认识农村组织研究员!

我们很高兴向您介绍我们的农村组织研究员!他们将于 10 月开始与我们合作,在最后一次活动中加入 ROP 领导人、成员团体和盟友。 谢里丹到 NORCOR: 要求结束拘留和驱逐出境的旅程 10 月 6 日星期六在达尔斯举行。我们希望他们能在那里见到你们中的许多人!

农村组织研究员

莎拉·丹顿– 莱恩县 Cottage Grove

Sahla 积极参与 Cottage Grove Community United,并积极组织反对白人至上主义并为当地企业争取支持。

“在 Cottage Grove,我最喜欢的事情是我在图书馆的工作和我们的家人朋友。我很高兴在奖学金期间向新朋友学习并结识新朋友。我的家族历史和时事激励我参与社会正义。闲暇之余,我喜欢和姐姐一起写日记、看科幻小说、看电影。”

布伦德弗洛雷斯 – 斯坦菲尔德,尤马蒂拉县

除了她在蒙茅斯的西俄勒冈大学获得学位的四年外,布伦达一生都住在斯坦菲尔德。她是第一代大学毕业生,曾参与 WOU 的 MEChA、CAUSA 和 Unidos。她想把她在蒙茅斯组织起来的经验带到她的家乡。

“我喜欢斯坦菲尔德的一些地方是,它是一个小镇,所以没有交通问题,而且我的朋友和家人都很亲近。我很高兴结识新朋友并能够成长为领导者和活动家!我也很高兴能在这个领域带来更多的认识。我的家人一直激励我做社会正义工作。不工作的时候,我喜欢和家人在一起,看葫芦丝,和男朋友出去吃饭。”

Gabriela Garcia – 胡德河县胡德河 

Gabriela 在胡德河生活了 18 年,并曾担任 CAPACES 领导力研究所的 DACA(儿童抵达延期行动)项目协调员,为峡谷社区的梦想者提供支持。她是 DACA 接受者,她计划留在社区并继续与无证青年和其他移民建立联系。

“我爱我的社区以及所有参与其中的优秀人士。我很兴奋 结识更多对社会正义充满热情的人,帮助他们的社区,并在此过程中学习新技能并更多地了解自己。我相信激励我去做社会正义的是我自己的社区和家庭。他们让我茁壮成长。我在空闲时间享受的事情是和我五岁的孩子一起去河边享受阳光——还有和我的家人和弟弟共度时光。”

玛丽亚·梅加-博特罗 – 卡尔弗,杰斐逊县  

玛丽亚今年即将在俄勒冈中央社区学院完成高中的最后一年和大学的第一年。她兼职救生员,并积极参与 Let's Talk Diversity Coalition。她是卡尔弗高中性别与性联盟 (GSA) 的联合创始人,在大三期间,她组织了一次学校安全罢工。她是 DACA 接受者。

“我在杰斐逊县的卡尔弗(人口:1,000)生活了将近 12 年。我喜欢我们经常在喀斯喀特山脉上看到令人惊叹的日落,以及拥有数百万颗星星的广阔天空。 Culver 的独特之处在于拥有庞大的拉丁裔社区,尽管其人口很少。我很高兴能成为 Fel owship 的一员,因为这对我来说是一个独特的机会,可以在更大的了不起的人的支持下开展一个我会热衷的项目,这将帮助我完成它。一方面,我来自一个移民家庭,亲眼看到这个国家虽然充满机会,但并不是每个人都有平等的机会。社会经济地位、资源获取、教育、文化背景、能力、公民身份、种族、性别、性取向等等都会影响一个人可以获得什么样的成功机会和生活质量。我在我的城镇看到它,我在我的家人看到它,我看到它如何影响我。我能做的一件事就是利用我自己的特权和资源为他人开辟更多机会。我喜欢在露台上的吊床上观星,至少裹着 3 条不同的毯子。我还花了很多时间嘲笑 Tumblr 上的模因和猫视频。”

纳瓦罗 – 本顿县科瓦利斯  

Juan 在马里恩县的斯泰顿长大,是 DACA 的接受者,是他家中第一个高中毕业并获得大学学位的人。他毕业于蒙茅斯的西俄勒冈大学,在那里他帮助组织了一个学生社区联盟,以让市议会通过一项欢迎决议,现在是俄勒冈州立大学的研究生,并帮助以学生为主导的努力启动梦想家资源中心在校园里。

“我目前住在俄勒冈州的科瓦利斯。我喜欢的一件事是这座城市提供的平静。我很高兴能提高我的组织能力,并期待与其他人建立联系。我相信每个人都应该得到我们自己所期望的尊重和尊严。这激励我尽我所能,让这个梦想成为现实。我喜欢跳一些萨尔萨舞和巴查塔舞。我喜欢徒步旅行,而且我非常喜欢诗歌。”

Courtney Neubauer – 克拉马斯县克拉马斯瀑布  

考特尼在克拉马斯福尔斯长大,毕业于威拉米特大学。高中时,她在克拉马斯危机中心做志愿者,在威拉米特时,她是女权主义学生的主任,也是酷儿学生会的成员。在西雅图,她在一项为华盛顿州提供长期护理资金的活动中工作了两年,她在全州各地进行演讲,与当地领导人和活动家会面,并开展社交媒体活动。她很高兴回到俄勒冈州农村并在家乡组织活动。

“克拉马斯瀑布充满了历史和自然美景。它也处于众多创新的风口浪尖,包括 Blue Zones 项目、Klamath Tribes 拯救吸盘鱼的斗争、Sky Lakes 的新协作健康中心,以及主持俄勒冈理工学院的“Girls got STEM”计划。我很高兴向其他研究员和 Klamath 社区学习并听取他们的意见。我的社会正义工作以人际关系为基础,当我遇到挑战我思维方式的新人时,我会很有动力。我的灵感来自于学习新的做事方式,以及来自开放耳朵的洞察力。我喜欢和我的狗一起远足、花园、烤面包和玩设计技术。我热衷于关注新闻,并正在努力学习国际政治!”

伊安娜·斯佩ncer – 彭德尔顿,尤马蒂拉县  

Briana 是 Umatilla 联盟部落的成员,一生中大部分时间都住在保留地。她是部落的 IT 专家,同时也是一名女服务员。她一直深入参与部落活动,了解自己的文化和部落治理。

“我住在彭德尔顿,我热爱这个社区。我曾多次看到社区努力帮助当地企业、事业和人民。我很高兴将新想法带回我的社区,并希望做出改变。我的母亲激励着我。在我出生之前,她就一直参与其中,看到她的行动本身就是一种灵感。我喜欢和我的猫和两只狗一起出去玩。”

扎卡里股票 – 阿斯托利亚,克拉索普县  

Zachary 在弗吉尼亚长大,从西雅图搬到阿斯托利亚。他的职业是博物馆教育和编程,他很高兴找到通过艺术和文化组织促进社会正义的方法,并在 ROP 工作的基础上将当地图书馆和博物馆与整个俄勒冈州的组织联系起来。

“阿斯托利亚是一个我喜欢的小镇,因为它的历史和自然美景,以及友好、勤奋的人民。我准备为俄勒冈州农村人创造有意义的机会,让他们聚集在一起,行使他们的民主,并共同努力促进他们社区的正义。我受到对美国坚定不移的信念和对所有人的同情的启发。我最喜欢的事情是公路旅行、好书、和我的搭档 Ginger 在一起,还有我们的猫。”

苏琳 – 杰斐逊县暖泉

Jaylyn 是暖泉部落联盟的成员,并在那里担任社区规划师。 She is also an elected member of the Education Committee of the Tribe.从十几岁起,她就一直参与Warm Springs 的社区组织和领导活动,并希望将自己的精力投入到在社区培养更多年轻领导者的计划中。

“我住在暖泉保护区。我爱我们社区的文化和传统,我爱河流,我们拥有的传统食物,我爱人们以及我们社区的团结。我对这次奖学金感到兴奋,因为有机会结识与我有相似兴趣的人,在我自己的旅程中学习和成长,同时获得可添加到我的工具箱中的技能。我们国家的风景、我的人民和其他人被边缘化的经历、对公平教育的希望、历史创伤和康复是我从事社会正义工作的众多原因之一。我喜欢和我的两个很棒的孩子共度时光,旅行、远足、家庭聚餐、阅读 烹饪。”

罗西·瓦尔多维诺-托雷斯 – 马德拉斯,杰斐逊县

Rossy 提前一年从高中毕业,一年完成了两年,现在就读于俄勒冈州中部社区学院。当 ROP 工作人员访问马德拉斯时,她帮助创办了当地的人类尊严小组,她是杰斐逊县青少年图书俱乐部的一员,她在图书馆做志愿者。她是 DACA 接受者。

“我喜欢住在马德拉斯的许多事情之一是,每个人似乎都认识我们社区的大多数成员。俄勒冈州中部的所有冒险景色绝对令人叹为观止。我很高兴能成为这样一支伟大团队的一员。我很高兴能学到很多技能并结识这么多伟大的人。但最重要的是,我很高兴能利用我从奖学金中获得的知识来帮助我的社区和生活在其中的人们。很多事情都激励我去做社会正义工作,从被父母抚养长大到走出去,发现我们所生活的社会的不平等。父母养育我的道德激励我站起来不只为我自己,但为那些害怕的人。作为社会的一员并意识到我们世界中的一切都是错误的,这让我想要为每个人的公正和平等而战。我喜欢参加杰斐逊县青少年读书俱乐部的会议和读书。我喜欢去外面的世界探索和冒险。”

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Meet the Rural Organizing Fellows!

We are excited to introduce you to our Rural Organizing Fellows! They will begin their work with us in October, joining ROP leaders, member groups, and allies at the final event of the Sheridan to NORCOR: journey to demand an end to detention and deportation on Saturday, October 6th in The Dalles. We hope they’ll meet many of you there!

Rural Organizing Fellows

Sahla Denton– Cottage Grove, Lane County

Sahla is active with Cottage Grove Community United and has been active in organizing against white supremacy and canvassing local businesses for support.

“My favorite things here in Cottage Grove are my job at the library and our family friends. I’m excited to learn from and meet new people during the fellowship. My family history and current events inspire me to be involved in social justice. In my free time, I like to journal, read sci-fi books, and watch movies with my sister.”

Brenda Flores – Stanfield, Umatilla County

Brenda has lived in Stanfield all of her life except for the four years she spent getting her degree at Western Oregon University in Monmouth. She is a first generation college graduate and was involved in MEChA and CAUSA and Unidos at WOU.  She wants to bring the lessons she learned about organizing in Monmouth to her hometown.

“Some things I like about Stanfield are that it’s a small town so no dealing with traffic and I have my friends and family close. I’m excited to meet new people and to be able to grow as a leader and activist! I’m also excited to bring more awareness in this area. My family has always inspired me to do social justice work. When I’m not working I like to spend time with my family, watch Hulu, and go out to eat with my boyfriend.”

Gabriela Garcia – Hood River, Hood River County 

Gabriela has lived in Hood River for 18 years and has worked as a DACA (Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals) project coordinator with CAPACES Leadership Institute advocating for DREAMers in the gorge community. She is a DACA recipient and she plans to stay in the community and continue to build connections with undocumented youth and other immigrants.

“I love my community and all the wonderful people that are a part of it. I’m excited to meet more people that are passionate about social justice and helping their community and learning new skills along the way and learning more about myself. I believe what inspires me to do social justice is my own community and family. They are what make me thrive. The things I enjoy in my free time are heading to the river with my five-year-old and enjoying the sun – also spending time with my family and younger brothers.”

Maria Mejia-Botero – Culver, Jefferson County  

Maria is finishing her final year of high school and her first year of college at Central Oregon Community College this year. She works part-time as a lifeguard and is active with the Let’s Talk Diversity Coalition. She’s a co-founder of the Gender and Sexuality Alliance (GSA) at Culver High School and during her junior year, she organized a Walk-Out for School Safety. She is a DACA recipient.

“I’ve been living in Culver (population: 1,000) in Jefferson County for almost 12 years. I love how we frequently get stunning sunsets over the Cascade Mountains and how the sky is large with millions of stars. Culver is unique for having a large Latinx community despite its small population. I’m excited to be a part of the Fell owship because it’s a unique chance for me to carry out a project I’ll be passionate about with the support of a larger network of amazing people that will help me see it through. For one, I come from a family of immigran ts, and have personally seen that although this country is full of opportunities, not everybody has an equal access to opportunities. Socioeconomic status, access to resources, education, cultural background, ability, citi zenship, race, gender, sexual orientation, and more all affect what kinds of opportunities for success and quality of life are available to a person. I see it in my town, I see it in my family, and I see how it affects me. The one thing I CAN do is use my own privileges and resources to open up more opportunities for others. I LOVE stargazing while on the hammock on my patio cuddled in at least 3 different blankets. I also spend a lot of time laughing at memes and cat videos on Tumblr.”

Juan Navarro – Corvallis, Benton County  

Juan grew up in Stayton in Marion County, is a DACA recipient and is the first in his family to graduate from high school and obtain a university degree.  He is a graduate of Western Oregon University in Monmouth where he helped organize a student-community coalition to get the city council to pass a welcoming resolution and is now a graduate student at OSU and helping a student-led effort to start a Dreamers Resource Center on the campus.

“I currently live in Corvallis, Oregon. One of things that I love is the calmness that this city provides. I am excited about improving my organizing skills and looking forward to bonding with the other fellows. I believe that everyone deserves to be treated with the respect and dignity that we ourselves expect. This inspires me to do my part in making this dream into a reality. I love to dance some Salsa and Bachata. I love a good hike and I’m very into poetry.”

Courtney Neubauer – Klamath Falls, Klamath County  

Courtney grew up in Klamath Falls and graduated from Willamette University.  In high school she volunteered at the Klamath Crisis Center and while at Willamette she was director of Students for Feminism and a member of the Queer Student Union. In Seattle, she worked for two years on a campaign to bring long-term care funding to Washington State and she traveled across the state giving presentations, meeting with local leaders and activists, and running social media campaigns. She is excited about returning home to rural Oregon and organizing in her hometown.

“Klamath Falls is full of so much history and natural beauty. It’s also on the cusp of so many innovations including the Blue Zones project, the Klamath Tribes’ fight to save the sucker fish, Sky Lakes’ new Collaborative Health Center, and playing host to Oregon Tech’s ‘Girls got STEM’ program. I’m so excited to learn from and listen to both the other fellows and the Klamath community. I ground my social justice work in relationships, and I’m motivated when I meet new people who challenge my way of thinking. I’m inspired by learning new ways of doing things, and the insight that comes from an open ear. I love to hike with my dog, garden, bake bread, and play with design technology. I’m passionate about following the news and am working to educate myself on international politics!”

Briana Spencer – Pendleton, Umatilla County  

Briana is a member of the Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla and has lived on the reservation most of her life. She is an IT specialist for the tribe and she also works as a waitress. She has been deeply involved in tribal activities and learning about her own culture and tribal governance.

“I live in Pendleton and I love the community. I’ve seen the community pull through numerous times to assist local businesses, causes, and people.  I’m excited to bring new ideas back to my community and hopefully make a change. My mother inspires me. She’s been involved since before I was born and seeing her in action is inspiration itself.  I love to hang out with my cat and 2 dogs.”

Zachary Stocks – Astoria, Clatsop County  

Zachary grew up in Virginia and moved to Astoria from Seattle. His career is in museum education a nd programming and he is excited about finding ways to promote social justice through the arts and cultural organizations and build on ROPs work to connect local libraries and museums to organizing throughout Oregon.

“Astoria is a town I love for its history and natural beauty, and its friendly, hard-working people. I’m ready to create meaningful opportunities for rural Oregonians to come together, exercise their democracy, and work together to promote justice in their communities. I’m inspired by unwavering faith in the United States and my compassion for all people. My favorite things are road trips, good books, spending time with my partner Ginger, and our cat.”

Jaylyn Suppah – Warm Springs, Jefferson County

Jaylyn is a member of the Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs and works there as a community planner. She is also an elected member of the Education Committee of the Tribe.  She has been involved in community organizing and leadership activities in Warm Springs since she was a teenager and wants to put her energy into programs to develop more young leaders in her community.

“I live on the Warm Springs Reservation. I love the culture and tradition of our community, I love the rivers, the traditional foods we have, I love the people and how our community comes together. I am excited about this fellowship because of the opportunity to meet others with similar interests as me, to learn and grow in my own journey while gaining skills to add to my toolbox. The landscape of our country, the experiences of my people and others being marginalized, the hope for equitable education, historical trauma and healing are some of the many reasons I do social justice work. I enjoy spending time with my two awesome kiddos, traveling, hiking, having family dinners, reading and cooking.”

Rossy Valdovino-Torres – Madras, Jefferson County

Rossy graduated from high school a year early by finishing two years in one and is now enrolled in Central Oregon Community College.  She helped start the local Human Dignity Group when ROP staff visited Madras and she’s part of the Jefferson County Teen Book Club and she volunteers at the library.  She is a DACA recipient.

“One of the many things that I love about living in Madras is that everybody seems to know most of the members of our community. Central Oregon is absolutely breathtaking with all of its adventurous views. I am so excited to be part of such a great team. I am excited to learn many skills and get to know so many great humans. But most importantly, I am excited to use the knowledge I gain from the fellowship to help my community and the people living within it. So many things have inspired me to do social justice work, from being raised by my parents to being out in the world and discovering the inequity of the society we live in. The morals that my parents raised me to have inspired me to stand up not only for myself but for the people who are scared to. Being a member of society and realizing everything wrong within our worlds, makes me want to fight for what is just and equal for everybody. I love to attend the Jefferson County Teen Book Club meetings and reading books. I love to go exploring places and adventuring in the outside world.”

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English