誓言守护者站起来选择下一个目标

我们在 5 月 7 日写信给您,告诉您来自全国各地的右翼和民兵团体聚集在约瑟芬县,与土地管理局 (BLM) 就实际上是文书工作的问题进行武装对峙。

经过一个多月的武装营地、对 BLM 员工的威胁、对社区成员和当地民选官员的恐吓、一架直升机从头顶飞过导致武装紧急动员以及全国右翼媒体的狂热,誓言守护者已经发布了“停止命令”。土地上诉内部委员会发布了一项中止措施,阻止 BLM 在法庭程序完成之前执行他们的规定,誓言守护者称赞这是一场胜利。能量现在转向抵制刚刚通过的新法律,该法律要求对私人枪支销售进行背景调查(见下文)。

约瑟芬县的誓言守护者一直在向媒体讲述他们的下一步行动:

[媒体发言人玛丽]埃默里克补充说,虽然她的小组将继续监测糖松矿的情况,但它还计划处理其他与 BLM 有“相当显着”问题的当地业主的事业。 “……我们花了一些时间来审查这些,以确保它们是诚实和记录在案的情况……我们有一些计划来采取与此相关的一些行动。”

看来他们打算继续他们的直接对抗战略,以此来激起媒体的关注、招募和筹款,同时鼓励社区内部进一步分化。

誓言守护者将于周六在格兰茨帕斯举行的博特尼克游行中庆祝他们的“胜利”,与全国誓言守护者创始人斯图尔特罗德一起分发袖珍宪法,他最近称参议员约翰麦凯恩是叛国者,应该以叛国罪受审并“挂在脖子上直到死”。

单击此处阅读之前的 ROPnet,其中描述了誓言守护者的背景、约瑟芬县的情况以及约瑟芬县居民如何团结起来为他们的社区组织一个可见的替代愿景。

转移策略和 SB 941

誓言守护者和他们的朋友们找到了另一个动员和建立势头的机会。随着 SB 941 成为法律,要求对个人之间的枪支销售进行背景调查,我不会遵守在塞勒姆和全州各地举行的集会,其中包括各种民兵、反政府、“爱国者”和茶党团体西北打算联网,想办法更好地合作。

针对为 SB 941 提供领导权的立法者发起了多次罢免运动。团体成功地游说他们的县专员通过决议,重申第二修正案并反对任何“违宪限制公民携带武器的权利”的立法。

我们已经看到多个县治安官发表声明,称他们不会执行新法律,理由是他们宣誓维护社区成员的宪法权利。这种语言听起来很熟悉;事实上,这听起来就像誓言守护者的语言,但这些治安官并不是众所周知的誓言守护者。他们是被招募的,还是只是使用现在流行的行话?我们还不知道。

你的社区正在发生什么?

这就是俄勒冈州的人类尊严团体的用武之地。您所在的社区正在发生什么?

我们知道,响应誓言守护者号召前往约瑟芬县动员的人们来自全国各地,其中许多人得到了有组织的团体的支持,这些团体正在筹款、培训和招募以建立他们的运动。许多当地的誓言守护者正在建立当地的政治权力,从接管县共和党到竞选县治安官、学校董事会职位等等。

以下是一些有助于指导您绘制社区地图的问题。找出这些信息可能需要一些实际工作,但其中一些信息隐藏在显而易见的地方:当地报纸上的活动公告、社区 Facebook 群组中的讨论,或通过与我们友好的当地温和派共和党人的对话。 ROP 在这里帮助您回答这些问题——现在就通过 Jessica@rop.org 与我联系,我们将于 6 月 13 日在伍德本的核心小组中深入挖掘更多信息。

1. 谁在你的社区组织和招聘?包括“爱国者”团体、誓言守护者、茶党团体、第二修正案团体、宪法学习团体、公开携带团体和民兵团体。他们在会议上谈论什么?他们从外地引进什么样的扬声器?谁在领导您所在县的共和党或自由党?

2. 这些团体与当地政客有什么关系,包括立法者、县长、警长、市议员、学校董事会成员、公园董事会成员、水土保持区成员、流域区成员等?

3. 2013 年,我们看到俄勒冈州的治安官写信给副总统拜登,表示拒绝遵守桑迪胡克枪击案后通过的任何枪支管制法。誓言守护者在实现这一目标方面发挥了作用。你的警长写了一封信吗?你的治安官写了一封关于刚刚通过的 SB 941(私人枪支销售的背景调查)的信吗?您是否看到任何关于在塞勒姆或该州其他地区举行的“我不遵守”集会的当地通知?谁在分享活动通知?

4. 你所在社区有哪些团体反对征收地方税?包括学校、公共安全和其他拟议的税收。是否有当地政客或其他社区领袖公开反对这些税收?

5. 您所在社区是否有团体公开主张将公共土地从土地管理局 (BLM) 或林务局手中夺走,并将其置于地方控制之下?您的社区是否有强烈反对环境保护的团体,例如支持采矿或支持伐木的团体?

我们可以从这一刻吸取的重要教训之一是关注我们社区中正在发生的对话并确保我们积极参与这些对话的价值。除了具有良好的政治意义之外,参与对话有助于在危机时刻保持沟通畅通和保持低温。

我们将在今年的农村核心小组和战略会议上花时间绘制我们在社区中看到的情况。你能提前做一些这样的研究吗?

约瑟芬县组织更新!

约瑟芬县的人们齐聚一堂,想办法克服他们社区中的严重两极分化。开始这种对话的一种策略是通过一个有 100 多人签名的签名广告,上面写着:

我们是约瑟芬县的居民,致力于建设繁荣的当地经济和安全的家庭环境。我们是活跃的社区成员,包括教师、农民、企业主、信仰领袖和爱我们孩子的父母。我们中的一些人一生都住在这个美丽的县城,而我们中的许多人在爱上它后定居于此。我们可能有不同的意见、背景和经历,但我们都很荣幸把这个地方称为家。

围绕 Sugar Pine Mine 的事件让我们感到不安,因为看起来实际上是法律纠纷的事情已被我们社区以外的一些人解释为推进他们自己议程的机会。现在不是分裂、分裂或“人人为自己”态度的时候,而是我们团结起来创造我们想要和需要的约瑟芬县的时候。

我们支持这样一个县的愿景:

  • 所有人都可以安全地生活,没有恐惧或恐吓
  • 民主蓬勃发展,社区居民决定谁代表我们并为我们发言
  • 通过谈判和平解决问题,尊重所有相关方

请加入我们,让这一愿景成为现实。

给编辑的多封信被刊登在当地报纸上,呼吁邻居“不同意但不令人不快”,鼓励快速和平地解决问题,将人们送回他们的家乡社区,并召集邻居聚在一起进行更长时间的对话我们如何共同创造持久的变化。

Together for Josephine 现在正在讨论下一步,为社区成员创造机会弥合约瑟芬县广泛的两极分化,并创造一个每个人都可以共同努力实现的替代社区愿景。一个想法是组织一个社区电影之夜,让每个人都观看一部纪录片,而“一起为约瑟芬”促进社区对话,旨在在所有政治信仰的约瑟芬县居民之间找到共同点。

在 6 月 13 日星期六在伍德本举行的农村核心小组和战略会议上,与在约瑟芬组织的鼓舞人心的人会面,并思考俄勒冈州的下一步行动!在这里注册您的团队!

热烈地,
杰西卡

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Oath Keepers stand down and choose next target

We wrote you on May 7th to tell you about right wing and militia groups from across the country converging in Josephine County for an armed standoff with the Bureau of Land Management (BLM) over what was in reality a matter of paperwork.

After over a month of armed encampments, threats to BLM employees, intimidation of community members and local elected officials, a helicopter flying overhead leading to an armed emergency mobilization, and a national right wing media frenzy, the Oath Keepers have issued a “stand down order”. The Interior Board of Land Appeals issued a stay that prevents the BLM from enforcing their regulations until the process in court is complete, which the Oath Keepers are lauding as a victory. Energy now shifts to resist a new law that just passed that requires background checks for private gun sales (see more below).

The Oath Keepers of Josephine County have been speaking to the media about their next steps:

[Media spokesperson Mary] Emerick added that while her group would continue to monitor the situation at the Sugar Pine Mine, it also planned to take up the causes of other local property owners who had “pretty remarkable” issues with the BLM. “…We’ve spent some time vetting those to make sure they’re honest and documented situations…we have some plans to take some actions related to that.”

It appears that they intend to continue their strategy of direct confrontation as a way to stir up media attention, recruit, and fundraise while encouraging even further polarization within the community.

The Oath Keepers are going to celebrate their “victory” by marching in the Boatnik Parade on Saturday in Grants Pass, handing out pocket Constitutions alongside the national Oath Keepers founder Stewart Rhodes, who recently called Senator John McCain a traitor who should be tried for treason and “hung by the neck until dead.”

Click here to read the previous ROPnet that describes the Oath Keepers’ background, the situation in Josephine County, and how Josephine County residents have come together to organize a visible alternative vision for their community.

Shifting Strategies and SB 941

The Oath Keepers and their friends have found another opportunity to mobilize and build momentum. With the passage of SB 941 into law that requires background checks for gun sales between individuals, I Will Not Comply rallies in Salem and around the state are being organized where the various militia, anti-government, “patriot”, and tea party groups across the northwest intend to network and figure out how to better work together.

Multiple recall campaigns have been launched against legislators who provided the leadership for SB 941. Groups are successfully lobbying their county commissioners to pass resolutions that reaffirm the 2nd Amendment and to oppose any legislation that would “unconstitutionally restrict a citizen’s right to bear arms”.

We have seen multiple county sheriffs issue statements that they will not enforce the new law, citing their oaths to uphold the constitutional rights of community members. This language sounds familiar; in fact, it sounds just like the Oath Keepers’ language, but these sheriffs aren’t known Oath Keepers. Have they been recruited, or are they just using the now popularized lingo? We don’t know yet.

What is happening in your community?

This is where human dignity groups across Oregon come in. What is happening in your community?

We know that the folks who responded to the Oath Keepers’ call to mobilize to Josephine County came from across the country, many with the support of organized groups who are fundraising, training, and recruiting to build their movement. Many of the local Oath Keepers are building up local political power, from taking over county Republican parties, to running candidates for county sheriff, for school board positions, and more.

Here are some questions that can help guide you through mapping your community. It can take some real work to figure out this information, but some of it is hiding in plain sight: event announcements in the local newspaper, discussion in community Facebook groups, or through conversations with our friendly local moderate Republicans. ROP is here to help you answer these questions – get in touch with me now at Jessica@rop.org and we will dig in more at our Caucus on June 13th in Woodburn.

1. Who is organizing and recruiting in your community? Include “patriot” groups, Oath Keepers, tea party groups, 2nd amendment groups, constitution study groups, open carry groups, and militia groups. What do they talk about in their meetings? What kind of speakers do they bring in from out of town? Who is leading your county’s Republican or Libertarian Party?

2. What affiliations do these groups have to local politicians, including legislators, county commissioners, sheriffs, city councilors, school board members, park board members, soil & water conservation district members, watershed district members, etc.?

3. In 2013, we saw Oregon sheriffs writing letters to Vice President Biden about refusing to honor any gun control laws passed after the Sandy Hook shooting. The Oath Keepers played a role in making that happen. Did your sheriff write a letter? Did your sheriff write a letter about SB 941 (background checks for private gun sales) that just passed? Have you seen any local notices about I Will Not Comply rallies scheduled in Salem or other parts of the state? Who is sharing event notices?

4. What groups are opposing local tax levies in your community? Include school, public safety and other proposed taxes. Are there local politicians or other community leaders vocally opposing these taxes?

5. Does your community have groups openly advocating for taking public land away from the Bureau of Land Management (BLM) or the Forest Service and putting it under local control? Does your community have groups strongly opposed to environmental protections, such as pro-mining or pro-logging groups?

One of the critical lessons we can take away from this moment is the value of paying attention to what conversations are happening in our communities and making sure that we are active participants in those conversations. Aside from making good political sense, being a part of the conversation helps keep lines of communication open and temperatures low in moments of crisis.

We will be spending time at this year’s Rural Caucus & Strategy Session mapping what we are seeing in our communities. Can you do some of this research ahead of time?

Update on Josephine County organizing!

Folks across Josephine County have come together to figure out how to overcome the drastic polarization in their communities. One tactic to start that conversation is through a signature ad that over 100 people signed onto that reads:

We are Josephine County residents working to build a prosperous local economy and a safe environment in which to raise our families. We are active community members, including teachers, farmers, business owners, faith leaders and parents who love our children. Some of us have lived in this beautiful county our entire lives, while many of us have settled here after falling in love with it. We may have diverse opinions, backgrounds and experiences, but we are all privileged to call this place home.

The events surrounding the Sugar Pine Mine are troubling to us, since it appears that what is in actuality a legal dispute has been construed by some individuals from outside our community as an opportunity to advance their own agenda. Now is not the time for division, fragmentation, or an “every man for himself” attitude, but rather a time for us to come together to create the Josephine County we want and need.

We support a vision of a county where:

  • All can live in safety and without fear or intimidation
  • Democracy thrives and those living in the community decide who represent and speak for us
  • Problems are resolved peacefully through negotiation and with respect for all parties involved

Please join us in making this vision a reality.

Multiple letters to the editor have made it into the local papers calling for neighbors to “disagree without being disagreeable”, encouraging a quick and peaceful resolution that sends folks back to their home communities, and rallying neighbors to come together to have a longer conversation about how we can create lasting change together.

Together for Josephine is now discussing next steps that create opportunities for community members to bridge the extensive polarization in Josephine County and to create an alternative community vision everyone can collectively work toward. One idea is to organize a community movie night where everyone watches a documentary and Together for Josephine facilitates a community dialog that aims to find common ground among Josephine County residents of all political beliefs.

Meet the inspiring folks organizing in Josephine and think through next steps for Oregon at our Rural Caucus & Strategy Session in Woodburn on Saturday, June 13th! Register your team here!

Warmly,
Jessica

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English