当地青年呼吁拆除大坝

您可能已经在以下地址见过尤马蒂拉印第安保留地联盟部落 (CTUIR) 青年领导委员会: 农村核心小组和战略会议,或阅读有关它们的内容 上个月的 ROPnet 关于人类尊严奖。在今天的 ROPnet 中,我们想与您分享他们拆除蛇河下游四个大坝的强大行动的完整故事! 

对于 CTUIR 青年领导委员会来说,恢复蛇河中的鲑鱼种群意味着维护其文化的核心组成部分,该部分是在 1855 年条约中为它们保留(而不是给予)的。他们在给拜登总统的信中主张平等诉诸司法,并表示“美国达成协议并承诺我们将能够永远捕鱼。如果没有鲑鱼了,我们就无法捕捞。” 有关 CTUIR 历史的更多背景信息,请查看此幻灯片演示。

委员会成员站在河岸上。

除了参加全国各地的会议和活动以宣传他们的请愿并培养他们的组织技能外,青年领导委员会还在保留地上做了很多事情!他们目前的主要关注点是引起人们对心理健康、吸毒和酗酒的关注、加深与长辈的关系、参加文化课程以及清理当地环境。 

青年领导委员会在请愿书中分享了拆除蛇河下游四个水坝的重要性,您可以 请阅读下文或在此处在线阅读. 当你这样做的时候,花 30 秒 签署他们的请愿书! 然后通过电子邮件告诉我们这会给您带来什么,或者它会激励您在社区中采取什么行动 sidra@rop.org

与本土青年站在一起:支持拆除斯内克河大坝

“美国达成了一项协议,并承诺我们将能够永远捕鱼。如果没有鲑鱼了,我们就无法捕捞。” ——尤马蒂拉印第安人保留地联盟部落青年领导委员会在给拜登总统的信中

与我们站在一起,呼吁拜登总统拆除斯内克河下游的四个水坝,拯救鲑鱼免遭灭绝。 签署这份请愿书并广泛分享! 

作为尤马蒂拉印第安人保留地青年领导委员会联盟部落的成员,我们呼吁拜登总统拆除斯内克河下游的四个水坝。这些水坝影响了我们根据部落与美国签订的条约进行捕鱼的权利。

如果这些水坝不尽快拆除,斯内克河鲑鱼将会灭绝。在过去的两个世纪里,在整个哥伦比亚河流域修建了 400 座屏障,其中包括斯内克河下游的四座水坝,破坏了传统的捕鱼地点,并毁灭了像我们这样的西北土著社区世世代代赖以生存的鲑鱼种群。这些水坝的建设和持续运营侵犯了我们的条约捕鱼权以及西北地区许多其他部落的权利。 

鲑鱼不仅是重要的食物来源,也是我们精神和文化认同的一部分。用我们的语言来说,我们是 “Wy-Kan-Ush-Pum” (鲑鱼人)。 “Wy-kan-ish” (鲑鱼)对于我们神圣的生命更新仪式、我们的日常食物和我们的经济都很重要。鲑鱼从 “纳西亚姆瓦纳” (蛇河)d“Nchi'-瓦纳” (哥伦比亚河)注入太平洋,是我们的家人。他们是 “Wykan-ush Naymuma” (我们的鲑鱼亲戚)。 

2021 年 6 月 9 日,我们致信呼吁当选领导人并请求与拜登总统会面。我们被要求等待数十年。鲑鱼快要死了,我们不能再等了。 

签署我们的请愿书,与我们站在一起,呼吁拜登总统拆除斯内克河下游的四个水坝,拯救鲑鱼免遭灭绝。

阅读尤马蒂拉印第安人保留地青年领导委员会联盟部落致拜登总统的完整信函 这里。鲑鱼的灭绝意味着原住民的持续消失和原住民文化的破坏。没有鲑鱼,子孙后代将无法继承传承数千年的价值观和教义。

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Native Youth Call for Dam Removal

You may have met the Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation (CTUIR) Youth Leadership Council at the Rural Caucus and Strategy Session, or read about them in last month’s ROPnet about Human Dignity Awards. In today’s ROPnet, we want to share with you the full story of their powerful campaign to remove the four lower Snake River Dams! 

For the CTUIR Youth Leadership Council, reviving the salmon population in the Snake River is about maintaining a core component of their culture that was reserved for (not given to) them in the 1855 Treaty. In their letter to President Biden, they advocated for equal access to justice, stating “America made a deal and promised that we would be able to fish forever. We can’t fish if there aren’t any salmon left.” For more context about CTUIR history, check out this slide presentation.

Members of the council stand on the bank of a river.

In addition to traveling to conferences and events around the country to spread the word about their petition and build up their organizing skills, the Youth Leadership Council is doing a lot at home on the reservation! Their main focuses right now are drawing attention to mental health and drug and alcohol use, deepening relationships with their elders, participating in cultural classes, and cleaning up their local environment. 

The Youth Leadership Council shares the importance of removing the four lower Snake River Dams in their petition, which you can read below or online here. While you’re at it, take 30 seconds to sign their petition! Then let us know what this brings up for you or what action it inspires you to take in your community by emailing sidra@rop.org

Stand with Native Youth: Support Removal of the Snake River Dams

“America made a deal and promised that we would be able to fish forever. We can’t fish if there aren’t any salmon left.” – Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation Youth Leadership Council in their letter to President Biden

Stand with us in our call to President Biden to REMOVE the four lower Snake River dams and save salmon from extinction. Sign this petition and share it widely! 

As members of the Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation Youth Leadership Council, we are calling on President Biden to remove the four lower Snake River dams. These dams impact our right to fish under the tribe’s treaty with the United States.

If these dams aren’t removed soon, Snake River salmon will go extinct. Over the past two centuries, 400 barriers—including the four lower Snake River dams—have been built throughout the Columbia River basin, destroying traditional fishing sites and devastating salmon populations that Indigenous communities in the Northwest, like ours, have depended on for generations. The construction and continued operation of these dams violate our treaty fishing rights and the rights of many other tribes across the Northwest. 

Not only are salmon a critical food source, they’re also a part of our spiritual and cultural identity. In our language we are the “Wy-Kan-Ush-Pum” (salmon people). “Wy-kan-ish” (salmon) are important for our sacred life renewal ceremonies, our daily food, and for our economy. The salmon that swim from the “Naxiyam Wana” (Snake River) and “Nchi’- Wana” (Columbia River), into the Pacific Ocean, are family to us. They are “Wy-kan-ush Naymuma” (our salmon relatives). 

On June 9, 2021, we sent a letter calling on elected leaders and requesting a meeting with President Biden. We’ve been asked to wait for decades. Salmon are dying and we can’t wait any longer. 

Sign our petition and stand with us in our call on President Biden to remove the four lower Snake River dams and save salmon from extinction.

Read the full letter to President Biden from the Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation Youth Leadership Council here. The extinction of salmon means the continued erasure of Native peoples and the destruction of Native culture. Without salmon, future generations will not inherit values and teachings that have been passed down for thousands of years.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English