俄勒冈人需要健康的流域

亲爱的 ROPnet,

尽管我们之间相隔数英里,但俄勒冈州的农村居民却有着深厚的联系。全州许多正在组织保护流域运动的人类尊严领导人对此深有感触,特别是当强大的上游行为者的决策直接影响下游的生计时。 OPB 上个月的一篇文章描述了联邦立法者如何将俄勒冈州农村地区的饮用水斗争视为国家危机的例子

从防止空中喷洒杀虫剂到提请人们注意危险且具有破坏性的大坝,再到呼吁解决受污染的地下水, 该州各个角落的人类尊严领导人都要求建立更清洁、更安全的流域. 请继续阅读,了解有关每个活动以及参与方式的更多详细信息! 

林肯县限制喷洒除草剂

在林肯县,居民一直在努力阻止在海豹岩附近的南海狸溪流域喷洒农药。当当地人发现一家木材公司计划通过飞机向居住在丹麦的某人拥有的 473 英亩土地喷洒除草剂时,他们通过组织社区会议和示威活动大声表达反对意见。社区成员知道,这片土地的径流直接流入海豹岩水区的供水系统,这是许多野生动物和数千人赖以生存的地方。 居民成功阻止空中喷洒!但不幸的是仍有计划使用背包式喷雾器。当地人表示这还不够,并且仍在反对。 他们制作了一个“停止喷雾”网站,其中包含“联系我们”表格,如果您想联系我们并参与其中!

道格拉斯县大坝拆除运动

道格拉斯县抗议者举着抗议温彻斯特大坝的标语。

在道格拉斯县,人们呼吁拆除一座破坏当地生态系统并对社区构成巨大危险的水坝。位于北乌姆普夸河上的温彻斯特大坝存在一系列问题。首先,俄勒冈州水资源部在2013年对大坝进行的最后一次检查中指出“紧急的大坝安全问题——立即采取行动”,但没有立即采取行动。该水坝还干扰了本地濒危鱼类的迁徙,因为它的鱼梯预计将在明年的报告中被评为该州最差的 10 个鱼梯。不仅如此,它的唯一用途是娱乐,而且它所形成的湖泊只有大约 100 位在大坝上游拥有房屋的富裕地主才能进入。 查看社区权利道格拉斯县的 Facebook 页面,了解该活动的持续更新以及参与方式

这并不是俄勒冈州唯一一个要求拆除威胁生计和扰乱野生动物的大坝的社区。 查看 8 月份的 ROPnet,了解尤马蒂拉印第安保留地联盟部落 (CTUIR) 青年领导委员会及其拆除蛇河下游四个水坝的活动

下尤马蒂拉盆地需要安全饮用水

海报上写着:“确保您的水是安全的”和一个可供扫描的二维码。

俄勒冈州东北部的组织者一直在呼吁人们关注并要求解决该地区地下水受到危险污染的问题。 俄勒冈农村行动 (ORA),一个位于俄勒冈州东部的人类尊严组织和非营利组织正在领导一场运动,宣传莫罗县和尤马蒂拉县大部分水中硝酸盐含量危险的高水平,并最终从源头上阻止污染。

抗议者举着西班牙语标语,面前放着水罐。

五月,组织者终于成功邀请科特克州长来访,并听取他们讲述当地的不满和担忧情况。社区仍在等待解决紧急情况的真正解决方案。 您可以阅读或收听赫米斯顿先驱报的这篇文章,其中解释了对该州的持续不满 回复。 ORA 解释说:“不仅俄勒冈州卫生局的检测速度慢得令人无法接受,而且环境质量部和农业部也未能采取有意义的措施来控制污染当地地下水的工业规模做法。 ”

这些故事给你带来了什么?您是否认为我们如何能够相互学习并从这些相互关联的地方努力中汲取力量?通过向您当地的 ROP 组织者发送电子邮件或 sidra@rop.org

热烈地,
Sidra 和 ROP 团队

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Oregonians Demand Healthy Watersheds

Dear ROPnet,

Rural Oregonians are deeply connected, despite the miles between us. The many human dignity leaders across the state who are organizing campaigns to protect their watersheds feel this deeply, especially when decisions by powerful upstream actors directly affect livelihoods downstream. An article by OPB last month described how federal lawmakers are considering the struggles for drinking water in rural Oregon as examples of a national crisis

From preventing aerial pesticide spraying to drawing attention to a dangerous and disruptive dam to calling for solutions for polluted groundwater, human dignity leaders in every corner of the state are demanding cleaner and safer watersheds. Read on for more details about each of these campaigns and ways to get involved! 

Lincoln County Limits Herbicide Spraying

In Lincoln County, residents have been fighting to stop aerial pesticide spraying in the South Beaver Creek watershed, near Seal Rock. When locals found out that a timber company was scheduled to spray herbicides via airplane on a 473-acre property owned by someone living in Denmark, they loudly voiced their opposition by organizing community meetings and demonstrations. Community members know that the runoff from that land flows straight into the water supply for the Seal Rock Water District, which much wildlife and thousands of people rely on. Residents succeeded in stopping the aerial spraying! But unfortunately there are still plans to use backpack sprayers. Locals say this isn’t enough and are still pushing back. They’ve made a Stop the Spray website, which includes a Contact Us form if you want to reach out and get involved!

Douglas County Campaigns for Dam Removal

Douglas County protestors hold signs protesting the Winchester Dam.

In Douglas County, folks are calling for the removal of a dam that disrupts local ecosystems and poses incredible danger to the community. There are a series of issues with the Winchester Dam, which is on the North Umpqua River. Firstly, the dam’s last inspection in 2013, conducted by the Oregon Water Resources Department, stated “urgent dam safety issues – action now” but no prompt action was taken. The dam also interferes with the migration of native, endangered fish, as it’s fish ladder is expected to be rated in the worst 10 fish ladders in the state in next year’s report. Not only that, its only use is recreational and the lake it creates is only accessible to about 100 wealthy landowners who own homes just upstream of the dam. Check out Community Rights Douglas County’s Facebook page for ongoing updates on the campaign and ways to get involved

This isn’t the only community in Oregon demanding the removal of a dam that threatens livelihoods and disrupts wildlife. Check out this ROPnet from August about the Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation (CTUIR) Youth Leadership Council and their campaign to remove the four lower Snake River Dams

Lower Umatilla Basin Demands Safe Drinking Water

Poster with text: "Make sure you water is safe" and a QR code to scan.

Organizers in Northeastern Oregon have been calling attention and demanding answers to the dangerously polluted groundwater in their area. Oregon Rural Action (ORA), a human dignity group and nonprofit based in Eastern Oregon, is leading a campaign to spread the word about the dangerously high levels of nitrate in much of the water in Morrow and Umatilla counties and ultimately stop the pollution at its source.

Protestors holding signs in Spanish with jars of water in front of them.

In May, organizers finally succeeded in having Governor Kotek visit and hear from them about local frustrations and fears regarding the situation. The community is still waiting for real solutions that address the emergency. You can read or listen to this article by the Hermiston Herald that explains ongoing frustrations with the state’s response. ORA explains, “Not only has testing by the Oregon Health Authority been unacceptably slow, but the Department of Environmental Quality and Department of Agriculture have failed to take meaningful steps to rein in the industrial-scale practices that contaminated local groundwater in the first place.”

What do these stories bring up for you? Do you have thoughts on how can we learn from one another and draw strength from these interconnected local efforts? Reach out to us by emailing your local ROP organizer or sidra@rop.org

Warmly,
Sidra and the ROP Team

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English