نضع أعيننا على الجائزة: شرطة عمان السلطانية في الهيئة التشريعية لعام 2011

في جلسة تشريعية أبرزت مرة أخرى أزمة الإيرادات الهائلة لدينا ، ركزت شرطة عمان السلطانية ومجموعاتنا الأعضاء على النتائج النهائية.

منصة شرطة عمان السلطانية: دعت شرطة عمان السلطانية وجماعات الكرامة الإنسانية الأعضاء فيها المشرعين إلى:

ضع الناس أولاً: رفاهية الإنسان هي مؤشر النجاح الاقتصادي
يظل مسئولا أولئك المسؤولين عن الركود الاقتصادي
تعزيز الأمن الحقيقي من خلال تمكين المجتمع والحفاظ على الطاقة

خلال هذه الجلسة التشريعية ، دافعنا عن عدالة المهاجرين وحقوق العمال والعدالة الاقتصادية. عقدنا جلسات استراتيجية محلية ثم حشدنا لكتابة مئات الرسائل إلى المشرعين لدينا ، إلى أوراق البلدات الصغيرة ، للسفر إلى سالم والمشاركة في الوفود إلى المشرعين وأيام العمل. على الرغم من الضغط الهائل لخفض الميزانية بشكل كبير ، فقد ظللنا نركز على رؤيتنا.

في رؤيتنا الشركات مسؤولة عن حل الأزمة التي خلقتها.

في رؤيتنا يساهم المهاجرون في نجاح ولاية أوريغون في الحصول على التعليم وبدون خوف.

في رؤيتنا الضروريات الأساسية ممولة بالكامل ، ونحن نخطط على المدى الطويل من خلال الاستثمار المحلي المسؤول ، والرقابة الديمقراطية على الموارد.

في رؤيتنا ، تعد مجتمعات المدن الصغيرة جزءًا من عملية صنع القرار التي تعمل على تغيير هذا الاقتصاد.

يوجد أدناه قسم "القضايا الرئيسية باختصار" للحصول على تحديثات حول الفواتير الرئيسية التي عملنا عليها في هذه الجلسة. وفيما يلي بعض القصص التي توضح كيف تستخدم مجموعات الكرامة الإنسانية نهجها المحلي المتقاطع لإحداث فرق استراتيجي.

لمحة عن القضايا ذات الأولوية لدينا:

رخص القيادة: بعد توقع أننا لن نحصل حتى على جلسة استماع بشأن استعادة الوصول إلى رخص القيادة للمهاجرين ، لم نحصل فقط على جلسة استماع وصوتت لجنة لصالحها ، ولكن كان هناك أيضًا 1500 شخص في المجلس التشريعي في ذلك اليوم ، مع قادة شرطة عمان السلطانية كونهم من أقلية الوجوه البيضاء في الحشد. سنواصل العمل مع أصدقائنا في CAUSA ، ومع مجموعاتنا الأعضاء ، ومع شبكة من المنظمات الريفية لاتينية حتى يتم الحصول على رخص القيادة.

بنك ولاية أوريغون: تظل رؤية بنك ولاية أوريغون قوية ، على الرغم من أن الافتقار إلى القيادة في سالم أدى إلى حدوث فساد أصغر مما كان متوقعًا. بينما لم نتمكن من الحصول على تصويت كامل حول هذه القضية ، فإن مفهوم بنك ولاية أوريغون يكتسب وضوحًا. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، تم تعزيز تحالفنا بين أوريغونيانز من أجل بنك الدولة ، والعمل الريفي في أوريغون ، وأصدقاء المزارعين الأسريين ، وشرطة عمان السلطانية ، وحزب العائلات العاملة. انظر البيان الصحفي الكامل بعد الجلسة هنا. الخطوات التالية - حملة محلية في أوريغون بانكس.

حقوق الملكية: قامت شرطة عمان السلطانية بتعليم وتعبئة قاعدتنا على مستوى الولاية لصالح المساواة في الرسوم الدراسية ، ولكن ركزت بشكل خاص في 4 مناطق رئيسية. في تلك المناطق ، أنشأنا العشرات من جهات الاتصال التأسيسية و LTEs في الوقت المناسب ، وفي اللحظة الأخيرة نجحنا في نقل Rep Boone إلى تصويت YES. لكن ، بعد أن علقوا في مأزق حزبي لمنزل مقسم ، أغلق الجمهوريون مشروع القانون ورفضوا التزحزح. في اللحظة الأخيرة ، لم يكن لدينا سوى عدد قليل من التوقيعات أقل من الأغلبية اللازمة لنقل الفاتورة إلى أرضية المنزل. في العام المقبل ، سنواصل دعم هذا الجهد طالما أنه يمثل أولوية للمهاجرين والحلفاء على مستوى الولاية.

مكافحة سرقة الأجور: قبل أن تبدأ هذه الجلسة التشريعية ، لم يكن معظم المشرعين (وأوريغونيين) يعرفون ما هي "سرقة الأجور". الآن ، إنها مشكلة أكثر شيوعًا. لقد جمعنا العشرات من الشهادات من أولئك الذين عانوا من سرقة الأجور ووجدنا بعض الأبطال في الهيئة التشريعية في هذه القضية. بالنسبة لقضية أثيرت لأول مرة على الإطلاق في المجلس التشريعي لولاية أوريغون ، فهذه علامة جيدة على أننا حصلنا على تصويت لصالح سياسة مكافحة سرقة الأجور في مجلس الشيوخ. سيستخدم تحالف المجموعات التي تعمل على وقف سرقة الأجور هذا الزخم الأولي لمواصلة بناء دعوة في ولاية أوريغون لوقف سرقة الأجور وللبناء نحو مكاسب سياسية ملموسة تحمي العمال.

حقوق الملكية: النوع الصحيح من الاتصال للحصول على النوع الصحيح من النتائج:

كان النائب بون مترددًا باستمرار بشأن المساواة في الرسوم الدراسية. في اللحظة الأخيرة ، بعد تلقي العشرات من جهات الاتصال التأسيسية ورؤية 3 صحف محلية مختلفة في منطقتها تغمرها الرسائل لدعم المساواة في التعليم ، انتقلت إلى نعم وصوتت على عريضة تسريح من شأنها أن تجعل التشريع يصوت على الأرض أكثر من التوقيع على عريضة عبر الإنترنت أو إرسال رسالة آلية ، كانت جهات الاتصال من قادة المجتمع الرئيسيين ، وأحيانًا الأصدقاء الشخصيين لـ Rep Boone ، الذين أرسلوا إليها رسائل شخصية صادقة وأبلغت بها خلال الجلسة بأكملها ، ولكن بشكل خاص عندما اقتربت من نهايتها. عندما وقعت على العريضة ، قالت إنها قررت دعم مشروع القانون بسبب وجهات النظر المشتركة في الرسائل من ناخبيها.

هذا العام ، فشلنا في الحصول على عدد قليل من التواقيع اللازمة لدفع مشروع القانون إلى الأمام ، لكننا نرى التأثير المتزايد لعملنا في كل من المشرعين الرئيسيين وفي شغف حركتنا وقوتها. سنواصل العمل مع أصدقائنا في CAUSA والجماعات الحليفة لتعزيز عدالة المهاجرين في عام 2012.

بناء الحركة: الكل للواحد والواحد للجميع

في مارس ، تلقت شرطة عمان السلطانية كلمة من أصدقائنا في CAUSA بأننا بحاجة إلى نقل مشرع واحد آخر في لجنة الأعمال والنقل والتنمية الاقتصادية بمجلس الشيوخ من أجل الحصول على تصويت الأغلبية لصالح الوصول إلى رخص القيادة للمهاجرين. كان السناتور جيسون أتكينسون ، الذي يمثل ولاية أوريغون الجنوبية ، عضوًا في تلك اللجنة ولم يلتزم بالتصويت لصالحها. بعد أسبوع من تلقي شرطة عمان السلطانية المكالمة ، نظمنا اجتماعين في منطقة أتكينسون مع الناخبين والقادة المحليين. اجتماع واحد يبرز على وجه الخصوص.

في هذا التجمع جمعت شرطة عمان السلطانية قادة حزن جيد امريكا (الذي يركز على حبس الرهن) ، Unete (منظمة الفلاحين) ، مواطنون من أجل السلام والعدالة (في الأساس مجموعة موجهة نحو السلام) ، و أوريغون أكشن (مجموعة بناء القاعدة والعدالة الاقتصادية). التقى قادة هذه المجموعات لأول مرة معًا ووضعوا خطة لجمع أكثر من 1000 بطاقة بريدية وتوليد العشرات من المكالمات الهاتفية من الناخبين وقادة المجتمع إلى السناتور أتكينسون.

اتصل قادة من Good Grief America بأصدقائهم في صناعة التأمين لإجراء مكالمات. ركز Unete على جمع البطاقات البريدية من عمال المزارع والمهاجرين والقادة الدينيين. نظم مواطنون من أجل السلام والعدالة مسيرة بعد بضعة أيام للاحتفال بذكرى الحرب في العراق والمطالبة بإنهاء الاحتلال ، ووفرت مساحة لـ Unete للحديث عن رخص القيادة - ربط الحروب على متنها بالحروب في الداخل . في النهاية ، كانت شرطة عمان السلطانية ومجموعاتنا الأعضاء على مستوى الولاية جزءًا من موجة الضغط التي شعر بها المشرعون في سالم الذين حصلوا على رخص قيادة على الرادار.

عندما حصل مشروع القانون على جلسة استماع علنية في اللحظة الأخيرة في مبنى الكابيتول ، كان أعضاء شرطة عمان السلطانية فخورون بكونهم من وجوه الحلفاء البيض في حشد من 1500 شخص حضروا بإشعار قبل أيام قليلة فقط! لم يخرج مشروع القانون عن اللجنة هذا العام ، لكن قاعدة شرطة عمان السلطانية وقيادتها تستعد للعمل مع حركة حقوق المهاجرين في ولاية أوريغون لإبقاء الضغط مرتفعًا في عام 2012.

العربية

Keeping our Eye on the Prize: ROP in the 2011 Legislature

In a legislative session that once again brought our massive revenue crisis front and center, ROP and our member groups kept a focus on the ultimate outcomes.

ROP Platform: ROP and its member human dignity groups called upon our legislators to:

Put People First: Human well-being is the indicator of economic success
Hold Accountable those responsible for the Economic Recession
Promote Real Security through community empowerment and energy conservation

During this Legislative Session we advocated for immigrant fairness, workers’ rights and economic fairness. We held local strategy sessions then mobilized to write hundreds of letters to our legislators, to our small-town papers, to travel to Salem and participate in delegations to legislators and days of action. Despite the enormous pressure to slash and cut the budget deep, we stayed focused on our vision.

In our vision, corporations are accountable to solve the crisis they created.

In our vision, immigrants contribute to Oregon’s success with access to education and without fear.

In our vision, basic necessities are fully funded, and we plan for the long term through responsible local investment, and democratic control of resources.

In our vision, small-town communities are part of the decision making that gets this economy turned around.

Below is our “key issues in brief” section for updates about key bills we worked on this session.  And below that are a couple of stories that show how human dignity groups use their cross-issue and local approach to make a strategic difference.

Our Priority Issues at a Glance:

Driver’s Licenses: After anticipating that we wouldn’t even get a hearing on restoring access to Drivers Licenses to immigrants, we not only got a hearing and a committee vote in favor, but there was also 1500 people in attendance at the Legislature that day, with ROP leaders being some of the minority of white faces in the crowd. We will continue to work with our friends at CAUSA, with our member groups, and with a network of rural Latino organizations until drivers licenses are won.

Oregon State Bank: The vision of the Oregon State Bank stays strong, even though a lack of leadership in Salem resulted in smaller-than-hoped-for gails. While we were unable to get a full floor vote on the issue, the Oregon State Bank concept is gaining visibility. In addition, our coalition was strengthened among Oregonians for a State Bank, Oregon Rural Action, Friends of Family Farmers, ROP and the Working Families Party. See the full post-session press release here. Next steps- an Oregon Banks Local campaign.

Tuition Equity: ROP educated and mobilized our base statewide in favor of Tuition Equity, but especially focused in 4 key districts. In those districts we generated dozens of timely constituent contacts and LTEs, and at the very last minute were successful in moving Rep Boone to a YES vote. But, stuck in partisan gridlock of a divided house, Republicans locked down the bill and refused to budge. At the final moment we were just a few signatures short of the majority needed to move the bill to the house floor. This next year, we will continue supporting this effort as long as it is a priority of immigrants and allies statewide.

Anti-Wage Theft: Before this legislative session started, most legislators (and Oregonians) didn’t know what “wage theft” was. Now, it’s a more commonly understand issue. We have collected dozens of testimonies from those who have experienced Wage Theft and have found some champions in the legislature on the issue. For an issue that was raised for the first time ever in the Oregon Legislature, it is a good sign that we received a floor vote in favor of anti-wage theft policy in the Senate. The coalition of groups working on Stopping Wage Theft will use this initial momentum to continue to build a call in Oregon for a stop to Wage Theft and to build towards concrete policy gains that protect workers.

Tuition Equity: The right kind of contact for the right kind of results:

Representative Boone was consistently undecided on Tuition Equity. At the last minute, after receiving dozens of constituent contacts and seeing 3 different local papers in her district flooded with letters in support of Tuition Equity, she switched to a YES and voted for a discharge petition that would have brought the legislation to a floor vote.More than signing an online petition or sending a machined letter, contacts were from key community leaders, sometimes personal friends of Rep Boone, who sent heartfelt and informed personal letters to her during the entire session, but especially as it drew to a close. As she signed the petition, she said that she had decided to support the bill because of the perspectives shared in letters from her constituents.

This year, we fell a few short of the signatures needed to move the bill forward, but we see the incremental impact of our work in both key legislators and in the passion and power of our movement. We will continue to work with our friends at CAUSA and allied groups to advance immigrant fairness in 2012.

Movement Building: All for one and one for all

In March, ROP got word from our friends at CAUSA that we needed to move one more legislator in the Senate Business, Transportation and Economic Development Committee in order to have a majority vote in favor of access to driver’s licenses for immigrants. Senator Jason Atkinson, who represents Southern Oregon, was on that committee and had not committed to voting in favor. A week after ROP received the call, we organized two meetings in Atkinson’s district with constituents and local leaders. One meeting stands out in particular.

At this gathering ROP brought together leaders of Good Grief America (who focuses on foreclosures), Unete (a farmworker organization), Citizens for Peace and Justice (primarily a peace oriented group), and Oregon Action (a base-building and economic justice group). Leaders from these groups met for the first time all together and mapped out a plan to collect over 1000 postcards and generate dozens of phone calls from constituents and community leaders to Senator Atkinson.

Leaders from Good Grief America contacted their friends in the insurance industry to make calls. Unete focused on gathering postcards from farmworkers, immigrants and faith leaders. Citizens for Peace & Justice was holding a rally a few days later to recognize the anniversary of the war in Iraq and demand an end to the occupation, and provided space for Unete to talk about drivers licenses- linking the wars aboard with the wars at home. In the end, ROP & our member groups statewide were part of the wave of pressure felt by legislators in Salem that got drivers licenses on the radar.

When the bill got a last-minute public hearing at the capitol, ROP members were proud to be some of the faces of white allies in the crowd of 1500 people who showed up with just a few days’ notice! The bill didn’t move out of committee this year, but the ROP base and leadership is poised to work with Oregon’s immigrants’ rights movement to keep the pressure high in 2012.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English