厨房餐桌激进主义:无特殊职责

背景:厨房餐桌行动主义 (KTA) 是农村组织项目的月度活动。这个想法是,当一群人聚集在一起在俄勒冈州完成相同的行动时,小行动可以带来强大的集体结果。 ROP 致力于使每个 KTA 易于实现,以便有其他项目的组或即时能量有限的组仍然可以每月完成 KTA。

什么是活动?

几个月前,我们听说科瓦利斯的组织者承担了一个很棒的项目,现在似乎是与网络分享的时候了!去年秋天,本顿县世界中谷产业工人分会 (IWW) 分会的组织者举办了一次讲座,邀请社区成员加入他们,聆听和讨论 RadioLab 剧集“无特殊责任”。 这一集揭示了美国各地的多个警务故事,在这些故事中,最高法院裁定执法部门 没有特别的义务 来保护人们。 本月的活动是使用 教学指南 他们与我们分享了您自己对这一集的讨论!您的小组可以决定是否要邀请更广泛的社区参与教学或在即将举行的小组会议中主持对话。联系我们 艾玛@rop.org 如果您需要支持为您的教学制定计划! 

Radio Lab 网站的截图,其中包含有关该集的详细信息

为什么要开展这项活动?

在过去的几周里,我们目睹了全国各地太多的人被警察杀害,从 Daunte Wright 到 Adam Toledo,从 Ma'Khia Bryant 到 Andrew Brown Jr.,以及俄勒冈州的 Robert Delgado。我们还得到消息,德里克·肖万因谋杀乔治·弗洛伊德的所有罪名而被判有罪。虽然我们知道该州每个县的人们去年都走上街头要求为乔治·弗洛伊德伸张正义并捍卫黑人的生命,但了解这个问题也是创造真正解决方案的重要组成部分。这个播客集讨论了问题的一部分,我们认为这是启动关于我们州社区真正安全的对话的一种很好的方式。 

如何完成活动:

1.检查 教学指南 由世界中谷国际工人组织 (IWW) 组成。该文档包括一个便利指南、建议的讨论问题,甚至是一封用于联系当地执法部门的样本信!

2. 计划邀请谁加入对话。这将只是您小组的领导团队吗?你的读书俱乐部?对整个社区开放的虚拟活动?

3. 收听播客节目 无线电实验室:“无特殊职责”

4. 讨论并制定您的小组下一步想要做的计划,以解决您社区中真正的公共安全问题!需要支持来实现这一目标吗?联系您当地的 ROP 组织者或发送电子邮件 艾玛@rop.org!

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Kitchen Table Activism: No Special Duty

Background: Kitchen Table Activism (KTA) is a monthly activity by the Rural Organizing Project. The idea is that small actions can lead to powerful collective results when groups of people gather to complete the same action across the state of Oregon. ROP works to keep each KTA easily achievable so that groups with other projects or groups with limited immediate energy can still complete the KTA each month.

WHAT IS THE ACTIVITY?

A few months ago, we heard of an awesome project that organizers in Corvallis took on and this seemed like just the time to share it with the network! Organizers with the Mid-Valley Industrial Workers of the World (IWW) chapter in Benton County hosted a teach-in last fall, where they invited community members to join them to listen to and discuss the RadioLab episode “No Special Duty.” This episode uncovers multiple stories of policing across the US where the Supreme Court ruled that law enforcement has no special duty to protect people. This month’s activity is to use the Teach-In Guide they shared with us to host your own discussion on the episode! Your group can decide whether you want to invite the broader community to participate in the teach-in or host the conversation within an upcoming group meeting. Reach out to us at Emma@rop.org if you want support making a plan for your teach-in! 

Screet shot of Radio Lab website with details about the episode

WHY THIS ACTIVITY?

In the last few weeks, we have witnessed too many people murdered by police across the country, from Daunte Wright to Adam Toledo, from Ma’Khia Bryant to Andrew Brown Jr., and Robert Delgado right here in Oregon. We have also gotten the news that Derek Chauvin is guilty on all counts of murdering George Floyd. While we know people in every county in this state have taken to the streets in the last year to demand Justice for George Floyd and in defense of Black lives, understanding the problem is also an important piece of creating real solutions. This podcast episode discusses one part of the problem, and we think it is one great way to kickstart a conversation about what true safety could look like in communities across our state. 

HOW TO COMPLETE THE ACTIVITY:

1. Check out the Teach-In Guide put together by the Mid-Valley International Workers of the World (IWW). This document includes a facilitation guide, suggested discussion questions, and even a sample letter for contacting your local law enforcement!

2. Make a plan for who to invite to the conversation. Is this going to be just your group’s leadership team? Your book club? A virtual event open to the entire community?

3. Listen to the podcast episode by Radio Lab: “No Special Duty”

4. Discuss and make a plan for what your group wants to do next to engage around true public safety in your community! Want support in making this happen? Contact your local ROP organizer or email emma@rop.org!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English