马德拉斯钥匙俱乐部为 900 名青年服务

这个 ROPnet 是一个特殊的功能!继续阅读杰斐逊县人类尊严组织 Madras Key Club 的更新,该组织由 ROP 的暑期实习生 Erika Olivera 撰写!

Madras Key Club 组织了 Jefferson County Fair 有史以来第一个免费且具有文化包容性的工艺展台,在 4 天内为 900 名儿童提供服务!

通过埃里卡奥利维拉

杰斐逊县的许多孩子都是低收入者,马德拉斯钥匙俱乐部想要做一些事情来确保县集市上的每个孩子都能把东西带回家。提供免费儿童工艺品以在杰斐逊县为所有人创造包容文化的愿景被曝光并变为现实。如果没有免费的儿童工艺品摊位,很多孩子会在没有特别纪念品的情况下回家。在 2022 年杰斐逊县集市期间,一名敬业的顾问、两名大学生和五名高中 Key Club 组织者能够在四天内为 900 多名儿童提供服务。 

马德拉斯钥匙俱乐部不仅仅是马德拉斯高中的一个社区服务俱乐部。这是一个多元文化的团体,希望确保每个孩子都感到受到欢迎并被纳入杰斐逊县集市。 多年来,该俱乐部一直致力于通过组织社区范围内的文化庆祝活动和“鲁道夫行动”来增加免费、具有文化包容性的乐趣,鲁道夫行动是一项向可能没有礼物的当地孩子赠送圣诞礼物的计划。 

儿童和成人聚集在一个白色帐篷前,上面挂着“免费儿童工艺品”的横幅

Madras Key Club 的愿景是在杰斐逊县博览会上举办免费的儿童手工艺品日,因为他们认为需要为孩子们提供负担得起的活动,因为博览会上的所有其他活动都需要花钱参加。杰斐逊县的许多孩子长大了具有低收入状态,并且由于缺钱而并不总是有特权去参加狂欢节和玩游戏。 Key Club 希望今年对孩子们来说不一样,所以他们提出了让孩子们免费制作工艺品的想法。 Key Club 展位包括为期四天的免费工艺品,供杰斐逊县的孩子们在杰斐逊县集市期间参与。我们作为 Key Club 的使命是提供免费的儿童工艺品,为所有人创造一种包容的文化。

对于想要在社区开展积极的社区建设活动的俱乐部和组织来说,资金始终是最大的障碍。 Key Club 能够获得资金为 900 多名儿童提供各种艺术和手工艺活动的一种方式是申请由杰斐逊县公平委员会提供的赠款。 Kim Schmith 是公平委员会的成员,他了解到,运营这些游乐设施和游戏的人正在为他们的服务支付数百美元。了解到这一点后,Key Club 认为这是公平的——不是双关语——为免费的儿童工艺品摊位筹集资金,这将使数百名孩子有机会从展览会上带回家一件特殊物品,并有机会参与美术和工艺。 Kim 还认为这是一个让父母从忙碌中解脱出来的机会,可以在孩子们做手工的时候购买食物。这不仅有利于孩子们,也有利于展会上的供应商和其他企业。这是一个坚如磐石的计划,因为这是一个双赢的局面。该县的所有孩子都可以使用儿童工艺品摊位,而父母则可以休息一下,吃点东西,看看其他摊位,这将为展会带来更多业务。 在听取了这个建议后,展会委员会同意购买所有的物资,大约 $2,000 给 Key Club 举办如此有影响力和有趣的活动!

一旦她能够筹集到足够的资金来举办这样一个大型活动,她就开始寻找可以帮助领导展位的当地领导人,因为她在展会期间忙于处理其他事情。她知道自己无法独自完成这样的活动,因此她寻求了两名当地 Key Club 校友的帮助,他们也恰好是知名的社区领袖。 Kim 联系了我的妹妹 Kelsey 和我,他们都是暑假在家的大学生,并要求我们帮助促进这次活动。我们之前有过与 Key Club 文化青年日的青年合作的经验。这使我们现在能够领导和指导年轻的主要俱乐部成员。指导年轻的主要俱乐部成员包括教他们如何正确地进行活动,以便他们能够舒适地教孩子们。以及支持他们与将参加展会的孩子和家庭进行良好的互动。高中主要俱乐部成员不仅能够处理 900 名孩子的愤怒,而且他们对每个人都彬彬有礼,无论他们的种族或民族如何,进一步在杰斐逊县创造了一种包容的文化。 

我们知道杰斐逊县有许多不同的文化。 Key Club 希望通过提供各种文化工艺品供孩子们参与,确保我们县的所有民族社区都有代表。例如,孩子们有机会制作一种拉丁工艺的马拉卡斯。作为在杰斐逊县长大的拉丁裔,我逐渐认识到我们拥有不同文化的多元化人口。我姐姐和我认为与我们社区中可能也有相似背景的孩子们分享这门手艺是个好主意。我们还有一个按钮制造商,孩子们可以选择他们认为代表他们文化的旗帜。主要俱乐部成员选择了一些旗帜,包括来自美国、墨西哥、秘鲁、萨尔瓦多和中国的旗帜。我们认为这些旗帜代表了我们社区中的不同种族。 通过将这些简单而重要的文化工艺品潜入我们的各种活动中,我们能够帮助孩子和家庭感受到他们是谁,从而在一个巨大的分歧时代创造更多的包容性。 

成人和三个孩子在外面的树下,在桌子旁做手工艺品

你会认为服务 900 个孩子的影响本身就是一项伟大的成就,但影响远不止于此。 Kim 分享了一个她认为真正为所有人创造了更具包容性的杰斐逊县的时刻。她说:“Erika 和 Kelsey 可以处理社区中的文化差异。没有多少人能应付,更不用说我们的年轻人了。我相信为所有人创造了一个更具包容性的环境的时刻是,一位拉丁父母或监护人一开始会带着他们的孩子害羞地来到我们的展位,但在受到微笑和他们熟悉的语言的欢迎后,当 Erika 时,你可以看到他们的脸亮了,凯尔西或其他重要的俱乐部成员会用西班牙语与他们交谈。这就是他们在社区中的工作如此特别的原因。”我们必须让更多的拉丁裔年轻人在他们的社区中从事这样的项目,因为他们与存在这些多元文化的县的拉丁裔社区有着特殊的联系。

四个青年站在白色帐篷下的工艺桌旁,制作艺术项目

无论年龄多大或经验水平如何,任何人都可以成为组织者。在五名高中 Key Club 志愿者的帮助下,一名敬业的顾问和两名大学生能够在四天内为 900 多名儿童提供服务。 在您的社区组织活动时,您有什么想法?作为顾问,你能做什么?您想组织活动但没有资金吗? 首先寻找提供资助以支付您的活动费用的组织,例如公平委员会、Kiwanis 俱乐部、扶轮社等等。您的下一步将是制定计划和建议,向这些基于社区建设的团体展示。 Key Club 的使命是确保他们的社区正在开展对每个人都具有包容性的活动。你在做什么,或者你会做什么来确保你的社区发生同样的事情?联系 ROP 在 艾玛@rop.org 让我们知道或支持开始!

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Madras Key Club Serves 900 Youth

This ROPnet is a special feature! Read on for an update from Jefferson County human dignity group, Madras Key Club, written by Erika Olivera, ROP’s summer intern!

Madras Key Club Organizes Jefferson County Fair’s First Ever Free and Culturally Inclusive Craft Booth, Serving 900 Kids in 4 Days!

By Erika Olivera

Many kids in Jefferson County are low-income and the Madras Key Club wanted to do something to make sure that every kid at the county fair was able to take something home. A vision to offer free kids’ crafts to create a culture of inclusivity for all in Jefferson County was brought to light and turned into a reality. Without the free kid’s crafts booth, there would have been many kids who would go home with no special memento from the fair. One devoted advisor, two college students, and five high school Key Club organizers were able to serve over 900 kids in four days during the 2022 Jefferson County Fair. 

The Madras Key Club is more than a community service club at Madras High School; it’s a multicultural group that wanted to make sure every kid felt welcomed and included in the Jefferson County fair. The club has been working on increasing free, culturally inclusive fun for years through organizing community-wide cultural celebrations and Operation Rudolph which is a program that gives Christmas gifts to local kids who may have gone without one. 

Children and adults gathered outside in front of a White tent with banner "free kid's crafts"

Madras Key Club had a vision for a free kids’ crafts day at the Jefferson County Fair as they saw a need for an affordable event for kids since all the other activities at the fair cost money to participate in. Many children in Jefferson County grow up with low-income status and are not always posed with the privilege to go on the carnival rides and play the games due to lack of money. Key Club wanted this year to be different for the kids so they proposed the idea of having free kids crafts. The Key Club fair booth consisted of four days of free arts and crafts for kids in Jefferson County to engage in during the Jefferson County fair. Our mission as Key Club was to offer free kids crafts to create a culture of inclusivity for all.

Funding is always the biggest barrier for clubs and organizations who want to do positive community-building events in their community. One way that Key Club was able to get funding to provide over 900 kids with various arts and crafts activities was by applying for a grant that was presented by the Jefferson County Fair Board. Kim Schmith, who is on the fair board, learned that people who operate the rides and the games were being paid hundreds of dollars for their service. Learning that, Key Club thought it was only fair–no pun intended–to ask for funds for a free kids craft booth that would give hundreds of kids a chance to take a special item home from the fair as well as the opportunity to engage in arts and crafts. Kim also saw it as an opportunity for parents to take a break from the hecticness and be able to buy food while their kids did a craft. This would not only benefit the kids but also the vendors and other businesses at the fair. This was a rock-solid plan because it was a win-win situation. All of the kids in the county would have access to the kids’ crafts booth while parents got to take a break and grab a bite and check out the other booths which would bring more business to the fair. After hearing this proposal the fair board agreed to buy all of the supplies which was about $2,000 for Key Club to put on such an impactful and fun event!

Once she was able to solidify the proper amount of funds to be able to put on such a big event she was on the hunt for local leaders who could help lead the booth as she was busy tending to other things during the fair. She knew she could not pull such an event off all by herself, so she sought out the help of two local Key Club alumni who also happen to be well-recognized community leaders. Kim reached out to my sister Kelsey and me who are both college students at home for the summer and asked us to help facilitate this event. We had prior experience working with youth from Key Club cultural youth days. Which led us to be able to now lead and mentor younger key clubbers. Mentoring the younger key clubbers consisted of teaching them how to properly do the activities so that they were comfortable enough to be able to teach the kids. As well as supporting them to interact well with the kids and families who would be at the fair. Not only were the high school key clubbers able to handle the wrath of 900 kids, but they were also polite to everyone no matter their race or ethnicity further creating a culture of inclusivity in Jefferson County. 

We understand that there are many diverse cultures in Jefferson County. Key Club wanted to make sure that all of the ethnic communities in our county were represented by offering various cultural crafts for the kids to engage in. For example, the kids had an opportunity to make maracas which is a Latin craft. As a Latina growing up in Jefferson county I have grown to recognize that we have a diverse population of different cultures. My sister and I thought it would be a great idea to share this craft with the kids in our community who may also have a similar background. We also had a button maker that the kids had the option to choose a flag that they thought represented their culture. The key clubbers chose a few flags including from the US, Mexico, Peru, El Salvador, and China. We thought these flags represented the diverse ethnicities in our community. By sneaking these simple yet vital cultural crafts into our various activities we were able to help kids and families feel seen for who they are thus creating even more inclusivity in a time of great divide. 

Adult and three children outside under a tree doing crafts at a table

You would think that the impact of serving 900 kids was a great accomplishment in itself, however, the impact was greater than that. Kim shares a moment that she believes truly created a more inclusive Jefferson County for all. She said, “Erika and Kelsey can handle the cultural differences in the community. Which not many people let alone our youth can handle. One moment I believe created a more inclusive environment for all was when a latine parent or guardian would come to our booth with their kids shy at first but after being greeted with a smile and their familiar language you could see their faces light up when Erika, Kelsey or another key clubber would speak to them in Spanish. This is what makes their work in the community so special.” We must empower more young latines to pursue projects like this in their community because they have a special connection with the latine community in counties where these diverse cultures are present.

Four youth standing at a craft table under a white tent making art projects

No matter how old or the level of experience, anyone can be an organizer. One devoted advisor and two college students with the help of five high school Key Club volunteers were able to serve over 900 kids in four days. What ideas do you have when it comes to organizing an event in your community? What can you do as an advisor? Do you want to organize an event but don’t have the funding for it? Start by searching for organizations that offer grants to be able to pay the costs for your event, such as fair boards, Kiwanis Club, Rotary Club, and many more. Your next move would be to make a plan and proposal to present to these community-building-based groups. Key Club made it their mission to make sure their community is doing events that are inclusive for everyone. What are you doing, or what will you do to make sure the same is happening in your community? Reach out to ROP at emma@rop.org to let us know or for support in getting started!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English