المعلومات الخاطئة وموارد الرسائل المتعلقة بإدماج المثليين

عزيزي روب نت ،

عقدنا الأسبوع الماضي جلستنا الثالثة والأخيرة من سلسلة اتصالاتنا الخريفية، "في الرسالة بالمعنى"، والتي ركزت على التسوية حتى اتصالاتنا في الوقت المناسب لعام 2024. تابع القراءة للحصول على أبرز النقاط في الجلسة، التي ركزت على إدارة المعلومات الخاطئة وتعزيز دمج الكويريين. 

إذا كنت متعطشًا لمزيد من الفرص لبناء المهارات ووضع الاستراتيجيات مع قادة الكرامة الإنسانية الآخرين، فأنت محظوظ! سنستمر في بناء مهارات الاتصال والمراسلة لدينا في المرحلة التالية المؤتمر الريفي وجلسة الإستراتيجيةوالذي سيكون يوم السبت 6 أبريل في وودبرن. انضم إلينا لمشاركة القصص حول ما يعمل عليه مجتمعك، والتواصل مع المجموعات وقادة المجتمع من أجزاء أخرى من الولاية، ووضع خطة معًا للعام المقبل! ترقبوا صفحة التسجيل، وابدأوا بالدردشة مع مجموعتكم حول من يريد الحضور! 

للحصول على تفاصيل حول الجلسات السابقة في سلسلة اتصالات الخريف، راجع هذه الملخصات الرسائل القائمة على القيم والتي تتميز بالعدالة للمهاجرين و مهارات المتحدث الرسمي التي تتميز بتوفير السكن للجميع.

اقرأ كل شيء عنها: إدارة المعلومات الخاطئة، وتعزيز دمج المثليين

يوم الاثنين الموافق 6 نوفمبر . 22 شخصًا من 11 مقاطعة تم جمعهم لممارسة إدارة المعلومات الخاطئة، مع التركيز على تعزيز دمج الكويريين.

الرسائل القائمة على القيم

تماما مثل على الرسائل القائمة على القيم والتي تتميز بالعدالة للمهاجرين و مهارات المتحدث الرسمي التي تتميز بتوفير السكن للجميع، قمنا بمراجعة نموذج المراسلة المبني على القيم المسمى VPSA (القيم-المشكلة-الحل-الإجراء) مع التركيز على تضمين الكوير. وهنا القالب:

  • قيم: السلامة والخصوصية في الحمامات أمر مهم بالنسبة لنا جميعا. ولهذا السبب لدينا بالفعل قوانين معمول بها تجعل من غير القانوني إيذاء الأشخاص أو مضايقتهم أو انتهاك خصوصيتهم. يعد الأشخاص المتحولون جنسيًا جزءًا من أماكن عملنا ومدارسنا وأحيائنا، ويجب أن يكونوا قادرين على استخدام الحمامات تمامًا مثل أي شخص آخر. إنها تتعلق بالكرامة الإنسانية الأساسية والخصوصية.
  • مشكلة: لا تزال معظم الولايات ليس لديها قوانين تحمي الأشخاص المتحولين جنسياً من التمييز في الأماكن العامة، بما في ذلك عندما يتعلق الأمر بالقدرة على استخدام المراحيض العامة - وهو أمر يتعين علينا جميعًا القيام به كل يوم. أصدرت بعض الولايات قوانين تنص على أنه يمكن القبض على الأشخاص المتحولين جنسيًا وحتى محاكمتهم لاستخدامهم دورة المياه التي تتوافق مع الجنس الذي يعيشونه كل يوم. استغل معارضو المساواة في 2SLGBTQIA+ عدم إلمام الناس بالمتحولين جنسيًا ونشروا معلومات مضللة لإثارة الخوف وربط المخاوف بشأن السلامة في أماكن مثل الحمامات بالأشخاص المتحولين جنسيًا. هذه المعلومات الخاطئة هي هجوم سام يستخدم لحرمان الأشخاص المثليين والمتحولين جنسيا من الحماية من التمييز، وسن قوانين تدعو إلى سوء المعاملة والتحرش في الحمامات العامة، وحرمان الأشخاص المتحولين جنسيا من الكرامة والمساواة، وتجعل من المستحيل تقريبا على الأشخاص المتحولين جنسيا ممارسة حياتهم اليومية.
  • حل: يجب أن يحظى كل طالب بفرصة عادلة للنجاح في المدرسة، بما في ذلك الطلاب المتحولين جنسيًا [أو يجب أن يحظى كل شخص متحول جنسيًا بفرصة عادلة للنجاح في مكان العمل). نحن جميعًا نستحق أن نعيش خاليًا من المخاطر والمضايقات والاعتداءات، وهذا يعني الأشخاص المتحولين جنسيًا أيضًا.
  • عمل: رفض الأكاذيب والمعلومات الخاطئة ودعم حماية الأشخاص المتحولين جنسياً والسلامة والخصوصية في الحمامات في الحرم الجامعي وفي الأماكن العامة وأماكن العمل. تواصل مع المسؤولين المنتخبين لديك، واطلع على مواقفهم بشأن هذه القضايا، وحثهم على التصويت لصالح الوصول العادل.

هذه الرسالة مقتبسة من مشروع تقدم الحركة، يمكنك الوصول إلى المزيد من مواردهم هنا.

إدارة المعلومات الخاطئة

بعد مراجعة موجزة لنموذج رسائل القيم - المشكلة - الحل - الإجراء (VPSA)، تعمقنا في كيفية التركيز عندما يُطرح علينا سؤال يعزز المعلومات الخاطئة أو نسمع معلومات خاطئة يتم نشرها. في جلساتنا الجانبية، تدربنا على الرد على سؤال حول الحمامات التي تشمل الجنسين بطريقة تلتزم برسالتنا. فيما يلي بعض الأمثلة على المحاور:

  • "أوافق على أن هذه نقطة مهمة، ولكن الأهم بالنسبة لهذه القضية هو...".
  • "لا أعرف الإجابة على ذلك، لكني أعرف..."
  • "يمكنني التكهن، ولكن دعونا ننظر إلى الحقائق..."
  • “إن المعلومات المضللة ونشر الأكاذيب والخوف ليس لها مكان في مجتمعنا. لهذا السبب….."

التصدي للشائعات والمعلومات الضارة

بعد التدرب على الابتعاد عن المعلومات الخاطئة التي لا تحظى باهتمام كبير، تعلمنا بعض الأدوات المفيدة لمعالجة المعلومات الخاطئة بشكل مباشر بدلاً من ذلك. قد يكون هذا ضروريًا إذا كان ينتشر على نطاق واسع وله عواقب خطيرة محتملة. أشار أحد قادة التدريب إلى أن العديد من أمناء المكتبات هم أيضًا على دراية جيدة بهذه الأدوات ويمكن أن يكونوا موارد رائعة لإدارة المعلومات الخاطئة الضارة عندما تظهر في مجتمعك.

أولاً، قمنا بتغطية العناصر الثلاثة D: 

  1. يكشف: متى وأين وبواسطة من
  2. وثيقة:التقاط صورة تحتوي على التفاصيل والسياق
  3. فضح زيف شيء ما: تقديم روايات الحقيقة باستخدام شطيرة الحقيقة/المغالطة/الحقيقة: "اللقاحات لا تسبب [التوحد]. ينشر الناشطون المناهضون للقاحات هذه الأسطورة لخلق الارتباك وانعدام الثقة ولا تتماشى مع الحقائق العلمية حول الصحة العامة. لقد أثبت الأطباء في جميع أنحاء العالم أن اللقاحات لا تسبب مرض التوحد وأنها تعود بالنفع على المجتمع بأكمله.

ثم انتقلنا إلى العناصر الثلاثة:

  1. يشتبه: السؤال دائما عن المحتوى
  2. يبحث: قم بتوسيع مدخلاتك ومصادرك ونطاق المعلومات والبيانات.
  3. يشارك: توفير السياق قبل المشاركة. 
    • لا إعادة النشر/الرابط على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي.
    • يفعل التقط لقطة شاشة إذا كان يجب عليك المشاركة والمشاركة فقط عبر البريد الإلكتروني أو برنامج المراسلة أو ما إلى ذلك.
    • لا التعليق محاولًا التفوق عليهم، وهذا يجذب المزيد من الاهتمام إلى المصدر/المنشور الأصلي. فقط إذا كان المنشور مشهورًا بالفعل، يفعل التعليق مع معلومات فضح فحصها.
    • يفعل تثقيف مجتمعك لممارسة نفس الانضباط.

لقد تعلمنا ونمونا كثيرًا معًا خلال سلسلة الاتصالات الخريفية هذه، ولا يمكننا أن نصدق أن الأمر قد انتهى! متعطش للمزيد؟ إذا كنت ترغب في مشاهدة تسجيل التدريب الكامل أو التواصل مع الآخرين المنظمين لإدارة المعلومات الخاطئة أو لتعزيز دمج الكويريين في منطقتك، راسلنا عبر البريد الإلكتروني على emma@rop.org!

بحرارة

إيما وفريق شرطة عمان السلطانية

ملاحظة: كانت هذه الدورات التدريبية متاحة باللغة الإنجليزية فقط. إذا كنت مهتمًا بالتدريب على الاتصالات باللغة الإسبانية، فيرجى إخبارنا بذلك عبر البريد الإلكتروني emma@rop.org أو الاتصال / إرسال رسالة نصية على الرقم 8417-543-503 لأننا حريصون على مواصلة البناء على هذه السلسلة التدريبية!

سهل الطباعة، PDF والبريد الإلكتروني
العربية

Misinformation and Queer Inclusion Messaging Resources

Dear ROPnet,

Last week we held our third and final session of our fall communications series, On Message, with Meaning, focused on leveling up our communications in time for 2024. Read on for highlights from the session, which focused on managing misinformation and advancing queer inclusion. 

If you’re hungry for more opportunities for skill-building and strategizing with other human dignity leaders, you’re in luck! We’ll be continuing to build our communications and messaging skills at the next Rural Caucus and Strategy Session, which will be on Saturday, April 6 in Woodburn. Join us to share stories about what your community has been working on, connect with groups and community leaders from other parts of the state, and make a plan together for the year ahead! Stay tuned for the registration page, and start chatting with your group about who wants to attend! 

For details on the earlier sessions in the fall communications series, check out these recaps of Values-Based Messaging Featuring Immigrant Justice and Spokesperson Skills Featuring Housing for All.

Read All About It: Managing Misinformation, Advancing Queer Inclusion

On Monday, November 6, 22 people from 11 counties gathered to practice managing misinformation, with a focus on advancing queer inclusion.

Values-Based Messaging

Just like on the Values-Based Messaging Featuring Immigrant Justice and Spokesperson Skills Featuring Housing for All, we reviewed the values-based messaging model called the VPSA (Values-Problem-Solution-Action) with a focus on Queer Inclusion. Here’s the template:

  • Values: Safety and privacy in restrooms are important for all of us. That’s why we already have laws in place that make it illegal to harm or harass people or invade their privacy. Transgender people are part of our workplaces, schools, and neighborhoods, and they need to be able to use the restroom just like everyone else. It’s about basic human dignity and privacy.
  • Problem: Most states still do not have laws that protect transgender people from discrimination in public spaces, including when it comes to being able to use public restrooms – something we all need to do every day. Some states have passed laws saying trans people can be arrested and even prosecuted for using the restroom that matches the gender they live every day. Opponents of 2SLGBTQIA+ equality have seized on people’s unfamiliarity with trans people and spread misinformation to create fear and link concerns about safety in places like restrooms to trans people. This misinformation is a toxic attack used to deny queer and trans people protection from discrimination, enact laws that invite abuse and harassment in public restrooms, deny trans people dignity and equality, and make it virtually impossible for transgender people to go about their daily lives.
  • Solution: Every student should have a fair chance to succeed in school, including trans students [or every transgender person should have a fair chance to succeed in the workplace). We all deserve to live free of risk, harassment, and assault, and that means trans people too.
  • Action: Reject lies and misinformation and support protections for transgender people and safety and privacy in bathrooms on campus and in public spaces and workplaces. Reach out to your elected officials, familiarize yourself with their stances on these issues, and urge them to vote for equitable access.

This message was adapted from the Movement Advancement Project, you can access more of their resources here.

Managing Misinformation

After a brief review of the Values-Problem-Solution-Action (VPSA) messaging model, we dove into how to pivot when we’re asked a question that furthers misinformation or hear misinformation being spread. In our breakouts, we practiced responding to a question about gender-inclusive bathrooms in a way that sticks to our message. Here are some example pivots:

  • “I agree that’s an important point, but more important to this issue is….”
  • “I don’t know the answer to that, but I do know….”
  • “I could speculate, but let’s look at the facts….”
  • “Misinformation and the spreading of lies and fear has no place in our community.  That’s why…..”

Addressing Harmful Rumors and Information

After practicing pivoting away from misinformation that isn’t gaining traction, we learned some handy tools for directly addressing misinformation instead. This may be necessary if it’s spreading widely and has potentially dangerous consequences. One leader on the training brought up that many librarians are also well-versed in these tools and can be great resources for managing harmful misinformation when it comes up in your community.

First, we covered the Three D’s: 

  1. Detect: When and where, by whom
  2. Document: Capture an image with details and context
  3. Debunk: Present truth narratives using the Fact/Fallacy/Fact sandwich: “Vaccines don’t cause [autism]. This myth is spread by anti-vaccine activists to create confusion and mistrust and does not line up with scientific facts about public health. Doctors across the globe have proven that vaccines do not cause autism and are a benefit to the whole society.”

Then we moved on to the Three S’s:

  1. Suspect: Always question the content
  2. Search: Broaden your input, sources, range of info, and data.
  3. Share: Provide context before sharing. 
    • Don’t repost/link on social media.
    • Do take a screenshot if you must share and share only through email, messenger, etc.
    • Don’t comment trying to outsmart them, this attracts more attention to the original source/post. Only if the post is already popular, Do comment with vetted debunking info.
    • Do educate your community to exercise the same discipline.

We learned and grew so much together during this fall communications series, and we can hardly believe it’s over! Hungry for more? If you want to watch the full training recording or get connected to others organizing to manage misinformation or to advance queer inclusion in your area, email us at emma@rop.org!

Warmly,

Emma and the ROP Team

P.S. These trainings were only available in English. If you are interested in Spanish-language communications training, please let us know by emailing emma@rop.org or calling/texting 503-543-8417 as we are eager to continue building upon this training series!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English