[KTA] 立法会议行动计划

背景:厨房餐桌行动主义 (KTA) 是农村组织项目的月度活动。这个想法是,当一群人聚集在一起在俄勒冈州完成相同的行动时,小行动可以带来强大的集体结果。 ROP 努力使每个 KTA 易于实现,以便有其他项目的小组或即时精力有限的小组仍然可以每月设法完成 KTA。

这是什么活动?

Oregon's legislative session starts this week and our elected officials are making critical decisions and passing laws that deeply impact our communities.我们使用了 蓬勃发展的俄勒冈州农村路线图,通过网络上的数百次对话创建,以分解本届会议上即将投票的一些立法。查看 支持繁荣的俄勒冈州农村的 2022 年法案 请在下方与您的团队讨论您最愿意支持哪些法案。制定一个计划,让您的团队确保您的州参议员和代表知道您和您的邻居希望他们如何投票。将您的想法和问题发送给我们 monicap@rop.org

为什么要做这个活动?

立法会议是人类尊严团体与他们的参议员和代表联系的机会,并培养你的队友和邻居的技能,让你的声音在塞勒姆被听到。每隔一年,包括 2022 年,俄勒冈州都会有一个只有五周的“短期会议”,因此会议从 2 月 1 日持续到 3 月 7 日。有了远程证词选项和议程上的许多令人兴奋的提案,现在是参与在全州推进民主并确保您的代表知道您正在关注他们在选举季节开始之前如何投票的好时机。

如何完成此活动:

1. 与您的团队一起,决定您希望本次会议优先处理哪些账单。 查看下面的 ROP 2022 年支持蓬勃发展的俄勒冈州农村的法案列表,以开始或专注于一项特定政策。我们很想听听您的团队正在关注什么!让我们知道 monicap@rop.org 

2. 制定计划 了解您希望如何在接下来的五周内支持您的优先法案。这可能包括: 

一个。从您的邻居收集到您所选官员的明信片! 提示:在邮寄明信片之前,请务必获取他们的联系信息,以备将来发生事件或采取行动的机会。

湾。在塞勒姆虚拟或亲自组织与您的立法者的小组会议。 提示:查看他们的 联系方式在这里 看看这个 样本议程 提前计划。

C。主持通话方 邀请并支持您的邻居直接与您的州参议员和代表交谈!

d。提交 致编辑给您当地报纸的信。 提示:作为一个小组,您可以创建一个时间表,以便一个人在会议的每周写一封关于重要账单的信。 Elected officials read the local paper and many of your neighbors do too!

e.有其他想法或需要支持来制定您的计划?联系莫妮卡 monicap@rop.org!

3.让你的声音被听到! 无论您有 10 分钟还是 10 小时来协调会议,我们都可以在我们的民主中发挥作用!

4. 回报 告诉我们进展如何,以便我们与俄勒冈州农村的人们分享您的经验。给我们留言 monicap@rop.org, 我们很乐意听取您的意见!

支持繁荣的俄勒冈州农村的 2022 年法案

这 蓬勃发展的俄勒冈州农村路线图 由我们的社区从为生存而战到真正繁荣发展所需的优先事项组成。该路线图来自与俄勒冈州农村地区人类尊严团体的数百次对话,讨论了我们社区最需要什么,因为 COVID-19 大流行和不稳定的经济暴露了我们社区几十年来一直在扩大的社会安全网的巨大差距。现在我们必须将这些优先事项带到立法会议上! 查看路线图 请参阅下文,了解俄勒冈州立法机构根据四个路线图类别中的每一个正在考虑的法案。想进一步挖掘?我们很想听听您的想法!联系您友好的 ROP 组织者或电子邮件 monicap@rop.org 取得联系。

我们都是必不可少的

  • 俄勒冈州托儿服务包的托儿服务e (HB 4005) 如果获得通过,这将制定一项法律,增加就业相关日托 (ERDC) 补贴支付给托儿服务提供者的每个孩子的金额,从而为父母带来更公平的费率。这也将增加使用 ERDC 的父母的购买力。它还将暂停要求家庭供应商使用自动喷水灭火系统的规则,直到 2024 年。

健康的人创造健康的社区

  • 农场工人加班 (HB 4002) 自这些劳工政策于 1938 年生效以来,农场工人一直被排除在最低工资保护和加班费之外。自 1938 年以来,有色人种已占农场工人的大多数,这种明显的种族主义排除在加班费之外的做法继续具有广泛的影响不仅影响有色人种社区,而且影响整个俄勒冈州的经济。如果获得通过,这将制定一项法律,将所有农业工人每周工作 40 小时后的加班费逐步提高到正常工资率的 1.5 倍。无论他们是按小时支付还是按件计酬,农场工人都将符合资格,并且将像其他所有行业的加班费一样强制执行。 

安全和热情的社区

  • 普遍法律代表 (SB 1543) 每个人都应该得到足够的法律代表,但社区成员经常被驱逐出境并与家人分开,仅仅是因为他们请不起移民律师。如果获得通过,Universal Legal Representation 将通过使用协作代表、基于社区的律师和客户授权来扩大法律服务。该计划将灵活应对预期的合法化计划、大规模突袭、寻求庇护者的突然涌入或移民系统的任何其他变化。
  • 转变正义法案 (SB 1510如果获得通过,这将制定一项法律,将我们的公共安全系统转变为为无家可归者或精神健康危机的人提供帮助的法律,并将优先考虑康复而不是惩罚。它将限制执法部门不必要的拦截和逮捕,消除缓刑或监狱后监督寻求重建生活的人的障碍,并在有色人种社区投入资源。
  • 股权投资法 (SB 1579)如果通过,这将创建股权投资基金,现有大麻税收收入为 $50 万。然后,该基金将向以社区为基础的文化响应型组织提供赠款,以支持黑人、土著和拉丁裔社区的企业家精神、劳动力发展以及获得房屋和土地所有权的途径。
  • 国库透明度法案 (HB 4115) 通过投资化石燃料公司,俄勒冈州财政部正在冒着俄勒冈州金融未来的风险并支持气候危机。我们知道这会使我们处于危险之中,但我们无法知道风险有多大。如果获得通过,该法案将确保财政部对其投资所涉及的气候相关风险保持透明。

连接我们的声音

  • 宽带治理、可用性和均衡效用 (HB 4092凭借美国救援计划法案和基础设施投资和就业法案直接向各州分配宽带资金,俄勒冈州有望获得超过 $2 亿美元,以解决宽带基础设施方面的差距并减少接入障碍。该法案将使俄勒冈宽带办公室为未来的工作做好准备,包括:创建宽带战略框架;探索如何建立宽带补贴基金;并建立一个基金,允许图书馆获取联邦投资资金。
简体中文

[KTA] Legislative Session Action Plan

Background: Kitchen Table Activism (KTA) is a monthly activity by the Rural Organizing Project. The idea is that small actions can lead to powerful collective results when groups of people gather to complete the same action across the state of Oregon. ROP works to keep each KTA easily achievable so that groups with other projects or groups with limited immediate energy can still manage to complete the KTA each month.

What is this activity?

Oregon’s legislative session starts this week and our elected officials are making critical decisions and passing laws that deeply impact our communities. We’ve used the Roadmap to a Thriving Rural Oregon, created through hundreds of conversations across the network, to break down some of the legislation coming up for a vote this session. Check out the 2022 Bills that Back a Thriving Rural Oregon below and talk with your team about what bills you are most excited to show your support for. Make a plan for how your group will make sure your state senators and representatives know how you and your neighbors want them to vote. Send us your ideas, and questions at monicap@rop.org

Why this activity?

Legislative sessions are opportunities for human dignity groups to connect with their senators and representatives, and build the skills of your teammates and your neighbors in making your voices heard in Salem. Every other year, including 2022, Oregon has a “short session” that is only five weeks long, so the session runs from February 1st to March 7th. With remote testimony options and many exciting proposals on the agenda, it’s a great time to participate in advancing democracy across the state and make sure your representatives know that you are paying attention to how they are voting before election season kicks into high gear.

How to complete this activity:

1. Get together with your team and decide what bills you want to prioritize this session. Check out the list below of ROP’s 2022 Bills that Back a Thriving Rural Oregon to start, or focus on one particular policy. We’d love to hear what your group is focusing on! Let us know at monicap@rop.org 

2. Make a plan for how you want to support your priority bill(s) over the next five weeks. This could include: 

a. Collecting postcards from your neighbors addressed to your elected officials! Tip: Before you mail the postcards, be sure to capture their contact information for future events or action opportunities.

b. Organizing a group meeting with your legislator virtually or in person in Salem. Tip: Look up their contact info here and check out this sample agenda to plan ahead.

c. Hosting a call party to invite and support your neighbors in speaking directly with your state senator and representative!

d. Submitting Letters to the Editor to your local paper. Tip: As a group you can create a schedule so one person writes a letter about important bills each week of the session. Elected officials read the local paper and many of your neighbors do too!

e. Have another idea or want support getting your plan together? Reach out to Monica at monicap@rop.org!

3. Make your voices heard! Whether you have 10 minutes or 10 hours to coordinate a meeting, we can all play a role in our democracy!

4. Report Back to tell us how it went so we can share your experiences with folks across rural Oregon. Send us a note at monicap@rop.org, we’d love to hear from you!

2022 Bills that Back a Thriving Rural Oregon

The Roadmap to a Thriving Rural Oregon is made up of the priorities our communities need to move from fighting for survival to truly thriving. The Roadmap came out of hundreds of conversations with human dignity groups across rural Oregon about what our communities need most as the COVID-19 pandemic and unstable economy lay bare the big gaps in our communities’ social safety nets that have been widening for decades. Now we must bring these priorities to the legislative session! Check out the Roadmap and see below for bills being considered in the Oregon State Legislature under each of the four Roadmap categories. Want to dig in further? We’d love to hear your thoughts! Reach out to your friendly ROP organizer or email monicap@rop.org to get in touch.

We Are All Essential

  • Child Care For Oregon Child Care Package (HB 4005) If passed, this would create a law that would increase the amount of money that the Employment Related Day Care (ERDC) subsidies pay per child to child care providers, leading to more equitable rates for parents. This will also increase purchasing power for parents who utilize ERDC. It would also suspend the rule that requires sprinkler systems for in-home providers until 2024.

Healthy People Make Healthy Communities

  • Farmworker Overtime (HB 4002) Farmworkers have been excluded from minimum wage protections and overtime pay since these labor policies went into effect in 1938. Since 1938, people of color have made up the majority of farm laborers, and this explicitly racist exclusion from overtime pay continues to have wide reaching effects on not just communities of color but also the entire Oregon economy. If passed, this would create a law that would phase-in overtime pay to 1.5 times the regular pay rate for all agricultural workers after they work 40 hours in a week. Farmworkers would qualify regardless of whether they are paid hourly or on a piece-rate, and it would be enforced just like overtime pay for every other industry. 

Safe and Welcoming Communities

  • Universal Legal Representation (SB 1543) Everyone deserves adequate legal representation, but community members are routinely deported and separated from their families simply because they can’t afford an immigration lawyer. If passed, Universal Legal Representation would expand legal services through the use of collaborative representation, community-based lawyering and client empowerment. The program would be flexible and responsive to anticipated legalization programs, massive raids, a sudden influx of asylum seekers, or any other changes in the immigration system.
  • Transforming Justice Bill (SB 1510If passed, this would create a law that would transform our public safety system into one that provides help to people experiencing houselessness or mental health crises, and it would prioritize rehabilitation over punishment. It would limit unnecessary stops and arrests by law enforcement, remove barriers for people on probation or post-prison supervision seeking to rebuild their lives, and invest resources in communities of color.
  • Equity Investment Act (SB 1579) If passed, this would create the Equity Investment Fund, with $50 million of existing cannabis tax revenue. This fund would then provide grants to culturally-responsive, community-based organizations that support entrepreneurship, workforce development, and paths to home and land ownership for Black, Indigenous and Latinx communities.
  • Treasury Transparency Bill (HB 4115) By investing in fossil fuel corporations, the Oregon State Treasury is risking Oregon’s financial future and supporting the climate crisis. We know this puts us at risk, but we have no way of knowing by how much. If passed, this bill would ensure the Treasury is transparent about the climate-related risk involved in their investments.

Connecting our Voices

  • Broadband Governance, Availability and Equity (HB 4092With American Rescue Plan Act dollars, and the Infrastructure Investments and Jobs Act allocating broadband funding directly to states, Oregon is poised to receive more than $200 million to address gaps in broadband infrastructure and reduce barriers to access. This bill would prepare the Oregon Broadband Office for the work ahead including: creating a broadband strategic framework; exploring how to create a broadband subsidy fund; and establishing a fund to allow libraries to capture federal investment monies.
English