تعرف على حقوقك ورش عمل على الطريق!

لقد أوصلنا Rural Latino Retreat في وقت سابق من هذا العام إلى حقيقة أوريغون: نحن مستعدون. مستعدون لحركة كرامة إنسانية يقودها أناس يعرفون كل شيء عن الاعتداءات اليومية على الكرامة: المهاجرون والعائلات المهاجرة. كجزء من دعمنا لمجموعات لاتينية ريفية ، تعاونت شرطة عمان السلطانية مع مركز الدفاع عن الحريات المدنية في يوجين ، أوريغون ، لتقديم ورش عمل "اعرف حقوقك" إلى 9 مقاطعات في ريف ولاية أوريغون في الفترة من أكتوبر إلى ديسمبر 2011. تابع القراءة للتوقف المواقع والتفاصيل والمزيد.

لا يعيش معظمنا الاضطراب اليومي المتمثل في عدم المعرفة - إذا كنا سنجعلها إلى المنزل من العمل ، وإذا كانت عائلتنا ستبقى معًا ، وإذا كان التوقف البسيط لحركة المرور سيؤدي إلى تحطيم أحلامنا. إذا كنت تشعر بانفصالك عن أزمة الاعتقالات والترحيل ، فإليك مقطع فيديو لامرأة من بيند ، تم ترحيلها الآن ، ببلاغة تحكي قصتها.

في عهد أوباما ، وصلنا إلى مليون ترحيل ، أكثر من أي رئيس حتى الآن.  قوانين مثل ولاية ألاباما جلبت كبش فداء للمهاجرين إلى مستوى متدنٍ جديد ، ففي اليوم التالي لتطبيق قانون ألاباما ، تغيب آلاف الأطفال في أسر المهاجرين عن المدرسة. بدأت شركة مياه في طلب إثبات الحالة للحفاظ على الخدمة لأسر المهاجرين. التأثيرات عميقة ومؤلمة. إن بناء حركة من أجل العدالة في مجتمعاتنا يعني تزويد الجميع ، وخاصة أولئك الأكثر تعرضًا للهجوم ، بالأدوات التي يحتاجون إليها لحماية أنفسهم وعائلاتهم.

الهدف من جولة "اعرف حقوقك" هو تعليم المئات من المهاجرين الريفيين والحلفاء الدفاع عن حقوقهم عند مواجهة الشرطة أو مسؤولي الهجرة الفيدراليين ، ولكن أيضًا لبناء التضامن والمعرفة. الحلفاء مدعوون للحضور - وستتضمن معظم ورش العمل مكونًا لرواية القصص حيث نقوم بتعميق فهمنا للتأثيرات البشرية لنظام الهجرة المعطل. سيتم دعوة المشاركين في كل ورشة عمل للانضمام إلى مجموعة مضيفة محلية للتنظيم على مدار العام ليكون لها تأثير في مجتمعهم المحلي.

بدأت الجولة يوم السبت 1 أكتوبر في مقاطعة كولومبيا. استضافت Latinos Unidos para Un Futuro Mejor (لاتينيون متحدون من أجل مستقبل أفضل) المحطة الأولى ، كاملة مع أنشطة للأطفال ، وتحديثات عن مشاريع قوانين حقوق المهاجرين في ولاية أوريغون ، ووقت "أخبرنا بقصتك" الذي صور فيه متطوعون قصص المهاجرين كجزء من لمشروع المجتمع الترحيبي ، وعشاء لذيذ.

جلبت Latinos Unidos para Un Futuro Mejor 35 شخصًا مع عشرات الأطفال لمعرفة ما يعنيه ليس فقط معرفة حقوقك ولكن معرفة كيفية ممارستها. بقي كل شخص لمدة ساعتين في ورشة العمل التي كانت تُترجم إلى الإسبانية. لقد كان ملهمًا ومثيرًا أن أرى أن كل من جاء على استعداد للتعلم والمشاركة والمشاركة مع بعضهم البعض. كان هناك شعور بالإلحاح لهذا النوع من المعلومات بين المهاجرين والمجتمع ككل. كانت إتاحة الفرصة للقدوم إلى مكان ودود للتعلم وفهم ماهية حقوقنا الفردية وكيف يمكننا إنفاذها وأهمية ذلك لا تقدر بثمن لكل فرد في الغرفة.

الآن بعد أن توقفنا في سانت هيلين ، نحن جاهزون لمحطتنا التالية! فيما يلي قائمة بالتواريخ والأماكن التي سنستضيف فيها ورش العمل بالتعاون مع مجموعات العدالة الاجتماعية المحلية في أمريكا اللاتينية.

15 أكتوبر: مقاطعة يامهيل: دايتون - باستضافة موخيريس لاتينوس لوتشاندو بور إل بويبلو
12 نوفمبر: مقاطعة أوماتيلا ، هيرميستون - باستضافة Guardianes de la Raza
13 نوفمبر: وسط أوريغون ، برينفيل - باستضافة CAUSA
الثامن من كانون الأول (ديسمبر): مقاطعة يامهيل: نيوبيرغ - استضافتها مكتبة نيوبيرغ العامة
العاشر من كانون الأول (ديسمبر): مقاطعة بولك ، الاستقلال - باستضافة Polk Cafe Commons
11 ديسمبر: مقاطعة لينكولن ولينكولن سيتي ونيوبورت - باستضافة "سينترو دي أيودا"

يمكنك أنت ومجموعتك الانضمام إلينا في ورشة العمل وإظهار دعمك وقد تتعلم أيضًا شيئًا جديدًا أو اثنين! إن دعمك وتحالفك مهم جدًا لمجتمع المهاجرين ، فهو يظهر أنه يتم الترحيب بهم بأذرع مفتوحة. في أوقات مثل التي نعيشها الآن ، فإن كونك مهاجرًا يجلب الشعور بعدم الأمان والاستبعاد. مع ذلك ، يرجى الانضمام إلينا في جلسة إعلامية مليئة بالمرح والصداقة الحميمة!

اتصال keyla@rop.org للعثور على معلومات للمنظم الرئيسي لكل محطة في الجولة!

كيلا وأماندا

لا يمكن أن توقف PS؟ هناك طريقة أخرى لدعم! تقوم شرطة عمان السلطانية بتجنيد متبرعين يمكنهم التبرع من $10-$100 للمساعدة في تغطية تكاليف السفر والتكاليف الأخرى لجلب الجولة إلى ريف أوريغون. تواصل مع Keyla لمعرفة المزيد.

سهل الطباعة، PDF والبريد الإلكتروني
العربية

Know Your Rights Workshops hit the Road!

Our Rural Latino Retreat earlier this year really drove home Oregon’s truth: we’re ready.  Ready for a human dignity movement led by people who know all about assaults on dignity daily: immigrants & immigrant families. As part of our support to rural Latino groups, ROP has teamed up with the Civil Liberties Defense Center based in Eugene, Oregon, to bring “Know Your Rights” workshops to 9 counties in rural Oregon from October-December 2011. Read on for stop locations, details and more.

Most of us don’t live the daily turmoil of not knowing – if we’ll make it home from work, if our family will stay together, if a simple traffic stop will shatter our dreams.  If you’re feeling disconnected from the detentions and deportations crisis, here is a video of one Bend woman, who has now been deported, eloquently telling her story.

Under Obama, we have reached a million deportations, the most of any president so far.  Laws like in Alabama are bringing immigrant scapegoating to a new low.The day following the Alabama law’s implementation, thousands of children in immigrant families were absent from school.  A water company began requiring proof of status to keep service to immigrant households.  The impacts are deep and painful.  Building a movement for justice in our communities means equipping everyone, especially those most under attack, with the tools they need to protect themselves and their families.

The goal of the “Know Your Rights” tour is to teach hundreds of rural immigrants & allies to defend their rights when faced with police or federal immigration officials, but also to build solidarity and knowledge.  Allies are invited to attend – and most workshops will feature a story telling component where we deepen our understanding of the human impacts of a broken immigration system.  Participants of each workshop will be invited to join with a local host group for year-round organizing to have an impact in their local community.

The tour kicked off on Saturday, October 1st in Columbia County.  Latinos Unidos para Un Futuro Mejor (Latinos United for a Better Future) hosted the first stop, complete with activities for children, updates on Oregon immigrants rights bills, a “Tell Us Your Story” time in which immigrant stories were filmed by volunteers as part of the Welcoming Community project, and a delicious dinner.

Latinos Unidos para Un Futuro Mejor brought in 35 people with dozens of children in tow to learn what it means to not only know your rights but know how exercise them.  Every single person stayed for the two-hour long workshop that was being translated in Spanish. It was inspiring and exciting to see that everybody who came was ready to learn, participate and share with each other. The urgency was felt for this type of information among immigrants and the community at large. Having the opportunity to come to a friendly place to learn, understand what our individual rights are, how we can enforce them and the importance of it was invaluable for every single person in the room.

Now that we have stopped in St. Helens, we are ready for our next stop! Here’s a list of dates and places where we’ll be hosting the workshops in collaboration with local Latino social justice groups.

October 15th: Yamhill County: Dayton – Hosted by Mujeres Latinos Luchando por el Pueblo
November 12th: Umatilla County, Hermiston – Hosted by Guardianes de la Raza
November 13th: Central Oregon, Prineville – Hosted by CAUSA
December 8th: Yamhill County: Newberg – Hosted by Newberg Public Library
December 10th: Polk County, Independence – Hosted by Polk Cafe Commons
December 11th: Lincoln County, Lincoln City & Newport – Hosted by “Centro de Ayuda”

You and your group can join us in the workshop and show your support and you might also learn a new thing or two! Your support and alliance is very important to the immigrant community, it shows that they are welcomed with open arms. In times like we are living right now, being an immigrant brings feelings of insecurity and exclusion. With that said, please join us for an informative session filled with fun and camaraderie!

Contact keyla@rop.org to find information for the lead organizer for each stop on the tour!

Keyla & Amanda

P.S Can’t make it to a stop?  There is another way to support!  ROP is recruiting donors who can give from $10-$100 to help cover travel and other costs to bring the tour to rural Oregon.  Get in touch with Keyla to find out more.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English