了解您的权利研讨会开始了!

我们今年早些时候的 Rural Latino Retreat 真正将俄勒冈州的真相带回家:我们准备好了。准备好迎接由每天都知道侵犯尊严的人领导的人类尊严运动:移民和移民家庭。作为我们对农村拉丁裔群体的支持的一部分,ROP 与位于俄勒冈州尤金市的公民自由保护中心合作,于 2011 年 10 月至 12 月在俄勒冈州农村的 9 个县举办了“了解你的权利”研讨会。继续阅读位置、详细信息等。

我们中的大多数人不会每天都生活在不知道的混乱中——如果我们下班回家,我们的家人是否会在一起,一个简单的交通站点是否会粉碎我们的梦想。如果您感觉与拘留和驱逐出境危机脱节,这里是一位 Bend 妇女的视频,她现在已被雄辩地驱逐出境 讲述她的故事。

在奥巴马的领导下,我们的驱逐人数达到了 100 万,是迄今为止所有总统中人数最多的。  阿拉巴马州的法律 正在将移民的替罪羊推向新低。阿拉巴马州法律实施的第二天,移民家庭中的数千名儿童缺课。一家自来水公司开始要求提供身份证明才能为移民家庭提供服务。影响是深刻而痛苦的。在我们的社区开展正义运动意味着为每个人,尤其是那些最受攻击的人提供保护自己和家人所需的工具。

“了解您的权利”之旅的目标是教数百名农村移民和盟友在面对警察或联邦移民官员时捍卫自己的权利,同时建立团结和知识。邀请盟友参加——大多数研讨会都将有一个讲故事的部分,我们可以加深对破碎的移民系统对人类影响的理解。每个研讨会的参与者将被邀请与当地的主办团体一起全年组织,以对当地社区产生影响。

巡演于 10 月 1 日星期六在哥伦比亚县开始。 Latinos Unidos para Un Futuro Mejor(拉丁裔团结为更美好的未来)主办了第一站,包括儿童活动、俄勒冈州移民权利法案的更新、“告诉我们你的故事”时间,其中由志愿者拍摄移民故事作为一部分欢迎社区项目,还有一顿美味的晚餐。

Latinos Unidos para Un Futuro Mejor 邀请了 35 个人带着几十个孩子来了解不仅了解自己的权利而且知道如何行使这些权利的意义。每个人都留下来参加为期两个小时的西班牙语翻译研讨会。看到来的每个人都准备好学习、参与和相互分享,令人鼓舞和兴奋。移民和整个社区都对此类信息感到紧迫。有机会来到一个友好的地方学习、了解我们的个人权利是什么、我们如何执行这些权利以及它的重要性对房间里的每个人来说都是无价的。

现在我们已经在圣海伦斯停留了,我们准备好下一站了!以下是我们将与当地拉丁裔社会正义团体合作举办研讨会的日期和地点列表。

10 月 15 日: Yamhill 县:代顿 - 由 Mujeres Latinos Luchando por el Pueblo 主办
11 月 12 日: 赫米斯顿 Umatilla 县 – 由 Guardianes de la Raza 主办
11月13日: 俄勒冈州中部,普林维尔——由 CAUSA 主办
12 月 8 日: Yamhill 县:纽伯格 - 由纽伯格公共图书馆主办
12 月 10 日: 波尔克县,独立 - 由 Polk Cafe Commons 主办
12 月 11 日: 林肯县、林肯市和纽波特——由“Centro de Ayuda”主办

您和您的团队可以加入我们的研讨会并表示您的支持,您还可能学到一两件新东西!您的支持和联盟对移民社区非常重要,这表明他们受到张开双臂的欢迎。在我们现在生活的时代,作为移民会带来不安全感和排斥感。话虽如此,请加入我们的信息会议,充满乐趣和友情!

接触 keyla@rop.org 为旅游中每一站的主要组织者查找信息!

凯拉和阿曼达

PS不能停下来吗?还有一种方式来支持! ROP 正在招募可以从 $10-$100 捐款的捐助者,以帮助支付将旅行带到俄勒冈州农村的旅行和其他费用。与 Keyla 联系以了解更多信息。

简体中文

Know Your Rights Workshops hit the Road!

Our Rural Latino Retreat earlier this year really drove home Oregon’s truth: we’re ready.  Ready for a human dignity movement led by people who know all about assaults on dignity daily: immigrants & immigrant families. As part of our support to rural Latino groups, ROP has teamed up with the Civil Liberties Defense Center based in Eugene, Oregon, to bring “Know Your Rights” workshops to 9 counties in rural Oregon from October-December 2011. Read on for stop locations, details and more.

Most of us don’t live the daily turmoil of not knowing – if we’ll make it home from work, if our family will stay together, if a simple traffic stop will shatter our dreams.  If you’re feeling disconnected from the detentions and deportations crisis, here is a video of one Bend woman, who has now been deported, eloquently telling her story.

Under Obama, we have reached a million deportations, the most of any president so far.  Laws like in Alabama are bringing immigrant scapegoating to a new low.The day following the Alabama law’s implementation, thousands of children in immigrant families were absent from school.  A water company began requiring proof of status to keep service to immigrant households.  The impacts are deep and painful.  Building a movement for justice in our communities means equipping everyone, especially those most under attack, with the tools they need to protect themselves and their families.

The goal of the “Know Your Rights” tour is to teach hundreds of rural immigrants & allies to defend their rights when faced with police or federal immigration officials, but also to build solidarity and knowledge.  Allies are invited to attend – and most workshops will feature a story telling component where we deepen our understanding of the human impacts of a broken immigration system.  Participants of each workshop will be invited to join with a local host group for year-round organizing to have an impact in their local community.

The tour kicked off on Saturday, October 1st in Columbia County.  Latinos Unidos para Un Futuro Mejor (Latinos United for a Better Future) hosted the first stop, complete with activities for children, updates on Oregon immigrants rights bills, a “Tell Us Your Story” time in which immigrant stories were filmed by volunteers as part of the Welcoming Community project, and a delicious dinner.

Latinos Unidos para Un Futuro Mejor brought in 35 people with dozens of children in tow to learn what it means to not only know your rights but know how exercise them.  Every single person stayed for the two-hour long workshop that was being translated in Spanish. It was inspiring and exciting to see that everybody who came was ready to learn, participate and share with each other. The urgency was felt for this type of information among immigrants and the community at large. Having the opportunity to come to a friendly place to learn, understand what our individual rights are, how we can enforce them and the importance of it was invaluable for every single person in the room.

Now that we have stopped in St. Helens, we are ready for our next stop! Here’s a list of dates and places where we’ll be hosting the workshops in collaboration with local Latino social justice groups.

October 15th: Yamhill County: Dayton – Hosted by Mujeres Latinos Luchando por el Pueblo
November 12th: Umatilla County, Hermiston – Hosted by Guardianes de la Raza
November 13th: Central Oregon, Prineville – Hosted by CAUSA
December 8th: Yamhill County: Newberg – Hosted by Newberg Public Library
December 10th: Polk County, Independence – Hosted by Polk Cafe Commons
December 11th: Lincoln County, Lincoln City & Newport – Hosted by “Centro de Ayuda”

You and your group can join us in the workshop and show your support and you might also learn a new thing or two! Your support and alliance is very important to the immigrant community, it shows that they are welcomed with open arms. In times like we are living right now, being an immigrant brings feelings of insecurity and exclusion. With that said, please join us for an informative session filled with fun and camaraderie!

Contact keyla@rop.org to find information for the lead organizer for each stop on the tour!

Keyla & Amanda

P.S Can’t make it to a stop?  There is another way to support!  ROP is recruiting donors who can give from $10-$100 to help cover travel and other costs to bring the tour to rural Oregon.  Get in touch with Keyla to find out more.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English