يطالب سكان ولاية أوريغون بمستجمعات مياه صحية

عزيزي روب نت ،

يرتبط سكان الريف في ولاية أوريغون ارتباطًا وثيقًا، على الرغم من الأميال التي تفصل بيننا. إن العديد من قادة الكرامة الإنسانية في جميع أنحاء الولاية الذين ينظمون حملات لحماية مستجمعات المياه الخاصة بهم يشعرون بهذا بعمق، خاصة عندما تؤثر القرارات التي تتخذها الجهات الفاعلة القوية في أعلى النهر بشكل مباشر على سبل العيش في أسفل النهر. وصف مقال بقلم OPB الشهر الماضي كيف ينظر المشرعون الفيدراليون إلى النضال من أجل الحصول على مياه الشرب في ريف ولاية أوريغون كأمثلة على أزمة وطنية

من منع رش المبيدات الجوية إلى لفت الانتباه إلى وجود سد خطير ومدمر إلى الدعوة إلى حلول للمياه الجوفية الملوثة، يطالب قادة الكرامة الإنسانية في كل ركن من أركان الولاية بمستجمعات مياه أنظف وأكثر أمانًا. تابع القراءة للحصول على مزيد من التفاصيل حول كل حملة من هذه الحملات وطرق المشاركة فيها! 

مقاطعة لينكولن تحد من رش مبيدات الأعشاب

في مقاطعة لينكولن، يكافح السكان لوقف الرش الجوي للمبيدات الحشرية في مستجمع المياه في جنوب بيفر كريك، بالقرب من سيل روك. عندما اكتشف السكان المحليون أن إحدى شركات الأخشاب كان من المقرر أن تقوم برش مبيدات الأعشاب عبر الطائرة على عقار مساحته 473 فدانًا يملكه شخص يعيش في الدنمارك، أعربوا بصوت عالٍ عن معارضتهم من خلال تنظيم اجتماعات ومظاهرات مجتمعية. يعرف أفراد المجتمع أن الجريان السطحي من تلك الأرض يتدفق مباشرة إلى إمدادات المياه لمنطقة سيل روك ووتر، والتي يعتمد عليها الكثير من الحياة البرية وآلاف الأشخاص. الأهالي ينجحون في وقف الرش الجوي! ولكن لسوء الحظ لا تزال هناك خطط لاستخدام الرشاشات المحمولة على الظهر. ويقول السكان المحليون إن هذا ليس كافيا وما زالوا يقاومون. لقد أنشأوا موقعًا إلكترونيًا لـ Stop the Spray، والذي يتضمن نموذج اتصل بنا إذا كنت تريد التواصل والمشاركة!

حملات مقاطعة دوغلاس لإزالة السدود

متظاهرو مقاطعة دوغلاس يحملون لافتات احتجاجًا على سد وينشستر.

في مقاطعة دوغلاس، يطالب الناس بإزالة السد الذي يعطل النظم البيئية المحلية ويشكل خطرًا لا يصدق على المجتمع. هناك سلسلة من المشكلات المتعلقة بسد وينشستر، الذي يقع على نهر شمال أومبكوا. أولاً، أشارت عملية التفتيش الأخيرة للسد في عام 2013، والتي أجرتها إدارة الموارد المائية في ولاية أوريغون، إلى "قضايا عاجلة تتعلق بسلامة السد - يجب التحرك الآن" ولكن لم يتم اتخاذ أي إجراء فوري. يتداخل السد أيضًا مع هجرة الأسماك المحلية والمهددة بالانقراض، حيث من المتوقع أن يتم تصنيف سلم الأسماك الخاص به ضمن أسوأ 10 سلالم للأسماك في الولاية في تقرير العام المقبل. ليس هذا فحسب، بل إن استخدامه الوحيد هو لأغراض ترفيهية، والبحيرة التي ينشئها لا يمكن الوصول إليها إلا لحوالي 100 من أصحاب الأراضي الأثرياء الذين يمتلكون منازل عند منبع السد مباشرةً. قم بمراجعة صفحة Facebook الخاصة بحقوق المجتمع بمقاطعة دوغلاس للحصول على التحديثات المستمرة حول الحملة وطرق المشاركة

ليس هذا هو المجتمع الوحيد في ولاية أوريغون الذي يطالب بإزالة السد الذي يهدد سبل العيش ويعطل الحياة البرية. اطلع على شبكة ROPnet هذه اعتبارًا من أغسطس حول مجلس قيادة الشباب للقبائل الكونفدرالية لمحمية أوماتيلا الهندية (CTUIR) وحملتهم لإزالة سدود نهر الأفعى الأربعة السفلية

يتطلب حوض أوماتيلا السفلي مياه شرب آمنة

ملصق يحتوي على نص: "تأكد من أن المياه آمنة" ورمز QR للمسح الضوئي.

كان المنظمون في شمال شرق ولاية أوريغون يلفتون الانتباه ويطالبون بإجابات على المياه الجوفية الملوثة بشكل خطير في منطقتهم. Oregon Rural Action (ORA)، مجموعة كرامة إنسانية وغير ربحية مقرها في شرق ولاية أوريغون، تقود حملة لنشر الكلمة حول المستويات العالية الخطيرة من النترات في الكثير من المياه في مقاطعتي مورو وأوماتيلا ووقف التلوث في نهاية المطاف من مصدره.

متظاهرون يحملون لافتات باللغة الإسبانية مع أوعية ماء أمامهم.

وفي شهر مايو، نجح المنظمون أخيرًا في زيارة المحافظ كوتيك والاستماع إليهم حول الإحباطات والمخاوف المحليةفي الوضع. ولا يزال المجتمع ينتظر حلولاً حقيقية تعالج هذه الحالة الطارئة. يمكنك قراءة أو الاستماع إلى هذا المقال الذي نشرته صحيفة هيرميستون هيرالد والذي يشرح الإحباطات المستمرة تجاه الدولة إجابة. يوضح ORA، "لم تكن الاختبارات التي أجرتها هيئة الصحة في ولاية أوريغون بطيئة بشكل غير مقبول فحسب، بل فشلت إدارة جودة البيئة ووزارة الزراعة في اتخاذ خطوات ذات معنى لكبح جماح الممارسات الصناعية التي تلوث المياه الجوفية المحلية في المقام الأول. "

ماذا تطرح لك هذه القصص؟ هل لديك أفكار حول كيف يمكننا التعلم من بعضنا البعض واستخلاص القوة من هذه الجهود المحلية المترابطة؟ تواصل معنا عبر البريد الإلكتروني لمنظم شرطة عمان السلطانية المحلي أو sidra@rop.org

بحرارة
السدرة وفريق شرطة عمان السلطانية

العربية

Oregonians Demand Healthy Watersheds

Dear ROPnet,

Rural Oregonians are deeply connected, despite the miles between us. The many human dignity leaders across the state who are organizing campaigns to protect their watersheds feel this deeply, especially when decisions by powerful upstream actors directly affect livelihoods downstream. An article by OPB last month described how federal lawmakers are considering the struggles for drinking water in rural Oregon as examples of a national crisis

From preventing aerial pesticide spraying to drawing attention to a dangerous and disruptive dam to calling for solutions for polluted groundwater, human dignity leaders in every corner of the state are demanding cleaner and safer watersheds. Read on for more details about each of these campaigns and ways to get involved! 

Lincoln County Limits Herbicide Spraying

In Lincoln County, residents have been fighting to stop aerial pesticide spraying in the South Beaver Creek watershed, near Seal Rock. When locals found out that a timber company was scheduled to spray herbicides via airplane on a 473-acre property owned by someone living in Denmark, they loudly voiced their opposition by organizing community meetings and demonstrations. Community members know that the runoff from that land flows straight into the water supply for the Seal Rock Water District, which much wildlife and thousands of people rely on. Residents succeeded in stopping the aerial spraying! But unfortunately there are still plans to use backpack sprayers. Locals say this isn’t enough and are still pushing back. They’ve made a Stop the Spray website, which includes a Contact Us form if you want to reach out and get involved!

Douglas County Campaigns for Dam Removal

Douglas County protestors hold signs protesting the Winchester Dam.

In Douglas County, folks are calling for the removal of a dam that disrupts local ecosystems and poses incredible danger to the community. There are a series of issues with the Winchester Dam, which is on the North Umpqua River. Firstly, the dam’s last inspection in 2013, conducted by the Oregon Water Resources Department, stated “urgent dam safety issues – action now” but no prompt action was taken. The dam also interferes with the migration of native, endangered fish, as it’s fish ladder is expected to be rated in the worst 10 fish ladders in the state in next year’s report. Not only that, its only use is recreational and the lake it creates is only accessible to about 100 wealthy landowners who own homes just upstream of the dam. Check out Community Rights Douglas County’s Facebook page for ongoing updates on the campaign and ways to get involved

This isn’t the only community in Oregon demanding the removal of a dam that threatens livelihoods and disrupts wildlife. Check out this ROPnet from August about the Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation (CTUIR) Youth Leadership Council and their campaign to remove the four lower Snake River Dams

Lower Umatilla Basin Demands Safe Drinking Water

Poster with text: "Make sure you water is safe" and a QR code to scan.

Organizers in Northeastern Oregon have been calling attention and demanding answers to the dangerously polluted groundwater in their area. Oregon Rural Action (ORA), a human dignity group and nonprofit based in Eastern Oregon, is leading a campaign to spread the word about the dangerously high levels of nitrate in much of the water in Morrow and Umatilla counties and ultimately stop the pollution at its source.

Protestors holding signs in Spanish with jars of water in front of them.

In May, organizers finally succeeded in having Governor Kotek visit and hear from them about local frustrations and fears regarding the situation. The community is still waiting for real solutions that address the emergency. You can read or listen to this article by the Hermiston Herald that explains ongoing frustrations with the state’s response. ORA explains, “Not only has testing by the Oregon Health Authority been unacceptably slow, but the Department of Environmental Quality and Department of Agriculture have failed to take meaningful steps to rein in the industrial-scale practices that contaminated local groundwater in the first place.”

What do these stories bring up for you? Do you have thoughts on how can we learn from one another and draw strength from these interconnected local efforts? Reach out to us by emailing your local ROP organizer or sidra@rop.org

Warmly,
Sidra and the ROP Team

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English