错误信息和酷儿包容性消息资源

亲爱的 ROPnet,

上周,我们举行了秋季通讯系列的第三次也是最后一次会议,“On Message, with Meaning”,重点关注水平 在 2024 年及时加强我们的沟通。 请继续阅读本次会议的亮点,该会议的重点是管理错误信息和促进酷儿包容。 

如果您渴望更多的机会来培养技能并与其他人类尊严领袖一起制定战略,那么您很幸运!我们将在接下来的时间继续培养我们的沟通和消息传递技能 农村核心小组和战略会议,将于 4 月 6 日星期六在伍德伯恩举行。加入我们,分享您的社区一直在努力的故事,与来自该州其他地区的团体和社区领袖联系,并共同制定未来一年的计划!请继续关注注册页面,并开始与您的小组讨论谁想参加! 

有关秋季通讯系列早期会议的详细信息,请查看这些回顾 以移民正义为特色的基于价值观的信息 和 发言人技能以人人享有住房为特色.

阅读全部内容:管理错误信息,促进酷儿包容

11 月 6 日星期一, 11个县22人 聚集在一起练习管理错误信息,重点是促进酷儿包容。

基于价值观的消息传递

就像在 以移民正义为特色的基于价值观的信息 和 发言人技能以人人享有住房为特色,我们回顾了基于价值观的消息传递模型,称为 VPSA(价值观-问题-解决方案-行动),重点关注酷儿包容性。这是模板:

  • 价值观: 卫生间的安全和隐私对我们所有人都很重要。这就是为什么我们已经制定了法律,规定伤害或骚扰他人或侵犯他们的隐私为非法行为。跨性别者是我们工作场所、学校和社区的一部分,他们需要能够像其他人一样使用卫生间。这是关于基本的人类尊严和隐私。
  • 问题: 大多数州仍然没有法律保护跨性别者在公共场所免受歧视,包括在使用公共卫生间方面——这是我们每天都需要做的事情。一些州已经通过法律,规定跨性别者可能会因为使用与他们每天居住的性别相匹配的厕所而被逮捕甚至起诉。 2SLGBTQIA+ 平等的反对者利用人们对跨性别者的不熟悉,散布错误信息以制造恐惧,并将对厕所等场所安全的担忧与跨性别者联系起来。这种错误信息是一种有毒的攻击,用来剥夺酷儿和跨性别者免受歧视的保护,制定在公共厕所引发虐待和骚扰的法律,剥夺跨性别者的尊严和平等,并使跨性别者几乎无法过自己的日常生活。
  • 解决方案: 每个学生都应该有公平的机会在学校取得成功,包括跨性别学生[或者每个跨性别者都应该有公平的机会在工作场所取得成功]。我们都应该过上没有风险、骚扰和攻击的生活,这也意味着跨性别者。
  • 行动: 拒绝谎言和错误信息,支持保护跨性别者以及校园、公共场所和工作场所浴室的安全和隐私。联系您选出的官员,熟悉他们在这些问题上的立场,并敦促他们投票支持公平机会。

此消息改编自运动进步项目,您可以 在这里访问更多他们的资源。

管理错误信息

在简要回顾了“价值观-问题-解决方案-行动”(VPSA) 消息传递模型后,我们深入研究了当我们被问到会进一步传播错误信息或听到错误信息传播的问题时如何进行调整。在分组讨论中,我们练习以坚持我们的信息的方式回答有关性别包容浴室的问题。以下是一些枢轴示例:

  • “我同意这是很重要的一点,但对于这个问题更重要的是......”
  • “我不知道答案,但我知道……”
  • “我可以推测,但让我们看看事实……”
  • “错误信息以及谎言和恐惧的传播在我们的社区中没有立足之地。这就是为什么…..”

处理有害谣言和信息

在练习远离那些没有引起关注的错误信息之后,我们学会了一些直接解决错误信息的方便工具。如果病毒广泛传播并具有潜在的危险后果,这可能是必要的。一位培训负责人表示,许多图书馆员也精通这些工具,并且可以成为管理社区中出现的有害错误信息的重要资源。

首先,我们讨论了 3D: 

  1. 探测: 时间、地点、由谁
  2. 文档:捕捉包含细节和背景的图像
  3. 揭穿:使用事实/谬误/事实三明治来呈现事实真相:“疫苗不会导致[自闭症]。这个神话是由反疫苗活动人士传播的,目的是制造混乱和不信任,并且与公共卫生的科学事实不符。全球的医生已经证明疫苗不会导致自闭症,而且对整个社会都有好处。”

然后我们继续讨论“3S”:

  1. 怀疑:总是质疑内容
  2. 搜索:扩大您的输入、来源、信息和数据范围。
  3. 分享:在共享之前提供上下文。 
    •  在社交媒体上转发/链接。
    •  如果必须分享并仅通过电子邮件、Messenger 等方式分享,请截取屏幕截图。
    •  评论试图智胜他们,这会吸引更多人关注原始来源/帖子。仅当该帖子已经很受欢迎时,  使用经过审查的揭穿信息发表评论。
    •  教育您的社区遵守同样的纪律。

在这个秋季通讯系列中,我们一起学习和成长了很多,我们简直不敢相信它已经结束了! 还想吃更多吗? 如果您想观看完整的培训录像或与其他组织联系以管理错误信息或促进您所在地区的酷儿包容,请给我们发送电子邮件: 艾玛@rop.org!

热烈地,

艾玛和 ROP 团队

PS 这些培训仅提供英语版本。如果您对西班牙语沟通培训感兴趣,请通过电子邮件告知我们 艾玛@rop.org 或致电/发短信 503-543-8417,因为我们渴望继续加强此培训系列!

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Misinformation and Queer Inclusion Messaging Resources

Dear ROPnet,

Last week we held our third and final session of our fall communications series, On Message, with Meaning, focused on leveling up our communications in time for 2024. Read on for highlights from the session, which focused on managing misinformation and advancing queer inclusion. 

If you’re hungry for more opportunities for skill-building and strategizing with other human dignity leaders, you’re in luck! We’ll be continuing to build our communications and messaging skills at the next Rural Caucus and Strategy Session, which will be on Saturday, April 6 in Woodburn. Join us to share stories about what your community has been working on, connect with groups and community leaders from other parts of the state, and make a plan together for the year ahead! Stay tuned for the registration page, and start chatting with your group about who wants to attend! 

For details on the earlier sessions in the fall communications series, check out these recaps of Values-Based Messaging Featuring Immigrant Justice and Spokesperson Skills Featuring Housing for All.

Read All About It: Managing Misinformation, Advancing Queer Inclusion

On Monday, November 6, 22 people from 11 counties gathered to practice managing misinformation, with a focus on advancing queer inclusion.

Values-Based Messaging

Just like on the Values-Based Messaging Featuring Immigrant Justice and Spokesperson Skills Featuring Housing for All, we reviewed the values-based messaging model called the VPSA (Values-Problem-Solution-Action) with a focus on Queer Inclusion. Here’s the template:

  • Values: Safety and privacy in restrooms are important for all of us. That’s why we already have laws in place that make it illegal to harm or harass people or invade their privacy. Transgender people are part of our workplaces, schools, and neighborhoods, and they need to be able to use the restroom just like everyone else. It’s about basic human dignity and privacy.
  • Problem: Most states still do not have laws that protect transgender people from discrimination in public spaces, including when it comes to being able to use public restrooms – something we all need to do every day. Some states have passed laws saying trans people can be arrested and even prosecuted for using the restroom that matches the gender they live every day. Opponents of 2SLGBTQIA+ equality have seized on people’s unfamiliarity with trans people and spread misinformation to create fear and link concerns about safety in places like restrooms to trans people. This misinformation is a toxic attack used to deny queer and trans people protection from discrimination, enact laws that invite abuse and harassment in public restrooms, deny trans people dignity and equality, and make it virtually impossible for transgender people to go about their daily lives.
  • Solution: Every student should have a fair chance to succeed in school, including trans students [or every transgender person should have a fair chance to succeed in the workplace). We all deserve to live free of risk, harassment, and assault, and that means trans people too.
  • Action: Reject lies and misinformation and support protections for transgender people and safety and privacy in bathrooms on campus and in public spaces and workplaces. Reach out to your elected officials, familiarize yourself with their stances on these issues, and urge them to vote for equitable access.

This message was adapted from the Movement Advancement Project, you can access more of their resources here.

Managing Misinformation

After a brief review of the Values-Problem-Solution-Action (VPSA) messaging model, we dove into how to pivot when we’re asked a question that furthers misinformation or hear misinformation being spread. In our breakouts, we practiced responding to a question about gender-inclusive bathrooms in a way that sticks to our message. Here are some example pivots:

  • “I agree that’s an important point, but more important to this issue is….”
  • “I don’t know the answer to that, but I do know….”
  • “I could speculate, but let’s look at the facts….”
  • “Misinformation and the spreading of lies and fear has no place in our community.  That’s why…..”

Addressing Harmful Rumors and Information

After practicing pivoting away from misinformation that isn’t gaining traction, we learned some handy tools for directly addressing misinformation instead. This may be necessary if it’s spreading widely and has potentially dangerous consequences. One leader on the training brought up that many librarians are also well-versed in these tools and can be great resources for managing harmful misinformation when it comes up in your community.

First, we covered the Three D’s: 

  1. Detect: When and where, by whom
  2. Document: Capture an image with details and context
  3. Debunk: Present truth narratives using the Fact/Fallacy/Fact sandwich: “Vaccines don’t cause [autism]. This myth is spread by anti-vaccine activists to create confusion and mistrust and does not line up with scientific facts about public health. Doctors across the globe have proven that vaccines do not cause autism and are a benefit to the whole society.”

Then we moved on to the Three S’s:

  1. Suspect: Always question the content
  2. Search: Broaden your input, sources, range of info, and data.
  3. Share: Provide context before sharing. 
    • Don’t repost/link on social media.
    • Do take a screenshot if you must share and share only through email, messenger, etc.
    • Don’t comment trying to outsmart them, this attracts more attention to the original source/post. Only if the post is already popular, Do comment with vetted debunking info.
    • Do educate your community to exercise the same discipline.

We learned and grew so much together during this fall communications series, and we can hardly believe it’s over! Hungry for more? If you want to watch the full training recording or get connected to others organizing to manage misinformation or to advance queer inclusion in your area, email us at emma@rop.org!

Warmly,

Emma and the ROP Team

P.S. These trainings were only available in English. If you are interested in Spanish-language communications training, please let us know by emailing emma@rop.org or calling/texting 503-543-8417 as we are eager to continue building upon this training series!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English