اجعل كل يوم احتجاجًا

"لأنه لم تكن هناك حرب مطولة استفاد منها بلد ما…. الحرب كالنار. أولئك الذين لن يضعوا الأسلحة جانبا هم أنفسهم يستهلكون من قبلهم ".

هكذا كتب صن تزو من الصين في القرن الثالث قبل الميلاد.

بدأت المرحلة الحالية من الحرب الأمريكية في أفغانستان قبل عشر سنوات. الغزو الأمريكي  واحتلال العراق تسع سنوات. في هذه المرحلة ، لا يمكن وصف المعاناة الإنسانية التي تفرضها هذه الصراعات ، ربما باستثناء ، من قبل الآباء ، مثل الأفغان الذين فقدوا أطفالهم البالغون من العمر عشر سنوات في غارة لحلف شمال الأطلسي الأسبوع الماضي. أو من قبل أقارب مجندين للشرطة العراقية قضوا في تفجير انتحاري هذا الأسبوع.

أن هذه الأنواع من الأحداث قد غرقت إلى ما دون مستوى الوعي اليومي في الولايات المتحدة يجب أن تجعل شعرنا يقف عند النهاية. لا شيء جيد يمكن أن يخرج من هذا النوع من المرض الأخلاقي. إنه يشرح المعاملة التي تقدمها حكومة الولايات المتحدة لشهودنا النبويين ، مثل PFC Bradley Manning. مانينغ محتجز الآن في الحبس الانفرادي في العميد في كوانتيكو فيرجينيا لارتكابه جريمة كشف جريمة - مقطع فيديو سري لسفينة حربية مروحية أمريكية وهي تقضي على مدنيين غير مسلحين في بغداد.

قد لا ننظر إلى الأمر ، لكن الحرب تسير إلى جانبنا هنا في الوطن. اسأل طبيب بيطري. أو اسأل الأشخاص الذين تسرحهم ولاية ويسكونسن ، وجميع الولايات الأخرى التي تفرض تدابير تقشف. يصل العجز الإجمالي لجميع الولايات إلى حوالي $120 مليار هذا العام. تكلفة الحرب الأفغانية - 1T2T100 مليار هذا العام.  لكن انتظر ، كما يقولون على التلفزيون ، هناك المزيد!

يجب على الجميع قراءة مقال كريس هيلمان: "$1.2 تريليون: شخصية الأمن القومي لا أحد يريدك أن تراه." http://www.commondreams.org/مشاهدة / 2011/03 / 01-7

عند الإنفاق السنوي  حول ما يسمى "الأمن القومي"  يصل إلى مستوى 1.2 تريليون دولار ، وكان منذ عقود - نحن نتحدث عن اقتصاد كامل يعتمد على الحرب ويشوهها.  تعد شركة جنرال إلكتريك ، التي يقدم رئيسها التنفيذي السابق الآن المشورة للرئيس بشأن "الوظائف" ، المستفيد الأول من هذا الإنفاق. هل تساءلت يومًا لماذا قرر الناس أن إنتاج الكهرباء عن طريق غليان الماء في محطات الطاقة النووية مثل مفاعل جنرال إلكتريك الذي يذوب حاليًا في اليابان فكرة جيدة؟

"الحرب كالنار ، أولئك الذين لن يضعوا السلاح جانبا هم أنفسهم يلتهمون."

جعل كل يوم احتجاجا.

- بقلم مايك إيديرا ، صديق شرطة عمان السلطانية منذ فترة طويلة

سهل الطباعة، PDF والبريد الإلكتروني
العربية

Make Every Day a Protest

“For there has never been a protracted war from which a country has benefited.…. War is like unto a fire; those who will not put aside weapons are themselves consumed by them”.

So wrote Sun Tzu from China in the third century BCE.

The current stage of the US war in Afghanistan began ten years ago. The US invasion  and occupation of Iraq is nine years old. At this point, the human suffering imposed by these conflicts cannot be described, except, perhaps, by parents, such as the Afghans who lost their ten year old children to a NATO raid last week. Or by the relatives of the Iraqi police recruits wiped out in a suicide bombing this week.

That these types of events have sunk below the level of every day consciousness in the USA should make our hair stand on end. Nothing good can come out of that type of moral sickness. It explains the treatment that the US government is handing out to our own prophetic witnesses, such as PFC Bradley Manning. Manning is right now being held in solitary confinement at the brig in Quantico VA for the crime of exposing a crime – the classified video of a US helicopter gun ship wiping out unarmed civilians in Baghdad.

We might not be looking at it, but the war walks beside us here at home. Ask a vet. Or ask the people being laid off by the state of Wisconsin, and all the other states imposing austerity measures . The total shortfall of all the states comes to about $120 billion this year. The cost of the Afghan war – $100 billion this year.  But wait, as they say on TV, there’s more!

Everyone should read this article by Chris Hellman: “$1.2 Trillion: The National Security Figure No One Wants You to See.” http://www.commondreams.org/view/2011/03/01-7

When annual spending  on so-called ‘national security’  reaches the 1.2 trillion dollar level, and has been for decades – we are talking about an entire economy dependent on, and warped by war.  General Electric, whose former CEO now advises the President on ‘Jobs’, is a prime beneficiary of this spending. Ever wonder why people decided it was a good idea to make electricity by boiling water in nuclear power plants such as the GE reactor currently melting down in Japan?

“War is like unto a fire, those who will not put aside weapons are themselves consumed by them.”

Make every day a protest.

– Written by ROP’s Longtime Friend, Mike Edera

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English