罗斯堡无禁区

随着越来越多的人成为巨额债务、止赎、裁员和无法进入的医疗保健系统的牺牲品,我们社区中的人们正从我们安全网中的巨大漏洞中跌落。许多人最终无家可归,住在车里、沙发上或街头。

下面是道格拉斯县的一个故事,商业利益试图将无家可归的人当作替罪羊,指责他们在主要街道上花费的钱减少了,并在城市和警察的帮助下将他们赶了出去。 违宪禁止任何看似低收入的人离开市中心 - 眼不见,心不烦。 一群农村 ROPers 直面推动了它的本质,将谈话转移到开发真正的社区解决方案,并取得了胜利!

在 6 月 8 日星期六举行的农村核心小组和战略会议上与鼓舞人心的道格拉斯县工作人员会面并制定战略!今年人们可以在核心小组选择参加的战略会议之一是 经济难民: 债务、企业主导地位和持续的经济衰退正在迫使人们离开家园、学校和社区。我们需要哪些创新策略来维持我们的社区生存? 立即在线注册核心小组!

在过去的连续 77 周里,占领罗斯堡举办了他们的 Feed the Burg 聚餐,社区成员聚集在一起,围绕食物,无论是住房还是非住房。每周他们为多达 120 人提供食物,这些人已经成为一个社区。

在与无家可归的社区保持如此密切的联系这么多周之后,占领罗斯堡很自然地在当地的无家可归者联盟中找到了盟友。无家可归者联盟让占领罗斯堡的人们知道,市中心商业协会一直在与市政府和警察部门密谋在市中心设立一个“无临时区”,他们最近将其重命名为“安全区”,这意味着如果你出现被无家可归,你可以被禁止进入市区。

上个月,占领罗斯堡参加了罗斯堡市议会会议,以揭露该政策的内容, 禁区.这些禁区正在全州范围内出现——尤金、阿什兰等——并且他们的社区正在根据宪法理由进行斗争。 您如何根据人们的住房状况或收入水平禁止他们?

在市议会会议上,“占领罗斯堡”的证词让所有人措手不及,禁区的支持者没有计划的回应。

媒体报道了他们的言论并使用他们精心挑选的“禁区”语言进行报道——成功!报道包括新闻评论中一篇精彩的头版文章,标题为:“禁区?当商人努力将即兴表演远离市中心街道时,无家可归者的倡导者警告说,“安全区”会将贫困定为犯罪”。文章继续引用无家可归者联盟的组织盟友伊恩史密斯的话说,

理想情况下,公共空间应提供比商业更多的功能……你可以去掉一些流行词,比如“无临时区”,但简单地改变这些词并不意味着它不是反无家可归者法令。他们不会说,“无家可归的人不能睡在桥下。”他们说,“人们不能在桥下睡觉。”天真地说,我们可以说它对所有人都适用,但我从来没有因为我有其他选择而被罚过票。”

第二天,“占领罗斯堡”走上街头,计划占领市中心商业协会的办公室,要求他们立即撤出禁区,但发现该办公室已关闭且空无一人。他们选择拉拢市中心的企业。他们发现当地企业主,在很大程度上是因为市中心商业协会,选择了无家可归的人作为在市中心花钱的替罪羊。

无家可归者联盟邀请市中心商业协会参加他们的例会,讨论计划中的禁区。市中心商业协会甚至建议征收市中心营业税,以在市中心安装公共厕所和其他资源。随着与城市的沟通渠道畅通无阻,市中心商业协会争先恐后地以对共享解决方案的新开放态度从负面新闻中恢复过来,有人提议占领罗斯堡和更大的社区提出市中心禁区的替代方案。

一群人会面,为城市制定提案,最重要的是,找出下一步和计划,以将以社区为中心的解决方案放在对话的最前沿。该提案强调了公共厕所、公共饮水机等基本需求,一直到类似于在波特兰和尤金建立的营地的合法露营地,以及一个有个案工作者和获得基本身心保健的公共日间庇护所。

市中心商业协会将罗斯堡市中心描绘成一个充满暴力和不受欢迎的人的可怕地方。市中心商业协会提议在早上 7 点带任何人在市中心散步,向他们展示“真正的市中心”——占领罗斯堡接受了他们的提议。几周前,占领罗斯堡与市中心商业协会一起进行了这次步行,市中心尽可能安静。占领罗斯堡聪明地预料到会遇到一些无家可归的人,并计划模拟如何以清晰、富有同情心和真实的方式与他们互动,了解他们需要什么才能离开罗斯堡市中心的街道。

占领罗斯堡随后应要求向市中心商业协会提出了他们的建议。他们找到了共同点,他们正在共同努力下一步,包括一个关于建立合法露营地可能性的公共论坛。他们计划邀请服务接受者、希望成为服务接受者的人们、波特兰和尤金 Dignity & Opportunity Villages 的组织者以及当地服务提供者讨论社区解决方案。邀请函上写着,

“这次聚会的目的是提出为无家可归者设立露营区的必要性,该露营区建在一块可接近的土地上——最好由罗斯堡市拥有。我们的意图是,一旦它与波特兰和尤金的尊严村和机会村相似,它就会成为一个自治项目。您提出的任何建议将不胜感激。”

公共论坛的邀请包括:Mercy 医院、福特基金会、Doug Co. Mental Health、ADAPT、镇上的每个教堂、执法部门、道格拉斯和约瑟芬县的 UCAN、无家可归者联盟、使命、市议会成员、县监督员、社区厨房、市中心商业协会、弗吉尼亚州和卫生局以及 Feed the Burg 与会者。

至于禁区,似乎是被掩埋了。一旦这个想法出现在公众视野中,市中心商业协会就无法公开捍卫自己的想法,因为他们知道这太不受欢迎了。有传言说,市议会和执法部门也对这个想法印象深刻。

占领罗斯堡将密切关注局势,但在那之前,他们将继续推进真正的解决方案,以帮助道格拉斯县最弱势的群体。

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

No Exclusion Zone for Roseburg

As more and more people fall prey to overwhelming debt, foreclosures, layoffs, and an inaccessible health care system, people in our community are falling through the gigantic holes in our safety nets.  Many end up unhoused, living in cars, couchsurfing, or on the streets.

Below is a story out of Douglas County where business interests sought to scapegoat the unhoused, blaming them for fewer dollars being spent on main street, and push them out with the help of the city and the police with an ordinance that would unconstitutionally ban anyone who appears to be low-income out of downtown – out of sight, out of mind. A crew of rural ROPers exposed the push head-on for what it is, shifted the conversation to developing real community solutions, and are winning!

Meet and strategize with the inspiring Douglas County crew at the Rural Caucus & Strategy Session on Saturday, June 8th! One of the strategy sessions folks can opt into at the Caucus this year is Economic Refugees: debt, corporate dominance, and the ongoing recession are forcing people out of their homes, schools, and communities. What are the innovative strategies we need to keep our communities afloat? Register for the Caucus now online!

For the last 77 consecutive weeks, Occupy Roseburg has held their Feed the Burg potluck where community members come together around food, housed and unhoused alike. Each week they feed up to 120 people who have become a community.

After being so well connected to the unhoused community for so many weeks, it was natural that Occupy Roseburg found allies at the local Homeless Coalition.  The Homeless Coalition let Occupy Roseburg folks know that the Downtown Business Association has been plotting with the city and police department to impose a downtown “transient-free zone” that they had recently renamed a “safety zone”, which would mean that if you appear to be unhoused, you can be banned from the downtown area.

Last month, Occupy Roseburg attended a Roseburg City Council meeting to expose the policy for what it was, an exclusion zone. These exclusion zones are cropping up all over the state — Eugene, Ashland, etc. — and were being fought by their communities based on Constitutional grounds. How can you ban people based on their housing status or income level?

At the City Council meeting, Occupy Roseburg’s testimony caught everyone off guard, and supporters of the exclusion zone had no planned response.

The media covered their remarks and reported using their carefully chosen “exclusion zone” language — success!Coverage included a fantastic front-page article in the News Review titled: “EXCLUSION ZONE? While merchants push to keep riff raff off downtown streets, homeless advocates warn a ‘safety zone’ would criminalize poverty”. The article goes on to quote organizing ally Ian Smith with the Homeless Coalition as saying,

Public spaces should ideally serve more functions than commerce… You could strip it of certain buzz words like ‘transient-free zone,’ but simply changing the words doesn’t mean it’s not an anti-homeless ordinance. They don’t say, ‘Homeless people can’t sleep under the bridge.’ They say, ‘People can’t sleep under the bridge.’ In a naive sense, we could say it applies evenly to all people, but I’ve never been ticketed for that because I have other options.”

The following day, Occupy Roseburg took the streets and planned to occupy the Downtown Business Association’s office with a demand that they immediately drop the exclusion zone, but found the office closed and empty. They opted to instead canvass the downtown businesses. They found that local business owners, in no small part because of the Downtown Business Association, had chosen the unhoused to scapegoat for the lack of money being spent in downtown.

The Homeless Coalition invited the Downtown Business Association out to their regular meeting to discuss the planned exclusion zone. The Downtown Business Association even suggested a downtown business tax to install public restrooms and other resources downtown. With the lines of communication open with the city, and the Downtown Business Association scrambling to recover from the bad press with a new openness to shared solutions, it was proposed that Occupy Roseburg, and the larger community, suggest alternatives to a downtown exclusion zone.

A crew of folks met to build the proposal to the city and, most importantly, figure out the next steps and plans to keep community-centered solutions at the forefront of the conversation. The proposal emphasized basic needs like public restrooms, pubic water fountains, all the way up to a legalized campground similar to the camps established in Portland and Eugene, and a public day shelter with case workers and access to basic physical and mental healthcare.

The Downtown Business Association has painted downtown Roseburg as a scary place rife with violence and undesirable people. The Downtown Business Association offered to take anyone on a walk around downtown at 7AM to show them “the real downtown” — an offer Occupy Roseburg took them up on. Occupy Roseburg went on this walk with the Downtown Business Association a couple weeks ago, and downtown was as quiet as can be. Occupy Roseburg smartly anticipated running into some unhoused folks and planned to model how to engage with them in a clear, compassionate, and real way about what they need in order to be off of the downtown Roseburg streets.

Occupy Roseburg then presented their proposal, as requested, to the Downtown Business Association. They found common ground and they are working on next steps together, including a public forum on the possibility of starting a legal campground. They plan to invite service recipients, folks who want to be service recipients, the organizers of Dignity & Opportunity Villages in Portland and Eugene, and local service providers to discuss community solutions. The invitation reads,

“The purpose of this gathering is to present the need for a camping area for the homeless, to be set up on an accessible piece of land — preferably owned by the City of Roseburg. It is our intention that this be a self-governing project once it is established similar to Dignity and Opportunity Villages in Portland and Eugene respectively. Any suggestions you may make will be appreciated.”

Invitations to the public forum include: Mercy Hospital, Ford Foundation, Doug Co. Mental Health, ADAPT, every church in town, law enforcement, UCAN of Douglas and Josephine Counties, the Homeless Coalition, the Mission, City Council members, County Supervisors, the Community Kitchen, the Downtown Business Assoc., the VA and the Health Department, and Feed the Burg attendees.

As for the exclusion zone, it appears to be buried. Once the idea was in the public eye, the Downtown Business Association could not publicly defend their own idea because they know it is so unpopular. Rumor is that City Council and law enforcement aren’t all that impressed with the idea either.

Occupy Roseburg is going to keep an eye on the situation, but until then they are going to move forward with real solutions that will help the most vulnerable in Douglas County.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English