2009 年 11 月 KTA:记录需求并建立新关系

2009 年,我们在电视和报纸上看到经济危机的叙述与股票、公司季度收益、房地产价格有关。但是,即使我们被告知这些数字正在改善或趋于平稳,但在我们自己的社区中,我们看到更多的邻居和家人失业, 我们看到更多的饥饿,更多的无家可归。

 作为有正义意识的人,我们经常对大局问题感到疑惑:如何重组我们的经济,以及我们作为一个国家应该走向何方。但在人的层面上,我们也被提醒日常生活,我们感到被吸引为社区中陷入困境的人们服务。 在这个时刻,我们的组织者和活动家可以发挥重要作用,将碎片重新组合起来,为新型经济和社区奠定基础。 现在,最好的开始方式是在我们的社区中与那些我们需要度过这些时期的人建立关系。
 
让我们从这个月开始与那些为穷人服务、记录经济危机现实的人建立关系。让我们向他们伸出援手,通过这样做,帮助创造历史上这一刻的叙述.本月的厨房餐桌活动旨在制定您的小组参与 2010 年 1 月无家可归者统计的计划。 (在此活动下方,您可以 r从 Yamhill Valley Peacemakers 的 Mark Davis 那里了解更多关于他们参与无家可归者计数的原因。)
什么是活动?   
每年一月,社区行动机构负责为全州报告计算无家可归者的人数。他们通常通过访问地区避难所来做到这一点,并检查有多少人住在那里,但我们知道避难所只容纳我们社区无家可归人口的一小部分。我们社区的无家可归者住在他们的车里,住在朋友的沙发上,他们扎营或睡在街上。 负责进行无家可归者清点的机构通常没有资源来调查无家可归者在社区中的住所,只有志愿者才能填补这一空白。 在过去的几年里,ROP 的领导们发现,如果他们的人类尊严团体没有介入提供支持,一些县甚至不会进行统计!

为什么要开展这项活动?

有什么更好的方式来参与了解经济危机并创造它的草根叙事,同时帮助我们在社会服务方面做得好的人手不足的邻居?无家可归者人数也是俄勒冈州住房和社区服务部用来确定一个县为无家可归者提供服务而获得的资金数额的因素之一。 让我们从 11 月开始,为 1 月的这一为期一天的活动做准备,以确保我们在县内制定了强有力的计票计划,以及完成计划所需的志愿者。
 
请注意:如果不需要进行无家可归者计数,相同的牵头机构会协调当地的食品银行和其他计划。要有创意,但要动手!
 
完成活动的步骤:
  1. 集体决定为什么这对你很重要。 一旦您可以用语言表达帮助无家可归者人数的政治和社会重要性,您就可以开始与人们谈论它了。您可以通过绘制此活动的“为什么”部分来创建您的项目“任务说明”,也可以自行编写。
  2. 联系您的社区行动机构 获取有关他们的无家可归者计数计划的完整详细信息。单击此处:http://www.caporegon.org/members.htm 获取 CAA 的地图及其联系信息。他们可能制定了不同角色的已制定计划,您可以插入其中,或者您可以自由地与他们一起集思广益,找到接触无家可归者的最佳方式。
  3. 制定计划为本次活动招募志愿者: 发邮件。划分潜在志愿者的名单,并打私人电话邀请他们。想想您社区中参与解决饥饿和无家可归问题的其他项目的人。社区花园或食物银行志愿者呢?请记住,这可能只是一种会带来超出您通常怀疑的人的事件。
  4. 再往前走一步 在无家可归者计数之前或之后写一篇专栏文章 关注经济危机与无家可归之间的联系。强调您的小组决定参与的原因,并开始关于经济团结的社区对话。
一个社区的故事:为什么 Yamhill Valley 和平缔造者参与了无家可归者计数
马克·戴维斯 编剧
无论你是倾向于“我们可以相信的改变”还是更具革命性的东西,很明显,解决困扰这个国家的社会问题不会在不久的将来发生。是的,我们都希望创造一个新社会,在这个社会中,没有人挨饿,每个人都有一个安全的住所,所有人都可以接受教育,任何有能力工作的人都有工作,我们都可以生活在一个尊重所有人的开放社会中社区成员。与此同时,进步人士如何应对实现这一理想的明显失败?
 
我们应该把所有时间都花在改善安全网磨损的症状上,还是应该把它留给社会服务机构,花时间尝试改变政治气候,以便永久解决这些问题?
 
Yamhill Valley Peacemakers 正试图将这两种方法结合起来,在社区中建立联系,并让我们的观点更具可信度。在我们的许多项目中,我们从当地食品银行拿出桶装食品,并收集捐款作为入场费用。作为一个组织,我们自愿在当地的施粥所工作了几年。即将到来的 1 月将再次参与当地社区行动每年发起的无家可归者统计,以量化缺乏安全居住场所的人数。
 
虽然此类活动可能需要一些政治组织的时间,但它们确实使我们脱离了社区并与潜在盟友进行了非正式接触。因为我们不怕在公共场所守夜和游行,社区中的许多人试图将我们定型为与现实脱节的边缘元素。通过在传统的社区服务工作中与其他人一起工作,我们有机会打破这种刻板印象,并且当我们谈论战争支出如何因未能提供负担得起的住房或医疗保健而使这个国家更不安全时,我们会受到更认真的对待.
背景: Kitchen Table Activism (KTA) 是农村组织项目的月度项目。该理论认为,随着地方团体聚集在一起在全州完成相同的行动,基本步骤可以产生强大的集体结果。 ROP 致力于保持任务的可完成性,以便有其他项目的小组或即时精力有限的小组仍然可以每月设法完成 KTA。 
打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Nov 2009 KTA: Documenting the Need and Making New Relationships

In 2009, we see the narrative of the economic crisis playing out on TV and in the newspapers as something related to stocks, quarterly earnings of corporations, real estate prices. But then even as we are told that these numbers are improving or leveling out, in our own communities we see more of our neighbors and family members out of work, we see more hunger, more homelessness.

 As justice-minded people, we often wonder both about the big picture questions: how to restructure our economy, and where we should be headed as a country.  But on a human level we are also reminded about the day-to-day and we feel drawn to serve those in our community that have fallen upon hard times. In this moment in time, us organizers and activists can play an important role in putting the pieces back together and laying the foundations of a new type of economy and community. Right now, the best way to start by building relationships in our communities with those we will need to get through these times.
 
Let’s take this month to start making relationships with those who serve the poor, and who document the reality of the economic crisis. Let’s lend them a hand and by doing so, help to create the narrative of this moment in history.  This month’s Kitchen Table Activism is to make your group’s plan for participating in the January 2010 Homeless Count.  (Below this activity, you can read more from Mark Davis of the Yamhill Valley Peacemakers about why they participate in the Homeless Count.)
WHAT IS THE ACTIVITY?   
Each January, Community Action Agencies are responsible for counting the number of homeless people for a statewide report . They commonly do this by visiting area shelters, and checking to see how many folks are staying over, but we know that shelters house just a fraction of our community’s homeless population. Homeless people in our communities live in their cars, on friends’ couches, they set up camps or sleep on the streets. The agencies responsible for conducting the homeless count often do not have the resources to look into where the homeless are staying in their community, and only volunteers can step in to fill that gap. In past years, ROP leaders have found that some counties would not even have been doing the count if their human dignity group had not stepped in to offer support!

WHY THIS ACTIVITY?

What better way to take part in understanding the economic crisis and creating it’s grassroots narrative, while helping out our shorthanded neighbors who do good work in social services? The homeless count is also one of the factors used by Oregon Housing and Community Services to determine the amount of funding a county receives to provide services to homeless people. Let’s start in November to prepare for this one day activity in January to ensure we have a strong plan in our counties for the count and the volunteers needed to get it done.
 
Please Note: If working on the Homeless Count is not needed, the same lead agencies coordinate local food banks and other programs. Be creative, but get hands on!
 
STEPS TO COMPLETE THE ACTIVITY:
  1. Decide as a group why this matters to you. Once you can verbalize the political and social importance of helping with the homeless count, you’ll be ready to start talking to people about it. You can create your project “mission statement” by drawing on the “WHY” part of this activity, or you can make it up on your own.
  2. Contact your Community Action Agency to get full details on their plan for the Homelessness Count. Click here: http://www.caporegon.org/members.htm for a map of the CAAs and their contact information. They might have a developed plan with different roles that you can plug into, or you might be free to brainstorm with them the best way to reach the homeless.
  3. Develop a plan to recruit volunteers for this event: Send out an email. Divide up a list of potential volunteers & make personal calls to invite them. Think about people in your community that have been involved in other projects to address hunger and homelessness. What about community garden or foodbank volunteers? Remember this might be just the kind of event that will bring in folks beyond your usual suspects.
  4. Carry this one step further and write an op-ed before or after the homelessness count focusing on the connections between the economic crisis and homelessness.  Highlight the reasons why your group decided to participate, and start a community dialogue about economic solidarity.
The Story of One Community: Why the Yamhill Valley PeaceMakers participate in the Homelss Count
Written by Mark Davis
No matter whether you tend towards “change we can believe in” or something a bit more revolutionary, it seems clear that resolving the social problems that beset this country will not happen in the near future. Yes, we all want to create a new society in which no one goes hungry, everyone has a secure place to live, all can pursue an education, a job awaits anyone able to work and we can all live in an open society that respects all members of the community. In the meantime, how do progressives respond to the obvious failures to meet this ideal?
 
Should we devote all our time trying to ameliorate the symptoms of the frayed safety net or should we leave that to social service agencies and spend our time trying to change the political climate so that these problems are permanently resolved?
 
The Yamhill Valley Peacemakers are attempting to try to combine the two approaches to make connections in the community and give our perspectives more credibility. At many of our programs we set out barrels from the local food bank and collect donations as the cost of admission. As an organization we volunteered to cover a shift at the local soup kitchen for several years. This coming January will participate again in the Homeless Count that the local Community Action sponsors annually to quantify how many lack a safe place to live.
 
While such activities may take some time from political organizing, they do put us out in the community and in informal contact with potential allies. Because we are not afraid to vigil and march in public places, many in the community try to stereotype us as a fringe element out of touch with reality. By working alongside others in traditional community service work, we have a chance to break down such stereotypes and are taken more seriously when, for example, we talk about how spending on war makes this country less secure by failing to provide affordable housing or health care.
Background: Kitchen Table Activism (KTA) is a monthly project of the Rural Organizing Project. The theory is that basic steps can lead to powerful collective results as local groups gather to complete the same action throughout the state. ROP works to keep the tasks achievable so that groups with other projects or groups with limited immediate energy can still manage to complete the KTA each month. 
Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English