厨房餐桌活动:向人权英雄致敬

什么是活动?

本月的厨房餐桌活动将向一名或多名社区成员颁发证书,他们的工作加强了《世界人权宣言》(UDHR) 三十条中的一项或多项。值此《世界人权宣言》周年之际,让我们借此机会提醒我们的社区注意我们共同的民主和人权价值观,因为我们正在考虑一个公平和民主的社会应该包括哪些政策和做法。多年来,这项 KTA 已作为年度行动重复进行,因为您告诉我们,这是一种有趣、简单、有效和积极的方式来庆祝和提高对人权胜利和斗争的认识。

为什么是这个活动?

我们生活在一个争取人的尊严和人权的运动正在经历强烈反对的时代,这些运动旨在使我们边缘化,减少我们的工作,并使我们对社区的愿景保持沉默。 面对强烈反对,俄勒冈州农村人勇敢无畏地在公共场合说出他们的价值观和愿景。

举几个例子,包括 尽管遭到人身攻击和逮捕,约瑟芬县的青年仍在组织 LGBTQ2SIA+ 学生的权利在学区禁止骄傲旗帜和 Black Lives Matter 标志后,Newberg 各地的人们出现为 LGBTQ2SIA+ 权利和 Black Lives Matter 示威杰克逊县青年举办了反种族主义研讨会,并绘制了一幅美丽的大壁画,庆祝社区中强大的有色人种领袖 在一名年轻的黑人被谋杀之后,以及 尽管被罚款并被勒令停止,库里县的信仰领袖仍在继续养活他们的邻居

在这些困难时期,人类尊严团体是社区的道德指南针 做一个有良心的人往往是一项艰难而吃力不讨好的工作。将人权奖授予当地社区领袖是建立关系和推进关于我们共同的农村价值观和未来愿景的对话的好方法!

更多关于《世界人权宣言》

很像 ROP 的民主网格, 这 世界人权宣言 (UDHR) 可以作为一个结构框架来连接看似不同的问题。 《世界人权宣言》概述的五类人权是公民人权、经济人权、社会人权、文化人权和政治人权。 公民人权 是诸如言论自由、和平集会和不受歧视的自由。 经济人权 包括为您的工作获得生活工资的权利,工作后能够养家糊口的权利,如果您无法工作也能够生存的权利。 社会人权 谈论每个人在住房、教育和医疗保健方面的需求。 文化人权 包括实践您自己的文化、您选择的宗教和您选择的语言的权利。 政治人权 包括自由选举权、国籍权以及自由进出贵国的权利。 

如何完成活动:

1. 与您的人类尊严小组聚集在一起,集思广益,共同讨论您所在社区的人的想法,这些人将是获得人权工作赞赏证书的重要候选人。移民社区中是否有值得尊敬的领袖?一些建议包括在大流行期间加倍努力以消除获取资源障碍的服务提供商、学校教师或教练、工会领袖、ESL 教师或学生领袖。

2. 在这里下载证书 或使用 Canva 等免费工具创建您自己的工具。

3. 将这封信改编为编辑或新闻稿 向您的社区宣布此奖项。

4. 讨论您的小组如何将《世界人权宣言》用作框架。您的工作如何与人权原则相联系?您的工作如何属于《世界人权宣言》的条款?

5. 让我们知道谁被提名!联系您友好的 ROP 组织者或发送电子邮件 杰斯@rop.org 并告诉我们您的候选人以及他们在您的社区中所做的出色工作!

背景: Kitchen Table Activism (KTA) 是农村组织项目的月度活动。这个想法是,当一群人聚集在一起在俄勒冈州完成相同的行动时,小行动可以带来强大的集体结果。 ROP 致力于使每个 KTA 易于实现,以便有其他项目的组或即时能量有限的组仍然可以每月完成 KTA。

ROP 即将满 30 岁 今天送一份特别的礼物

ROP 将在 2022 年迎来 30 岁生日,我们希望您能和我们一起庆祝! 请考虑今天的特别礼物 为了纪念这个周年纪念日和未来 30 年强大的农村组织。谢谢!

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Kitchen Table Activity: Honoring Human Rights Heroes

What is the Activity?

This month’s Kitchen Table Activity is to award a certificate to one or more community members whose work strengthens one or more of the thirty articles of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights (UDHR). On the anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, let’s take the opportunity to remind our communities of our shared values of democracy and human rights as we consider just what policies and practices a fair and democratic society should include. Over the years, this KTA has been repeated as an annual action because you tell us that this is a fun, easy, effective, and positive way to celebrate and raise awareness of human rights victories and struggles.

Why this Activity?

We live in a time when the movements for human dignity and human rights are experiencing intense backlash that is intended to marginalize us, minimize our work, and silence our visions for our communities. In the face of backlash, rural Oregonians are bravely and courageously naming their values and visions in public.

Just a few examples include youth in Josephine County are organizing for LGBTQ2SIA+ students’ rights despite physical attacks and arrestsfolks across Newberg showing up to demonstrate for LGBTQ2SIA+ rights and Black Lives Matter after the school district banned pride flags and Black Lives Matter signsJackson County youth hosted antiracism workshops and painted a beautiful, big mural celebrating the powerful leaders of color from the community in the wake of the murder of a young Black man, and faith leaders in Curry County are continuing to feed their neighbors despite getting fined and ordered to stop

Human dignity groups are a moral compass for the community in these troubled times and often being a person of conscience is a difficult and thankless job.Bestowing a Human Rights Award to a local community leader is a great way to build relationships and advance the conversation about our shared rural values and vision for the future!

More on the UDHR

Much like ROP’s Democracy Grid, the Universal Declaration of Human Rights (UDHR) can work as a structural framework to connect seemingly distinct issues. The five categories of human rights outlined in the UDHR are civil human rights, economic human rights, social human rights, cultural human rights, and political human rights. Civil Human Rights are those such as free speech, peaceful assembly, and freedom from discrimination. Economic Human Rights include the right to a living wage for your work, the right to be able to feed your family after working, the right to be able to survive if you are not able to work. Social Human Rights speak to the needs each person has for housing, education, and health care. Cultural Human Rights include the rights to practice your own culture, your religion of choice, and your language of choice. Political Human Rights include the right to free elections, the right to a nationality, and the right to free movement in and out of your country. 

How to Complete the Activity:

1. Gather with your human dignity group to brainstorm ideas of people in your community that would be notable candidates for receiving a certificate of appreciation for their human rights work. Is there a leader in the immigrant community who deserves to be honored? Some suggestions include service providers who went the extra mile during the pandemic to eliminate barriers to accessing resources, school teachers or coaches, union leaders, ESL teachers, or student leaders.

2. Download a certificate here or create your own using free tools like Canva.

3. Adapt this letter to the editor or press release to announce this award to your community.

4. Discuss how your group can use the Universal Declaration of Human Rights as a framework. How does your work connect to human rights principles? How does your work fall under the articles of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights?

5. Let us know who was nominated! Reach out to your friendly ROP organizer or email jess@rop.org and tell us about your candidate and the amazing work they did in your community!

Background: Kitchen Table Activism (KTA) is a monthly activity by the Rural Organizing Project. The idea is that small actions can lead to powerful collective results when groups of people gather to complete the same action across the state of Oregon. ROP works to keep each KTA easily achievable so that groups with other projects or groups with limited immediate energy can still complete the KTA each month.

ROP is turning 30 Give a special gift today

ROP is turning 30 years old in 2022 and we hope you will join us in celebrating! Please consider a special gift today in honor of this anniversary and for the next 30 years of powerful rural organizing. Thank you!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English