بيانات إخلاء ولاية أوريغون وقانون الإسكان الجديد

عندما أجرينا محادثات مع قادة الكرامة الإنسانية في جميع أنحاء الدولة لإنشاء ملف خارطة طريق لريف أوريغون مزدهرة في عام 2020 ، كان السكن الآمن والميسور التكلفة يمثل أولوية قصوى. الآن ، بعد ثلاث سنوات ، تحدث عمليات إخلاء أكثر مما كانت عليه قبل الوباء ، وأسعار الإيجارات ترتفع! تعمل العديد من مجموعات الكرامة الإنسانية على حلول محلية إبداعية ، بما في ذلك التحدث إلى المسؤولين المنتخبين على جميع مستويات الحكومة ، وتوزيع إمدادات الطوارئ على الأشخاص الذين ليس لديهم منازل ، والدعوة إلى وضع حد "للتجتاح" (المعروف أيضًا باسم تشريد) المعسكرات التي لا مأوى لها ، والتطوع في الافتتاح حديثًا ملاجئ الاحترار. أردنا مشاركة اثنين من الأخبار من الشهر الماضي حول الجهود المبذولة على مستوى الولاية والمستوى الوطني لمعالجة أزمة الإسكان.

أولاً ، نشر أصدقاؤنا في جامعة ولاية بورتلاند مؤخرًا مشروعًا يسمى تم إجلاؤهم في ولاية أوريغون. يشارك المشروع بيانات حول عمليات الإخلاء على مستوى الولاية وكذلك حسب المقاطعة ، كما هو موضح في الخريطة أدناه. أجرت OPB مؤخرًا مقابلات مع هؤلاء الباحثين حول كيفية مشاركة بيانات الإخلاء علنًا في دعم سياسات الإسكان الأفضل. تحقق من الخاص بك بيانات المقاطعة والمزيد من المعلومات حول عمليات الإخلاء عبر الولاية هنا.

خريطة ولاية أوريغون مع معدلات الإخلاء حسب المقاطعة

وثانيا، أوريغون سيناتور قدم جيف ميركلي مشروع قانون لمنع وول ستريت من امتلاك المساكن السكنية. سوف يفرض التشريع الفيدرالي المقترح على صناديق التحوط وشركات الأسهم الخاصة التي تمتلك أكثر من 100 وحدة إيجارية غرامة ضريبية حادة واستخدام الأموال التي يتم جمعها من مشروع القانون لدعم مشتري المنازل من خلال تقديم دفعات مقدمة!

قال السناتور ميركلي: "يجب أن يحصل كل شخص على مكان آمن وبأسعار معقولة للاتصال به في وطنه". في كل ركن من أركان البلاد ، تشتري الشركات المالية العملاقة المساكن وتزيد الإيجارات وأسعار المنازل. إنهم يسكبون الوقود على نار أزمة الإسكان الميسور التكلفة التي يواجهها العديد من مجتمعاتنا ، تاركين وراءهم أسرًا عاملة. يجب أن تكون المساكن في أحيائنا منازل للناس وليس مراكز ربحية لوول ستريت. حان الوقت للكونغرس لوضع حواجز حماية منطقية تضمن لجميع العائلات فرصة عادلة لشراء أو استئجار منزل في مجتمعهم بسعر يمكنهم تحمله ". يمكنك قراءة المقال كاملاً أدناه أو على KTVZ News هنا

ما الذي تعمل عليه أنت وقادة الكرامة الإنسانية الآخرون في مجتمعك لدعم وصول الجميع إلى سكن آمن وبأسعار معقولة؟ ما هي أكبر التحديات التي تواجهها؟ ما الذي يمنحك الأمل أو الإلهام؟ نود أن نسمع ما تفكر فيه ونضع استراتيجية معك بشأن تنظيمك المحلي! تواصل معنا على sidra@rop.org

سهل الطباعة، PDF والبريد الإلكتروني
العربية

New Oregon Eviction Data and Housing Bill

When we had conversations with human dignity leaders around the state to create a Roadmap to a Thriving Rural Oregon in 2020, safe and affordable housing was a top priority. Now, three years later, more evictions are happening than even before the pandemic, and rental prices are skyrocketing! Many human dignity groups are working on creative local solutions, including talking to elected officials at all levels of government, distributing emergency supplies to folks without homes, advocating for an end to “sweeping” (aka displacing) houseless campers, and volunteering at newly opened warming shelters. We wanted to share two pieces of news from last month about efforts at the state and national levels to address the housing crisis.

Firstly, our friends at Portland State University recently published a project called Evicted in Oregon. The project shares data on evictions statewide as well as by county, as shown by the map below. OPB recently interviewed these researchers about how publicly sharing eviction data can support better housing policies. Check out your county’s data and more info about evictions across the state here.

Map of Oregon with rates of eviction by county

And secondly, Oregon Senator Jeff Merkley introduced a bill to stop Wall Street from owning residential housing. The proposed federal legislation would charge hedge funds and private equity firms who own more than 100 rental units a sharp tax penalty and use the funding raised from the bill to support homebuyers with affording down payments!

“Everyone should have a safe, affordable place to call home,” said Senator Merkley. “In every corner of the country, giant financial corporations are buying up housing and driving up both rents and home prices. They’re pouring fuel on the fire of the affordable housing crisis that so many of our communities are facing, leaving working families behind. The housing in our neighborhoods should be homes for people, not profit centers for Wall Street. It’s time for Congress to put in place commonsense guardrails that ensure all families have a fair chance to buy or rent a home in their community at a price they can afford.” You can read the full article below or on KTVZ News here

What are you and other human dignity leaders in your community working on to support everyone’s access to safe, affordable housing? What are the biggest challenges you’re facing? What’s giving you hope or inspiration? We’d love to hear what you’re thinking about and strategize with you about your local organizing! Reach out to us at sidra@rop.org

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English