شباب الوطن يطالبون بإزالة السدود

ربما تكون قد التقيت بمجلس قيادة الشباب للقبائل الكونفدرالية لمحمية أوماتيلا الهندية (CTUIR) في جلسة التجمع والاستراتيجية الريفية، أو قرأت عنها في تقرير ROPnet الشهر الماضي حول جوائز الكرامة الإنسانية. في شبكة ROPnet اليوم، نريد أن نشارككم القصة الكاملة لحملتهم القوية لإزالة سدود نهر الأفعى الأربعة السفلية! 

بالنسبة لمجلس قيادة الشباب في CTUIR، فإن إحياء أسماك السلمون في نهر الأفعى يتعلق بالحفاظ على عنصر أساسي من ثقافتهم الذي كان مخصصًا لهم (لم يُمنح لهم) في معاهدة 1855. وفي رسالتهم إلى الرئيس بايدن، دعوا إلى المساواة في الوصول إلى العدالة، قائلين: “لقد عقدت أمريكا صفقة ووعدت بأننا سنكون قادرين على صيد الأسماك إلى الأبد. لا يمكننا صيد الأسماك إذا لم يبق أي سمك سلمون. لمزيد من السياق حول تاريخ CTUIR، راجع عرض الشرائح هذا.

أعضاء المجلس يقفون على ضفة النهر.

بالإضافة إلى السفر إلى المؤتمرات والفعاليات في جميع أنحاء البلاد لنشر العريضة وبناء مهاراتهم التنظيمية، يقوم مجلس القيادة الشبابية بالكثير في المنزل أثناء الحجز! ينصب تركيزهم الرئيسي الآن على لفت الانتباه إلى الصحة العقلية وتعاطي المخدرات والكحول، وتعميق العلاقات مع كبار السن، والمشاركة في الفصول الثقافية، وتنظيف بيئتهم المحلية. 

يشارك مجلس القيادة الشبابية أهمية إزالة سدود نهر الأفعى الأربعة السفلية في التماسه، وهو ما يمكنك القيام به اقرأ أدناه أو عبر الإنترنت هنا. أثناء قيامك بذلك، خذ 30 ثانية للقيام بذلك التوقيع على عريضتهم! ثم أخبرنا بما يثيره هذا الأمر بالنسبة لك أو الإجراء الذي يلهمك لاتخاذه في مجتمعك عبر البريد الإلكتروني sidra@rop.org

الوقوف مع الشباب الأصليين: دعم إزالة سدود نهر الأفعى

لقد عقدت أمريكا صفقة ووعدت بأننا سنكون قادرين على الصيد إلى الأبد. لا يمكننا صيد الأسماك إذا لم يبق أي سمك سلمون. – القبائل الكونفدرالية لمجلس قيادة شباب محمية أوماتيلا الهندية في رسالتهم إلى الرئيس بايدن

قف معنا في دعوتنا للرئيس بايدن لإزالة السدود الأربعة السفلية لنهر الأفعى وإنقاذ سمك السلمون من الانقراض. وقعوا على هذه العريضة وشاركوها على نطاق واسع! 

كأعضاء في القبائل الكونفدرالية في مجلس قيادة شباب محمية أوماتيلا الهندية، ندعو الرئيس بايدن إلى إزالة السدود الأربعة السفلية لنهر الأفعى. تؤثر هذه السدود على حقنا في الصيد بموجب معاهدة القبيلة مع الولايات المتحدة.

إذا لم تتم إزالة هذه السدود قريبًا، فسوف ينقرض سمك السلمون في نهر الأفعى. على مدار القرنين الماضيين، تم بناء 400 حاجز - بما في ذلك سدود نهر الأفعى الأربعة السفلية - في جميع أنحاء حوض نهر كولومبيا، مما أدى إلى تدمير مواقع الصيد التقليدية وتدمير مجموعات سمك السلمون التي اعتمدت عليها مجتمعات السكان الأصليين في الشمال الغربي، مثل مجتمعاتنا، لأجيال. إن بناء هذه السدود واستمرار تشغيلها ينتهك حقوق صيد الأسماك بموجب معاهدةنا وحقوق العديد من القبائل الأخرى في جميع أنحاء الشمال الغربي. 

لا يعتبر سمك السلمون مصدرًا غذائيًا مهمًا فحسب، بل إنه أيضًا جزء من هويتنا الروحية والثقافية. في لغتنا نحن ”واي كان أوش بوم“ (شعب السلمون). ”واي كان إيش“ (السلمون) مهم لمراسم تجديد حياتنا المقدسة، ولغذائنا اليومي، ولاقتصادنا. السلمون الذي يسبح من "ناكسيام وانا" (نهر الأفعى) أد "نشي- وانا" (نهر كولومبيا)، في المحيط الهادئ، هي عائلة بالنسبة لنا. هم ”واي-كان-وش نايموما“ (أقارب السلمون لدينا). 

في 9 يونيو 2021، أرسلنا رسالة ندعو فيها القادة المنتخبين ونطلب لقاء الرئيس بايدن. لقد طلب منا أن ننتظر لعقود من الزمن. سمك السلمون يموت ولا يمكننا الانتظار أكثر من ذلك. 

وقع على عريضتنا وقف معنا في دعوتنا للرئيس بايدن لإزالة السدود الأربعة السفلية لنهر الأفعى وإنقاذ سمك السلمون من الانقراض.

اقرأ الرسالة الكاملة الموجهة إلى الرئيس بايدن من القبائل الكونفدرالية في مجلس قيادة شباب محمية أوماتيلا الهندية هنا. إن انقراض سمك السلمون يعني استمرار محو الشعوب الأصلية وتدمير الثقافة الأصلية. وبدون سمك السلمون، لن ترث الأجيال القادمة القيم والتعاليم التي تم تناقلها منذ آلاف السنين.

سهل الطباعة، PDF والبريد الإلكتروني
العربية

Native Youth Call for Dam Removal

You may have met the Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation (CTUIR) Youth Leadership Council at the Rural Caucus and Strategy Session, or read about them in last month’s ROPnet about Human Dignity Awards. In today’s ROPnet, we want to share with you the full story of their powerful campaign to remove the four lower Snake River Dams! 

For the CTUIR Youth Leadership Council, reviving the salmon population in the Snake River is about maintaining a core component of their culture that was reserved for (not given to) them in the 1855 Treaty. In their letter to President Biden, they advocated for equal access to justice, stating “America made a deal and promised that we would be able to fish forever. We can’t fish if there aren’t any salmon left.” For more context about CTUIR history, check out this slide presentation.

Members of the council stand on the bank of a river.

In addition to traveling to conferences and events around the country to spread the word about their petition and build up their organizing skills, the Youth Leadership Council is doing a lot at home on the reservation! Their main focuses right now are drawing attention to mental health and drug and alcohol use, deepening relationships with their elders, participating in cultural classes, and cleaning up their local environment. 

The Youth Leadership Council shares the importance of removing the four lower Snake River Dams in their petition, which you can read below or online here. While you’re at it, take 30 seconds to sign their petition! Then let us know what this brings up for you or what action it inspires you to take in your community by emailing sidra@rop.org

Stand with Native Youth: Support Removal of the Snake River Dams

“America made a deal and promised that we would be able to fish forever. We can’t fish if there aren’t any salmon left.” – Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation Youth Leadership Council in their letter to President Biden

Stand with us in our call to President Biden to REMOVE the four lower Snake River dams and save salmon from extinction. Sign this petition and share it widely! 

As members of the Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation Youth Leadership Council, we are calling on President Biden to remove the four lower Snake River dams. These dams impact our right to fish under the tribe’s treaty with the United States.

If these dams aren’t removed soon, Snake River salmon will go extinct. Over the past two centuries, 400 barriers—including the four lower Snake River dams—have been built throughout the Columbia River basin, destroying traditional fishing sites and devastating salmon populations that Indigenous communities in the Northwest, like ours, have depended on for generations. The construction and continued operation of these dams violate our treaty fishing rights and the rights of many other tribes across the Northwest. 

Not only are salmon a critical food source, they’re also a part of our spiritual and cultural identity. In our language we are the “Wy-Kan-Ush-Pum” (salmon people). “Wy-kan-ish” (salmon) are important for our sacred life renewal ceremonies, our daily food, and for our economy. The salmon that swim from the “Naxiyam Wana” (Snake River) and “Nchi’- Wana” (Columbia River), into the Pacific Ocean, are family to us. They are “Wy-kan-ush Naymuma” (our salmon relatives). 

On June 9, 2021, we sent a letter calling on elected leaders and requesting a meeting with President Biden. We’ve been asked to wait for decades. Salmon are dying and we can’t wait any longer. 

Sign our petition and stand with us in our call on President Biden to remove the four lower Snake River dams and save salmon from extinction.

Read the full letter to President Biden from the Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation Youth Leadership Council here. The extinction of salmon means the continued erasure of Native peoples and the destruction of Native culture. Without salmon, future generations will not inherit values and teachings that have been passed down for thousands of years.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English