互助和移动热点

在周五, 布朗州长宣布了为期两周的更严格的 COVID 预防措施 将于 11 月 18 日星期三生效。为了应对本州病例激增和死亡人数不断增加的情况,新的限制措施包括将餐厅限制为仅提供外卖服务,并将室内和室外的聚会人数限制为不超过 6 人。 

我们对 COVID-19、经济衰退以及对测试、治疗和预防这种大流行病蔓延的反应缓慢给我们的社区带来的损失感到震惊和伤心。我们也惊讶于俄勒冈州农村人拒绝每个人为自己的心态并为彼此露面的方式。 继续阅读有关团体如何开始采取行动应对去年春天关闭的故事,以及围绕互联网热点建立社区联系的新机会。

来自整个网络的 COVID 响应

当 COVID-19 在春天首次开始影响我们的州时,来自 ROP 网络的数百名领导人通过电话和计算机聚集在一起,就我们最紧迫的一些问题进行农村战略会议,例如 养活我们的社区 和 确保所有人都能获得可靠的信息 (你可以在这里观看所有的策略会议录音!)我们也分享了 互助解决方案 我们在互相创造。我们不会停止思考如何集中我们的资源和组织以满足彼此的短期和长期需求。 

通过这些战略会议和网络上的更多对话,我们共同创建了 蓬勃发展的俄勒冈州农村路线图 这列出了我们网络在未来几个月和几年的优先事项!路线图不仅反映了我们这次生存所需的东西,还反映了我们对照顾我们所有人的未来的愿景。 在此处查看俄勒冈州蓬勃发展的农村路线图! 你会在路线图中添加什么?您的团队如何组织起来使其成为现实?通过电子邮件告诉我们 汉娜@rop.org!  

在 Yamhill 县,Progressive Yamhill 的组织者 在他们的社区周围张贴双语纸质传单 既建立联系信息列表,又评估人们需要什么以及他们必须相互提供什么。在联合县,组织者用类似的信息向邮编区中的每个人发送了一封信。在我们全州,团体一直在向基本工人分发个人防护设备 (PPE),并为该组织赢得了数千万美元。 俄勒冈工人救济基金 这已经流向了无法获得失业保险等联邦支持的社区成员。在 Clatsop、Lane、Umatilla 和其他县的学区,人们与他们的学区合作,重新规划公交路线,为家中的学生提供食物。 在我们的网站上查找来自全州的更多想法和资源! 

创建社区互联网热点!

俄勒冈州农村繁荣发展路线图的众多优先事项之一是全民宽带互联网。在得到网络的明确反馈后, ROP 现在有 12 个热点和一年的服务,分布在全州各地,以增加互联网访问和促进社区联系。 虽然我们知道 12 个热点远不能满足我们州的巨大需求,但我们希望展示互联网接入可以为农村社区提供的力量,并将其用作倡导公共资助基础设施的门户。 

在大流行之前,ROP 研究员 Janie Hanthorn 和朱厄尔的其他人开始组织在镇上创建一个社区中心。一旦 COVID 放慢了他们的计划,他们就开始考虑如何利用社区中心提供的资源和机会,并以分散的方式提供相同的东西。他们问:“社区中心由什么组成?”并提出了这些核心要素:

  1. 一个聚集和分享食物和衣服等东西的空间。
  2. 一个让年轻人感受到社区支持、参与并能够在社区中发挥领导作用的地方。
  3. 以及人们通过与邻居聊天、上网和了解从哪里访问本地资源来交换信息的方式。 

为了以创造性的方式提供这些东西,该小组正在镇上寻找一个可以让人们下车和取餐的中心位置。他们集思广益,在城镇周围开展寻宝活动,为孩子们提供远离社会的活动,为他们的社区设想未来。在公共场所设置热点的想法是另一种选择!就像 Jewell 的人们一样,这是我们发挥创造力以新方式建立社区网络的时刻。移动热点如何成为您所在城镇的创意社区建设站点?  

您是否看到您所在社区对互联网的明确需求?如果您的团队可以访问一个热点,您会用它做什么? 我们有兴趣了解移动互联网接入如何加强您的本地组织和支持您的社区! 如果您有兴趣接收热点,请在 12 月 4 日之前在此处填写调查。  

调查于 12 月 4 日结束后,ROP 将审查回复并将热点分发给 12 个组。如果您需要一个热点,但需要帮助制定如何影响大多数人的计划,我们很乐意提供帮助!给我们发电子邮件 汉娜@rop.org 有任何问题。  

我们不知道接下来的几周和几个月会是什么样子,但我们知道我们将继续寻找相互关心的方法并推动我们的社区不仅在这段时间生存下来而且需要长期繁荣的资源运输。 

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Mutual Aid and Mobile Hotspots

On Friday, Governor Brown announced another two week period of stricter COVID precautions that will go into effect on Wednesday, November 18th. In response to spiking cases and increasing deaths in our state, the new restrictions include limiting restaurants to take-out service only and limiting gatherings both indoor and outdoor to no more than 6 people. 

We are alarmed and heartbroken at the toll that COVID-19, the economic recession, and the slow response to test, treat, and prevent the spread of this pandemic has taken on our communities. We are also amazed at the ways that rural Oregonians are rejecting an every-person-for-themselves mentality and showing up for each other. Read on for stories of how groups started taking action in response to the shut down last spring, and a NEW opportunity to build community connections around an internet hotspot.

COVID Responses from Across the Network

When COVID-19 first started impacting our state in the spring, hundreds of leaders from across the ROP network gathered by phone and computer for rural strategy sessions on some of our most pressing issues, like feeding our communities and ensuring reliable information access for all (you can watch all of the strategy session recordings here!) We also shared mutual aid solutions we were creating with each other. We won’t stop figuring out how to pool our resources and organize to meet each other’s needs in the short and the long term. 

Through these strategy sessions and many more conversations across the network, we co-created the Roadmap to a Thriving Rural Oregon that lays out our network’s priorities for the months and years to come! The Roadmap reflects not only what we need to survive this time, but our vision for a future that takes care of all of us. Check out the Roadmap to a Thriving Rural Oregon here! What would you add to the Roadmap? How is your group organizing to make it a reality? Let us know by emailing hannah@rop.org!  

In Yamhill County, organizers with Progressive Yamhill posted bilingual paper flyers around their neighborhoods to both build up a list of contact information as well as assess what people need and what they have to offer each other. In Union County, organizers sent a letter to everyone in their ZIP code with a similar message. Across our state, groups have been distributing Personal Protective Equipment (PPE) to essential workers and winning tens of millions of dollars for the Oregon Worker Relief Fund that has gone towards community members without access to Federal support like Unemployment Insurance. In school districts in Clatsop, Lane, Umatilla and other counties, folks worked with their school districts to repurpose bus routes to deliver food to students at home. Find more ideas and resources from across the state on our website! 

Create a Community Internet Hotspot!

One of the many priorities on the Roadmap to a Thriving Rural Oregon is Broadband Internet for All. After this clear feedback from the network, ROP now has 12 hotspots and service for a year to distribute around the state to increase internet access and foster community connections. While we know that 12 hotspots will come nowhere close to meeting the vast need across our state, we are hoping to showcase the power that internet access can provide in rural communities, and use it as a gateway to advocate for publicly-funded infrastructure. 

Prior to the pandemic, Janie Hanthorn, an ROP fellow, along with other folks in Jewell were beginning to organize to create a community center in town. Once COVID slowed down their plans, they started thinking about how to take the resources and opportunities that the community center would provide and offer those same things in a decentralized way. They asked, “What would make up a community center?” and came up with these core elements:

  1. A space to gather and share things like food and clothing.
  2. A place for young people to feel supported by, engaged with, and able to take on leadership in the community.
  3. And a way for folks to exchange information by chatting with neighbors, getting online and learning about where to access resources locally. 

To provide these things in creative ways, the group is looking for a central location in town where people could drop off and pick up food. They brainstormed creating a scavenger hunt around town with socially-distant activities for kids around envisioning the future for their community. And the idea of setting up a hotspot in a public place came up as another option! Like folks in Jewell, this is a moment where we’re putting our creativity to work to build community networks in new ways. How could a mobile hotspot be a site of creative community building in your town?  

Do you see a clear need for the internet in your community? If your group had access to a hotspot, what would you do with it? We’re interested in hearing how mobile internet access could strengthen your local organizing and support your community! Fill out the survey here before December 4th, if you’re interested in receiving a hotspot.  

After the survey closes on December 4th, ROP will review responses and distribute hotspots to 12 groups. If you see a need for a hotspot but want help creating a plan for how to impact the most people, we’d love to help! Email us at hannah@rop.org with any questions.  

We don’t know what these next weeks and months will be like, but we know that we’ll keep finding ways to care for each other and pushing for the resources our communities need not just to survive this time but to flourish for the long haul. 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English