[KTA] نادي الكتاب حول التحول: نحو ديمقراطية شعبية

الخلفية: نشاط طاولة المطبخ (KTA) هو نشاط شهري من قبل مشروع التنظيم الريفي. الفكرة هي أن الإجراءات الصغيرة يمكن أن تؤدي إلى نتائج جماعية قوية عندما تتجمع مجموعات من الناس لإكمال نفس الإجراء في جميع أنحاء ولاية أوريغون. تعمل شرطة عمان السلطانية على الحفاظ على إمكانية تحقيق كل KTA بسهولة بحيث لا يزال بإمكان المجموعات ذات المشاريع أو المجموعات الأخرى ذات الطاقة الفورية المحدودة إكمال KTA كل شهر.

ما هو النشاط؟

أصدرت سوزان فار ، وهي منظمة مجتمعية ، وكبيرة في الحركة ، وصديقة قديمة لشرطة عمان السلطانية ، مؤخرًا كتابها الأخير ، التحول: نحو ديمقراطية شعبية. الكتاب عبارة عن مجموعة من كتاباتها على مدى العقود الستة الماضية. إنه يعكس عملها على الخطوط الأمامية للنضال من أجل ديمقراطية متعددة الأعراق ومتعددة الجنس ويفحص نجاحاتنا وإخفاقاتنا في العدالة الاجتماعية بالإضافة إلى النمو والتغييرات في الحركات المناهضة للديمقراطية بمرور الوقت. ومن المقرر أن تستضيف وكالة السفر الكورية لهذا الشهر أ تحويل نادي الكتاب مع مجموعة كرامة الإنسان الخاصة بك من أجل تعميق وتنشيط جهود التنظيم المحلية والتحضير لحديث كتاب افتراضي مع سوزان في فبراير 2022.

لماذا هذا النشاط؟

بينما ننتقل إلى أشهر الشتاء ونشعر بأن العطلات والتجمعات العائلية تقترب بسرعة ، يقدم هذا الكتاب موارد للتحضير لبعض المحادثات الصعبة التي ستظهر حتمًا حول طاولات عشاء العطلات. حتى إذا لم تكن التجمعات الشخصية جزءًا من خططك ، فإن سوزان تقدم رؤى حول العمل الحركي وتفصل القضايا المهمة التي تنشأ باستمرار في عمل تنظيم المجتمع. 

"ضمن هذه الوثائق ، هناك أمثلة على عملنا الجماعي العظيم من أجل العدالة الاجتماعية بالإضافة إلى أمثلة عن فشلنا أو فشلنا في تحقيق أحلامنا أو ضياع الفرص لاستبدال الانقسام بالوحدة ... بروح هذه الديمقراطية ، يتم تقديم هذه المجموعة بأي طريقة يمكنك استخدامها على الطريق لدرء الاستبداد وبناء ديمقراطية الشعب ، ولمقاومة الانقسام وبناء الوحدة ، وإعادة تصور وإحداث تحول جذري في العالم ". - سوزان فار ، ليتل روك ، AR 2021

كيف تكمل النشاط:

  1. تحميل أو الشراء نسخ من كتاب سوزان فار لمجموعتك. التحول: نحو ديمقراطية شعبية متاح مجانًا كملف تحميل الرقمي وتكلفة الطباعة عبر أمازون.كوم. 
  2. تقرر كمجموعة ما إذا كنت ستقرأ الكتاب بأكمله أو تركز على فصل معين. سوزان نفسها تقترح الفصل 25: لماذا سيدعم مشروع النساء محاكمة جديدة للمغتصب المدان - ومقدمة لشبكة مراقبة النساء. في هذا الفصل ، تدعو سوزان إلى ربط النقاط بين القضايا وتقدم أدوات حول كيفية الحفاظ على التعقيد في تنظيمنا من أجل التغيير.

3. يجتمع ويناقش ما صدى لك أكثر

أ. ما هي الطرق التي ترتبط بها انعكاسات سوزان عبر العقود بتنظيمك اليوم؟

ب. كيف يؤثر هذا الكتاب / الفصل على أسلوبك في التحدث مع أقاربك وجيرانك في موسم الأعياد هذا؟ خاصة أولئك الذين لديهم سياسات مختلفة تمامًا عن سياستك؟

ج. ما الذي يلهمك أنت أو مجموعتك لاتخاذ الإجراءات؟ ما الذي بدأته بالفعل في التخطيط؟

د. إذا كان بإمكانك أن تسأل المؤلف أي شيء ، فماذا سيكون؟ نستعد لاستضافة حديث عن كتاب مع سوزان في الثامن من فبراير ونود أن نسمع بعض أسئلتك الملحة!

4. رصيد إضافي! استمع إلى Rural Roots Rising الموسم 1 ، الحلقة 10: أخذ المخاطر، واستمع إلى سوزان تتحدث عن كيف نشأت سياسيًا جنبًا إلى جنب مع تأسيس مشروع المرأة وإنشاء شبكة مراقبة المرأة.

دع شرطة عمان السلطانية تعرف كيف سارت مناقشتك! ما هي الأسئلة التي تريد مناقشتها مع سوزان في فبراير؟ كيف يؤثر الكتاب على تنظيمك؟ تواصل مع منظم المجتمع المحلي أو أرسل بريدًا إلكترونيًا إلى Monica Pearson على monicap@rop.org

صورة تطلب التبرع بشاحنة أو سيارة دفع رباعي لشرطة عمان السلطانية
تحتاج شرطة عمان السلطانية حاليًا إلى مركبات لتحافظ على حركتنا وإبقائنا على اتصال بمجتمعاتنا ومجموعات الكرامة الإنسانية في جميع أنحاء الولاية! نحن بحاجة إلى مركبات يمكنها السحب - سيارات الدفع الرباعي أو الشاحنات (أو واحدة من كل منهما!). لدينا مقطورة صغيرة نسحبها حتى نتمكن من زيارة ودعم أكثر من 80 مجموعة كرامة إنسانية في جميع أنحاء الولاية بأمان. لهذا السبب ، نحتاج إلى سيارة واحدة بمحرك V6 أو V8 بدفع رباعي. يعتبر قابس المقطورة ذي 7 سنون أو المظلة على الشاحنة بمثابة مكافأة. أرسل إلينا بريدًا إلكترونيًا إذا كان لديك شيء ما في بالك - office@rop.org! شكرا لك!!
سهل الطباعة، PDF والبريد الإلكتروني
العربية

[KTA] Book Club on Transformation: Toward a People’s Democracy

Background: Kitchen Table Activism (KTA) is a monthly activity by the Rural Organizing Project. The idea is that small actions can lead to powerful collective results when groups of people gather to complete the same action across the state of Oregon. ROP works to keep each KTA easily achievable so that groups with other projects or groups with limited immediate energy can still complete the KTA each month.

What is the activity?

Suzanne Pharr, a community organizer, movement elder, and longtime friend to ROP, recently released her latest book, Transformation: Toward a People’s Democracy. The book is a collection of her writings from over the past six decades. It reflects her work on the frontlines of the fight for a multi-racial, multi-gendered democracy and examines our social justice successes and failures as well as the growth and changes in anti-democratic movements over time. This month’s KTA is to host a Transformation book club with your human dignity group in order to deepen and reinvigorate local organizing efforts and to prepare for a virtual book talk with Suzanne in February 2022.

Why this activity?

As we move into the winter months and feel holidays and family gatherings fast approaching, this book offers resources to prepare for some of the tough conversations that will inevitably pop up around holiday dinner tables. Even if in-person gatherings are not part of your plans, Suzanne offers insights on movement work and breaks down important issues that continuously arise in community organizing work. 

“Within these documents, there are examples of our great collective work for social justice as well as examples of how we failed or fell short of our dreams or missed opportunities to replace division with unity…In the spirit of this democracy, this collection is offered for any way you might use it on the path to ward off authoritarianism and to build a people’s democracy, to resist division and to build unity, to reimagine and bring about a radical transformation of the world.”  – Suzanne Pharr, Little Rock, AR 2021

How to complete the activity:

  1. Download or purchase copies of Suzanne Pharr’s book for your group. Transformation: Toward a People’s Democracy is available for free as a digital download and for the cost of printing via Amazon.com. 
  2. Decide as a group whether you will read the entire book or focus on one particular chapter. Suzanne herself suggests Chapter 25: Why the Women’s Project Would Support a New Trial for a Convicted Rapist—and an Introduction to the Women’s Watchcare Network. In this chapter, Suzanne calls for connecting the dots between issues and offers tools on how to hold complexity in our organizing for change.

3. Meet and discuss what resonated most for you

a. In what ways are Suzanne’s reflections from over the decades relevant to your organizing today?

b. How does this book/chapter influence your approach to talking with your relatives and neighbors this holiday season? Especially those with very different politics from your own?

c. What is inspiring you or your group to take action? What have you already started planning?

d. If you could ask the author anything, what would it be? We’re gearing up to host a book talk with Suzanne on February 8th and we would love to hear some of your burning questions!

4. Extra Credit! Listen to Rural Roots Rising Season 1, Episode 10: Taking Risks, and hear Suzanne speak about how she came of age politically along with the founding of the Women’s Project and the establishment of the Women’s Watchcare Network.

Let ROP know how your discussion went! What questions do you want to discuss with Suzanne in February? How is the book influencing your organizing? Reach out to your local community organizer or email Monica Pearson at monicap@rop.org

Image asking for the donation of a truck or SUV to ROP
ROP currently needs vehicles to keep us moving and keep us connected to our communities and human dignity groups across the state! We are in need of vehicles that can haul – an SUV or a truck (or one of each!).  We have a small trailer we are pulling to be able to safely visit and support the more than 80 human dignity groups across the state. Because of this, we need one vehicle to have a V6 or V8 engine with 4-wheel drive. A 7-pin trailer plug or canopy on a truck are a bonus. Send us an email if you have something in mind – office@rop.org!  Thank you!!
Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English