30 年右翼斗争的教训

ROP 最近对我们的建筑物和员工经历了新一轮骚扰和威胁,我们认为这与反对我们为俄勒冈州农村地区所有人建立公平和热情社区的目标的右翼分子有关。值得庆幸的是,在我们在 Cottage Grove 出色的支持者表现出强烈的声援之后,最近几周这种骚扰有所缓解,但我们知道,俄勒冈州网络的其他成员仍然面临威胁和恐吓。本周早些时候,我们发送了一个 ROPnet 关于最近的骄傲男孩活动 在南莱恩县和共享 罗伯特·利奥·海尔曼 (Robert Leo Heilman) 关于破坏道格拉斯县家的文章 在他发表专栏批评那些将 COVID-19 限制视为“暴政”的言论之后。

虽然像这样的时刻可能令人恐惧,但我们发现这不是第一次 ROP 和全州勇敢的人类尊严团体对抗极右翼、白人至上主义和/或法西斯主义表演并赢得胜利。力量。 2016 年,哈尼县和格兰特县的 ROP 朋友以及全州的盟友联合起来 谴责民兵团体对我们民主机构的攻击. 2010 年,ROP 与 John Day 的合作伙伴合作组织了“不在我们镇上”的会议,成功阻止了雅利安民族在他们的社区建立培训中心。今天,我们将更深入地研究我们的档案,为您带来 ROP 30 年右翼斗争历史早期的三个故事。我们希望这些例子能激励你,就像他们有我们一样,想象在你的生活和你的社区中进行战斗的新方式。

了解过去 → 预测未来

1994 年,也就是武装民兵接管 Malheur 国家野生动物保护区,要求释放因在联邦土地上纵火而被捕的哈蒙德家族的两名成员的 22 年前,ROP 的创始人 Marcy Westerling 发送了一份报纸广告的副本,要求“公民权利集会”在哈尼县与当时在西部国家中心工作的塔索·拉莫斯 (Tarso Ramos) 见面。这次集会的特色是美国土地权利协会的一位发言人对哈蒙德夫妇拒绝遵守保护避难所的规定表示支持。马西写道:“塔尔索——我们最大的县有 500 人参加,而在超过 10,000 平方英里的地区只有 7000 人。接下来是民兵。小心。” 2016 年,在 Malheur 占领期间,伯恩斯社区的许多成员受到前来镇上支持对联邦当局的袭击的民兵成员的骚扰。虽然我们并不高兴 Marcy 关于哈尼县的政治条件已经成熟,可以被民兵组织利用这一事实是正确的,但这一事件说明了对极右翼组织的仔细和持续监控可以帮助我们防止被蒙蔽和无法当这些团体制定或威胁使用暴力来使我们的社区沉默时,做出有意义的回应。 

带有 Marcy Westerling 笔记的公民权利集会传单
1994 年 8 月 10 日在哈尼县举行的“公民权利集会”报纸广告的一部分,其中有 ROP 创始人 Marcy Westerling 的手写评论.
反击武器化的不诚实行为

社交媒体为那些通过将邻居作为替罪羊而将楔子推入社区来推进其政治目标的人提供了一种有效的新工具。但重要的是要记住,这些策略比 Twitter 或 Facebook 古老得多,虽然谎言可能会在真相大白之前传遍半个地球,但虚假信息仍然可以反击。反击虚假和虚假陈述是 ROP 成功反对俄勒冈公民联盟 (OCA) 在 1992 年和 1994 年提出的仇视同性恋投票措施的关键部分。

当 OCA 试图通过引发对酷儿“招募”并将同性恋与猥亵儿童联系起来的恐惧来争取对这些措施的支持时,有一天会成立 ROP 的团体进行了回击,拒绝放弃叙述。位于谢里登的西谷人权联盟与亚姆希尔人类多样性联盟合作,组织了一场名为“真实故事/虚假谎言”的活动,其中波尔克县和亚姆希尔县勇敢的男女同性恋居民与邻居分享了他们的传记.一位参与者安德利告诉当地报纸,人们“需要知道我们是谁,我们在哪里以及我们为什么在这里”,以对抗 OCA 兜售的可恶漫画。 Coos County Citizens for Human Dignity 赞助了 Douglas Hamill 的一次演讲,Douglas Hamill 是当地儿科医生和天主教修士,他提供了科学证据,反驳了虐待儿童与酷儿之间的联系,以及关于如何创造这个神话的历史背景。

回顾 2021 年的这些运动,很容易看出我们在媒体和政治生活中对同性恋者的描绘方面赢得了多少胜利。然而,我们也可以看到与当代对跨性别者权利的攻击的明显类比。今天,许多右翼人士错误地将跨性别青年描述为对他人的威胁(一种所谓的“危险”,过去常常用来证明 学校浴室账单) 和跨性别成人和盟友作为对可能“误入歧途”过渡的孩子的威胁(背后有缺陷的“推理” 禁止对未成年人进行性别肯定的照顾)。正如 OCA 在 1990 年代所做的那样,那些希望推翻 LGBTQIA+ 解放的人使用了道德恐慌的策略:散布关于酷儿伤害孩子的谎言,然后利用人们对孩子受到伤害的情绪反应来煽动恐惧和仇恨让选民剥夺酷儿权利。但正如 ROP 档案中的这个故事向我们展示的那样,有组织的农村社区可以用真实的故事来反驳虚假的谎言,并提醒那些可能容易受到恐惧散播的人,酷儿并不是什么可怕的怪物,而是他们自己的邻居、同事和朋友。

同性恋小组讨论传单
1994 年 9 月 27 日在波尔克县露天市场举办的“真实生活/虚假故事”活动传单
高中生与法西斯主义作斗争

在整个 1996 年和 1997 年,塞勒姆的白人至上主义团体公开招募斯普拉格高中的学生。然后,光头党学生将他们的意识形态以纳粹标志的形式带到学校,在校服上戴上纳粹标志,在走廊里高喊种族诽谤和白人至上主义口号,反犹太主义 针对住在附近的老师的传单. ROP 与学生 Pernita Duggal、Miriann Hernandez、Shellene Chambers 和 Hannah Castanette 合作,推动了一系列规划和教育会议,最终通过了一项由青年和社区领袖批准的学校问责计划。学生的要求包括对教师和行政人员进行白人至上主义运动的培训,让学生有机会在上课时间参加反种族主义讲习班和项目,以及保存关于斯普拉格光头党活动的文件以及学校为解决这个问题而采取的行动。在获得该计划的支持后,学生们将注意力转向提高更广泛的塞勒姆社区对发生在他们中间的种族主义威胁的认识。 ROP 人类尊严组织 Clergy and Laity Concerned 的 Michele Lefkowith,现在是莱恩县社区联盟,帮助学生们继续记录种族主义事件,学生们与 ROP 合作举办了以成长与预防 (GAP) 反种族主义为特色的学校活动种族主义剧团和关于安妮弗兰克生活的展览。

Sprague High 反种族主义会议记录
1996 年 6 月 12 日会议大纲摘录

可悲的是, 种族主义事件不是斯普拉格高中已经克服的问题,或在俄勒冈州的许多其他学校。最近几个月,ROP 工作人员为 Cottage Grove 的一名学生提供了支持,该学生在学校的“精神之石”上画了“黑人的命也是命”的口号,鼓励孩子们表达自己和对学校的愿景,因此在社交媒体上受到了仇恨。 ROP 支持过去和现在的学生应对种族主义和右翼骚扰,这说明了跨代际组织的重要性。许多 ROP 成员,包括我们的执行董事 Jess Campbell,从他们学生时代就参与了该网络,并且在俄勒冈社区建立关系和做出改变方面拥有数十年的经验。 ROP 寻求促进代际组织的一种方式是通过 我们的奖学金计划,它将全州的年轻人聚集在一起,与经验丰富的组织者一起制定战略、建立联系并共同成长。向过去学习并表彰前人的胜利,可以帮助激励和准备我们与新一代强大而充满激情的领导者一起迈向未来。

档案馆的教训

我们希望您能从这些故事中找到灵感,讲述 ROP 网络在过去 30 年在俄勒冈州组织起来如何抵制右翼强烈反对以及经常伴随的骚扰和暴力。我们还想听听您在地面上看到的情况。您所在地区的任何人是否有权利受到骚扰、监视或威胁?您如何帮助支持您生活和社区中的年轻组织者?我们如何才能抵制我们周围看到的虚假叙述和错误信息?我们很乐意听取您的意见,不仅可以制定战略,还可以按照历史向我们展示的最强大的方式进行反击:团结起来。

更一般地说,这个 ROPnet 是否激发了您从我们 30 年的记录中汲取教训的兴趣,这些记录反映了俄勒冈州 ROP 和人类尊严团体的行动、策略和研究?如果是这样,我们很乐意听取您的意见!自 2020 年 11 月以来,我们一直在开发一个档案计划,以保存并与组织者、研究人员和公众分享这些故事。如果您有兴趣了解更多关于您的人类尊严团体、您所在县或您的问题领域的历史,或者如果您想自愿协助这项工作,我们很乐意听取您的意见!给我们发电子邮件 office@rop.org 连接!

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Lessons From 30 Years of Fighting the Right

ROP recently experienced a new round of harassment and threats to our building and staff, which we believe to be tied to right-wing elements that oppose our goal to build equitable and welcoming communities for all across rural Oregon. While, thankfully, that harassment has eased in recent weeks after a strong show of solidarity by our amazing supporters in Cottage Grove, we know that other members of the network across Oregon are still facing down threats and intimidation. Earlier this week, we sent a ROPnet on recent Proud Boy activities in Southern Lane County and shared Robert Leo Heilman’s essay about vandalism to his Douglas County home after he published a column criticizing the rhetoric of those who see COVID-19 restrictions as “tyranny.”

While moments like these can be frightening, we find it helpful to remember that this is not the first time that ROP and courageous human dignity groups across the state have confronted and won victories against hard-right, white supremacist, and/or fascist shows of force. In 2016, friends of ROP in Harney and Grant counties and allies across the state united to denounce militia groups’ attacks on our democratic institutions. In 2010, ROP worked with partners in John Day to organize “Not In Our Town” meetings that successfully deterred the Aryan Nation from setting up a training center in their community. Today, we’re diving even deeper into our archives to bring you three stories from the early years of ROP’s 30-year history of fighting the right. We hope these examples might inspire you, as they have us, to imagine new ways of taking up that fight in your life and your community.

Understanding the Past → Predicting the Future

In 1994, 22 years before armed militias took over the Malheur National Wildlife Refuge demanding the release of two members of the Hammond family who had been arrested for starting fires on federal land, ROP’s founder Marcy Westerling sent a copy of a newspaper ad for a “Citizen’s Rights Rally” in Harney County to Tarso Ramos, who worked at Western States Center at the time. The rally was to feature a speaker from the American Land Rights Association currying support for the Hammonds in their refusal to honor regulations protecting the refuge. Marcy wrote: “Tarso—500 people turned out in our largest county w/ only 7000 people in over 10,000 sq. miles. Militias are next. Take care.” In 2016, during the ramp-up to the Malheur occupation, many members of the Burns community were being harassed by militia members who had come to town to support the attack on federal authority. Though we take no pleasure in the fact that Marcy was right about the political conditions in Harney County being ripe for exploitation by militia groups, this episode illustrates how careful and sustained monitoring of far-right organizing can help prevent us from being blindsided and unable to meaningfully respond when such groups enact or threaten violence to silence our communities. 

Citizen's Rights Rally flyer with Marcy Westerling notes
Section of an August 10, 1994 newspaper ad for a “Citizen’s Rights Rally” in Harney County with ROP founder Marcy Westerling’s handwritten comment.
Pushing Back Against Weaponized Dishonesty

Social media has given a potent new tool to those who advance their political goals by driving wedges into communities through scapegoating our neighbors. But it’s important to remember that those tactics are much older than Twitter or Facebook, and that while a lie may make it halfway around the world before the truth can get its pants on, disinformation can still be countered. Fighting back against falsehoods and misrepresentations was a crucial part of ROP’s successful campaign against the homophobic ballot measures advanced by the Oregon Citizens Alliance (OCA) in 1992 and 1994.

When the OCA sought to drum up support for these measures by stoking fears about queer “recruitment” and associating homosexuality with child molestation, the groups that would one day form ROP talked back, refusing to cede the narrative. The West Valley Human Rights Coalition, based in Sheridan, partnered with the Yamhill Coalition for Human Diversity to organize an event called “True Stories / False Lies,” in which courageous gay and lesbian residents of Polk and Yamhill counties shared their biographies with their neighbors. One participant, Ann Durley, told the local paper that people “need to know who we are, where we are and why we’re here” to counter the hateful caricatures the OCA was peddling. Coos County Citizens for Human Dignity sponsored a talk by Douglas Hamill, a local pediatrician and Catholic friar who presented scientific evidence disproving a link between child abuse and queerness, as well as historical context on how that myth was created.

Looking back on these campaigns from 2021, it is easy to see how many victories we have won regarding how gay and lesbian people are portrayed by the media and in political life. However, we can also see obvious analogies to contemporary attacks on the rights of trans people. Today, many on the right mischaracterize trans youth as a threat to others (a purported “danger” used to justify school bathroom bills) and trans adults and allies as a threat to kids who might be “led astray” into transitioning (the flawed “reasoning” behind bans on gender-affirming care for minors). Just as the OCA did in the 1990s, those who hope to roll back LGBTQIA+ liberation use the tactic of the moral panic: spread lies about queers hurting kids, then leverage the emotional response people have to kids being hurt to foment fear and hatred that can turn out voters to take away queer rights. But as this story from ROP’s archives shows us, organized rural communities can counter false lies with true stories, and remind those who might be vulnerable to fearmongering that queer people are not some scary bogeyman, but their own neighbors, colleagues, and friends.

gay & lesbian panel discussion flyer
Flyer for the “True Lives/False Stories” event held at the Polk County Fairgrounds on September 27, 1994
High School Students Fighting Fascism

Throughout 1996 and 1997, white supremacist groups in Salem were openly recruiting students at Sprague High School. Skinhead students then brought their ideology to school in the form of Nazi symbols worn over school clothes, racial slurs and white supremacist slogans shouted in the hallways, and antisemitic flyers targeting a teacher who lived nearby. ROP worked with students Pernita Duggal, Miriann Hernandez, Shellene Chambers, and Hannah Castanette to facilitate a series of planning and educational meetings which culminated in the adoption of a school accountability plan approved by both youth and community leaders. The students’ demands included training on the white supremacist movement for teachers and administrators, opportunities for students to participate in anti-racist workshops and projects during school hours, and the keeping of files on skinhead activity at Sprague and the school’s actions to address it. After getting buy-in for the plan, students turned their attention to raising awareness in the broader Salem community about the racist threats happening in their midst. Michele Lefkowith of the ROP human dignity group Clergy and Laity Concerned, now Community Alliance of Lane County, helped the students continue to document racist incidents, and the students worked with ROP to put on school events featuring the Growth & Prevention (GAP) anti-racist theater company and an exhibit on Anne Frank’s life.

Sprague High anti-racist meeting notes
Excerpt from an outline of the June 12, 1996 meeting at which Sprague High students in Salem presented their demands for administrative response to white supremacist activity at the school

Sadly, racist incidents are not an issue that has been overcome at Sprague High, or at many other schools across Oregon. In recent months, ROP staff have supported a student in Cottage Grove who was receiving hate on social media after painting a Black Lives Matter slogan on the school’s “spirit rock,” where kids are encouraged to express themselves and their vision for the school. The ROP’s support of students past and present in responding to racism and right-wing harassment is illustrative of the importance of organizing that crosses generational lines. Many ROP members, including our Executive Director Jess Campbell, have been involved in the network since their student days and have decades of experience building relationships and making change in Oregon communities. One way ROP seeks to facilitate intergenerational organizing is through our fellowship program, which brings together young people from across the state to strategize, connect, and grow together with experienced organizers. Learning from the past and honoring the victories of those who came before us can help inspire and prepare us to move forward into the future with a new generation of powerful and passionate leaders.

Lessons from the Archives

We hope you found some moments of inspiration in these stories of how the ROP network has resisted right-wing backlash and the harassment and violence that often accompany it over the past 30 years of organizing in Oregon. We also want to hear about what you’re seeing on the ground. Is anyone in your area being targeted by the right for harassment, surveillance, or threats? What do you do to help support the young organizers in your life and in your community? How can we push back against the false narratives and misinformation that we see all around us? We’d love to hear from you not only so we can strategize, but also so that we can fight back in the way history shows us is most powerful: together.

More generally, did this ROPnet spark your interest in drawing your own lessons from our 30 years of records reflecting the actions, strategies, and research of ROP and human dignity groups across Oregon? If so, we’d love to hear from you! Since November 2020, we have been developing an archival program to preserve and share stories like these with organizers, researchers, and the general public. If you are interested in learning more about the history of your human dignity group, your county, or your issue area, or if you would like to volunteer to assist with that work, we would love to hear from you! Email us at office@rop.org to connect!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English