诉讼胜利是俄勒冈州农村地区的胜利

我们很高兴与大家分享这个令人兴奋的消息,我们赢得了对科蒂奇格罗夫市因与数十亿美元的联邦移民机构非法合作而违法的诉讼! ROP 和莱恩县社区联盟去年提起诉讼 经过多年的社区组织,向科蒂奇格罗夫市和科蒂奇格罗夫警察局施压,要求他们给予社区中的每个人以尊严和尊重。

我们非常高兴市政府同意他们的违法行为,并与我们合作改变他们的警务政策和员工培训程序!请继续阅读今天的新闻稿,了解更多详细信息(并且请与当地报纸、广播电台和其他媒体分享!), 了解有关《庇护承诺法》的更多信息,并关注下周更长的 ROPnet,为社区领袖和人类尊严团体提供更多信息和资源,以便他们为社区中的移民和难民权利采取行动!

立即发布:2024 年 1 月 25 日

联系人:Sam Corti,农村组织项目沟通协调员, sam@rop.org, 541-799-4198

背景资料:David Henretty,俄勒冈州法律中心, dhenretty@oregonlawcenter.org, 503-473-8684

结束科蒂格罗夫市和警察与联邦移民机构非法合作的诉讼以移民和俄勒冈州庇护承诺法案获胜

经过莱恩县两个社区组织提起近一年的诉讼后,莱恩县巡回法院作出判决,科蒂奇格罗夫市不得再与联邦移民机构非法合作,也不得违反俄勒冈州的庇护承诺法案 (SPA)。 

俄勒冈州的《庇护承诺法案》是全国保护我们社区所有成员的最强有力的法律之一,最近的法院命令通过禁止未来的违法行为强化了该法律。

农村组织项目 (ROP) 和雷恩县社区联盟 (CALC) 对这一结果表示赞赏,因为他们与 Cottage Grove 市就法院命令达成协议,确保 SPA 的条款得到维护。该诉讼于 1 月 24 日星期三结束,市政府承认 Cottage Grove 警察局以前的政策、做法和习惯违法。此后,科蒂奇格罗夫市和科蒂奇格罗夫警察局重新制定了与移民以及与联邦移民官员互动有关的执法政策,以使其遵守州法律。

根据法院命令,警察局必须停止与移民和海关执法局等联邦移民执法机构的所有禁止合作。它还指出,该部门必须对包括警察部门成员在内的城市雇员进行如何使用新政策的培训。修订后的政策是一项真诚的努力,旨在提高该部门保护和服务整个社区的有效性,并承认所有人的尊严,无论其国籍或移民身份如何。

ROP 执行董事 Jess Campbell 表示:“这是社区安全、尊严以及与当地执法部门建立信任的胜利。” 

坎贝尔承认,诉讼发生后,科蒂奇格罗夫警察局最近发生了转变,他提到了新的领导层、新的警官以及对维护《庇护承诺法》的新态度。她敦促其他社区审查当地政策,与当地执法部门进行对话,并向 ROP 报告违规行为。

“我们相信科蒂奇格罗夫关于当地警察如何与联邦移民执法机构互动的政策现在与 SPA 一致,”代表原告的俄勒冈州法律中心的艾米·斯科特 (Amy Scott) 说。 

感谢包括农村人类尊严团体和联盟组织在内的社区领袖的辛勤工作,俄勒冈州立法机关于 2021 年通过了《庇护承诺法案》。该法律对俄勒冈州 1987 年庇护法进行了扩展,规定任何政府或执法机构在没有联邦法官授权的情况下都不得协助联邦移民执法。 

CALC 也是该诉讼的原告,他响应呼吁其他社区审查当地和县有关《庇护承诺法案》的政策,并对 Cottage Grove 的政策进行类似的修改。 

当 Cottage Grove 的长期居民对警察骚扰移民和违反 SPA 的行为日益增加表示担忧时,ROP 和 CALC 决定提起此诉讼。总部位于科蒂奇格罗夫的 ROP 声称,这些做法削弱了社区对警察的信任,导致家庭破裂,并非法挪用当地资源来协助联邦官员,而这些资源本可以在科蒂奇格罗夫用于改善当地服务和基础设施。

ROP 的坎贝尔表示:“我们想强调在涉及移民问题时审查县和市警务政策的重要性,并要求治安官和警察局长解释他们如何遵守《庇护承诺法》。” “在科蒂奇格罗夫,一旦我们提起诉讼,与我们合作的移民家庭就报告了明显的变化,包括人们日常生活中的恐惧减少了,警察骚扰的事件也减少了。”

受拘留和驱逐出境影响的家庭可以获得更多信息和资源,请访问: www.rop.org。如果您或您认识的人成为违反俄勒冈州庇护承诺法的目标,请致电 503-543-8417 或发送电子邮件至 office@rop.org。

# # #

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Lawsuit Victory is a Win for Rural Oregon

We are thrilled to share the exciting news that we won our lawsuit against the City of Cottage Grove for breaking the law by illegally collaborating with multi-billion dollar federal immigration agencies! ROP and Community Alliance for Lane County filed the lawsuit last year after years of community organizing to pressure the City of Cottage Grove and the Cottage Grove Police Department to treat everyone in the community with dignity and respect.

We could not be more pleased that the City agreed that they were breaking the law and worked with us to change their policing policies and their staff training procedures! Read on for more details in today’s press release (and, please, share it with your local newspapers, radio stations, and other media!), learn more about the Sanctuary Promise Act, and keep an eye out for a longer ROPnet next week with more information and resources for community leaders and human dignity groups to take action for migrant and refugee rights in their communities!

For Immediate Release: January 25th, 2024

CONTACT: Sam Corti, Rural Organizing Project Communication Coordinator, sam@rop.org, 541-799-4198

FOR BACKGROUND: David Henretty, Oregon Law Center, dhenretty@oregonlawcenter.org, 503-473-8684

Lawsuit To End Illegal Collaboration Of City Of Cottage Grove And Police With Federal Immigration Agencies Concludes In Victory For Immigrants And Oregon’s Sanctuary Promise Act

After a nearly year-long lawsuit brought by two Lane County community organizations, the Circuit Court of Lane County entered a judgment that the City of Cottage Grove may no longer illegally collaborate with federal immigration agencies and cannot violate Oregon’s Sanctuary Promise Act (SPA). 

Oregon’s Sanctuary Promise Act is one of the strongest laws in the nation to protect all members of our community, and the recent court order strengthens the law by prohibiting future violations.

Rural Organizing Project (ROP) and Community Alliance of Lane County (CALC) applauded the result as they came to an agreement with the City of Cottage Grove on a court order that ensures the provisions of the SPA will be upheld. The lawsuit concluded on Wednesday, January 24th after the city admitted that the Cottage Grove Police Department’s former policies, practices, and customs broke the law. The City of Cottage Grove and the Cottage Grove Police Department have since rewritten their law enforcement policy relating to immigration and interacting with federal immigration officials so that it follows state laws.

Under the court order, the police department must stop all prohibited collaboration with federal immigration enforcement agencies, such as Immigration and Customs Enforcement. It also states that the department must train city employees, including members of the police department, on how to use the new policy. The revised policy is a good-faith effort to increase the effectiveness of the department in protecting and serving the entire community and recognizing the dignity of all persons, regardless of their national origin or immigration status.

“This is a victory for community safety, dignity, and building trust with local law enforcement,” said Jess Campbell, Executive Director of ROP. 

Campbell acknowledged a recent transformation of the Cottage Grove Police Department in the wake of the lawsuit, citing new leadership, new officers, and a new attitude toward upholding the Sanctuary Promise Act. She urged other communities to review their local policies, engage in conversations with their local law enforcement, and report violations to ROP.

“We believe Cottage Grove’s policies concerning how the local police interact with federal immigration enforcement authorities are now consistent with the SPA,” said Amy Scott of the Oregon Law Center, which represented the plaintiffs. 

The Oregon Legislature passed the Sanctuary Promise Act in 2021, thanks to the hard work of community leaders, including rural human dignity groups and allied organizations. The law expanded upon Oregon’s 1987 Sanctuary Law so that no government or law enforcement agency can assist federal immigration enforcement without a warrant from a federal judge. 

CALC, who was also a plaintiff in the lawsuit, echoes the call for other communities to review their local and county policies about the Sanctuary Promise Act and adopt similar changes to Cottage Grove’s policy. 

ROP and CALC decided to bring this lawsuit when long-time residents of Cottage Grove raised concerns over increasing police harassment of immigrants and violations of the SPA. ROP, which is headquartered in Cottage Grove, asserted that these practices eroded community trust in police, tore families apart, and illegally diverted local resources to assist federal officials when those resources could be used in Cottage Grove for improving local services and infrastructure.

“We want to underscore the importance of reviewing county and city policing policies when it comes to immigration and asking sheriffs and police chiefs to explain how they are following the Sanctuary Promise Act,” said ROP’s Campbell. “In Cottage Grove, once we filed the lawsuit, immigrant families we work with reported a noticeable change, including less fear as people went about their daily lives and fewer incidents of police harassment.”

More information and resources available to families impacted by detention and deportation can be found at www.rop.org. If you or someone you know was targeted in violation of Oregon’s Sanctuary Promise laws, please call 503-543-8417 or email us at office@rop.org.

# # #

English