来自南方的运动教训

2014 年 11 月 24 日

亲爱的 ROPnetters,

在德克萨斯州达拉斯度过了美好的几天后,回到家并在俄勒冈州农村工作,这真是太好了,参加了 Race Forward 举办的 Faceing Race 会议。感谢我们在欢迎美国(ROP 是其附属机构)的朋友,我能够加入来自 44 个州和 8 个国家的 1,600 多人的行列,他们都致力于为种族正义建立强大的多种族运动。

在三天的时间里,我们聚在一起磨练我们的技能、分享策略、建立关系并庆祝。回到俄勒冈州的家后,我感到精力充沛、精力充沛,并渴望为 2015 年的精彩赛事做准备。
面对种族的巨大机会之一是建立跨地区的联系。听南方组织者谈论他们的工作,从面对种族不公正到促进工人权利,我不禁想起了我们自己在俄勒冈州的工作:与我们组织的人建立深厚、有意义的关系。运输;使用讲故事作为吸引人们的一种方式;尽管在该国的一个保守地区孤立地从事这项工作,但进步的人们却聚在一起寻找彼此。

在我们与家人和社区安顿下来过感恩节之际,我想与您分享以下几点。在我们为 2015 年做准备之前,我们会放松和反思,你最困惑的是什么?
1. 以我们的价值观引领
以我们的人类尊严和民主价值观为主导,使我们能够就我们想要和需要什么来看到我们的社区的功能和外观进行更广泛的对话。如果没有将我们的价值观放在首位,很容易陷入二元对话:种族主义或非种族主义,对与错。当我们可以进行更深入、更细微的对话时,我们就会找到共同点。

2. 交叉性
我们处理的所有人类尊严问题都是相互关联的,我们必须认识到这一点!交叉性使我们能够打破孤岛,即使人们彼此分开的言辞。交叉性意味着当我们进入房间进行组织时,我们不必将自己的一部分抛在脑后。农村人知道,我们的社区是由人而不是问题组成的——我们的生活是相互关联的,我们的身份是相互交织的,小城镇的成功组织了解这一点。

3. 搭建桥梁
研究表明,当比赛开始时,人们会感到非常严重的焦虑,以至于我们的部分大脑实际上会关闭。关键是让人们以一种不会引发绝望或焦虑的方式参与进来,而是共同建立起来。识别和验证经验开始建立桥梁。同情。建墙比建桥容易,但建桥的工期要长得多。

同样,我们需要确保人们不会犯错。每个人都会犯错误。在为这种增长创造空间的地方,人们的成长最多。我们现在的工作是关于并且一直是关于进行一次又一次的变革性对话,我了解到在全国范围内都是如此。

4. 小胜利很重要
我被德克萨斯州工人保护项目的工作所感动,该项目的成员主要是无证建筑工人。在一个几乎取消了工人所有权利的州,工人保护项目正在组织一些最基本的安全措施,以确保建筑工人在工地上的安全,与价值数十亿美元的公司和共和党展开较量,并赢得逐渐地。工人保护项目执行主任 Cristina Tzintzún 提醒群众“小胜利就是巨大收获”,尤其是在南方。 “我们正在为长期建设力量……我认为在南方工作对于像我们这样的进步人士来说是最困难和最具挑战性的工作,但我也认为这非常有趣。我认为当你处于最低谷时,你只能上升,我认为这就是这里的社区正在做的事情。”

作为像我们这样的大局思想家,我们有时会忘记庆祝在实现我们长期目标的道路上取得的小胜利。奥巴马刚刚宣布了行政救济,这将使数百万无证人士受益,而在不能强迫国会通过移民改革的情况下,Not 1 More 和无数其他组织(包括人类尊严团体!)投资于使广泛救济成为可能。大麻在俄勒冈州被合法化,这是瓦解毁了这么多人生命的毒品战争的一大步。尽管世界上一些最大的公司向俄勒冈州倾销了数百万美元,但转基因标签措施太接近了,并且将重新计票。我们拥有如此多的东西,以至于俄勒冈人几十年来一直在努力实施和捍卫。我们的工作是一系列的小胜利(有时是失败),重要的是不要忽视宣称和庆祝这些胜利的机会。

5.注意右边
我们已经看到编码种族主义语言动员人们反对政府的方式,从税收到食品券到安全网到移民权利。面对种族的一位发言人,《狗哨政治》的作者伊恩·哈尼·洛佩兹(Ian Haney López)将其描述为右翼的“战略性种族主义”——操纵种族焦虑以获得他们想要的东西,并分散对实际发生的事情的注意力:甚至1%内更多财富。

这是一个听起来很熟悉的例子:“我们是一个法治国家。”我们刚刚看到这种战略性种族主义策略成功地用于 Measure 88,Driver Card 措施。虽然这句话表面上不是种族主义,但它使用这种编码的种族主义语言来让人联想到来自南部边境的无证移民和“违法”的想法。当我们看到它时认识到并命名它有助于我们的社区加深我们的政治分析,就像人类尊严团体多年来将移民、酷儿和其他边缘化社区命名为替罪羊一样。

6. 让我们关注奖品
很多时候,当我们谈论种族主义时,我们默认考虑的是人际种族主义,一个人对另一个人说些什么,而没有解决结构性种族主义。我们的媒体在这方面做得很好。如果你看一下弗格森和迈克布朗被谋杀的 24 小时不间断报道,你会发现它的结果是达伦威尔逊是否是种族主义者,而不是深入研究为什么黑人每次都被警察杀害在这个国家28小时。

大规模监禁、移民政策、学校纪律差距、住房不平等等等更清楚地表明了跨机构的结构性种族主义。作为组织者,我们的工作是将大局纳入我们的对话中。我们不仅仅是要确保我们的邻居不说种族主义的话——我们要确保那些对有色人种、移民、酷儿或任何其他边缘化社区不利的系统被拆除并建立起来以维护正义、公平、和人的尊严。这是关于系统和根本原因的。

7. 庆祝!
让我们不要忘记,要建立一个长期的运动,我们必须养活我们的灵魂,充电,玩得开心,庆祝。为什么没有它我们会挣扎?

当我们中的许多人开始为假期放松时,您花时间在想什么?您希望您的人类尊严团体在 2015 年为这场运动带来什么?您希望 ROP 在 2015 年为您的人类尊严小组带来什么?

热烈地,
杰西卡

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Movement lessons from the South‏

November 24th, 2014

Dear ROPnetters,

It’s great to be back home and at work in rural Oregon after having a fantastic few days in Dallas, TX for the Facing Race conference put on by Race Forward. Thanks to our friends at Welcoming America (of which ROP is an affiliate), I was able to join over 1,600 folks from 44 states and 8 countries who are all committed to building a strong multiracial movement for racial justice.

Over three days, we came together to hone our skills, share strategies, build relationships, and CELEBRATE. I came back home to Oregon feeling recharged, re-energized, and eager to prepare for a kickass 2015.
One of the great opportunities of Facing Race was to make connections across regions. Listening to Southern organizers talk about their work, from confronting racial injustice to advancing workers rights, I couldn’t help but be reminded of our own work here in Oregon: building deep, meaningful relationships with those we organize with that last over the long-haul; using storytelling as a way to engage people; and progressive folks coming together to find each other, despite the isolation of doing this work in a conservative part of the country.

As we settle down with our families and our communities for Thanksgiving, here are some points that I’d love to share with you. As we wind down and reflect before gearing up for 2015, what are you most puzzling through?
1. Lead with Our Values
Leading with our values of human dignity and democracy allow us to have the broader conversations about what we want and need to see our communities function as and look like. Without our values at the forefront, it’s easy to get baited into binary conversations: racist or not racist, right or wrong. When we can have deeper, more nuanced conversations, that’s where we find common ground.

2. Intersectionality
All of the human dignity issues we work on are connected and it is important for us to recognize that! Intersectionality allows us to break down the silos, the rhetoric that keeps people divided from each other. Intersectionality means that we don’t have to leave parts of ourselves behind when we enter the room to organize. Rural folks know that our communities are made up of people not issues — our lives are interconnected, our identities are intertwined, and successful organizing in small towns understands this.

3. Building Bridges
Studies show that when race comes up, people can experience anxiety so severe that parts of our brains literally shut down. The key is to engage folks in a way that doesn’t trigger hopelessness or anxiety, but builds together. Recognizing and validating experiences begins that bridge-building. Empathy. It is easier to build a wall than a bridge, but the work put into building a bridge lasts much, much longer.

Similarly, we need to make it safe for people to be wrong. Everyone makes mistakes. People grow most where the space is made for that growth. Our work right now is about, and always has been about, having transformative conversations one-by-one, and I learned that’s true across the country.

4. Small Victories MATTER
I was moved by the work of the Workers Defense Project in Texas whose membership is primarily undocumented construction workers. In a state that has rolled back just about every right for workers, the Workers Defense Project is organizing for some of the most basic of security measures to keep construction workers safe on worksites, taking on billion-dollar corporations and the Republican Party, and winning incrementally. Cristina Tzintzún, Executive Director of Workers Defense Project, reminded the crowd that “little victories are tremendous gains,” especially in the South. “We’re building power for the long haul… I think doing work in the South is some of the most difficult and challenging work for progressives like we are, but I also think it’s incredibly fun. I think when you’re at rock bottom you can only go up and I think that’s what the communities here are doing.”

Being big-picture thinkers like we are, we sometimes can forget the celebrate the small victories on the path to achieving our long-term goals. Obama just announced administrative relief that will benefit millions undocumented folks after Not 1 More and countless other organizations (including human dignity groups!) invested in making broad relief possible when Congress couldn’t be compelled to pass immigration reform. Marijuana was legalized in Oregon as one huge step in dismantling the drug war that has ruined so many lives. Despite millions of dollars dumped into Oregon by some of the biggest corporations in the world, the GMO labeling measure is too close to call and is going to a recount. We have so much that Oregonians have worked so hard to implement and defend for decades. Our work is a series of small victories (and sometimes losses), and it’s important to not overlook opportunities to claim and celebrate those victories.

5. Pay Attention to the Right
We have seen ways that coded racist language has mobilized people against the government, from taxes to food stamps to safety nets to immigrant rights. One of the speakers at Facing Race, author of Dog Whistle Politics Ian Haney López, described this as “strategic racism” by the Right – manipulating racial anxiety to get what they want, and a distraction from what is really happening: the accumulation of even more wealth within the 1%.

Here’s an example that might sound familiar: “we are a nation of laws.” We just saw this tactic of strategic racism used successfully with Measure 88, the Driver Card measure. While the phrase isn’t racist on its face, it uses this coded racist language to conjure the idea of undocumented immigrants coming from across the southern border and “breaking laws”. Recognizing and naming this when we see it helps our communities deepen our political analysis, the same way human dignity groups have named scapegoating of immigrants, queers, and other marginalized communities for years.

6. Let’s Keep Our Eyes on the Prize
So often when we talk about racism, we default to thinking about interpersonal racism, one person saying something to another, without addressing structural racism. Our media does a great job of cultivating this; if you take a look at the 24-hour nonstop coverage of Ferguson and Mike Brown’s murder you’ll see it playing out as a matter of whether Darren Wilson is racist or not, instead of digging into why a black man is killed by police every 28 hours in this country.

Mass incarceration, immigration policies, school discipline gaps, housing inequity, and so much more clearly demonstrate structural racism across institutions. It is our job as organizers to bring the big picture into our conversations. We aren’t just about making sure our neighbors don’t say racist things — we are about making sure that systems that disadvantage people of color, immigrants, queers, or any other marginalized community are torn down and built to uphold justice, equity, and human dignity. It’s about systems and root causes.

7. CELEBRATION!
Let us not forget that to build a movement for the long haul, we must feed our souls, recharge, have fun, CELEBRATE. Why would we struggle without it?

As many of us begin to wind down for the holidays, what are you spending time thinking about? What would you like your human dignity group to bring to the movement in 2015? What would you like ROP to bring to your human dignity group in 2015?

Warmly,
Jessica

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English