没有罢工?!本届会议塞勒姆发生了什么事?

亲爱的 ROPnet,

2024 年俄勒冈州立法会议于本月初结束。我们庆祝一些重大胜利,同时也认识到未通过的法案需要在下届会议上优先考虑。

立法会议的结束是一个很好的机会来检查你的代表是否真正代表了你。你的代表和参议员是否出现在俄勒冈州繁荣的农村地区?你的社区的价值观和需求在这次立法会议上是否被优先考虑?请继续阅读 ROP 的回顾, 俄勒冈州议会纪事报, 以及我们的合作伙伴 人人享有公平机会

快速而肮脏的

俄勒冈州议会纪事报撰写了一篇精彩的报道,介绍了会议的亮点和不足之处。以下是部分摘录:

  • “就在立法者开始工作前几天,俄勒冈州最高法院裁定 10 名共和党参议员—— 三分之一的参议员没有资格竞选连任 […]”
  • “在房子里, 煽动性言论 两名共和党议员就 LGBTQ+ 人群、无神论者和穆斯林发表的言论,以及民主党在会议开始前的闭门会议上选择下一位发言人的决定,给会议初期蒙上了一层阴影 […]”
  • “在[投票表决]的威胁下,民主党和共和党联合起来制定 竞选资金限制.”
  • “立法者还批准 $3.76亿用于基础设施建设和房屋建设奖励 并让城市可以更轻松地增加新土地来建设住房[...]”

点击此处阅读俄勒冈州议会纪事报的完整文章

更多细节

重新定罪

立法者还通过了 HB 4002-24,对 110 号法案进行了重大改革,该法案于 2022 年由选民通过,旨在为成瘾患者提供治疗服务。本届立法会上,这个问题引起了广泛关注,包括来自记者、立法者、游说者等的大量宣传。您对该法案有何看法?您在社区听到了什么?请发送电子邮件至 Sidra,地址为 sidra@rop.org 并让我们知道,我们正在致力于解开这项法案和俄勒冈州毒品刑事定罪的 ROPnet 工作。

哥伦比亚峡谷调解中心

哥伦比亚峡谷调解中心 (CGRC) 咨询委员会从州立法机构获得了至少 $8 百万的资金申请!这笔钱将用于建设一个区域性设施,为那些在精神和行为健康挑战以及药物和酒精成瘾方面苦苦挣扎的人提供支持。社区成员希望帮助他们的家庭成员、邻居和同事,他们正在努力获得改善健康所需的支持,并成为我们家庭和社区的有贡献的成员。 欲了解更多详细信息,请查看我们上个月发出的 ROPnet。

其他心理健康、行为健康和药物滥用治疗项目也在本届会议上获得了资金,包括安大略的 Lifeways Inc.、贝克市的 New Directions NW 和马德拉斯的杰斐逊县 BestCare Expansion。我们看到最初推动通过第 110 号法案的努力如何继续导致俄勒冈州人优先获得治疗资源!

禁书禁令

如果获得通过,参议院第 1583 号法案将禁止俄勒冈州公立学校提供的材料中基于个人的种族、宗教、能力、原籍国、性取向或性别的歧视,从而保护学生的言论自由。 

我们对立法者未能认识到俄勒冈州农村地区图书馆和公立学校遭受袭击的现象感到失望。近年来,我们的学校课程标准和图书馆提供的资源范围都有了真正的改善,尤其是在有色人种和同性恋者的多样化体验方面,立法者未能解决反民主的禁书和审查包容性课程的行为,这是一次倒退。我们知道,全州的俄勒冈州农村居民将继续为保护我们的言论和信息自由而战,以便所有学生都能去安全、友好的学校上学。

人民预算的巨大胜利和一些错失的机会

作者:Fair Shot for All

2024 年立法会议上对就业相关的日托、无家可归预防和恢复性司法的投资将带来更强大、更健康的社区和经济。我们赞扬立法机构采取行动。这些胜利意味着更多的俄勒冈人将有更好的机会以非常切实和直接的方式获得成功。这些投资对我们的人民和我们的州来说是一个重大胜利。 

与此同时,立法机构对俄勒冈移民的关键项目资金不足。由于移民的贡献,我们的社区更加强大、更加充满活力,但我们的政策和投资却因为移民身份而将俄勒冈人排除在外。如果不采取行动,这将继续加剧移民社区的不平等和持续的财务不安全。Fairshot 仍然致力于为所有俄勒冈人推进经济、种族和性别平等,我们不会抛弃任何人。

请在此阅读他们的完整详细报告!

下一步是什么?

我们知道通过立法只是一个开始;您的人类尊严组织计划如何让立法者承担责任,确保这些法案的影响能够惠及最需要的人?本届会议上您是否还回顾过其他立法胜利或失败?请通过以下地址向 Sidra 发送电子邮件告知我们 sidra@rop.org

热烈地,
Sidra 和 ROP 团队

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

No walkout?! What happened in Salem this Session?

Dear ROPnet,

The 2024 Oregon legislative session wrapped up earlier this month. We’re celebrating some significant victories and also recognizing the bills that didn’t pass that will need to be prioritized next session.

The end of a legislative session is a great opportunity to check whether your representatives are actually representing YOU. Did your representative and senator show up for a thriving rural Oregon? Were your community’s values and needs prioritized in this legislative session? Read on for recaps from ROP, the Oregon Capitol Chronicle, and our partners at Fair Shot for All

The Quick and Dirty

The Oregon Capitol Chronicle wrote a great report on highlights and lowlights from the session. Here are a few excerpts:

  • “Just days before lawmakers started work, the Oregon Supreme Court ruled that 10 Republican senators – a third of the Senate – were ineligible to run for reelection […]”
  • “In the House, incendiary comments made by two Republican lawmakers about LGBTQ+ people, atheists and Muslims, and Democrats’ decision to choose their next speaker in a closed-door meeting before the session began, cast a pallor over the early days […]”
  • “Under the threat of [a ballot measure], Democrats and Republicans came together to enact campaign finance limits.”
  • “Lawmakers also approved $376 million for infrastructure and incentives to build houses and gave cities the option to more easily add new land to build housing […]”

Read the full article from the Oregon Capitol Chronicle here

More Details

Recriminalization

Legislators also passed HB 4002-24 to majorly reform Measure 110, which voters passed in 2022 to provide people suffering from addiction with access to care. There was a lot of attention on this issue this legislative session, including large amounts of spin from journalists, legislators, lobbyists and beyond. What are your thoughts about the bill? What have you been hearing in your community? Email Sidra at sidra@rop.org and let us know as we work on a ROPnet dedicated to unpacking this bill and drug criminalization in Oregon.

Columbia Gorge Resolution Center

The Columbia Gorge Resolution Center (CGRC) Advisory Council won their funding request from the state legislature to the tune of at least $8 million! This money will go towards building a regional facility that offers support for people who are struggling with mental and behavioral health challenges and drug and alcohol addiction. Community members wanted to help their family members, neighbors, and co-workers who are struggling to receive the support they need to improve their health and be contributing members of our families and community. For more details check out the ROPnet we sent out last month.

Other mental health, behavioral health, and substance use treatment programs got funding this session too, including Lifeways Inc. in Ontario, New Directions NW in Baker City, and Jefferson County’s BestCare Expansion in Madras. We’re seeing how the original push to pass Measure 110 has continued to lead to the prioritization of treatment resources for Oregonians!

Banning Book Bans

If passed, Senate Bill 1583 would have protected students’ freedom of expression by banning discrimination related to materials available in Oregon’s public schools based on the race, religion, ability, country of origin, sexuality, or gender of individuals featured. 

We are disappointed by lawmakers not recognizing a pattern of attacks on libraries and public schools across rural Oregon. This failure to address anti-democratic efforts to ban books and censor inclusive curriculum is a setback after real improvements in recent years to our school curriculum standards and to the range of resources that our libraries offer, particularly when it comes to the diverse experiences of people of color and queer people. We know rural Oregonians across the state will continue to fight to protect our freedoms of expression and information so that all students can go to safe and welcoming schools.

Big wins from the People’s Budget and some missed opportunities

Written by Fair Shot for All

Investments in employment-related daycare, homelessness prevention, and restorative justice in the 2024 legislative session will result in a stronger, healthier community and economy. We applaud the legislature for taking action. These wins mean that more Oregonians will have a better shot at success in very tangible and immediate ways. These investments are a major victory for our people and our state. 

At the same time, the legislature underfunded critical programs for immigrant Oregonians. Our communities are stronger and more vibrant thanks to the contributions of immigrants, yet our policies and investments exclude Oregonians based on their immigration status. Without action, this will continue to drive inequality and persistent financial insecurity in immigrant communities. Fairshot remains committed to advancing economic, racial, and gender justice for ALL Oregonians and we will not leave anyone behind.

Read their full detailed report back here!

What’s Next?

We know that passing legislation is just the beginning; how is your human dignity group planning to hold your legislators accountable for making sure the impact of these bills is felt by those who need them the most? Are there other legislative victories or losses from the session that you’ve been reflecting on? Let us know by emailing Sidra at sidra@rop.org

Warmly,
Sidra and the ROP Team

English