2008 年 10 月 KTA:退出投票

本月的厨房餐桌活动旨在让您当地的团体制定退出投票 (GOTV) 的计划。超过 20 个社区已经使用 ROP 安排了投票措施论坛——太棒了!这些论坛是向一小群人深入了解信息的好方法,我们希望这些人在选举日之后继续参与我们的小组,但我们还需要制定计划,以通过ROP STAND 选民指南。

为什么要开展这项活动? 花哨的焦点小组和统计民意调查证实了我们已经知道的事情——影响某人投票的最佳方式是从他们信任的人那里接收信息——朋友或家人、同事、邻居、PTA 同事或扶轮社成员。我们还知道,与邮寄或在公共场所领取相比,如果将文学作品送到他们家,社区成员更有可能阅读文学作品。

每个选举周期 ROP 都会制作 STAND 选民指南,以帮助我们自己和我们的邻居解决问题并做出有助于在这个选举周期推进民主的决定。本周你应该收到你的 STAND 选民指南 在邮件中!还可以访问 [ENTER LINK TO STAND Guide] 查看内容。今年第一次,我们还创建了我们的版本 西班牙语的投票措施建议.

您的计划可以像在 10 月 18 日和 19 日周末的一次性“敲门”一样简单,也可以包括一个投票派对或一个投票措施论坛。无论您决定这样做,请考虑您和您的团队如何影响我们社区将在本次选举周期中做出的决定。

完成活动的步骤:

  1. 与您的人类尊严小组分享此 KTA。
  2. 查看 STAND 选民指南。如果您需要更多或尚未下订单,请立即致电或发送电子邮件至 cara@rop.org!我们保存了最后一分钟的藏品以满足您的需求!决定您是否想添加关于当地倡议或问题的任何其他信息,或者您是否想从您当地的人类尊严小组中加入个人笔记。
  3. 确定您的影响范围:您可以影响谁?除了在工作中、与朋友、在杂货店排队、在下一次阅读小组或扶轮社会议上分享之外,想想你社区中谁需要这些信息。请记住,交流越个人化越好。
  4. 在 10 月 18 日和 19 日的周末,使用 ROP STAND 选民指南为您的小组设置一个“敲门”的日期和时间。这将是选票到达的黄金周末。制定一份潜在志愿者名单并拨打电话。在 ROP 告诉我们,我们将帮助在您所在的县宣传。
  5. 如果您将 STAND 选民指南递送或邮寄给特定社区或选民群体,请考虑进行一轮“礼貌电话”,让您的邻居知道在 18 日周末寻找您。这是一种简单而友好的方式,可以与选民建立更大的联系并产生更大的影响 - 并且还让您有机会介绍您的团队并增加阅读和使用 STAND 选民指南的可能性。下面是一个示例电话脚本。如果您需要帮助拉出选民名单,请发送电子邮件至 cara@rop.org。
  6. 考虑以下活动之一,为您小组的 GOTV 计划添加更多内容。这些活动提供了一个机会来探索选票上的内容并建立分析,不仅适用于本次选举周期,而且适用于长期。
  • 组织一个投票措施论坛。 上个月的 KTA 提供了一个很好的工具包,用于规划交互式投票论坛来讨论问题并确保您的会员、支持者和更广泛的社区了解情况。联系 cara@rop.org 获取更多想法和样本新闻稿、传单、电子邮件公告等!
  • 举办投票派对。 拿到选票和 STAND Voters Guides 后,请聚在一起讨论问题和候选人,用亲民主的视角分析选票,然后填写选票。

STAND 礼貌呼叫脚本和投票措施论坛邀请

介绍:
你好。有没有?

这是____电话。我和__________(本地组名)在一起。作为一个想在每次选举中投票但有时会发现选票有时会让人不知所措和令人困惑的人,我自愿帮助激励其他人获取有关选票的信息并进行投票。您知道吗,今年 11 月,我们将对 10 项不同的投票措施进行投票,这些措施涉及从教育和彩票资金到监狱和税收等方方面面?

如果您邀请他们参加投票措施论坛:
我们正在 ______________________(日期、时间和地点)举办社区投票措施论坛。选票上有很多内容,我们希望确保我们社区中的人们拥有做出正确决定所需的信息。我们的县已经度过了足够艰难的时光,而没有这些措施会造成的一些损害。

你能加入我们的投票措施论坛吗?

如果您正在分发 STAND 投票指南 给他们:
我们的小组正在向我们县的邻居发送/交付选民指南,我想打电话给您提个醒。

STAND 选民指南 由关心维护和建设我们民主的俄勒冈州小镇居民设计。提供选民指南的小组是 ___________。

更多组详细信息,如果这对您的组有用:
你听说过我们的小组吗?

我们是一个致力于维护和建设民主的团体。我们的大部分工作都集中在_______________

(记下他们是否对小组表现出兴趣。)

闭幕:
选票将在 10 月 17 日那一周通过邮件发送。他们将在 11 月 4 日之前提交县选举办公室。一些投票措施将真正影响我们的民主。您对今年的投票或选举有任何疑问吗?你登记投票了吗?截止日期是10月14日!

(用你的 STAND 选民指南 提供有关如何注册或回答其他问题的信息。)

信息:
你好。这是 ___ 电话,我是 __________ 的志愿者。

如果您邀请他们参加投票措施论坛:
我打电话邀请您参加 ______________(时间、日期、地点)的投票措施论坛。我们很乐意让您加入我们,更多地讨论这些措施将如何影响我们的民主和我们的社区。如果你能做到,请拨打 _________________ 给我们打电话,这样我们就知道有多少人可以期待!

如果您向他们发送 STAND 投票指南:
我们的小组正在向我们社区的家庭提供/发送民主选民指南。选票将在 10 月 17 日那一周寄出,并于 11 月 4 日返回县。作为关心我们民主健康的人,我鼓励您在这次选举中投票。请留意您的投票措施指南!

闭幕: 如果您希望有人通过选票与我们交谈或支持获取更多信息,您可以拨打 ______________ 与我们联系。 _____________(团体名称)是一个全志愿者团体,鼓励每个人都出去投票这次选举。谢谢,祝你有美好的一天!

(一定要记录下有多少人说是,不是,或者可能,以及你给多少人留言或他们的号码有误。谢谢,祝您通话愉快!)

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Oct 2008 KTA: Get Out the Vote

This month’s Kitchen Table Activism is to make your local group’s plan to Get Out The Vote (GOTV). Over 20 communities already have ballot measure forums scheduled with ROP – that is amazing! These forums are great ways to get in depth information to a smaller group of people that we hope will stay involved with our groups after election day, but we also need plans to reach large number of people with the compelling and concise information that is in the ROP STAND Voter Guide.

WHY THIS ACTIVITY? Fancy focus groups and statistical polls confirm what we already know – the best way to impact someone’s vote is to receive information from someone they trust – a friend or family member, co-worker, neighbor, a fellow PTA or Rotary member. We also know that community members are more likely to read literature if it is dropped off at their house, as opposed to mailed or picked up at a public venue.

Each election cycle ROP produces the STAND Voters Guide to help our selves and our neighbors navigate the issues and make decisions that will advance democracy this election cycle. This week you should receive your STAND Voters Guide in the mail! Also visit [ENTER LINK TO STAND Guide] to review the contents. For the first time this year, we have also created a version of our ballot measure recommendations in Spanish.

Your plan can be as easy as a one time “knock and drop” on the weekend of Oct. 18th and 19th, or it could include a ballot party or a ballot measure forum. However you decide to do it, consider how you and your group can influence the decisions that our communities will make this election cycle.

STEPS TO COMPLETE THE ACTIVITY:

  1. Share this KTA with your human dignity group.
  2. Review the STAND Voters Guide. If you need more or haven’t placed an order, call or email cara@rop.org today! We have a last minute stash saved to meet your needs! Decide if you would like to add any additional information on local initiatives or issues or if you would like to put a personal note in from your local human dignity group.
  3. Identify your sphere of influence: who can you impact? In addition to sharing them at work, with friends, in line at the grocery store, at the next reading group or Rotary meeting, think about who in your community needs this information. Remember the more personal the exchange, the better.
  4. Set a date and time for your group to do a “knock and drop” with the ROP STAND Voters Guide on the weekend of Oct. 18th and 19th. This will be the prime weekend when ballots will be arriving. Develop a list of potential volunteers and make calls. Let us know at ROP, and we’ll help spread the word in your county.
  5. If you are delivering or mailing your STAND Voters Guides to a particular neighborhood or groups of voters, consider making a round of “courtesy calls” to let your neighbors know to look for you on the weekend of the 18th. This is an easy and friendly way to make an even greater connection and impact on voters – and also allows you the chance to introduce your group and increase the likelihood that the STAND Voters Guide will be read and used. A sample phone script is below. If you want help pulling a list of voters, email cara@rop.org.
  6. Consider one of the activities below to add a little more meat to your group’s GOTV plan. These activities offer a chance to explore what’s on the ballot and build analysis, not only for this election cycle, but for the long term.
  • Organize a Ballot Measure Forum. Last month’s KTA offered a great tool kit for planning an interactive ballot forum to discuss the issues and make sure that your membership, supporters, and the broader community are informed. Contact cara@rop.org for more ideas and for sample press releases, flyers, email announcements, and more!
  • Host a Ballot Party. Once you have your ballots and STAND Voters Guides in hand, host a get together to discuss the issues and candidates, analyze the ballot with a pro-democracy lens, and fill out your ballots.

STAND Courtesy Call Script and Ballot Measure Forum Invite

Introduction:
Hello. Is ____ there?

This is ____ calling. I’m with ___________ (local group name). As someone who wants to vote each election but can find the ballot sometimes overwhelming and confusing, I am volunteering to help motivate others to get information on the ballot and to vote. Did you know that this November we will be voting on 10 different ballot measures that relate to everything from education and lottery funding to prisons and taxes?

If you are inviting them to a Ballot Measure Forum:
We are having a community ballot measure forum on ______________________ (date, time, and place). There is a lot on the ballot and we want to make sure that folks in our community have the information that they need to make good decisions. Our counties are having a tough enough time already without some of the damage that these measures would do.

Can you join us for the ballot measure forum?

If you are distributing STAND Ballot Guides to them:
Our group is sending out/delivering Voter Guides to neighbors in our county and I wanted to call and give you a heads-up.

The STAND Voter’s Guide is designed by small town Oregonians who care about maintaining and building our democracy. The group that is delivering the Voter Guides is ___________.

More group details, if this is useful for your group:
Have you heard of our group?

We are a group that is committed to maintaining and building our democracy. Much of our work focuses on _______________

(Take notes on if they show interest in the group.)

Closing:
Ballots will be going out in the mail the week of October 17th. They are due to the county elections office by November 4th. Some of the ballot measures will really impact our democracy. Do you have any questions about the ballot or elections this year? Are you registered to vote? The deadline is October 14th!

(Use your STAND Voters Guide to provide information on how to register or answer other questions.)

Message:
Hi. This is ___ calling and I’m a volunteer with __________.

If you are inviting them to a Ballot Measure Forum:
I am calling to invite you to a Ballot Measure Forum on _______________ (time, date, place). We would love to have you join us to talk more about how these measures will impact our democracy and our communities. If you can make it, please give us a call at _________________ so we know how many people to expect!

If you are sending them a STAND Ballot Guide:
Our group is delivering/sending out a pro-democracy Voter Guides to households in our community. Ballots go into the mail the week of October 17th and are due back to the county by November 4th. As someone who cares about the health of our democracy, I encourage you to vote this election. Keep an eye out for your ballot measure guide!

Closing: And if you would like someone to talk through the ballot with or support on getting more information, you can call us at ______________. _____________ (group name) is an all volunteer group encouraging everyone to get out and vote this election. Thanks, and have a great day!

(Make sure to record how many people said yes, no, or maybe and how many people you left messages for or whose numbers were wrong. Thanks and happy calling!)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English