit because they had shown negative tax consequences as a result of NORCOR’s relationships with ICE.

 

“We are pleased with the Court’s decision that NORCOR is violating Oregon law in some respects, but disappointed by the court’s decision with respect to the ICE contract,” said Erin M. Pettigrew of Innovation Law Lab, one of the attorneys representing the Plaintiffs. “As Judge Wolf observed at the hearing, it is likely that some or all of his rulings will be appealed, as they involve issues of broad importance to Oregonians.”

 

Read the decision here.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English