KTA:庆祝《世界人权宣言》通过 75 周年!

为什么要开展这项活动?

在这个充满挑战的时代,人类尊严团体是社区的道德指南针,做一个有良心的人常常让人感觉是一项艰难而吃力不讨好的工作。 向当地社区领袖颁发人权奖是表彰他们的辛勤工作、建立关系并推动有关我们共同的农村价值观和未来愿景的对话的好方法! 

去年,俄勒冈州农村居民在促进社区人类尊严和民主方面取得了巨大成就。仅举几个例子: 

马卢尔县 KRFR 90.7 FM 和 KBZR 89.9 FM 两个都 获批建设全功率社区广播电台!

蒂拉穆克民主项目 主办其 竞选学校 第三次物色、招募民主派社区成员并与他们合作竞选无党派地方办事处。

从库里到瓦洛厄县的俄勒冈州农村居民组织起来 骄傲节和六月节活动。

人类尊严团体还进行了强有力的组织,以应对和解决我们社区面临的最大挑战。哈马斯发动可怕袭击以及以色列政府对被占领的加沙地带采取毁灭性暴力反应已近两个月,俄勒冈州农村居民继续呼吁和平。冬天又来了 俄勒冈州完全无家可归的无家可归家庭比例仍然是全国最高的 – 意味着他们没有睡在避难所、酒店或其他临时住所。人类尊严领导人正在组织提供更多经济适用房、增加心理健康支持和其他资源,并结束扫荡。 

冬季假期是与社区成员聚在一起享受美食和彼此陪伴的好时机,并感谢人们今年所做的所有令人难以置信的组织工作!

什么是活动?

本月的厨房餐桌活动将向社区成员(或成员!)颁发证书,其工作加强了三十篇文章中的一篇或多篇 世界人权宣言 (UDHR)。 12 月 10 日是《世界人权宣言》通过 75 周年,也是一个很好的机会,可以提醒人们我们共同的民主和人权价值观,因为我们正在思考一个公平民主的社会应该包括哪些政策和做法。多年来,这一 KTA 一直作为冬季行动重复进行,因为你们告诉我们,这是庆祝人权胜利和斗争并提高人们认识的一种有趣、简单、有效和积极的方式。

有关《世界人权宣言》(UDHR) 的更多信息: UDHR 可以作为一个框架来连接看似不同的问题。 《世界人权宣言》概述的五类人权是公民人权、经济人权、社会人权、文化人权和政治人权。 公民人权 包括言论自由、和平集会和免遭歧视的自由。 经济人权 包括获得工作所需生活工资的权利、下班后养家糊口的权利,以及在无法工作时生存的权利。 社会人权 谈论每个人在住房、教育和医疗保健方面的需求。 文化人权 包括实践您自己的文化、您选择的宗教和您选择的语言的权利。 政治人权 包括自由选举权、国籍权以及自由进出贵国的权利。 

如何完成活动:

与您的人类尊严小组聚集在一起,集思广益,讨论社区中哪些人是获得人权工作感谢状的良好候选人。一些建议包括那些为消除获得住房或食物资源而付出额外努力的人、移民司法领袖、学校教师或教练、工会领袖或学生领袖。

计划一个聚会,在那里您将展示并宣布奖项!何时何地?你会邀请谁?你将如何把消息传出去?除了颁发奖项和享受与彼此共度时光之外,还有其他议程吗?不要犹豫,联系我们 sidra@rop.org 为您的活动策划提供支持!

在这里下载证书 或者使用免费工具创建自己的,例如 帆布.

将这封信改编为编辑或新闻稿 向您的社区宣布此奖项。

讨论您的团队如何使用《世界人权宣言》作为您的组织框架。您的工作如何与人权原则联系起来?您的工作如何属于《世界人权宣言》条款的范畴?

让我们知道谁被提名了!联系您友好的 ROP 组织者或发送电子邮件 sidra@rop.org 并向我们介绍一下您的候选人以及他们在您的社区中所做的出色工作。

背景: Kitchen Table Activism (KTA) 是农村组织项目的月度活动。这个想法是,当一群人聚集在一起在俄勒冈州完成相同的行动时,小行动可以带来强大的集体结果。 ROP 致力于使每个 KTA 易于实现,以便有其他项目的组或即时能量有限的组仍然可以每月完成 KTA。

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

KTA: Celebrate 75 Years of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights!

WHY THIS ACTIVITY?

Human dignity groups are a moral compass for the community in these challenging times and being a person of conscience can often feel like a difficult and thankless job. Bestowing a Human Rights Award to a local community leader is a great way to recognize their hard work, build relationships, and advance the conversation about our shared rural values and vision for the future! 

Rural Oregonians have achieved so much in the past year to advance human dignity and democracy in their communities. Just a few examples include: 

KRFR 90.7 FM in Malheur County and KBZR 89.9 FM both got approval to build full-power community radio stations!

Tillamook Democracy Project hosted its Campaign School for the third time to identify, recruit, and work with pro-democracy community members to run for non-partisan local offices.

Rural Oregonians from Curry to Wallowa County organized Pride and Juneteenth events.

Human dignity groups have also done powerful organizing to respond to and address our communities’ biggest challenges. Nearly two months since Hamas’s horrific attacks and the devastatingly violent response of the Israeli government against occupied Gaza, rural Oregonians continue to call for peace. Winter is upon us again and Oregon still has the country’s highest percentage of homeless families that are living completely unsheltered – meaning they aren’t sleeping in a shelter, hotel, or other temporary housing. Human dignity leaders are organizing for more affordable housing, increased mental health support and other resources, and an end to sweeps. 

The winter holiday season is a great time to come together with community members to enjoy good food and each other’s company, and to acknowledge all of the incredible organizing that folks have been up to this year!

WHAT IS THE ACTIVITY?

This month’s Kitchen Table Activity is to award a certificate to a community member (or members!) whose work strengthens one or more of the thirty articles of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights (UDHR). December 10th marks the 75th anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and is a great opportunity to remind folks of our shared values of democracy and human rights as we consider just what policies and practices a fair and democratic society should include. Over the years, this KTA has been repeated as a winter action because you tell us that this is a fun, easy, effective, and positive way to celebrate and raise awareness of human rights victories and struggles.

More on the Universal Declaration of Human Rights (UDHR): The UDHR can work as a framework to connect seemingly distinct issues. The five categories of human rights outlined in the UDHR are civil human rights, economic human rights, social human rights, cultural human rights, and political human rights. Civil Human Rights include free speech, peaceful assembly, and freedom from discrimination. Economic Human Rights include the right to a living wage for your work, the right to be able to feed your family after work, and the right to be able to survive if you are not able to work. Social Human Rights speak to the needs each person has for housing, education, and health care. Cultural Human Rights include the right to practice your own culture, your religion of choice, and your language of choice. Political Human Rights include the right to free elections, the right to a nationality, and the right to free movement in and out of your country. 

HOW TO COMPLETE THE ACTIVITY:

Gather with your human dignity group to brainstorm people in your community who would be good candidates for receiving a certificate of appreciation for their human rights work. Some suggestions include people who went the extra mile to eliminate barriers to accessing housing or food resources, immigrant justice leaders, school teachers or coaches, union leaders, or student leaders.

Plan a gathering where you will present and announce the award! Where and when will it be? Who will you invite? How will you get the word out? Is there an agenda other than presenting the award and enjoying spending time with one another? Don’t hesitate to reach out to us at sidra@rop.org for support in planning your event!

Download a certificate here or create your own using free tools like Canva.

Adapt this letter to the editor or press release to announce this award to your community.

Discuss how your group can use the Universal Declaration of Human Rights as a framework for your organizing. How does your work connect to human rights principles? How does your work fall under the articles of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights?

Let us know who was nominated! Reach out to your friendly ROP organizer or email sidra@rop.org and tell us about your candidate and the amazing work they do in your community.

Background: Kitchen Table Activism (KTA) is a monthly activity by the Rural Organizing Project. The idea is that small actions can lead to powerful collective results when groups of people gather to complete the same action across the state of Oregon. ROP works to keep each KTA easily achievable so that groups with other projects or groups with limited immediate energy can still complete the KTA each month.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English