占领俄勒冈州农村地区为春天做准备

尽管寒冷且经常下雪的天气让人们呆在室内,但占领俄勒冈农村地区一直在反思、分析、制定战略并为春天做准备!

农村组织项目一直在促进全州小城镇和农村社区的 Occupy Rural Oregon Think Tanks。在每个智囊团中,我们都分享了俄勒冈州农村职业一直在使用的创新策略,讨论了俄勒冈州小镇和农村地区的区域和全州占领行动,并就下一步战略进行了对话,以在俄勒冈州农村地区开展经济正义运动。

当我们思考这一刻意味着什么时,谈话内容丰富且令人难以置信的诚实。  在这个奖励创造力和勇气的时刻,我们正在积极设想我们希望我们的社区是什么样子,重新定义我们认为关键的社区基础设施,并重新定义我们自己和我们在家乡的角色。  很明显,1% 不会满足我们社区的需求,因此我们正在加紧通过实际的民主程序自行解决我们的问题。

智囊团明确表示,现在是探索我们如何与社区互动以相互支持和激励的时候了——团结 99%!人们开始拆除他们为保护家人而建造的围墙,以便向社区敞开心扉。我们如何克服楔子问题在我们的家乡造成的裂痕和分歧?

在这场斗争中,俄勒冈州并不孤单。  佛蒙特州至少有 56 个城镇通过了挑战企业人格的地方决议。

让我们从全州的所有活动、规划和思考中汲取灵感!保持最新和 在 Facebook 上关注“占领俄勒冈农村”! 在下面查看来自俄勒冈州农村和小镇的“占领”组织快照!

来自全州的农村职业将于 5 月 12 日星期六在伍德本的农村核心小组和战略会议期间汇聚一堂,分享战略、战术、材料和友情。   立即注册享受早鸟优惠!

占领罗斯堡
占领罗斯堡做到了这一切!当他们不忙于用他们的 Feed the 'Burg 聚餐来喂养罗斯堡时,他们有时间计划精心制作的政治戏剧 巨大的黑色棺材。 抗议企业人格,占领罗斯堡设立了一个巨大的黑色棺材,埋葬了自由女神(也称为权利法案),直到一个占领组织接管了葬礼,抚养了自由女神,并在她的位置埋葬了企业人格!  在这里观看视频!

占领罗斯堡将在本周末占领威利斯公园,以声援因睡在那里而被开罚单和逮捕的无家可归者。 “这座城市希望我们相信无家可归者是罗斯堡的问题,”占领罗斯堡说。 “镇上的许多企业都想把糟糕的销售归咎于那些以罗斯堡街道为家的人,而不是道格拉斯县系统性地缺乏就业增长和可怕的失业。 没有家不应该是犯罪,任何有此规定的法律都是值得违反的法律。” 

本周末加入占领罗斯堡! 有关更多信息,请查看他们的 Facebook 活动!

占弯
占领弯正在吸引社区! 1 月 22 日,Occupy Bend 的四名成员在 Bend 第一长老会教堂举行的一个参加人数众多的小组和小组讨论中发表了讲话。他们举办了一场成功而有趣的 Occupy the Music 筹款活动,其中包括来自当地和国家表演者的民间和抗议音乐的精彩之夜。坚定的 Foster Fell 是 12 月 5 日在众议员 Walden 办公室被捕的 Bend 8 人之一的创意和工作,占领音乐吸引了大约 200 人,还举办了一场无声的拍卖会,里面有很多很棒的当地奖品。 Occupy Bend 将于 3 月 17 日中午在 Bend 的中央标志性德雷克公园举行第二次每周一次的大会。

占领克拉马斯瀑布
Occupy Klamath Falls 响应当地教师的呼吁,让人们了解在学校资金继续削减的情况下,教师应该做的无偿工作。克拉马斯福尔斯城的教师们举办了一场“成绩”活动,与公众就公共教师的工作进行了对话,该活动于 1 月 23 日下午 4 点在克拉马斯福尔斯的 Fred Meyer 举行。尽管 1 月 20 日至 21 日下雨,但占领 Klamath Falls 还是占领了法院两天。 在 Facebook 上查看他们的相册,看看他们的表现.

占领瓦洛瓦
Occupy Wallowa 的重点是俄勒冈州立银行。他们在俄勒冈州立银行接待了来自 ROP 的 Cara 以购买棕色包,然后在附近的咖啡店举办了一个占领智囊团。他们的谈话涉及的话题包括与当地社区的融合、牧场主的参与以及当地的粮食安全工作。

占领联合县
Occupy La Grande 于 2 月下旬举办了一个智囊团,旨在为那些濒临失去一切、接触邻居并吸引小企业的人制定中产阶级战略。由于智囊团的人们对参加本次培训产生了启发和兴趣:http://the99spring.com/。

占领狭长地带(中途)
中途占领运动于 2 月下旬举办了占领智囊团。这是一场内容丰富的对话,提出了几个核心主题。我们如何建立更多的社区?我们如何克服分歧?我们如何有效地接触和吸引更多人?我们是用占领框架还是从其他地方领导?我们可以两者都做吗?虽然我们没有解决这些问题中的每一个,但谈话梳理了一些紧张局势,并让我们在考虑下一步时建立了一个框架,其中包括与贝克县的其他社区合作。 Occupy Panhandle 正在使用一个在线白板网站来讨论后续步骤并共享信息。 一探究竟!

占领埃尔克顿
Occupy Elkton 每周五 3:30 在高速公路旁集会!

占领纽波特
Occupy Newport 一直在参与一个愿景项目,以确定他们今年的方向。伟大的工作占领纽波特!

贝克城
贝克县对占领运动感兴趣的人们上个月聚在一起成立了一个智囊团。大部分对话都集中在如何在社区中伸出援手并建立联系和支持。贝克市领导人正在考虑专注于解决竞选捐款问题,包括 Citizens United,以此作为在社区开始对话的一种方式。

占领梅德福
Occupy Medford 于 2 月 29 日成功关闭了他们的美国银行,以关闭公司!  查看他们 1 月 20 日在占领法庭上的照片! Occupy Medford 还组建了一个团队,为人类栖息地提供志愿服务。 1 月 11 日,占领梅德福为关塔那摩成立 10 周年举办了教育和行动日。他们呼吁采取行动, “……正如我们在美国所知,镇压正在上升。在关塔那摩湾等非人道监狱的持续使用和最近通过的 2012 财年国防授权法案之间,美国人民越来越意识到这种全球化公司体系的不公正。我们还看到美国政府在积极破坏它声称要保护的民主的同时,对亲民主运动的支持不一致。”

占领科瓦利斯
Occupy Corvallis 于 3 月 9 日在 Majestic Theatre 成功举办了开放麦克风之夜,以音乐、诗歌和美食为特色。在 2 月 29 日关闭公司期间,占领科瓦利斯用壮观的背包木偶关闭了富国银行。  在这里阅读!

占领俄勒冈州
除了占领哲学课外,占领俄勒冈州立大学还举办了一个读书俱乐部!

占领小屋格罗夫
Occupy Cottage Grove 在初中、高中和另类高中举行了一系列集会,以支持教师、学校员工,并提高公众对公共教育面临的资金短缺问题的认识。他们得到了学区、每个学校管理部门和教师工会的支持。 Occupy Cottage Grove 继续每周举行守夜活动和大会。

占领补助金通行证
占领拨款通行证正在向俄勒冈州国会施加压力! 1 月 26 日星期四,“占领拨款通行证”让国会议员 Walden 和 DeFazio 在一个小房间里举行新闻发布会。 1 月 21 日,Occupy Grants Pass 举行了第一次会员大会,超过 100 人参加! 看看他们的照片! Occupy Grants Pass 每周四下午 3 点在约瑟芬县法院外与 99% 声援。

占领西尔弗顿
Occupy Silverton 于 1 月 21 日星期六在 Silver Falls 图书馆举办了一场题为“什么是公民的联合最高法院裁决”的学习与谈话活动。他们讨论:它对你有什么影响?为什么要反过来呢?我们如何才能获得宪法修正案以阻止公司作为人类获得第一修正案的权利?金钱真的是言论自由吗?我们可以做些什么来防止这种情况发生在我们的城镇、我们的州以及全国?

占领奥尔巴尼
占领者每周五下午 5 点在奥尔巴尼法院外集会支持 99%。占领奥尔巴尼还举行月度会议,以计划战略和战术,以打击企业人格。

占领亚什兰
占领亚什兰一直很忙!除了占领法院外,他们目前正在为未来几周即将到来的无家可归者的睡眠合法化进行拉票。

占领库斯湾
占领库斯湾继续每周六举牌!社区成员聚集在 101 号高速公路旁,声援占领法院。

您的占领活动未列出吗? 发送 杰西卡@rop.org 更新!

简体中文

Occupy Rural Oregon Prepares for Spring

Despite the cold and often snowy weather keeping folks indoors, Occupy Rural Oregon has been reflecting, analyzing, strategizing, and preparing for the spring!

The Rural Organizing Project has been facilitating Occupy Rural Oregon Think Tanks in small town and rural communities across the state.  In each Think Tank we have shared innovative tactics rural Oregon Occupations have been using, discussed regional and statewide Occupy actions in small town and rural Oregon, and to have conversations on the next step strategies to build the movement for economic justice across rural Oregon.

The conversations have been rich and incredibly honest as we reflected on what this moment means.  In this moment that rewards creativity and boldness, we are actively envisioning what we want our communities to look like, redefining what we consider critical community infrastructure, and redefining ourselves and our roles in our hometowns.  It is clear that the 1% will not be addressing our community needs so we are stepping up to fix our problems ourselves through actual democratic processes.

The Think Tanks made it clear that now is the time to explore how we can engage with our communities to support and inspire each other – to unite the 99%!  People are beginning to break down the walls they built to protect their families in order to open themselves up to community.  How do we overcome the rifts and divides that wedge issues have created in our hometowns?

Oregon is not alone in this fight.  At least 56 cities and towns in Vermont passed local resolutions challenging corporate personhood.

Let’s draw inspiration from all the activities, planning, and thinking across the state! Stay up to date and follow Occupy Rural Oregon on Facebook! Check out snapshots of Occupy organizing from rural and small town Oregon below!

Rural Occupations from across the state will converge to share strategy, tactics, materials, and camaraderie on Saturday, May 12th in Woodburn during the Rural Caucus and Strategy Session.   Register now for an earlybird discount!

Occupy Roseburg
Occupy Roseburg does it all! When they aren’t busy feeding Roseburg with their Feed the ‘Burg potlucks, they have time to plan elaborate political theater with giant black coffins. Protesting corporate personhood, Occupy Roseburg set up a giant black coffin, buried Lady Liberty (also known as the Bill of Rights) until an Occupy group took over the funeral, raised Lady Liberty, and buried Corporate Personhood in her place!  Watch the video here!

Occupy Roseburg will Occupy Willis Park this weekend in solidarity with the houseless who have been ticketed and arrested for sleeping there. “The city would like us to believe that the homeless are the problem in Roseburg,” said Occupy Roseburg. “Many of the businesses in town would like to blame their bad sales on those who call the streets of Roseburg their home instead of the systemic lack of job growth and horrible unemployment in Douglas County. Not having a home should not be a crime, and any law that says so is a law that is worth breaking.” 

Join Occupy Roseburg this weekend! For more information, check out their Facebook event!

Occupy Bend
Occupy Bend is engaging the community!  Four members of Occupy Bend spoke at a well-attended panel and group discussion at Bend’s First Presbyterian Church on January 22.  They held a successful and fun Occupy the Music fundraiser featuring an amazing evening of folk and protest music from local and national performers.  The brainchild and work of the stalwart Foster Fell, one of the Bend 8 arrested in Rep. Walden’s office on December 5, Occupy the Music drew about 200 people and also featured a silent auction full of great local prizes.  Occupy Bend will kick off their second weekly General Assembly on March 17 at noon at Bend’s central and iconic Drake Park.

Occupy Klamath Falls
Occupy Klamath Falls responded a call from local teachers to bring visibility to the work that teachers are expected to do unpaid while funding for schools continues to be cut. Klamath Falls City teachers hostd a “grade in” event to have conversations with the public about what public teachers do on January 23rd at 4:00 p.m. at Fred Meyer in Klamath Falls.  Occupy Klamath Falls Occupied the Courts for two days despite the rain on January 20-21. Check out their photo album on Facebook to see them in action.

Occupy Wallowa
Occupy Wallowa is focusing on the Oregon State Bank.  They hosted Cara from ROP for a Brown Bag on the Oregon State Bank and then held an Occupy Think Tank at the nearby coffeeshop.  Their conversation touched on topics including integrating with the local community, engaging ranchers, and local food security efforts.

Occupy Union County
Occupy La Grande held a think tank in late February that looked developing a middle class strategy for those on the verge of losing it all, reaching out to neighbors, and engaging small businesses.  Since the Think Tank folks have become inspired and interested in participating in this training: http://the99spring.com/.

Occupy Panhandle (Halfway)
Occupy Halfway held an Occupy Think Tank in late February. It was a rich conversation with several core themes coming up.  How do we build more community? How do we get past divisiveness?  How do we reach out and engage more people effectively?  Do we lead with the Occupy frame or from somewhere else?  Can we do both?  While we didn’t resolve each of these questions, the conversation teased out some of the tensions and allowed us a framework to work from when thinking about some next steps, which include working with other communities in Baker County.  Occupy Panhandle is using an online whiteboard website to discuss next steps and share information. Check it out!

Occupy Elkton
Occupy Elkton rallies every Friday at 3:30 by the highway!

Occupy Newport
Occupy Newport has been engaging in a visioning project to identify their direction for the year.  Great work Occupy Newport!

Baker City
Folks in Baker County who are interested in the Occupy movement got together for a Think Tank last month. Much of the conversation focused on how to reach out and build connections and support in the community.  Baker City leaders are considering focusing on addressing campaign contributions, including Citizens United, as a way to start the conversation in their community.

Occupy Medford
Occupy Medford successfully shut down their Bank of America on February 29 for Shut Down the Corporations!  Check out their photos from Occupy the Courts on January 20th!  Occupy Medford has also amassed a team to volunteer with Habitat for Humanity.  Occupy Medford held a day of education and action on January 11th for Guantanamo’s 10th anniversary. Their call to action read, “…As we know in the United States, repression is on the rise. Between the continued use of inhumane prisons like Guantanamo Bay and the recently passed National Defense Authorization Act of Fiscal Year 2012, people in the US are becoming more and more aware of the injustices of this globalized corporate system. We also see the inconsistency of the US government’s support of pro-democracy movements when it is actively derailing the very democracy it claims to protect.”

Occupy Corvallis
Occupy Corvallis held a successful Open Mic night at the Majestic Theater on March 9th that featured music, poetry, and food. Occupy Corvallis shut down Wells Fargo with spectacular backpack puppets during Shut Down the Corporations on February 29.  Read about it here!

Occupy Oregon State
Occupy Oregon State has been hosting a book club in addition to their Occupy Philosophy class!

Occupy Cottage Grove
Occupy Cottage Grove held a series of rallies at the middle school, high school, and alternative high school in support of teachers, school employees, and to raise awareness to funding shortfalls public education faces.  They were supported by the school district, every school administration, and the teachers’ unions.   Occupy Cottage Grove continues to hold weekly vigils and General Assemblies.

Occupy Grants Pass
Occupy Grants Pass is putting the pressure on Oregon’s Congress! Thursday, January 26th, Occupy Grants Pass kept Congressmen Walden and DeFazio company as they held a press conference in a tiny room.   On January 21st, Occupy Grants Pass held their first General Assembly with over 100 participants! Check out their photos!   Occupy Grants Pass stands in solidarity with the 99% every Thursday at 3PM outside of the Josephine County Courthouse.

Occupy Silverton
Occupy Silverton held a Learn & Talk Event titled “What is the Citizen’s United Supreme Court Decision” at the Silver Falls Library on Saturday, January 21st. They discussed: how does it affect you? Why should it be reversed? How can we get a Constitutional amendment to prevent corporations from receiving First Amendment rights as humans? Is money really free speech? What can be done to prevent this from happening in our town and our state as well as nationally?

Occupy Albany
Occupiers rally in support of the 99% outside the Albany Courthouse every Friday at 5PM.  Occupy Albany also holds monthly meetings to plan strategies and tactics to strike down corporate personhood.

Occupy Ashland
Occupy Ashland has been busy! In addition to Occupy the Courts, they are currently canvassing for legalizing sleep for the homeless coming up in the next few weeks.

Occupy Coos Bay
Occupy Coos Bay continues to hold signs every Saturday! Members of the community gathered next to Highway 101 to stand in solidarity for Occupy the Courts.

Is your Occupy activity not listed? Send Jessica@rop.org an update!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English