أوريغونيانس "العودة إلى المرسل": احفظ خدمتنا البريدية

أخبار عاجلة! يضرب عمال البريد من جميع أنحاء البلاد ، بما في ذلك أحد حلفائنا في بورتلاند ، عن الطعام في العاصمة لمطالبة الكونجرس بالتوقف عن تجويع USPS!  اقرأ كل شيء عن أعمالهم الاستفزازية هنا!

عزيزي روب نت ،

بسبب الضغط المتزايد من المناطق الريفية في أمريكا ، ألغت دائرة بريد الولايات المتحدة خططها الأصلية لإغلاق مكاتب البريد الريفية على الفور ، وفي منتصف مايو غيرت تكتيكها إلى قطع ساعات العمل على الفور في 124 مكتب بريد ريفي في ولاية أوريغون - ما يقرب من ثلث مكاتب بريد ولاية أوريغون - التي يتفق عليها مديرو البريد والنقابات واتحادات عمال البريد هي الخطوة الأولى في المسيرة نحو الإغلاق.  هذه الخطة الجديدة ، POStPlan ، لا تلاحق مكاتب البريد الريفية فحسب ، بل أيضًا مراكز معالجة البريد وتؤثر على ما يقرب من 50000 وظيفة.

من خلال عمل مكاتب البريد الخاصة بنا في احتلوا ، نعلم أن الاستجابة الصوتية القوية تتم مكافأتها.  الاثنين 9 يوليو ، ستعقد المجتمعات في جميع أنحاء ولاية أوريغون مسيرات العودة إلى المرسل لإرسال رسالة واضحة: نحن ندعم عمال البريد المحليين ونريد خدمتنا البريدية التي يفرضها الدستور!  سترسل المجتمعات بطاقات بريدية إلى الكونغرس ، وإلى ولاية أوريغونيان ، وإلى مدير مكتب البريد العام تطالب الكونجرس بإصلاح مشكلة التمويل الأساسية - التفويض الذي يجب أن يستفيد منه USPS مقدمًا قبل 75 عامًا - بدلاً من تجتاح أمريكا الريفية تحت البساط.  ستبدأ هذه المسيرات في لين وبنتون وواسكو وماريون ومقاطعات أخرى حملة العودة إلى المرسل الريفية هذا الصيف. هل ستنضم إلينا؟

اقرأ المزيد عن حملة العودة إلى المرسل لهذا الصيف ، ونصر واستراتيجية منظمة مدينة صغيرة ، ومعلومات أساسية مع مزيد من التفاصيل حول هذا الهجوم الجديد أدناه. أخبرنا كيف يمكن لمجتمعك الانضمام في هذا الصيف!

بحرارة
جيسيكا
بالنيابة عن مجموعة عمل الحفاظ على خدمات البريد التابعة لشرطة عمان السلطانية
 
انطلاق حملة العودة إلى المرسل في ريف أوريغون:

سكان الريف في ولاية أوريغون يقفون ويكافحون لإبقاء أوريغون على اتصال! لن نقف مكتوفي الأيدي بينما تقدم USPS خطة لعب طويلة الأجل للقضاء على وظائف المعيشة بأجر والبنية التحتية للمجتمع الحيوي.  قم بتنسيق تجمع في مجتمعك ليوم الاثنين 9 يوليو!  انضم إلى الجهد هذا الصيف من خلال حشد يوم آخر أو جمع بطاقات بريدية في بلدتك.

فيما يلي بعض الموارد التي تجعل تنظيمك سهل الإدارة وممتعًا:

اريد معرفة المزيد؟ فيما يلي بعض الموارد لتثقيف مجتمعك حول هذا الاعتداء الأخير:

فو واحدن (و simple!) مثال على مسيرة العودة إلى المرسل في 9 تموز (يوليو) في مقاطعة لين:

كوخ 2

شركة الاحتلالسيعقد ttage Grove ، بناءً على زخمه من تنظيم إجراء احتلوا في مكتب البريد الخاص بنا في ديسمبر ، "راليًا متدرجًا" يبدأ في مكتب بريد Dorena على بعد 13 ميلاً خارج Cottage Grove ، والذي يخدم مدرسة ابتدائية نائية وستفقد نصفها ساعات إذا نجحت هذه الخطة. سوف ينتقل المحتلون بعد ذلك إلى مكتب بريد Cottage Grove وينتهي بهم الأمر على بعد 13 ميلاً في Lorane ، والتي سيتم أيضًا تقليلها من 8 ساعات إلى 4 ساعات يوميًا وفقًا للخطة المقترحة. يخدم كل من Dorena و Lorane عددًا كبيرًا من العاطلين عن العمل والعاملين لحسابهم الخاص والفقراء والشيخوخة الذين سيتأثرون بشدة بقطع ساعات العمل. في كل محطة سيجمعون البطاقات البريدية و take photos مع بطاقة بريدية عملاقة "الرجوع إلى المرسل".

لا يوجد مكان آمن للخصخصة في ريف أوريغون:
نموذج يمكن البناء منه: دروس من تنظيم بحيرة الصيف

يعد جمع البطاقات البريدية والتجمع أمام مكاتب البريد تكتيكًا واحدًا فقط في إستراتيجية حملة العودة إلى المرسل. تشير خطة POStPlan إلى أن USPS ستعقد "اجتماعات مجتمعية للإسهام العام" في كل مجتمع يواجه ساعات انقطاع. نظم الأمريكيون الريفيون حول هذه "الاجتماعات المجتمعية" الخريف الماضي بعد الإعلان عن الإغلاقات الأولية ، وحققوا انتصارات لا تصدق لجرأتهم!

نعمل على تكييف نموذج للرد على هذا الهجوم الجديد بناءً على التنظيم المذهل لـ Summer Lake ، وهو مجتمع ريفي في مقاطعة ليك بولاية أوريغون ، الذين لم ينقذوا مكتب البريد الخاص بهم من الإغلاق الخريف الماضي فحسب ، لكنهم في الواقع يشهدون زيادة في الساعات.

عندما رأوا إشعار "اجتماع المجتمع للمساهمة العامة" في مكتب بريد Summer Lake ، بدأوا على الفور في التنظيم. حددت USPS تاريخًا ووقتًا لم يتمكن معظم سكان Summer Lake من حضوره ، لذلك عملت Summer Lake على إعادة جدولة اجتماعهم في الوقت المناسب لهم. لقد اختاروا موقعًا جديدًا يمكنهم ملؤه حتى سعته وحصلوا على العمل للقيام بالتوعية المجتمعية! لقد سحبوا بطاقة غاز $50 ، وهي تكلفة الوصول إلى المدينة التالية مع مكتب بريد لاستلام بريدهم، وقد اجتمعوا قبل الاجتماع بساعة للتأكد من أن المتحدثين الأكثر فصاحة لديهم قد رتبوا نقاطهم.

بمجرد أن يأتي اجتماع مجتمع USPS ، تولى جندي متقاعد من الولاية دور الميسر ، مما يضمن أن كل فرد من سكان Summer Lake قد تمت معالجته من قبل ممثل USPS.

أرادت USPS مساهمة الجمهور ، وقد حصلوا عليها!  تناولت Summer Lake التركيبة السكانية ومدى اعتماد صحة مجتمعهم على الخدمة البريدية والاتصال ونقص الوصول إلى الإنترنت والتأثير على الشركات المحلية ، كما قاموا بطباعة خريطة USPS حيث تم تسمية Summer Lake على بعد 50 ميلاً. بعد فترة وجيزة ، أعلنت USPS أن مكتب بريد Summer Lake آمن!

هذا الصيف ، ستساعد شرطة عمان السلطانية المجتمعات على تتبع خطط اجتماعات المجتمع الجديدة وتنظيمها لخفض مكاتب البريد وإغلاقها.  سواء كانت مجموعتك تريد جدولة اجتماعها الخاص مع الميسر المحلي المختار ، أو كنت ترغب فقط في معرفة الأسئلة الإستراتيجية والاستفزازية التي يجب طرحها في اجتماع المجتمع الخاص بك ، فإن شرطة عمان السلطانية ستوفر الأدوات والموارد للتأكد من أن مجتمعك يسجل. رسالة "عودة إلى المرسل". ترقبوا مجموعة أدوات حملة العودة إلى المرسل!

خلفية:

مرة أخرى في منتصف شهر مايو ، ألغت خدمة البريد في الولايات المتحدة خططها الأصلية لإغلاق مكاتب البريد الريفية على الفور ، وبدلاً من ذلك غيرت تكتيكها إلى قطع ساعات العمل على الفور في 124 مكتب بريد ريفي في ولاية أوريغون ، والتي يتفق عليها مديرو البريد والنقابات واتحادات عمال البريد على أنها الخطوة الأولى في مسيرة الإغلاق.  تركز هذه الخطة الجديدة ، التي أطلق عليها اسم POStPlan ، على إجبار 21000 من موظفي البريد النقابيين والمهنيين على الخروج من مناصبهم (حتى عرض $20،000 للتقاعد المبكر) وتقليل الخدمات المقدمة في مكاتب البريد الريفية. مع ساعات العمل المحدودة ، تأتي إيرادات أقل ، مما سيسمح لـ USPS بتبرير الإغلاق. من المقرر إغلاق أربعة من مرافق فرز البريد في ولاية أوريغون في يناير 2014.

كما هو الحال مع العديد من خدماتنا الاجتماعية المتضائلة ، تتبع هذه المسيرة نحو الخصخصة نفس المسار: يتم قطع التمويل ، وتنخفض جودة الخدمة ، وينعكس النظام ، ويشير الخصخصون إلى النظام المعطل لتبرير قيام الشركات بهذه الأدوار.  في هذه الحالة ، أقر الكونجرس قانون المساءلة البريدية والتعزيز في عام 2006 الذي يجبر USPS على تقديم استحقاقات الموظفين مسبقًا 75 عامًا ، مما أجبر USPS على هذه الأزمة المالية المصطنعة.

تم سماع أصواتنا من جميع أنحاء أمريكا الريفية بصوت عالٍ وواضح ، ولهذا السبب غيرت USPS تكتيكها وتبنت لغتنا ذاتها ، داعيةً إلى "الحفاظ على الهوية الريفية". لقد شهدنا نجاحًا لا يُصدق ، والآن يجب أن نواصل الضغط!

الحفاظ على بريدنا مجموعة العمل الخدمية ، وهي مجموعة من منظمي المجتمع الريفي ومنظمي النقابات والمجتمع دعاة من جميع أنحاء الولاية ، طوروا حملة العودة إلى المرسل. تم تشكيل خدمة الحفاظ على خدمات البريد لدينا استجابة للدعوة التي تم إجراؤها في اجتماع شرطة عمان السلطانية في شهر مايو من أجل تحالف لتحريك الإجراءات الإبداعية والممتعة والمرئية إلى الأمام لدعم البنية التحتية المجتمعية الثمينة لدينا.

410838_3949661907248_218643653_o 2


بدأت خدمة الحفاظ على خدماتنا البريدية تنظيمها عن طريق إرسال بطاقات بريدية إلى كل مدير مكتب بريد في مكتب بريد متأثر في ولاية أوريغون يعلن دعمنا لهم ودورهم في مجتمعهم وأننا هنا من أجل
مساعدة مجتمعهم على التنظيم!

سهل الطباعة، PDF والبريد الإلكتروني
العربية

Oregonians “Return to Sender”: Save Our Postal Service

Newsflash!  Postal workers from across the country, including one of our Portland allies, are hunger-striking in DC to demand Congress to stop starving the USPS!  Read all about their provocative actions here!

Dear ROPnet,

Due to the mounting pressure from rural America, the United States Postal Service scrapped its original plans to immediately close rural post offices, and in mid-May changed their tactic to immediately cut hours at 124 rural Oregon post offices – nearly one-third of Oregon’s post offices – which Postmasters, unions, and postal worker associations agree is the first step in the march toward closure.  This new plan, the POStPlan, not only goes after rural post offices but also mail processing centers and impacts nearly 50,000 jobs.

From our Occupy Our Post Offices work, we know a strong, vocal response is rewarded.  Monday, July 9th, communities across Oregon will be holding Return To Sender rallies to send a clear message: we support our local postal workers and we want our Constitutionally-mandated postal service!  Communities will be sending postcards to Congress, to the Oregonian, and to the Postmaster General demanding that Congress fix the core funding issue – the mandate that the USPS must prefund benefits 75 years in advance – instead of sweeping rural America under the rug.  These rallies in Lane, Benton, Wasco, Marion, and other counties will be kicking off the rural Return to Sender campaign this summer.   Will you join us?

Read more about this summer’s Return to Sender campaign, a Small Town Organizing Victory and Strategy, and background information with more specifics on this new assault below.  Let us know how your community can join in this summer!

Warmly,
Jessica
On behalf of ROP’s Preserve Our Postal Service working group
 
Rural Oregon’s Return to Sender Campaign Kick Off:

Rural Oregonians are standing up and fighting to keep Oregon connected! We will not sit idly as the USPS introduces a longer-term gameplan for eliminating living wage jobs and crucial community infrastructure.  Coordinate a rally in your community for Monday, July 9th!  Join in the effort this summer by rallying another day or collecting postcards in your town.

Here are some resources to make your organizing manageable and fun:

Want to know more?  Here are some resources to educate your community about this latest assault:

One fun (and simple!) example of a July 9th Return to Sender rally in Lane County:

CottageGrove 2

Occupy Cottage Grove, building on their momentum from organizing an Occupy Our Post Office action in December, will hold a “rolling rally” beginning at the Dorena Post Office 13 miles outside of Cottage Grove, which serves a remote Elementary School and will lose half of its hours if this plan succeeds.  Occupiers will then roll into the Cottage Grove Post Office and conclude in 13 miles away in Lorane, which will also be reduced from 8 hours to 4 hours per day under the proposed plan.  Both Dorena and Lorane serve large unemployed, self-employed, impoverished, and aging communities who will be severely affected by hour cuts.  At each stop they will collect postcards and take photos with a giant “Return to Sender” postcard.

No Safe Place for Privatizers in Rural Oregon:
A Model to Build From: Lessons from Summer Lake Organizing

Collecting postcards and rallying in front of post offices is only one tactic in our Return to Sender campaign strategy.  The POStPlan touts that the USPS will hold “community meetings for public input” in every community facing hour cuts.  Rural Americans organized around these “community meetings” last fall after the initial closures were announced, and they won incredible victories for their boldness!

We are adapting a model for responding to this new assault based on the incredible organizing of Summer Lake, a rural community in Lake County, Oregon, who not only saved their post office from closure last fall, but they’re actually seeing an increase in hours.

When they saw the notice for a “community meeting for public input” in the Summer Lake Post Office, they immediately started organizing.  The USPS set a date and time that most Summer Lake residents could not attend, so Summer Lake got to work rescheduling their meeting for a time that worked for them.  They chose a location that they k new they could fill to capacity and they got to work doing community outreach! They raffled off a $50 gas card, which is how much it would cost to get to the next town with a post office to pick up their mail, and they convened an hour before the meeting to make sure that their most eloquent speakers had their points in order.

Once the USPS community meeting came around, a retired state trooper took on the role as facilitator, which ensured that every single Summer Lake resident had their questions addressed by the USPS representative.

The USPS wanted public input, and they got it!  Summer Lake addressed the demographics and how reliant their community health is on the postal service, connectivity and lack of access to internet, the impact on local businesses, and they even printed out the USPS map where Summer Lake is mislabeled 50 miles away.  Soon after, the USPS announced that Summer Lake’s post office was safe!

This summer, ROP will be helping communities track and organize around the new community meeting plans for Post Office cuts and closures.  Whether your group wants to schedule its own meeting with a chosen local facilitator, or you just want to know what strategic and provocative questions to ask at your community meeting, ROP will be providing the tools and resources to make sure your community goes on record with a “Return to Sender” message.  Stay tuned for the Return to Sender Campaign Toolkit!

Background:

Back in mid-May the United States Postal Service scrapped its original plans to immediately close rural post offices, and instead changed their tactic to immediately cut hours at 124 rural Oregon post offices, which Postmasters, unions, and postal worker associations agree is the first step in the march to closure.  Dubbed the POStPlan, this new plan focuses on forcing 21,000 unionized, career Postmasters out of their positions (even offering $20,000 to take an early retirement) and reducing the services provided at rural post offices.   With limited hours comes less revenue, which will allow the USPS to justify closure.  Four of Oregon’s mail sorting facilities are scheduled to be closed January 2014.

As with many of our dwindling social services, this march toward privatization follows the same path: the funding is cut, the service quality drops, the system buckles, and privatizers point at the broken system to justify corporations filling those roles.  In this case, Congress passed the Postal Accountability and Enhancement Act in 2006 that forces the USPS to prefund employee benefits 75 years in advance, forcing the USPS into this manufactured financial crisis.

Our voices from across rural America were heard loud and clear, which is why the USPS has changed their tactic and adopted our very language, calling for the “preservation of rural identity.”  We have seen incredible success, and now we must keep up the pressure!

The Preserve Our Postal Service working group, a group of rural community organizers, union organizers, and community advocates from across the state, has developed this Return to Sender campaign. Preserve Our Postal Service formed in response to the call made at the ROP Caucus this May for a coalition to move creative, fun, and visible actions forward supporting our precious community infrastructure.

410838_3949661907248_218643653_o 2


Preserve Our Postal Service kicked off their organizing by sending postcards to every Postmaster in an affected post office in Oregon declaring our support for them, their role in their community, and that we are here to
help their community organize!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English