"没有什么能像这次一样震撼全城"

亲爱的 ROPnet,

"我为这座城市工作了七年多。我在调度室和警察局工作过; 我见过很多变化,但没有什么能像这次一样震撼整个城市"。

萨凡纳-洛弗尔,约翰戴市前雇员

ROP 致力于建立人类尊严的共同标准,包括所有群体价值平等的信念。 在过去的一年里,市县政府无视民主治理原则、不按法律规定的正当程序执政的新闻层出不穷。 

今天,我们想与您分享一个故事,讲述约翰戴市的俄勒冈人如何应对家乡民选官员的反民主行为。您是否也遇到过类似的情况?请给我们发邮件,地址是 艾玛@rop.org!我们很乐意比较一下!

约翰戴发生了什么?

2023 年 9 月、 OPB 报道 那 "市议会会议在激烈的争吵中破裂 员工们报告城市服务受到侵蚀" "一个居民联盟正鼓励州当局对市长展开刑事调查"

是什么导致了这一点?首先,自 2022 年 6 月以来,约翰戴市一直没有常任城市经理。2022 年 11 月,市长希瑟-鲁克斯托尔(Heather Rookstool)仅以 47 票的优势赢得选举,将前任市长赶下了宝座。

据《蓝山雄鹰报》报道,鲁克斯托尔市长上任时,市议会投票决定让她和市议会主席分担一些管理职责,直到市政府找到接替人选。 这种新安排在多个方面违反了城市宪章市长:市长不得兼任城市经理职务,临时经理的任期为 6 个月。Rookstool 担任这一职务长达 11 个月。 

针对这一问题和其他问题,二十多名居民,包括约翰戴市的所有七名雇员,签署了一份刑事控告书,控告市长违反了城市宪章。该控诉随后被上报至俄勒冈州司法部和俄勒冈州警察局。

为什么社区成员要对市长采取行动?

市长插手议会批准的合同,篡改公共记录,向临时城市经理施压,让他们以她的名义对员工进行报复,并利用她作为临时城市经理的地位推翻议会的决定。她试图让议会将她的权力扩大到雇用和解雇员工,当这一努力失败后,她又在各种场合试图改变人事政策,以制造困难,并单独挑出特定的员工。 

"我们的城市基本上处于完全停滞状态。一年半前,我们还在蓬勃发展"。

萨凡纳-洛弗尔,约翰戴市前雇员

市府员工日益感到不安的是,功能失调的程度意味着社区得不到重要的资源。市议会努力关闭前市政经理尼克-格林(Nick Green)启动的任何项目,导致经济适用房和高速互联网项目完全停滞。

市议会一度退还了他们之前申请的用于翻新社区游泳池的 $2 百万美元,因为他们无法使用这笔资金。他们还拒绝接受福特家庭基金会提供的 $100,000 美元赠款,这笔赠款将是 5 笔年度赠款中的第一笔,总额达 50 万美元。

他们还想怎样追究她的责任?

一群现任和前任员工及其他社区成员自称为 "格兰特郡繁荣公民",他们给编辑写信,在社交媒体上发帖,并出席市议会会议,以引起人们对正在发生的事情的关注。

例如,当一名员工注意到律师在处理公共记录申请时收取极高的费用时,他们在理事会会议上提出了这样的担忧:高收费阻碍了人们获取记录。 议会对每条公众意见的回复都是 "谢谢,下一位 "或 "已适当注意到",从未对提出的问题做出回应.结果,一名员工印制了写有 "妥悉 "字样的帽子,戴着上班!

另一个有关行为的例子始于一年前:市议会制定了新的员工手册,并于 2023 年 5 月批准了最终版本。然后在 6 月,市检察官的发票上列出了与市长合作编写手册的情况。一位员工向议会提出了这一问题,因为城市宪章规定市长不得独立修改员工手册。市长 Rookstool 当面告诉这名员工,"不会进行任何更改"。 

几个月后,新版手册提交,其中包括对 6 月份提出关切的工作人员职位的重大改动。当她再次向理事会提出这一问题时,理事会只是回复 "已适当注意到"。

提请理事会注意,却一无所获、 员工向国家机构寻求建议和援助.从俄勒冈州劳动和工业局到俄勒冈州道德委员会,从俄勒冈州城市联盟到该市的保险提供商,每个机构的答复都是 "我们无能为力"。雇员们甚至想起诉自己的议会,因为他们觉得民选官员可以不受规则的约束。

8 月,约翰戴市政府成功加入工会。 他们几乎获得了一致的支持,因为人们认为这是保护自己不受议会行动影响的一种方式。目前,他们正在为第一份合同进行谈判。

最后一根稻草:罢免选举

9 月,"促进格兰特郡繁荣公民 "组织决定,剩下的最佳行动方案就是罢免市长。11 月,所有员工都在请愿书上签了名。他们需要提交 110 个签名才能将请愿书列入选票,他们在不到 24 小时内就收集到了这些签名! 

然后,该小组在全城挨家挨户敲门,分发两页传单,介绍召回的原因。他们还开设了一个 Facebook 页面来回答问题,并向年轻人和没有应门的人进行宣传。

罢免选举于 1 月 16 日举行,2 月 7 日对选举结果进行了认证。 他们赢了!市长以绝对优势被罢免。 

市长下台后,与她同流合污的其他几位议员仍然掌权。约翰戴市的人民正在庆祝他们的胜利,他们计划让这些议员回到正确的议会程序上来,或者将他们赶出议会。

我们要带走什么?

当地民选官员无视法律和社区大多数人的意见,这样的情况并非约翰戴市独有。但它确实为我们提供了一个社区成员团结一致、要求改变的有力故事。

我们能从约翰戴伊的这场运动中吸取什么教训? 我们该如何应对这一全州范围内的趋势?请将您对本故事的看法以及本故事与您所在社区所经历的情况的联系发送到以下电子邮件地址:Emma 艾玛@rop.org

热烈地,

艾玛和 ROP 团队

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

“Nothing has rocked the city like this”

Dear ROPnet,

“I’ve worked for the city for over seven years. I’ve worked for dispatch; for the police department; I’ve seen a lot of changes but nothing has rocked the city like this.”

Savannah Lovell, former John Day city employee

ROP works to build a shared standard of human dignity, including the belief in the equal worth of all communities. In the past year, stories have piled up of city and county governments disregarding democratic principles of governance and ruling without due process under the law. 

Today we wanted to share with you the story of what everyday Oregonians in John Day are doing to address anti-democratic actions by elected officials in their hometown. Are you dealing with something similar? Drop us a line by emailing Emma at emma@rop.org! We’d love to compare notes!

What’s happening in John Day?

In September of 2023, OPB reported that “city council meetings have broken down in acrimony, employees are reporting an erosion in city services and a coalition of residents is encouraging state authorities to begin a criminal investigation into the mayor.”

What led to this point? To start, John Day hasn’t had a permanent city manager since June 2022. Mayor Heather Rookstool won her election in November 2022 by only 47 votes, ousting the previous mayor from his seat.

When Mayor Rookstool took office, the Blue Mountain Eagle reported that the council voted to have her and the city council president share some managerial duties until the city found a replacement. This new arrangement violated the city charter in multiple ways: a mayor is not allowed to hold city manager duties, and there is a 6-month limit for an interim manager. Rookstool held that position for 11 months. 

In response to this and other issues, more than two dozen residents, including all seven John Day city employees, signed a criminal complaint against the mayor for violating the city charter. The complaint was then elevated to the Oregon Department of Justice and Oregon State Police.

Why did community members take action against the mayor?

The mayor meddled in contracts approved by the council, tampered with public records, pressured interim city managers to retaliate against employees on her behalf, and used her position as interim city manager to overturn council decisions. She attempted to get the council to extend her authority to hiring and firing staff, and when that failed, she tried on various occasions to change personnel policies to create hardship and single out specific staff members. 

“Our city is essentially at a complete standstill. A year and a half ago, we were flourishing.”

Savannah Lovell, former John Day city employee

City employees were increasingly alarmed by a level of dysfunction that meant the community was not receiving important resources. The city council has worked to shut down any projects started by former city manager Nick Green, resulting in affordable housing and high-speed internet projects stalling out entirely.

At one point, the city council returned $2 million they had previously applied for to renovate the community pool because they couldn’t make use of the funds. They also refused to accept $100,000 grant from Ford Family Foundation that would have been the first of 5 annual grants, totalling half a million dollars.

How else have they tried to hold her accountable?

A group of current and past employees and other community members who are calling themselves Citizens for a Thriving Grant County have been writing letters to the editor, posting on social media, and showing up to city council meetings to bring attention to what is happening.

For example, when one employee noticed that attorneys were charging extremely high rates for fulfilling public records requests, they raised concerns at a council meeting that the high rates prevent people from accessing records. The council responded “thank you, next” or “duly noted” to each public comment and never responded to the concerns raised. It got so predictable that one employee printed hats that read “duly noted” and wore them on the job!

Another example of concerning conduct began a year ago: The Council worked on a new employee handbook, and approved a final version in May of 2023. Then in June, the city attorney’s invoice listed working with the mayor on the handbook. A staff member brought this concern to the council because the city charter states that the mayor is not allowed to change the employee handbook independently. Mayor Rookstool told this employee to their face, “No changes are being made.” 

Months later, a new version of the handbook was presented that included significant changes to the staff person’s position who had brought concerns back in June. When she brought the issue back to the council, they merely responded “duly noted.”

Getting nowhere by bringing concerns to the council’s attention, employees reached out to state agencies for advice and assistance. From the Oregon Bureau of Labor and Industries to the Oregon Ethics Commission, from the League of Oregon Cities to the city’s insurance provider, each agency has responded with some version of “there is nothing we can do.” The employees even looked into suing their own council, because it felt like elected officials were free from the constraints of the rules.

In August, the John Day city government successfully became a unionized workplace. They had near unanimous support, as folks saw it as a way to protect themselves from the council’s actions. They are currently bargaining for their first contract.

The final straw: a recall election

In September, Citizens for a Thriving Grant County decided that the best remaining course of action would be to recall the mayor. All the employees signed the petition in November. They needed to submit 110 signatures to get the petition on the ballot, and they collected those signatures in less than 24 hours! 

Then the group knocked on doors all over town, handing out a two-page leaflet with information about why the recall was happening. They also started a Facebook page to answer questions and to reach younger folks as well as people who hadn’t answered the door.

The recall election happened on January 16th, and on February 7th, the results were certified. They won! The mayor was recalled by a healthy margin. 

With the Mayor out, several other councilors complicit in her actions are still in power. Celebrating their victory, the people of John Day are planning to either bring these councilors back to proper council procedure or remove them from the council.

What are we taking away?

John Day isn’t alone in dealing with local elected officials disregarding laws and the opinions of the majority of the community. But it does offer us a powerful story of community members coming together and demanding a change.

What lessons can we draw from this campaign in John Day? What are we going to do about this statewide trend?Let us know your reflections on this story and how it connects to what your community is experiencing by emailing Emma at emma@rop.org

Warmly,

Emma and the ROP Team

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English