提升您的战略沟通技巧!

您是否注意到我们的 ROPnet 通常以社区的价值观或积极愿景开始?您是否曾经浏览过今天第 15 次告诉您世界正在分崩离析的电子邮件提醒和群发短信? 

在短短四个星期内,农村核心小组和战略会议将在伍德伯恩举行(4 月 6 日星期六),我们希望您的团队出席! 今天注册 请继续阅读有关今年您可以参加核心小组的沟通培训的更多详细信息。看看我们的 常见问题页面 有关注册费用、奖学金、COVID-19 安全、无障碍等信息!

连续第二年与 ROP 的老朋友、杰出的沟通大师罗伯特·布雷 (Robert Bray) 一起参加基于价值观的消息传递培训和发言人技能研讨会! Robert 曾担任许多运动组织的传播总监,包括 90 年代的全国同性恋工作组,这也是他认识 ROP 和我们已故创始人 Marcy Westerling 的原因。

您将在下面找到有关他去年的最后一次核心小组培训对整个俄勒冈州产生的影响的故事。你可以 在 SoundCloud 上聆听这些故事 (仅提供英文版本),或阅读下面的完整文字记录!

萨拉赫·米勒(他/他们),停止扫荡,本顿县:

“过去三年来,我一直参与互助和住房正义政策……所以我有这些经验(支持无家可归的成员在被迫搬迁中幸存下来),但在一年左右的时间里,我真的很难在市议会的证词中分享这些经验。市议会正在听取我的意见,但他们并没有在每次我作证时都在听。我让自己变得如此讨人喜欢,以至于他们不再认真对待这个问题。 

现在, 我用那股火焰以简洁、理解和热情的方式说话。所以每次城市管理者总是有一些他觉得必须回应的事情。 

在科瓦利斯,阻止扫荡的呼声越来越高。和 我想如果我们有更多的人以同样的热情和热情说话 为了住房正义,希望你能在这次培训中学到东西,并跟随我的脚步 我们将势不可挡!”

在这里聆听萨拉赫在我们秋季训练系列中的完整感言。

芬恩·富兰克林(他/他们),我确认联盟,约瑟芬县

“几年前的一天,我们发现我们家的一位前朋友在一个中心社区群组的 Facebook 上发布了一篇又长又响亮的帖子。这是我们获得大量本地新闻的地方。这篇文章非常直接地攻击我的父母,指责他们强迫我成为变性人,并指责他们猥亵我,这些都是非常可怕的指控。起初,大家的反应非常震惊。然后社区中有些人会想,等等,如果他是对的怎么办?很多人积极揭穿这些信息,并以非常公开的方式积极为我的家人说话。几年后的现在,这种情况根本不再出现,因为有真正有效的回应,很多人清楚而强烈地讲述了真相。

我认为关于消息传递和组织的最重要的事情之一是让你有能力为你生活中的人们做出改变......当你积极地与错误信息作斗争时,你不仅在那一刻做了一些好事,你还在帮助防止可怕的虐待雪球继续滚动,这非常有价值......

当你说,‘我不知道该怎么办。我不知道该去哪里。你可以培养自己的这种技能,学习和倾听,当它发生时,你就可以走了,”现在我知道当人们这么说时该说什么。’”

在这里聆听芬恩对我们秋季训练系列的完整感言。

安东尼奥·吉斯伯特(Antonio Gisbert)(他/他),俄勒冈州人民回扣,全州:

“我个人主要从事经济正义工作,几个月前,我在 ROP 核心小组参加了 Robert 的 VPSA [价值观、问题、解决方案、行动] 培训。接下来的一周,我有一个非常重要的演示,在准备它的同时,我对自己说,好吧,我为什么不停止我多年来一直在做的事情,并使用基于价值观的消息从头开始呢?

为什么不?可能会出现什么问题?我也这么做了。而且,你知道,我非常感谢我所做的,因为它进展得非常顺利,每次我使用基于价值观的消息传递时,它似乎都变得越来越好。

老实说,现在,每当我向一群人做演讲时,比如说,他们给我20分钟的发言时间,我大约用15分钟来谈论我们的价值观,而这20分钟中的最后五分钟是实际的政策细节。

我们的价值观驱使我们寻求对世界和社会进行我们希望看到的改变,对吧? 当价值观驱动时,政策细节是显而易见的,并且很自然地从我们的价值观中流出.”

在这里聆听安东尼奥对我们秋季训练系列的全部感言。

简体中文

Level Up Your Strategic Communications Skills!

Have you noticed that our ROPnets often start with values or a positive vision for our communities? Do you ever scroll past email alerts and mass texts telling you for the 15th time today that the world is falling apart? 

In just four weeks, the Rural Caucus and Strategy Session is happening in Woodburn (Saturday, April 6th), and we want your team there! Register today and read on for more details on the communications trainings you can be part of at the Caucus this year. Check out our Frequently Asked Questions page for information on registration costs, scholarships, COVID-19 safety, accessibility, and more!

Join ROP’s long-time friend and progressive communications extraordinaire Robert Bray for a values-based messaging training and a spokesperson skills workshop for the second year in a row! Robert has worked as the Director of Communications for many movement organizations, including the National Gay and Lesbian Task Force in the 90s, which is how he got to know ROP and our late founder, Marcy Westerling.

Below you will find stories of the impact that his last Caucus trainings had across Oregon in the past year. You can listen to these stories on SoundCloud (only available in English), or read the full transcripts below!

Salah Miller (he/they), Stop the Sweeps, Benton County:

“I’ve been involved in mutual aid and housing justice policy for the past three years… So I have these experiences [of supporting unhoused members survive forced removal], but I really struggled sharing them in city council testimony for a year or so. The city council was hearing me, but they weren’t listening every time I gave testimony.I had made myself so palatable in a way that they weren’t taking the issue seriously anymore. 

Now, I’m using that fire to speak succinctly and with understanding and passion. And so every time the city manager always has something he feels he has to respond to. 

The push to stop the sweeps is growing in Corvallis. And I think if we have more folks speaking with that same passion and fire for housing justice that hopefully you’ll learn at this training [at the Caucus] and follow my footsteps that we will be unstoppable!”

Listen to Salah’s entire testimonial from our fall training series here.

Finn Franklin (he/they), I Affirm Coalition, Josephine County

“One day [a few years back] we found out that a former friend of our family made a very long and loud Facebook post on a central community group. That is where we got a lot of local news from. And this post was very directly attacking my parents and accusing them of forcing me to be transgender and accusing them of molesting me and just really terrible accusations. At first, the response was a lot of shock. And then there were some people in the community who are like, wait, what if he’s right? And it took a lot of people actively debunking that information and actively speaking for my family in a very public way. And now a couple of years later, that doesn’t come up at all because there was that really effective response where a lot of people spoke clearly and strongly about the truth.

One of the most vital things I think around messaging and organizing is giving you the agency to make changes for people in your life…When you actively fight misinformation, you’re not only doing something good in that moment, you’re helping prevent a terrible snowball of mistreatment from continuing rolling, and that’s really valuable…

When you’re like, ‘I don’t know what to do. I don’t know where to go.’ You can just foster that skill in yourself and learn and listen and when it does happen, you go, ‘Now I know what to say when people say this.’”

Listen to Finn’s entire testimonial from our fall training series here.

Antonio Gisbert (he/him), Oregon People’s Rebate, Statewide:

“I personally do economic justice work mostly, and a few months ago, I participated in Robert’s VPSA [Values, Problem, Solution, Action] training at the ROP caucus. The following week, I had a really important presentation, and while preparing for it, I said to myself, well, why don’t I just like stop what I’ve been doing for years and start from scratch using values-based messaging?

Why not? What could possibly go wrong? And so I did. And, you know, I am super thankful that I did because it went extremely well, and every time that I use values-based messaging, it sort of seems to get better and better.

Honestly, now, whenever I present to a group, say, they give me 20 minutes to speak, I’m talking about our values for about 15 minutes, and just the last five minutes of the 20 minutes is the actual policy details.

Our values are what drive us to seek to make the change in the world and society that we want to see, right? And when the values drive, the policy details are sort of obvious and just kind of flow out of our values just very naturally.”

Listen to Antonio’s entire testimonial from our fall training series here.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English