走向繁荣的俄勒冈州农村的新路线和新法律

本周开始的特别立法会议决定如何根据最新人口普查的新信息绘制州和联邦代表区的地图。我们知道,当我们作为一个国家组织起来时,我们是强大的!我们成功地共同采取了行动,并在 6 月 26 日结束的 2021 年立法会议上通过了我们的几项优先事项(更多内容见下文!),我们可以在本周出席,以确保我们的社区得到很好的代表!

俄勒冈州正在华盛顿特区的联邦众议院获得一个新席位,俄勒冈州立法机构必须在 9 月 27 日之前决定如何绘制地图,否则俄勒冈州国务卿谢米亚·费根将为他们做出决定。 查看正在辩论的地图 看看你的小组认为哪一个是最好的, 致电或发送电子邮件给您的州代表 让他们知道!随时联系您友好的 ROP 组织者或发送电子邮件 monicap@rop.org 如果您想分享更多有关您的小组如何采取行动的信息。

准备好采取立法行动,通过在当地社区开展工作并倡导塞勒姆和华盛顿特区的变革,确保我们的社区获得从勉强生存到繁荣发展所需的支持?让我们知道您的团队热衷于从事什么工作 注册新的立法行动促进俄勒冈州农村地区的电子邮件列表 获得有关影响俄勒冈州农村的政策的行动机会!

2021年立法会长会胜利

6 月,我们成功赢得了《庇护承诺法案》,该法案弥补了俄勒冈州已有 30 年历史的庇护法中的漏洞,该法允许地方和州资源用于执行联邦移民政策。多年来,人类尊严组织和 ROP 已经组织起来,以终止当地监狱与移民和海关执法局 (ICE) 之间在全州拘留移民和难民的合同。一些团体会见了治安官和警察局长,并发现了 ICE 正在利用多少漏洞和灰色地带来拘留人们。 《庇护承诺法案》是与全州合作伙伴合作编写的,旨在弥补俄勒冈州庇护法中的漏洞,以确保联邦政府不能再利用当地公共资源来撕裂家庭,包括:

  1. 禁止当地监狱与 ICE 合作
  2. 禁止 ICE 在没有司法授权的情况下拘留法院内外的社区成员
  3. 允许日常俄勒冈人起诉当地执法机构与 ICE 合作
  4. 通过让人们有机会通知他们原籍国的领事馆而不让他们暴露在 ICE 监视之下,从而防止监狱中的种族定性

在我们的网络今年优先推进的 10 项政策中 蓬勃发展的俄勒冈州农村路线图,6项成功签署成为法律,包括:

俄勒冈州儿童保育法案 (众议院法案 2505 / 参议院法案 239):这项新法律将使俄勒冈州的每个家庭都可以享受托儿服务。它将资助和改革我们与就业相关的日托计划,通过调整共同支付来促进经济稳定,以反映当今的现实、收入和家庭的需求。 

俄勒冈州能源负担能力法案 (众议院法案 2475):这项新法律将通过保护人们免受加息的影响,特别是将大部分收入用于电费的低收入家庭,从而使能源费用更加负担得起。

毒瘾治疗和康复法案 (参议院第 755 号法案):2020 年 11 月,俄勒冈州选民通过了第 110 号投票措施,创造了历史。新法律将个人持有少量所有毒品合法化,同时扩大了戒毒治疗和其他医疗服务的可及性。非刑事化于 2021 年 2 月生效,但投资成瘾康复服务要求俄勒冈州立法机构通过这项新法律。现在它已经过去了,州政府可以投资俄勒冈州需要的成瘾康复服务!

通向繁荣之路 (众议院法案 2835):五分之二的俄勒冈大学生有资格参加援助计划,以确保他们不会挨饿,但许多人不知道他们有资格获得哪些资源。这项新法律要求每所社区学院和大学雇用一名全职福利导航员,以支持学生访问 SNAP、SNAP 培训和教育计划、租金援助和俄勒冈州健康计划等计划。

全民宽带上网!:布朗州长建议在她提议的国家预算中投资 $1 亿用于宽带互联网基础设施,由于公众压力,立法机构最终将 $1.2 亿美元用于农村宽带容量计划!这笔资金将针对未得到服务的地区,并使没有互联网连接的农村社区能够安装原本不会建造的宽带基础设施。如果您没有宽带接入,请联系您所在州的民选官员,以确保您所在的地区在名单上!

虽然这些胜利标志着俄勒冈州农村繁荣的道路上取得了重大进展,但我们仍在准备在即将举行的立法会议上解决一些领域,包括 从上届会议开始支持繁荣的俄勒冈州农村的优先法案 这并没有成为法律。您的小组在上次会议上关注哪些法案,您计划在即将举行的会议中优先考虑哪些事项?我们很想听听您采取了哪些行动以及进展如何!填写我们的 立法行动调查 告诉我们你来年想做什么工作!

简体中文

New Lines and New Laws Toward a Thriving Rural Oregon

A special legislative session began this week to decide how the maps for state and federal representative districts will be drawn based on the new information from the latest census. We know that when we organize together as a state that we are mighty! We successfully took action together and passed several of our priorities in the 2021 Legislative Session that ended on June 26th (more below!) and we can show up this week to make sure that our communities are represented well!

Oregon is getting a new seat in the federal House of Representatives in Washington D.C. and the Oregon State Legislature has until September 27th to decide how the maps are drawn or Oregon’s Secretary of State Shemia Fagan will make the decision for them. Check out the maps being debated to see which one your group thinks is best and call or email your state representatives to let them know! Feel free to reach out to your friendly ROP organizer or email monicap@rop.org if you’d like to share more about how your group is taking action.

Ready to take legislative action to make sure that our communities get the support they need to go from barely surviving to thriving by doing work in your local community and advocating for change in Salem and Washington DC? Let us know what your group is excited to work on and sign up for the new Legislative Actions for a Thriving Rural Oregon email list to receive action opportunities on the policies that impact rural Oregon!

Victories from the 2021 Long Session of the Legislature

In June, we successfully won the Sanctuary Promise Act that closes loopholes in Oregon’s 30-year old Sanctuary Law that allowed for local and state resources to go toward enforcing federal immigration policies. For years, human dignity groups and ROP have organized to end contracts between local jails and Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) that detained migrants and refugees across the state. Groups have met with sheriffs and police chiefs and discovered how many loopholes and gray areas ICE was exploiting to detain people. The Sanctuary Promise Act was written in collaboration with statewide partners to close the loopholes in Oregon’s Sanctuary Law to ensure that the federal government can no longer use local public resources to tear families apart, including:

  1. Banning local jails from working with ICE
  2. Banning ICE from detaining community members in and around courthouses without a judicial warrant
  3. Allows everyday Oregonians to sue local law enforcement agencies for collaborating with ICE
  4. Prevents racial profiling in jails by providing people with the opportunity to notify the consulate of their country of origin without exposing themselves to ICE surveillance

Out of the 10 policies our network prioritized this year to advance the Roadmap to a Thriving Rural Oregon, 6 were successfully signed into law, including:

Childcare for Oregon Act (House Bill 2505 / Senate Bill 239): This new law will make childcare available for every Oregon family. It will fund and reform our Employment-Related Day Care program to promote economic stability by adjusting co-pays to reflect today’s realities, income, and needs of families. 

Oregon Energy Affordability Act (House Bill 2475): This new law will make energy bills more affordable by protecting people from rate increases, especially low-income households who spend the largest portion of their income on power bills.

Drug Addiction Treatment & Recovery Act (Senate Bill 755): In November of 2020, Oregon voters made history by passing Ballot Measure 110. The new law decriminalizes personal possession of small amounts of all drugs while expanding access to addiction treatment and other health services. Decriminalization went into effect in February of 2021, but investing in addiction recovery services required the Oregon legislature to pass this new law. Now that it has passed, the state government can invest in the addiction recovery services that Oregon needs!

Navigating Pathways to Prosperity (House Bill 2835): 2 in 5 Oregon college students are eligible for assistance programs to make sure they aren’t going hungry, but many aren’t aware of the resources they qualify for. This new law requires each community college and university to hire one full-time Benefits Navigator to support students to access programs like SNAP, the SNAP Training and Education Program, rental assistance, and Oregon Health Plan.

Broadband Internet for All!: Governor Brown recommended investing $100 million in broadband internet infrastructure in her proposed state budget and, thanks to public pressure, the legislature ended up directing $120 million dollars into the Rural Broadband Capacity Program! This funding will target unserved areas and make it possible for rural communities without an internet connection to install broadband infrastructure that wouldn’t have otherwise been built. If you don’t have broadband access, contact your state elected officials to make sure your area is on the list!

While these victories mark significant headway along the road to a thriving rural Oregon, there are still areas that we are gearing up to tackle in upcoming legislative sessions including the priority bills that back a thriving rural Oregon from the last session that didn’t pass into law. Which bills did your group focus on last session and what do you plan to prioritize in the upcoming session? We’d love to hear what you took action on and how it went! Fill out our legislative action survey to tell us what you want to work on in the coming year!

English