措施 105 上的否决 – 家乡的行动策略

 

10/25/18

亲爱的 ROPnet,

选票已经到达我们的邮箱,选民们正在就我们在这个选举周期中面临的问题进行对话。今年有很多邻居都在谈论的投票中的一个关键问题是第 105 号投票措施。这项措施如果获得通过,将分裂我们的社区,加剧恐惧,并损害我们俄勒冈州的价值观。在这个选举季节,我们有机会通过与邻居交谈并对该措施投反对票来重申我们面对这一威胁的价值观。

距离选举日还有不到 2 周的时间,人们正在向他们的社区伸出援手。从敲门到电话再到投票和家庭聚会,俄勒冈州的农村和小镇居民正在使用家乡策略就 105 号投票措施将如何影响全州的社区和邻居进行对话。在此处查看各种行动,让 ROP 知道我们可以为您当地的 105 号措施行动提供哪些工具或支持。

什么是投票措施 105?

措施 105 试图废除俄勒冈州的法律,该法律阻止地方执法部门和其他州机构使用公共资源来协助联邦移民执法。 30 年来,这项法律有效地限制了我们社区成员的种族定性。当警察与移民和海关执法局 (ICE) 合作时,移民太害怕报告犯罪、作证和获得警察保护,以防止攻击、家庭暴力、抢劫和其他所有人都享有的其他保护。进一步降低公共安全,措施 105 还将从我们的地方机构转移已经捉襟见肘的资金,以执行联邦政策。

家乡战略:不按措施 105

家庭聚会和社区外展:来自克拉索普县的策略。 

ROP 董事会成员 Monica Pearson 和她的丈夫 Jimmy 于 10 月 13 日周末在他们位于 Astoria 的家中为 No on Measure 105 举办了开放日。与会者来自 Astoria、Cannon Beach 和 Seaside。 “这是一个见到我们已经认识的人并结识新朋友的机会,”莫妮卡说。他们讨论了拉票机会,分享了如何给编辑写信的信息,以及与邻居和朋友交谈的要点。他们也有 STAND 选举指南 以及来自 No on 105 Coalition 的海报,供与会者随身携带。

除了举办家庭聚会外,莫妮卡还积极与俄勒冈州北部海岸不可分割 (INCO) 的其他成员一起与 La Voz de la Comunidad 进行拉票,并与当地民选官员接触。莫妮卡报道说,“INCO 和 La Voz 的领导者对 Astoria 和 Seaside 企业进行了调查,以在窗户上看到标志。我们还给编辑撰写活动写了一封信,到目前为止,我们知道在 Daily Astorian 上发表了大约 10 篇 LTE 文章。我们还在阿斯托利亚市议会发表讲话,让他们共同承诺对 105 的反对。阿斯托利亚不会投票,他们单独告诉我们他们反对 105,但他们认为他们在 2017 年 3 月通过的包容性决议不言自明。我们还写信给 Clatsop 县专员,其中一位专员告诉我们,他们计划撰写一封反对 105 措施的联合信函,但我们还没有看到。我们认为,如果他们这样做,它也将在 Daily Astorian 中报道。”

敲门:扩大在 Yamhill 县的影响。

作为我们本月早些时候从谢里登到 NORCOR 游行的一部分,游行者与当地 Yamhill 县组织 Unidos Bridging Communities 合作,扩大了他们在纽伯格当地上门的范围。游行者成群结队地敲门,与邻居谈论第 105 号投票措施的影响并分享立场指南。在敲门的同时,志愿者还指出选民(或门口的人)投票反对 105 措施的可能性如何。这个“分数”将作为人们在选举后伸出援手并邀请他们的指标进入 Yamhill 县正在进行的移民权利工作。 查看 在这里敲门脚本并对其进行调整以满足您的需求.如果您需要帮助在您的社区中拉出一份敲门清单,请告诉 ROP!

电话银行和明信片派对:与沿海邻居互动。

ROP 成员团体林肯县人民力量每周举行一次明信片派对,宣传第 105 号措施的“否决”。在捐赠印刷卡片的当地企业主的帮助下,他们在当地发出了 1,000 多张明信片。他们的社区敦促选民对第 105 项措施投反对票。明信片并不是唯一发生的政党。在 Coos 县,ROP 成员组织 We All Belong Here Coalition 将于本周五聚集到电话银行,让他们的社区对 105 号措施投反对票。

ROP研究员 在行动。

农村组织项目启动了 全新的奖学金计划 一点也不早。当我们进入选举季的最后一站时,ROP 研究员正在全州范围内采取行动,并通过拉票、STAND 指南分发和演讲来传播意识,敦促他们的社区对措施 105 投反对票。“我几乎只是带着(STAND ) 和我一起到处指导,”ROP 研究员 Maria Mejia-Botero 说。研究员们聚在一起互相分享他们的技能和知识,为彼此提供工具,以便他们可以在当地教堂、课堂、酒吧以及人们愿意聆听的任何地方在他们的社区中进行演讲。看看这张由克拉索普县的 ROP 同事 Zachary Stocks 为在当地酒吧举行的投票派对而制作的精美海报。

加入 俄勒冈联队 竞选活动!

No on Measure 105 活动正在全州各地举办上门、电话银行和短信银行活动。有关 Measure 105 竞选活动的更多信息, 在此处联系俄勒冈联队 或加入以下拉票机会之一:

胡德河西班牙语-英语画布:10 月 27 日星期六

弯曲画布:10 月 27 日星期六

Corvallis Canvass:10 月 27 日,星期六

Eugene Canvass:10 月 27 日星期六

Medford Canvas:11 月 3 日星期六

寻找更多材料,如谈话要点、社交媒体或给编辑指南的信件?需要支持在您所在社区的选举日之前组织第 105 条“否决”活动?通过 cara@rop.org 联系 ROP,我们将帮助您找到所需的工具。

热烈地,

Cara、Rindy、Cathy 和 ROP 团队!

 

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

No on Measure 105 – Hometown Strategies for Action

 

10/25/18

Dear ROPnet,

Ballots have reached our mailboxes and voters are having conversations with each other about the issues we face this election cycle. A crucial issue on this year’s ballot that has a lot of  our neighbors talking is Ballot Measure 105. This measure, if passed, will divide our communities, promote fear, and compromise our Oregon values. This election season we have the opportunity to reaffirm our values in the face of this threat by talking to our neighbors and voting no on this measure.

With less than 2 weeks left until election day, folks are reaching out across their communities. From door-knocking to phone calls to ballot and house parties, rural and small-town Oregonians are using hometown strategies to have conversations about the ways Ballot Measure 105 will impact their communities and neighbors statewide. Check out the varieties of actions here and let ROP know what tools or support we can provide for your local no on Measure 105 action.

WHAT IS BALLOT MEASURE 105?

Measure 105 is an attempt to repeal Oregon’s law which prevents local law enforcement and other state agencies from using public resources to aid federal immigration enforcement. For 30 years, this law has effectively limited racial profiling of our community members. When police collaborate with Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE), immigrants are too afraid to report crimes, bear witness, and access police protection against assault, domestic violence, robbery, and other protections everyone else enjoys. Further reducing public safety, Measure 105 would also divert already stretched funds from our local agencies to enforce federal policy.

HOMETOWN STRATEGIES: NO ON MEASURE 105

House parties and community outreach: Strategies from Clatsop County. 

ROP board member Monica Pearson and her husband Jimmy hosted an open house for No on Measure 105 at their home in Astoria the weekend of October 13th.  Attendees came from Astoria, Cannon Beach and Seaside. “It was an opportunity to see people we already knew and meet some new people”, Monica said.  They discussed canvassing opportunities, shared information about how to write letters to the editor and talking points for conversations with neighbors and friends.  They also had STAND election guides and posters from the No on 105 Coalition for attendees to take with them.

In addition to hosting a house party, Monica has been active with other members of Indivisible North Coast Oregon (INCO) canvassing with La Voz de la Comunidad and reaching out to local elected officials. Monica reported,  “Leaders with INCO and La Voz canvassed Astoria and Seaside businesses to get signs visible in windows. We also had a letter to the editor writing campaign that so far has gotten about 10 LTE’s published that we know of in the Daily Astorian. We also spoke at the Astoria City Council to get them to jointly pledge No on 105. Astoria would not take a vote, they told us individually that they opposed 105 but they thought their Inclusivity Resolution that they passed in March 2017 spoke for itself.  We also wrote letters to the Clatsop County Commissioners and have been told by one of the Commissioners that they plan on penning a joint letter opposing Measure 105 but we have not seen that yet. We think that if they do that it will also be covered in the Daily Astorian.”

Doorknocking: Expanding the impact in Yamhill County.

As part of our march from Sheridan to NORCOR earlier this month, marchers partnered up with Unidos Bridging Communities, a local Yamhill County group, to expand the reach of their local door-knocking in Newberg. Marchers got together in groups and knocked on doors to talk to neighbors about the impact of Ballot Measure 105 and to share STAND Guides. While door-knocking, volunteers also indicated how the likelihood of the voter (or person at the door) was to vote against Measure 105. This “score” would then serve as an indicator of folks to reach out to after the election and invite them into on-going immigrant rights work in Yamhill County. Check out the doorknocking script here and adapt it to meet your needs. And if you need help pulling a list for door-knocking in your community, just let ROP know!

Phonebanking and Postcard Parties: Engaging neighbors along the Coast.

ROP member group Lincoln County People Power has been holding weekly postcard parties promoting No on Measure 105. Working with each other, and with the help of a local business owner who donated the printing of the cards, they have sent out well over 1,000 postcards in their community urging voters to vote no on measure 105. Postcards aren’t the only parties happening. In Coos County, ROP member group We All Belong Here Coalition will be gathering this Friday to phonebank and get their community to vote No on Measure 105.

ROP Fellows in Action.

The Rural Organizing Project has launched its brand new Fellowship program and not a moment too soon. As we enter this final leg of election season ROP Fellows are taking action across the state and spreading awareness through canvassing, STAND guide distribution, and presentations urging their communities to vote no on measure 105. “I’m pretty much just carrying the (STAND) guides everywhere with me,” says ROP Fellow Maria Mejia-Botero. Fellows are coming together to share their skills and knowledge with each other, providing each other with tools so they can give presentations in their communities at local churches, classes, bars, and anywhere folks will listen. Check out this great poster put together by ROP fellow Zachary Stocks in Clatsop County for a ballot party at a local taproom.

Join Oregon United campaign events!

The No on Measure 105 campaign is holding door-knocking, phone banking and text banking events in locations around the state. For more information on No on Measure 105 campaign events, contact Oregon United here or join one of these canvassing opportunities:

Hood River Spanish-English Canvass: Saturday, Oct 27th

Bend Canvass: Saturday, Oct 27th

Corvallis Canvass: Saturday, Oct 27th

Eugene Canvass: Saturday, Oct 27th

Medford Canvass: Saturday, Nov 3rd

Looking for more materials like talking points, social media or letters to the editor guides? Want support in organizing a No on measure 105 activity before election day in your community? Contact ROP at cara@rop.org and we’ll help you find the tools you need.

Warmly,

Cara, Rindy, Cathy and the ROP team!

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English