"لا شيء هزّ المدينة مثل هذا الأمر"

عزيزي روب نت ،

"لقد عملت في المدينة لأكثر من سبع سنوات. عملت في قسم الإرسال؛ في قسم الشرطة; لقد رأيت الكثير من التغييرات ولكن لم يحدث شيء يهز المدينة مثل هذا التغيير."

سافانا لوفيل، موظفة سابقة في مدينة جون داي

تعمل منظمة ROP على بناء معيار مشترك للكرامة الإنسانية، بما في ذلك الإيمان بالقيمة المتساوية لجميع المجتمعات. في العام الماضي، تراكمت القصص خلال العام الماضي عن تجاهل حكومات المدن والمقاطعات للمبادئ الديمقراطية للحكم والحكم دون اتباع الإجراءات القانونية الواجبة بموجب القانون. 

أردنا اليوم أن نشارككم قصة ما يفعله سكان أوريغون العاديون في جون داي للتصدي للإجراءات المناهضة للديمقراطية التي يقوم بها المسؤولون المنتخبون في مسقط رأسهم. هل تتعاملون مع شيء مماثل؟ أرسل لنا رسالة عبر البريد الإلكتروني على العنوان التالي emma@rop.org! نود أن نقارن الملاحظات!

ماذا يحدث في جون داي؟

في سبتمبر من عام 2023, ذكرت OPB أن "لقد انهارت اجتماعات مجلس المدينة في حالة من الحدة والحدة، والموظفون يبلغون عن تآكل في خدمات المدينة، ويشجع ائتلاف من السكان سلطات الولاية على بدء تحقيق جنائي مع رئيس البلدية".

ما الذي أدى إلى هذه النقطة؟ في البداية، لم يكن لدى جون داي مدير دائم للمدينة منذ يونيو 2022. وقد فازت العمدة هيذر روكستول في نوفمبر 2022 بـ 47 صوتاً فقط، وأطاحت بالعمدة السابق من مقعده.

عندما تولت العمدة روكستول منصبها، ذكرت صحيفة "بلو ماونتن إيجل" أن المجلس صوّت على أن تتقاسم هي ورئيس مجلس المدينة بعض المهام الإدارية حتى تجد المدينة بديلاً لها. هذا الترتيب الجديد ينتهك ميثاق المدينة من عدة نواحٍ:: لا يُسمح لرئيس البلدية بتولي مهام مدير المدينة، وهناك حد أقصى لمدة 6 أشهر للمدير المؤقت. وقد شغل روكستول هذا المنصب لمدة 11 شهراً. 

وردًا على هذه القضية وغيرها، وقّع أكثر من عشرين شخصًا من السكان، بما في ذلك جميع موظفي مدينة جون داي السبعة، على شكوى جنائية ضد رئيس البلدية لانتهاكه ميثاق المدينة. ثم رُفعت الشكوى إلى وزارة العدل في ولاية أوريغون وشرطة ولاية أوريغون.

لماذا اتخذ أعضاء المجتمع المحلي إجراءات ضد رئيس البلدية؟

لقد تدخلت العمدة في العقود التي وافق عليها المجلس، وتلاعبت بالسجلات العامة، وضغطت على مديري المدينة المؤقتين للانتقام من الموظفين نيابة عنها، واستخدمت منصبها كمدير مؤقت للمدينة لإلغاء قرارات المجلس. وحاولت أن تجعل المجلس يوسع سلطتها لتشمل تعيين الموظفين وفصلهم، وعندما فشل ذلك، حاولت في مناسبات مختلفة تغيير سياسات شؤون الموظفين لخلق مشقة واستفراد موظفين معينين. 

"مدينتنا في حالة ركود تام في الأساس. قبل عام ونصف، كنا في حالة ازدهار."

سافانا لوفيل، موظفة سابقة في مدينة جون داي

كان موظفو المدينة يشعرون بقلق متزايد من مستوى الخلل الوظيفي الذي يعني أن المجتمع لم يكن يتلقى موارد مهمة. وقد عمل مجلس المدينة على إيقاف أي مشاريع بدأها مدير المدينة السابق نيك جرين، مما أدى إلى توقف مشاريع الإسكان الميسور التكلفة والإنترنت عالي السرعة تمامًا.

في إحدى المرات، أعاد مجلس المدينة مبلغ $2 مليون دولار كان قد تقدموا بطلب للحصول عليها لتجديد حمام السباحة المجتمعي لأنهم لم يتمكنوا من الاستفادة من الأموال. كما رفضوا أيضًا قبول منحة $100,000T من مؤسسة عائلة فورد التي كانت ستكون الأولى من 5 منح سنوية يبلغ مجموعها نصف مليون دولار.

كيف حاولوا تحميلها المسؤولية؟

وقد قامت مجموعة من الموظفين الحاليين والسابقين وغيرهم من أفراد المجتمع الذين يطلقون على أنفسهم اسم "مواطنون من أجل مقاطعة غرانت مزدهرة" بكتابة رسائل إلى المحررين ونشرها على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي والحضور إلى اجتماعات مجلس المدينة للفت الانتباه إلى ما يحدث.

على سبيل المثال، عندما لاحظ أحد الموظفين أن المحامين يتقاضون أسعارًا مرتفعة للغاية مقابل تلبية طلبات السجلات العامة، أثاروا مخاوفهم في اجتماع المجلس من أن الأسعار المرتفعة تمنع الناس من الوصول إلى السجلات. رد المجلس على كل تعليق عام بـ "شكرًا لك، التالي" أو "أحيط علمًا على النحو الواجب" ولم يرد على المخاوف التي أثيرت. أصبح الأمر متوقعًا لدرجة أن أحد الموظفين طبع قبعات مكتوب عليها "لاحظت ذلك" وارتداها أثناء العمل!

مثال آخر على السلوك المقلق بدأ منذ عام مضى: عمل المجلس على كتيب جديد للموظفين، ووافق على نسخة نهائية في مايو من عام 2023. ثم في يونيو، أدرجت فاتورة محامي المدينة العمل مع رئيس البلدية على الكتيب. طرح أحد الموظفين هذا الأمر على المجلس لأن ميثاق المدينة ينص على أنه لا يُسمح لرئيس البلدية بتغيير كتيب الموظفين بشكل مستقل. قال العمدة روكستول لهذا الموظف في وجهه، "لن يتم إجراء أي تغييرات". 

وبعد مرور شهور، تم تقديم نسخة جديدة من الكتيب تضمنت تغييرات كبيرة على موقف الموظفة التي أثارت المخاوف في يونيو. وعندما أعادت طرح المسألة على المجلس، اكتفى المجلس بالرد "أحيط علماً بذلك على النحو الواجب".

عدم الوصول إلى أي مكان من خلال لفت انتباه المجلس إلى المخاوف, تواصل الموظفون مع وكالات الدولة للحصول على المشورة والمساعدة. من مكتب العمل والصناعات في أوريغون إلى لجنة الأخلاقيات في أوريغون، ومن رابطة مدن أوريغون إلى شركة التأمين في المدينة، ردت كل وكالة بنسخة ما من "لا يوجد شيء يمكننا القيام به". حتى أن الموظفين بحثوا في مقاضاة مجلسهم، لأنهم شعروا أن المسؤولين المنتخبين كانوا متحررين من قيود القواعد.

في أغسطس/آب، نجحت حكومة مدينة جون داي في أن تصبح مكان عمل نقابي. وقد حصلوا على دعم شبه إجماع، حيث رأى الناس أنها وسيلة لحماية أنفسهم من تصرفات المجلس. وهم يتفاوضون حاليًا على عقدهم الأول.

القشة الأخيرة: انتخابات سحب الثقة

في سبتمبر/أيلول، قررت منظمة "مواطنون من أجل مقاطعة غرانت مزدهرة" أن أفضل مسار عمل متبقٍ هو سحب الثقة من العمدة. وقع جميع الموظفين على العريضة في نوفمبر. وقد احتاجوا إلى تقديم 110 توقيعات لإدراج العريضة على بطاقة الاقتراع، وجمعوا تلك التوقيعات في أقل من 24 ساعة! 

ثم طرقت المجموعة الأبواب في جميع أنحاء المدينة ووزعت منشورًا من صفحتين يحتوي على معلومات حول سبب سحب الثقة. كما أنشأوا صفحة على فيسبوك للإجابة على الأسئلة والوصول إلى الأشخاص الأصغر سنًا وكذلك الأشخاص الذين لم يفتحوا الباب.

جرت انتخابات سحب الثقة في 16 يناير، وفي 7 فبراير تم التصديق على النتائج. لقد فازوا! تم سحب الثقة من العمدة بهامش كبير. 

ومع خروج العمدة، لا يزال العديد من أعضاء المجلس الآخرين المتواطئين في أفعالها في السلطة. واحتفالاً بانتصارهم، يخطط أهالي جون داي إما لإعادة هؤلاء المستشارين إلى الإجراءات السليمة في المجلس أو إبعادهم من المجلس.

ما الذي نأخذه؟

جون داي ليست وحدها في التعامل مع المسؤولين المنتخبين المحليين الذين يتجاهلون القوانين وآراء غالبية المجتمع. ولكنها تقدم لنا قصة قوية عن تكاتف أفراد المجتمع المحلي ومطالبتهم بالتغيير.

ما هي الدروس التي يمكن أن نستخلصها من هذه الحملة في جون داي؟ ما الذي سنفعله حيال هذا الاتجاه السائد على مستوى الولاية؟ دعنا نعرف انطباعاتك حول هذه القصة ومدى ارتباطها بما يعانيه مجتمعك من خلال مراسلة إيما عبر البريد الإلكتروني على emma@rop.org

بحرارة

إيما وفريق شرطة عمان السلطانية

سهل الطباعة، PDF والبريد الإلكتروني
العربية

“Nothing has rocked the city like this”

Dear ROPnet,

“I’ve worked for the city for over seven years. I’ve worked for dispatch; for the police department; I’ve seen a lot of changes but nothing has rocked the city like this.”

Savannah Lovell, former John Day city employee

ROP works to build a shared standard of human dignity, including the belief in the equal worth of all communities. In the past year, stories have piled up of city and county governments disregarding democratic principles of governance and ruling without due process under the law. 

Today we wanted to share with you the story of what everyday Oregonians in John Day are doing to address anti-democratic actions by elected officials in their hometown. Are you dealing with something similar? Drop us a line by emailing Emma at emma@rop.org! We’d love to compare notes!

What’s happening in John Day?

In September of 2023, OPB reported that “city council meetings have broken down in acrimony, employees are reporting an erosion in city services and a coalition of residents is encouraging state authorities to begin a criminal investigation into the mayor.”

What led to this point? To start, John Day hasn’t had a permanent city manager since June 2022. Mayor Heather Rookstool won her election in November 2022 by only 47 votes, ousting the previous mayor from his seat.

When Mayor Rookstool took office, the Blue Mountain Eagle reported that the council voted to have her and the city council president share some managerial duties until the city found a replacement. This new arrangement violated the city charter in multiple ways: a mayor is not allowed to hold city manager duties, and there is a 6-month limit for an interim manager. Rookstool held that position for 11 months. 

In response to this and other issues, more than two dozen residents, including all seven John Day city employees, signed a criminal complaint against the mayor for violating the city charter. The complaint was then elevated to the Oregon Department of Justice and Oregon State Police.

Why did community members take action against the mayor?

The mayor meddled in contracts approved by the council, tampered with public records, pressured interim city managers to retaliate against employees on her behalf, and used her position as interim city manager to overturn council decisions. She attempted to get the council to extend her authority to hiring and firing staff, and when that failed, she tried on various occasions to change personnel policies to create hardship and single out specific staff members. 

“Our city is essentially at a complete standstill. A year and a half ago, we were flourishing.”

Savannah Lovell, former John Day city employee

City employees were increasingly alarmed by a level of dysfunction that meant the community was not receiving important resources. The city council has worked to shut down any projects started by former city manager Nick Green, resulting in affordable housing and high-speed internet projects stalling out entirely.

At one point, the city council returned $2 million they had previously applied for to renovate the community pool because they couldn’t make use of the funds. They also refused to accept $100,000 grant from Ford Family Foundation that would have been the first of 5 annual grants, totalling half a million dollars.

How else have they tried to hold her accountable?

A group of current and past employees and other community members who are calling themselves Citizens for a Thriving Grant County have been writing letters to the editor, posting on social media, and showing up to city council meetings to bring attention to what is happening.

For example, when one employee noticed that attorneys were charging extremely high rates for fulfilling public records requests, they raised concerns at a council meeting that the high rates prevent people from accessing records. The council responded “thank you, next” or “duly noted” to each public comment and never responded to the concerns raised. It got so predictable that one employee printed hats that read “duly noted” and wore them on the job!

Another example of concerning conduct began a year ago: The Council worked on a new employee handbook, and approved a final version in May of 2023. Then in June, the city attorney’s invoice listed working with the mayor on the handbook. A staff member brought this concern to the council because the city charter states that the mayor is not allowed to change the employee handbook independently. Mayor Rookstool told this employee to their face, “No changes are being made.” 

Months later, a new version of the handbook was presented that included significant changes to the staff person’s position who had brought concerns back in June. When she brought the issue back to the council, they merely responded “duly noted.”

Getting nowhere by bringing concerns to the council’s attention, employees reached out to state agencies for advice and assistance. From the Oregon Bureau of Labor and Industries to the Oregon Ethics Commission, from the League of Oregon Cities to the city’s insurance provider, each agency has responded with some version of “there is nothing we can do.” The employees even looked into suing their own council, because it felt like elected officials were free from the constraints of the rules.

In August, the John Day city government successfully became a unionized workplace. They had near unanimous support, as folks saw it as a way to protect themselves from the council’s actions. They are currently bargaining for their first contract.

The final straw: a recall election

In September, Citizens for a Thriving Grant County decided that the best remaining course of action would be to recall the mayor. All the employees signed the petition in November. They needed to submit 110 signatures to get the petition on the ballot, and they collected those signatures in less than 24 hours! 

Then the group knocked on doors all over town, handing out a two-page leaflet with information about why the recall was happening. They also started a Facebook page to answer questions and to reach younger folks as well as people who hadn’t answered the door.

The recall election happened on January 16th, and on February 7th, the results were certified. They won! The mayor was recalled by a healthy margin. 

With the Mayor out, several other councilors complicit in her actions are still in power. Celebrating their victory, the people of John Day are planning to either bring these councilors back to proper council procedure or remove them from the council.

What are we taking away?

John Day isn’t alone in dealing with local elected officials disregarding laws and the opinions of the majority of the community. But it does offer us a powerful story of community members coming together and demanding a change.

What lessons can we draw from this campaign in John Day? What are we going to do about this statewide trend?Let us know your reflections on this story and how it connects to what your community is experiencing by emailing Emma at emma@rop.org

Warmly,

Emma and the ROP Team

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English