密切关注奖品:2011 年立法机构的 ROP

在再次将我们的大规模收入危机置于前沿和中心的立法会议上,ROP 和我们的成员团体一直关注最终结果。

ROP平台:ROP 及其成员人类尊严团体呼吁我们的立法者:

以人为本: 人类福祉是经济成功的指标
追究责任 那些应对经济衰退负责的人
促进真正的安全 通过社区赋权和节能

在本届立法会议期间,我们倡导移民公平、工人权利和经济公平。我们举行了当地的战略会议,然后动员起来给我们的立法者、我们的小镇报纸写数百封信,前往塞勒姆并参加立法者代表团和行动日。尽管面临大幅削减和削减预算的巨大压力,我们仍然专注于我们的愿景。

在我们的视野中, 公司有责任解决他们造成的危机。

在我们的视野中, 移民无所畏惧地接受教育,为俄勒冈州的成功做出了贡献。

在我们的视野中, 基本必需品得到充分资助,我们通过负责任的当地投资和对资源的民主控制来制定长期计划。

在我们的愿景中,小镇社区是推动经济复苏的决策的一部分。

以下是我们的“关键问题简述”部分,用于更新我们在本次会议上工作的关键法案。下面是几个故事,展示了人类尊严团体如何利用他们的跨问题和本地方法来产生战略差异。

我们的优先事项一览:

驾驶执照: 在预计我们甚至不会就恢复移民获得驾驶执照的听证会举行听证会之后,我们不仅获得了听证会和委员会投票的支持,而且当天还有 1500 人出席了立法机构,其中有 ROP 领导人成为人群中少数白人面孔。我们将继续与 CAUSA 的朋友、我们的成员团体以及农村拉丁裔组织网络合作,直到获得驾驶执照。

俄勒冈州立银行: 俄勒冈州立银行的愿景依然坚定,尽管塞勒姆缺乏领导力导致了比预期的要小。虽然我们无法在这个问题上获得全场投票,但俄勒冈州立银行的概念正在获得知名度。此外,我们在俄勒冈州的州银行、俄勒冈农村行动、家庭农民之友、ROP 和工薪家庭党中加强了我们的联盟。 在此处查看完整的会后新闻稿。 下一步 - 俄勒冈银行本地活动。

学费净值: ROP 在全州范围内教育和动员我们的基地支持学费公平,但特别关注 4 个关键地区。在这些地区,我们产生了数十个及时的选民联系人和 LTE,并在最后一刻成功地让 Rep Boone 投了赞成票。但是,陷入分裂的众议院的党派僵局,共和党人锁定了该法案并拒绝让步。在最后一刻,我们只差几个签名就需要将法案移到众议院所需的多数。明年,我们将继续支持这项工作,只要它是全州移民和盟友的优先事项。

反工资盗窃: 在这次立法会议开始之前,大多数立法者(和俄勒冈州人)不知道什么是“工资盗窃”。现在,这是一个更普遍的理解问题。我们从那些经历过工资盗窃的人那里收集了数十份证词,并在立法机构中找到了一些在这个问题上的支持者。对于俄勒冈州立法机构有史以来第一次提出的问题,我们在参议院获得了支持反工资盗窃政策的全场投票是一个好兆头。致力于制止工资盗窃的团体联盟将利用这一初始势头继续在俄勒冈呼吁停止工资盗窃,并努力实现保护工人的具体政策收益。

学费净值: 正确的联系方式以获得正确的结果:

布恩代表一直未决定学费公平。在最后一刻,在收到数十个选民联系并看到她所在地区的 3 份不同的当地报纸充斥着支持学费公平的信件后,她转而投赞成票,并投票支持一项本可以使立法进入全场投票的解雇请愿书. 不仅仅是签署在线请愿书或发送一封机加工的信件,联系人来自主要社区领袖,有时是 Rep Boone 的私人朋友,他们在整个会议期间向她发送了衷心和知情的个人信件,尤其是在会议接近尾声时。当她签署请愿书时,她说她决定支持该法案,因为她的选民在信中分享了观点。

今年,我们在推进该法案所需的签名方面还差一些,但我们看到我们的工作对主要立法者以及我们运动的热情和力量产生了越来越大的影响。我们将继续与 CAUSA 的朋友和相关团体合作,在 2012 年推进移民公平。

运动建设:一劳永逸

3 月,ROP 从 CAUSA 的朋友那里得到消息,我们需要在参议院商业、运输和经济发展委员会中再调动一名立法者,以便获得多数票支持移民获得驾驶执照。代表南俄勒冈州的参议员杰森·阿特金森 (Jason Atkinson) 是该委员会的成员,并未承诺投赞成票。 ROP 接到电话一周后,我们在阿特金森区与选民和当地领导人组织了两次会议。一场会议尤其引人注目。

在这次聚会上,ROP 汇集了 好悲伤美国 (专注于止赎), 内特 (一个农场工人组织),和平与正义公民(主要是一个以和平为导向的团体),以及 俄勒冈行动 (基地建设和经济正义小组)。这些团体的领导人第一次齐聚一堂,制定了一项计划,收集 1000 多张明信片,并让选民和社区领导人给阿特金森参议员打了几十个电话。

Good Grief America 的领导人联系了他们在保险业的朋友打电话。 Unete 专注于从农场工人、移民和宗教领袖那里收集明信片。几天后,和平与正义公民组织举行了一场集会,以纪念伊拉克战争周年并要求结束占领,并为 Unete 提供了讨论驾照的空间——将船上的战争与国内的战争联系起来.最后,ROP 和我们全州的成员团体成为塞勒姆立法者感受到的压力浪潮的一部分,他们在雷达上获得了驾驶执照。

当该法案在国会大厦进行最后一刻的公开听证会时,ROP 成员很自豪能够成为 1500 人中的一些白人盟友的面孔,他们只提前几天通知就出现了!该法案今年没有退出委员会,但 ROP 基础和领导层准备与俄勒冈州的移民权利运动合作,以在 2012 年保持高压。

简体中文

Keeping our Eye on the Prize: ROP in the 2011 Legislature

In a legislative session that once again brought our massive revenue crisis front and center, ROP and our member groups kept a focus on the ultimate outcomes.

ROP Platform: ROP and its member human dignity groups called upon our legislators to:

Put People First: Human well-being is the indicator of economic success
Hold Accountable those responsible for the Economic Recession
Promote Real Security through community empowerment and energy conservation

During this Legislative Session we advocated for immigrant fairness, workers’ rights and economic fairness. We held local strategy sessions then mobilized to write hundreds of letters to our legislators, to our small-town papers, to travel to Salem and participate in delegations to legislators and days of action. Despite the enormous pressure to slash and cut the budget deep, we stayed focused on our vision.

In our vision, corporations are accountable to solve the crisis they created.

In our vision, immigrants contribute to Oregon’s success with access to education and without fear.

In our vision, basic necessities are fully funded, and we plan for the long term through responsible local investment, and democratic control of resources.

In our vision, small-town communities are part of the decision making that gets this economy turned around.

Below is our “key issues in brief” section for updates about key bills we worked on this session.  And below that are a couple of stories that show how human dignity groups use their cross-issue and local approach to make a strategic difference.

Our Priority Issues at a Glance:

Driver’s Licenses: After anticipating that we wouldn’t even get a hearing on restoring access to Drivers Licenses to immigrants, we not only got a hearing and a committee vote in favor, but there was also 1500 people in attendance at the Legislature that day, with ROP leaders being some of the minority of white faces in the crowd. We will continue to work with our friends at CAUSA, with our member groups, and with a network of rural Latino organizations until drivers licenses are won.

Oregon State Bank: The vision of the Oregon State Bank stays strong, even though a lack of leadership in Salem resulted in smaller-than-hoped-for gails. While we were unable to get a full floor vote on the issue, the Oregon State Bank concept is gaining visibility. In addition, our coalition was strengthened among Oregonians for a State Bank, Oregon Rural Action, Friends of Family Farmers, ROP and the Working Families Party. See the full post-session press release here. Next steps- an Oregon Banks Local campaign.

Tuition Equity: ROP educated and mobilized our base statewide in favor of Tuition Equity, but especially focused in 4 key districts. In those districts we generated dozens of timely constituent contacts and LTEs, and at the very last minute were successful in moving Rep Boone to a YES vote. But, stuck in partisan gridlock of a divided house, Republicans locked down the bill and refused to budge. At the final moment we were just a few signatures short of the majority needed to move the bill to the house floor. This next year, we will continue supporting this effort as long as it is a priority of immigrants and allies statewide.

Anti-Wage Theft: Before this legislative session started, most legislators (and Oregonians) didn’t know what “wage theft” was. Now, it’s a more commonly understand issue. We have collected dozens of testimonies from those who have experienced Wage Theft and have found some champions in the legislature on the issue. For an issue that was raised for the first time ever in the Oregon Legislature, it is a good sign that we received a floor vote in favor of anti-wage theft policy in the Senate. The coalition of groups working on Stopping Wage Theft will use this initial momentum to continue to build a call in Oregon for a stop to Wage Theft and to build towards concrete policy gains that protect workers.

Tuition Equity: The right kind of contact for the right kind of results:

Representative Boone was consistently undecided on Tuition Equity. At the last minute, after receiving dozens of constituent contacts and seeing 3 different local papers in her district flooded with letters in support of Tuition Equity, she switched to a YES and voted for a discharge petition that would have brought the legislation to a floor vote.More than signing an online petition or sending a machined letter, contacts were from key community leaders, sometimes personal friends of Rep Boone, who sent heartfelt and informed personal letters to her during the entire session, but especially as it drew to a close. As she signed the petition, she said that she had decided to support the bill because of the perspectives shared in letters from her constituents.

This year, we fell a few short of the signatures needed to move the bill forward, but we see the incremental impact of our work in both key legislators and in the passion and power of our movement. We will continue to work with our friends at CAUSA and allied groups to advance immigrant fairness in 2012.

Movement Building: All for one and one for all

In March, ROP got word from our friends at CAUSA that we needed to move one more legislator in the Senate Business, Transportation and Economic Development Committee in order to have a majority vote in favor of access to driver’s licenses for immigrants. Senator Jason Atkinson, who represents Southern Oregon, was on that committee and had not committed to voting in favor. A week after ROP received the call, we organized two meetings in Atkinson’s district with constituents and local leaders. One meeting stands out in particular.

At this gathering ROP brought together leaders of Good Grief America (who focuses on foreclosures), Unete (a farmworker organization), Citizens for Peace and Justice (primarily a peace oriented group), and Oregon Action (a base-building and economic justice group). Leaders from these groups met for the first time all together and mapped out a plan to collect over 1000 postcards and generate dozens of phone calls from constituents and community leaders to Senator Atkinson.

Leaders from Good Grief America contacted their friends in the insurance industry to make calls. Unete focused on gathering postcards from farmworkers, immigrants and faith leaders. Citizens for Peace & Justice was holding a rally a few days later to recognize the anniversary of the war in Iraq and demand an end to the occupation, and provided space for Unete to talk about drivers licenses- linking the wars aboard with the wars at home. In the end, ROP & our member groups statewide were part of the wave of pressure felt by legislators in Salem that got drivers licenses on the radar.

When the bill got a last-minute public hearing at the capitol, ROP members were proud to be some of the faces of white allies in the crowd of 1500 people who showed up with just a few days’ notice! The bill didn’t move out of committee this year, but the ROP base and leadership is poised to work with Oregon’s immigrants’ rights movement to keep the pressure high in 2012.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English