تعرف على زملاء التنظيم الريفي!

يسعدنا تقديمك إلى زملائنا في تنظيم المناطق الريفية! سيبدأون عملهم معنا في أكتوبر ، لينضموا إلى قادة شرطة عمان السلطانية والمجموعات الأعضاء والحلفاء في الحدث الأخير لـ شيريدان إلى NORCOR: رحلة للمطالبة بوضع حد للاحتجاز والترحيل يوم السبت 6 أكتوبر في ذا داليس. نأمل أن يقابلوا الكثير منكم هناك!

زملاء تنظيم الريف

سهل دنتون- كوتيدج جروف ، مقاطعة لين

تنشط سهلا مع كوتيدج جروف كوميونيتي يونايتد وقد نشطت في التنظيم ضد التفوق الأبيض واستقطاب الشركات المحلية للحصول على الدعم.

"أشيائي المفضلة هنا في Cottage Grove هي وظيفتي في المكتبة وأصدقاء عائلتنا. أنا متحمس للتعلم من أشخاص جدد والتعرف عليهم خلال الزمالة. يلهمني تاريخ عائلتي والأحداث الجارية للمشاركة في العدالة الاجتماعية. في وقت فراغي ، أحب أن أكتب اليوميات ، وأقرأ كتب الخيال العلمي ، وأشاهد الأفلام مع أختي ".

بريند(أ) فلوريس - ستانفيلد ، مقاطعة أوماتيلا

عاشت بريندا في ستانفيلد طوال حياتها باستثناء السنوات الأربع التي أمضتها في الحصول على شهادتها في جامعة ويسترن أوريغون في مونماوث. هي خريجة جامعية من الجيل الأول وشاركت في MEChA و CAUSA و Unidos في WOU. إنها تريد إحضار الدروس التي تعلمتها حول التنظيم في مونماوث إلى مسقط رأسها.

"بعض الأشياء التي أحبها في ستانفيلد هي أنها مدينة صغيرة لذا لا أتعامل مع حركة المرور ولدي أصدقائي وعائلتي المقربين. أنا متحمس لمقابلة أشخاص جدد وأن أكون قادرًا على النمو كقائد وناشط! أنا متحمس أيضًا لزيادة الوعي في هذا المجال. لطالما ألهمتني عائلتي للقيام بأعمال العدالة الاجتماعية. عندما لا أعمل ، أحب قضاء الوقت مع عائلتي ، ومشاهدة Hulu ، والخروج لتناول الطعام مع صديقي ".

غابرييلا جارسيا - نهر هود ، مقاطعة نهر هود 

عاشت غابرييلا في هود ريفر لمدة 18 عامًا وعملت كمنسق مشروع DACA (العمل المؤجل للقادمين في مرحلة الطفولة) مع معهد CAPACES للقيادة الذي يدعو إلى DREAMers في مجتمع الخانق. إنها مستفيدة من DACA وهي تخطط للبقاء في المجتمع والاستمرار في بناء العلاقات مع الشباب غير المسجلين والمهاجرين الآخرين.

"أنا أحب مجتمعي وكل الأشخاص الرائعين الذين يشكلون جزءًا منه. أنا متحمس للقاء المزيد من الأشخاص المتحمسين للعدالة الاجتماعية ومساعدة مجتمعهم وتعلم مهارات جديدة على طول الطريق ومعرفة المزيد عن نفسي. أعتقد أن ما يلهمني لتحقيق العدالة الاجتماعية هو مجتمعي وعائلتي. هم ما يجعلني ازدهر الأشياء التي أستمتع بها في وقت فراغي هي التوجه إلى النهر مع ابني البالغ من العمر خمس سنوات والاستمتاع بالشمس - وقضاء الوقت أيضًا مع عائلتي وإخوتي الصغار ".

ماريا ميخيا بوتيرو - كولفر ، مقاطعة جيفرسون  

تنهي ماريا سنتها الأخيرة من المدرسة الثانوية وسنتها الأولى بالكلية في كلية سنترال أوريغون المجتمعية هذا العام. تعمل بدوام جزئي كحارس إنقاذ وهي ناشطة في ائتلاف Let's Talk Diversity Coalition. هي مؤسس مشارك لتحالف النوع الاجتماعي والجنس (GSA) في مدرسة Culver الثانوية وخلال عامها الصغير ، نظمت مسيرة من أجل السلامة المدرسية. هي متلقية لـ DACA.

"أعيش في كولفر (عدد السكان: 1،000) في مقاطعة جيفرسون منذ ما يقرب من 12 عامًا. أحب كيف نحصل في كثير من الأحيان على غروب الشمس المذهل فوق جبال كاسكيد وكيف أن السماء كبيرة ومليئة بملايين النجوم. Culver فريدة من نوعها لوجود مجتمع لاتيني كبير على الرغم من قلة عدد سكانها. أنا متحمس لأن أكون جزءًا من زمالة الزمالة لأنها فرصة فريدة بالنسبة لي لتنفيذ مشروع سأكون متحمسًا له بدعم من شبكة أكبر من الأشخاص الرائعين الذين سيساعدونني في رؤيته. أولاً ، أنا أنتمي إلى عائلة من المهاجرين ، ورأيت شخصيًا أنه على الرغم من أن هذا البلد مليء بالفرص ، إلا أنه لا يتمتع الجميع بفرص متساوية. تؤثر الحالة الاجتماعية والاقتصادية ، والوصول إلى الموارد ، والتعليم ، والخلفية الثقافية ، والقدرة ، وروح المدينة ، والعرق ، والجنس ، والتوجه الجنسي ، وأكثر من ذلك على أنواع فرص النجاح ونوعية الحياة المتاحة للفرد. أراه في مدينتي ، وأراه في عائلتي ، وأرى كيف يؤثر علي. الشيء الوحيد الذي يمكنني فعله هو استخدام الامتيازات والموارد الخاصة بي لفتح المزيد من الفرص للآخرين. أحب مشاهدة النجوم بينما كنت على الأرجوحة في الفناء الخاص بي محتضنًا ما لا يقل عن 3 بطانيات مختلفة. أقضي أيضًا الكثير من الوقت في الضحك على الميمات ومقاطع الفيديو الخاصة بالقطط على Tumblr ".

جوان نافارو - كورفاليس ، مقاطعة بينتون  

نشأ خوان في ستايتون في مقاطعة ماريون ، وهو حاصل على DACA وهو أول فرد في عائلته يتخرج من المدرسة الثانوية ويحصل على شهادة جامعية. وهو خريج جامعة ويسترن أوريغون في مونماوث حيث ساعد في تنظيم تحالف بين الطلاب والمجتمع لجعل مجلس المدينة يمرر قرارًا ترحيبيًا وهو الآن طالب دراسات عليا في جامعة ولاية أوريغون ويساعد الجهود التي يقودها الطلاب لبدء مركز موارد الحالمين في الحرم الجامعي.

"أعيش حاليًا في كورفاليس بولاية أوريغون. من الأشياء التي أحبها الهدوء الذي توفره هذه المدينة. أنا متحمس لتحسين مهاراتي في التنظيم وأتطلع إلى الترابط مع الزملاء الآخرين. أعتقد أن كل شخص يستحق أن يعامل باحترام وكرامة نتوقعها بأنفسنا. هذا يلهمني للقيام بدوري في تحويل هذا الحلم إلى حقيقة. أحب أن أرقص بعض الصلصا والباشاتا. أحب التنزه جيدًا وأنا مهتم جدًا بالشعر ".

كورتني نيوباور - كلاماث فولز ، مقاطعة كلاماث  

نشأت كورتني في كلاماث فولز وتخرجت من جامعة ويلاميت. تطوعت في المدرسة الثانوية في مركز كلاماث للأزمات وأثناء وجودها في ويلاميت كانت مديرة طلاب من أجل النسوية وعضو في اتحاد الطلاب المثليين. في سياتل ، عملت لمدة عامين في حملة لجلب تمويل الرعاية طويلة الأجل إلى ولاية واشنطن وسافرت عبر الولاية لتقديم عروض تقديمية ، والتقت بالقادة المحليين والنشطاء ، وإدارة حملات على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. إنها متحمسة للعودة إلى ديارها في ريف ولاية أوريغون والتنظيم في مسقط رأسها.

"شلالات كلاماث مليئة بالكثير من التاريخ والجمال الطبيعي. إنه أيضًا على أعتاب العديد من الابتكارات بما في ذلك مشروع المناطق الزرقاء ، ومعركة قبائل كلاماث لإنقاذ الأسماك المصاصة ، ومركز الصحة التعاوني الجديد التابع لسكاي ليكس ، واستضافة برنامج "Girls got STEM" التابع لـ Oregon Tech. أنا متحمس جدًا للتعلم من الزملاء الآخرين ومجتمع Klamath والاستماع إليهم. أؤسس عملي في مجال العدالة الاجتماعية على العلاقات ، وأنا متحمس عندما أقابل أشخاصًا جددًا يتحدون طريقة تفكيري. لقد ألهمني تعلم طرق جديدة للقيام بالأشياء ، والبصيرة التي تأتي من أذن مفتوحة. أحب التنزه مع كلبي وحديقي وخبز الخبز واللعب بتقنية التصميم. أنا متحمس لمتابعة الأخبار وأعمل على تثقيف نفسي في السياسة الدولية! "

Brايانا سبيncer - بندلتون ، مقاطعة أوماتيلا  

بريانا هي عضو في القبائل الكونفدرالية لأوماتيلا وعاشت في المحمية معظم حياتها. وهي متخصصة في تكنولوجيا المعلومات للقبيلة وتعمل أيضًا نادلة. لقد شاركت بعمق في الأنشطة القبلية والتعرف على ثقافتها الخاصة والحكم القبلي.

"أنا أعيش في بندلتون وأحب المجتمع. لقد رأيت المجتمع يتقدم عدة مرات لمساعدة الشركات المحلية والأسباب والأفراد. أنا متحمس لإعادة الأفكار الجديدة إلى مجتمعي وآمل أن أجري تغييرًا. والدتي تلهمني. لقد شاركت منذ ما قبل ولادتي ورؤيتها تعمل هو الإلهام بحد ذاته. أنا أحب التسكع مع قطتي وكلبي ".

زاكاري الأسهم - أستوريا ، مقاطعة كلاتسوب  

نشأ زاكاري في ولاية فرجينيا وانتقل من سياتل إلى أستوريا. حياته المهنية في مجال التعليم بالمتاحف والبرمجة وهو متحمس لإيجاد طرق لتعزيز العدالة الاجتماعية من خلال المنظمات الفنية والثقافية والبناء على عمل ROPs لربط المكتبات والمتاحف المحلية بالتنظيم في جميع أنحاء ولاية أوريغون.

"أستوريا مدينة أحبها بسبب تاريخها وجمالها الطبيعي وشعبها الودود الذي يعمل بجد. أنا مستعد لخلق فرص مجدية لسكان ولاية أوريغون الريفيين للالتقاء وممارسة ديمقراطيتهم والعمل معًا لتعزيز العدالة في مجتمعاتهم. لقد ألهمني الإيمان الراسخ بالولايات المتحدة وتعاطفي مع جميع الناس. الأشياء المفضلة لدي هي الرحلات البرية والكتب الجيدة وقضاء الوقت مع شريكي جينجر وقطتنا ".

جايلين سوppah - وورم سبرينغز ، مقاطعة جيفرسون

Jaylyn هو عضو في Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs ويعمل هناك كمخطط مجتمعي. وهي أيضًا عضو منتخب في لجنة التعليم بالقبيلة. شاركت في أنشطة التنظيم والقيادة المجتمعية في Warm Springs منذ أن كانت مراهقة وتريد أن تضع طاقتها في البرامج لتطوير المزيد من القادة الشباب في مجتمعها.

“أعيش في محمية الينابيع الدافئة. أنا أحب ثقافة وتقاليد مجتمعنا ، وأنا أحب الأنهار والأطعمة التقليدية التي لدينا ، وأحب الناس وكيف يتحد مجتمعنا. أنا متحمس لهذه الزمالة بسبب فرصة لقاء آخرين لديهم اهتمامات مماثلة مثلي ، للتعلم والنمو في رحلتي الخاصة مع اكتساب المهارات لإضافتها إلى صندوق أدواتي. المناظر الطبيعية لبلدنا ، وتجارب شعبي والآخرين الذين يتعرضون للتهميش ، والأمل في التعليم العادل ، والصدمات التاريخية ، والشفاء هي بعض الأسباب العديدة التي أؤدي بها إلى عمل العدالة الاجتماعية. أنا أستمتع بقضاء الوقت مع طفلي الرائعين ، السفر ، التنزه ، تناول العشاء العائلي ، القراءة و طبخ."

روسي فالدوفينو توريس - مدراس ، مقاطعة جيفرسون

تخرج روسي من المدرسة الثانوية في وقت مبكر من العام عن طريق إنهاء عامين في سنة واحدة وهو الآن مسجل في كلية سنترال أوريغون المجتمعية. ساعدت في بدء مجموعة كرامة الإنسان المحلية عندما زار موظفو شرطة عمان السلطانية مدراس وهي جزء من نادي جيفرسون كاونتي للكتاب المراهقين وهي متطوعة في المكتبة. هي متلقية لـ DACA.

"أحد الأشياء العديدة التي أحبها في العيش في مدراس هو أن الجميع يبدو أنهم يعرفون معظم أفراد مجتمعنا. وسط أوريغون مذهل للغاية بكل مناظره المغامرة. أنا متحمس جدًا لأن أكون جزءًا من هذا الفريق الرائع. أنا متحمس لتعلم العديد من المهارات والتعرف على العديد من البشر العظماء. لكن الأهم من ذلك ، أنا متحمس لاستخدام المعرفة التي اكتسبتها من الزمالة لمساعدة مجتمعي والأشخاص الذين يعيشون فيه. لقد ألهمتني أشياء كثيرة للقيام بأعمال العدالة الاجتماعية ، من تربيتي من قبل والدي إلى الخروج في العالم واكتشاف عدم المساواة في المجتمع الذي نعيش فيه. الأخلاق التي رعاها والداي ألهمتني لألا أقف فقط لنفسي ولكن للأشخاص الذين يخافون. كوني عضوًا في المجتمع وأدرك كل ما هو خطأ في عوالمنا ، يجعلني أرغب في الكفاح من أجل ما هو عادل ومتساو للجميع. أحب حضور اجتماعات نادي كتاب مقاطعة جيفرسون وقراءة الكتب. أحب الذهاب لاستكشاف الأماكن والمغامرة في العالم الخارجي ".

سهل الطباعة، PDF والبريد الإلكتروني
العربية

Meet the Rural Organizing Fellows!

We are excited to introduce you to our Rural Organizing Fellows! They will begin their work with us in October, joining ROP leaders, member groups, and allies at the final event of the Sheridan to NORCOR: journey to demand an end to detention and deportation on Saturday, October 6th in The Dalles. We hope they’ll meet many of you there!

Rural Organizing Fellows

Sahla Denton– Cottage Grove, Lane County

Sahla is active with Cottage Grove Community United and has been active in organizing against white supremacy and canvassing local businesses for support.

“My favorite things here in Cottage Grove are my job at the library and our family friends. I’m excited to learn from and meet new people during the fellowship. My family history and current events inspire me to be involved in social justice. In my free time, I like to journal, read sci-fi books, and watch movies with my sister.”

Brenda Flores – Stanfield, Umatilla County

Brenda has lived in Stanfield all of her life except for the four years she spent getting her degree at Western Oregon University in Monmouth. She is a first generation college graduate and was involved in MEChA and CAUSA and Unidos at WOU.  She wants to bring the lessons she learned about organizing in Monmouth to her hometown.

“Some things I like about Stanfield are that it’s a small town so no dealing with traffic and I have my friends and family close. I’m excited to meet new people and to be able to grow as a leader and activist! I’m also excited to bring more awareness in this area. My family has always inspired me to do social justice work. When I’m not working I like to spend time with my family, watch Hulu, and go out to eat with my boyfriend.”

Gabriela Garcia – Hood River, Hood River County 

Gabriela has lived in Hood River for 18 years and has worked as a DACA (Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals) project coordinator with CAPACES Leadership Institute advocating for DREAMers in the gorge community. She is a DACA recipient and she plans to stay in the community and continue to build connections with undocumented youth and other immigrants.

“I love my community and all the wonderful people that are a part of it. I’m excited to meet more people that are passionate about social justice and helping their community and learning new skills along the way and learning more about myself. I believe what inspires me to do social justice is my own community and family. They are what make me thrive. The things I enjoy in my free time are heading to the river with my five-year-old and enjoying the sun – also spending time with my family and younger brothers.”

Maria Mejia-Botero – Culver, Jefferson County  

Maria is finishing her final year of high school and her first year of college at Central Oregon Community College this year. She works part-time as a lifeguard and is active with the Let’s Talk Diversity Coalition. She’s a co-founder of the Gender and Sexuality Alliance (GSA) at Culver High School and during her junior year, she organized a Walk-Out for School Safety. She is a DACA recipient.

“I’ve been living in Culver (population: 1,000) in Jefferson County for almost 12 years. I love how we frequently get stunning sunsets over the Cascade Mountains and how the sky is large with millions of stars. Culver is unique for having a large Latinx community despite its small population. I’m excited to be a part of the Fell owship because it’s a unique chance for me to carry out a project I’ll be passionate about with the support of a larger network of amazing people that will help me see it through. For one, I come from a family of immigran ts, and have personally seen that although this country is full of opportunities, not everybody has an equal access to opportunities. Socioeconomic status, access to resources, education, cultural background, ability, citi zenship, race, gender, sexual orientation, and more all affect what kinds of opportunities for success and quality of life are available to a person. I see it in my town, I see it in my family, and I see how it affects me. The one thing I CAN do is use my own privileges and resources to open up more opportunities for others. I LOVE stargazing while on the hammock on my patio cuddled in at least 3 different blankets. I also spend a lot of time laughing at memes and cat videos on Tumblr.”

Juan Navarro – Corvallis, Benton County  

Juan grew up in Stayton in Marion County, is a DACA recipient and is the first in his family to graduate from high school and obtain a university degree.  He is a graduate of Western Oregon University in Monmouth where he helped organize a student-community coalition to get the city council to pass a welcoming resolution and is now a graduate student at OSU and helping a student-led effort to start a Dreamers Resource Center on the campus.

“I currently live in Corvallis, Oregon. One of things that I love is the calmness that this city provides. I am excited about improving my organizing skills and looking forward to bonding with the other fellows. I believe that everyone deserves to be treated with the respect and dignity that we ourselves expect. This inspires me to do my part in making this dream into a reality. I love to dance some Salsa and Bachata. I love a good hike and I’m very into poetry.”

Courtney Neubauer – Klamath Falls, Klamath County  

Courtney grew up in Klamath Falls and graduated from Willamette University.  In high school she volunteered at the Klamath Crisis Center and while at Willamette she was director of Students for Feminism and a member of the Queer Student Union. In Seattle, she worked for two years on a campaign to bring long-term care funding to Washington State and she traveled across the state giving presentations, meeting with local leaders and activists, and running social media campaigns. She is excited about returning home to rural Oregon and organizing in her hometown.

“Klamath Falls is full of so much history and natural beauty. It’s also on the cusp of so many innovations including the Blue Zones project, the Klamath Tribes’ fight to save the sucker fish, Sky Lakes’ new Collaborative Health Center, and playing host to Oregon Tech’s ‘Girls got STEM’ program. I’m so excited to learn from and listen to both the other fellows and the Klamath community. I ground my social justice work in relationships, and I’m motivated when I meet new people who challenge my way of thinking. I’m inspired by learning new ways of doing things, and the insight that comes from an open ear. I love to hike with my dog, garden, bake bread, and play with design technology. I’m passionate about following the news and am working to educate myself on international politics!”

Briana Spencer – Pendleton, Umatilla County  

Briana is a member of the Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla and has lived on the reservation most of her life. She is an IT specialist for the tribe and she also works as a waitress. She has been deeply involved in tribal activities and learning about her own culture and tribal governance.

“I live in Pendleton and I love the community. I’ve seen the community pull through numerous times to assist local businesses, causes, and people.  I’m excited to bring new ideas back to my community and hopefully make a change. My mother inspires me. She’s been involved since before I was born and seeing her in action is inspiration itself.  I love to hang out with my cat and 2 dogs.”

Zachary Stocks – Astoria, Clatsop County  

Zachary grew up in Virginia and moved to Astoria from Seattle. His career is in museum education a nd programming and he is excited about finding ways to promote social justice through the arts and cultural organizations and build on ROPs work to connect local libraries and museums to organizing throughout Oregon.

“Astoria is a town I love for its history and natural beauty, and its friendly, hard-working people. I’m ready to create meaningful opportunities for rural Oregonians to come together, exercise their democracy, and work together to promote justice in their communities. I’m inspired by unwavering faith in the United States and my compassion for all people. My favorite things are road trips, good books, spending time with my partner Ginger, and our cat.”

Jaylyn Suppah – Warm Springs, Jefferson County

Jaylyn is a member of the Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs and works there as a community planner. She is also an elected member of the Education Committee of the Tribe.  She has been involved in community organizing and leadership activities in Warm Springs since she was a teenager and wants to put her energy into programs to develop more young leaders in her community.

“I live on the Warm Springs Reservation. I love the culture and tradition of our community, I love the rivers, the traditional foods we have, I love the people and how our community comes together. I am excited about this fellowship because of the opportunity to meet others with similar interests as me, to learn and grow in my own journey while gaining skills to add to my toolbox. The landscape of our country, the experiences of my people and others being marginalized, the hope for equitable education, historical trauma and healing are some of the many reasons I do social justice work. I enjoy spending time with my two awesome kiddos, traveling, hiking, having family dinners, reading and cooking.”

Rossy Valdovino-Torres – Madras, Jefferson County

Rossy graduated from high school a year early by finishing two years in one and is now enrolled in Central Oregon Community College.  She helped start the local Human Dignity Group when ROP staff visited Madras and she’s part of the Jefferson County Teen Book Club and she volunteers at the library.  She is a DACA recipient.

“One of the many things that I love about living in Madras is that everybody seems to know most of the members of our community. Central Oregon is absolutely breathtaking with all of its adventurous views. I am so excited to be part of such a great team. I am excited to learn many skills and get to know so many great humans. But most importantly, I am excited to use the knowledge I gain from the fellowship to help my community and the people living within it. So many things have inspired me to do social justice work, from being raised by my parents to being out in the world and discovering the inequity of the society we live in. The morals that my parents raised me to have inspired me to stand up not only for myself but for the people who are scared to. Being a member of society and realizing everything wrong within our worlds, makes me want to fight for what is just and equal for everybody. I love to attend the Jefferson County Teen Book Club meetings and reading books. I love to go exploring places and adventuring in the outside world.”

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English