العدالة لضحايا جرائم الكراهية: نصب أوريغون هاوس التذكاري المشترك 22

غالبًا ما يبدو الأمر وكأن عجلات العدالة تدور ببطء شديد. في بعض الأحيان يبدو أنهم يتراجعون إلى الوراء. لكن الآن ، هناك عجلة واحدة على الأقل تدور بسرعة نسبية. بدفعة أخرى أو اثنتين منا جميعًا في ريف ولاية أوريغون ، يمكننا المساعدة في ضمان المزيد من العدالة لضحايا جرائم الكراهية.

بعد وقت قصير من إرسال شرطة عمان السلطانية تنبيهًا بشأن الإجراءات ذات الصلة الأسبوع الماضي ، أقر مجلس النواب الأمريكي القانون الفيدرالي لجرائم الكراهية. يوسع القانون نطاق تغطية قوانين جرائم الكراهية الحالية لتشمل ليس فقط ضحايا الجرائم القائمة على العرق واللون والدين والأصل القومي ، ولكن أيضًا الجرائم بدافع التحيز على أساس التوجه الجنسي الفعلي أو المتصور للضحية ، والجنس ، والهوية الجنسية ، أو الإعاقة. كما ينص على المشاركة الفيدرالية في مقاضاة جرائم الكراهية في الولايات حيث القانون الحالي أو الإجراءات المحلية غير كافية. مشروع القانون ، الذي يؤيده الرئيس أوباما ، معروض الآن على مجلس الشيوخ.

هنا في ولاية أوريغون ، تم تقديم قرار صاغه الناشط في منطقة يوجين وصديق شرطة عمان السلطانية ، آلان براون ، والمضي قدمًا في المجلس التشريعي بدعم من BRO (الحقوق الأساسية في ولاية أوريغون) إلى لجنة قواعد مجلس النواب. نصب البيت المشترك 22 (HJM22) يدين 21 مارس جريمة الكراهية في شاطئ البحر ، أو ضد Samson Deal و Kevin Patterson ويحث الكونجرس على تمرير تشريع اتحادي بشأن جرائم الكراهية. دعونا نتأكد من مرور HJM22 هنا في ولاية أوريغون لإرسال رسالة قوية إلى مجلس الشيوخ الأمريكي عندما ينظرون في القانون الفيدرالي لجرائم الكراهية.

قم بالتمرير لأسفل للحصول على مزيد من التفاصيل حول من يجب الاتصال به وروابط لبعض نماذج الرسائل ، بإذن من آلان.

نرجو أن نبقي تلك العجلات تدور ...
ساره

1. أشكر رئيس مجلس النواب ديف هانت على طرحه HJM 22 (رسالة عينة).

ديف هانت ، رئيس مجلس النواب
rep.davehunt@state.or.us
503-986-1200
مقاطعة D-Clackamas -District 40

2. أشكر أرني روبلان ، رئيس لجنة قواعد مجلس النواب ، على دعمه السابق وتشجيعه على منح HMJ22 جلسة استماع وجلسة عمل (رسالة عينة).

أرني روبلان ، رئيس لجنة قواعد مجلس النواب
rep.arnieroblan@state.or.us
503-986-1409
D-Coos Bay-District 9

3. إذا كان ممثلك في لجنة القواعد (انظر قائمة أعضاء اللجنة أدناه) ، اطلب منهم تمرير HJM22 إلى القاعة (رسالة عينة). إذا لم يكن ممثلك في اللجنة ، فاتصل بهم واطلب منهم تشجيع لجنة القواعد على تمرير HJM22 إلى القاعة.

فيكي بيرغر ، نائبة الرئيس
rep.vickiberger@state.or.us
503-986-1420
المراسل: منطقة سالم 20

كريس إدواردز ، نائب الرئيس
rep.chrisedwards@state.or.us
503-986-1414
ديم: ويست يوجين ، سانتا كلارا ، جانكشن سيتي ، شيشاير وألفادور-ديستريكت 14

بيل جارارد
rep.billgarrard@state.or.us
503-986-1456
المراسل: كلاماث فولز-ديستريكت 56

سارة جيلسر
rep.saragelser@state.or.us
503-986-1416
ديم: منطقة كورفاليس 16

بوب جنسون
p.bobjenson@state.or.us
503-986-1458
REP: Pendleton- District 58

ماري نولان
rep.marynolan@state.or.us
503-986-1436
دم: منطقة بورتلاند 36

توبياس ريد
rep.tobiasread@state.or.us
503-986-1427
ديم: مقاطعة بيفيرتون 27

 

العربية

Justice for Victims of Hate Crimes: Oregon House Joint Memorial 22

Often it feels like the wheels of justice turn oh-so-slowly.  Sometimes they even seem to roll backwards.  But now, at least one wheel is turning relatively quickly.  With another push or two from all of us in rural Oregon, we can help ensure just a little more justice for victims of hate crimes.

Shortly after ROP sent out a related action alert last week, the US House passed the Federal Hate Crimes Act.  The law expands the coverage of existing hate crime laws to include not only victims of crime based on race, color, religion, and national origin, but also bias-motivated crimes based on the victim’s actual or perceived sexual orientation, gender, gender identity, or disability. It also provides for federal involvement in prosecuting hate crimes in states where current law or local actions are inadequate.  The bill, which President Obama supports, is now headed to the Senate.

Here in Oregon, a resolution drafted by Eugene-area activist and ROP friend, Alan Brown, and moved forward in the legislature with support from BRO (Basic Rights Oregon) has been introduced into the House Rules Committee.  House Joint Memorial 22 (HJM22) condemns the March 21st hate crime in Seaside, OR against Samson Deal and Kevin Patterson and urges Congress to pass federal hate crimes legislation.   Let’s make sure that HJM22 passes here in Oregon to send a strong message to the US Senate as they consider the Federal Hate Crimes Act.

Scroll down for more details on who to contact and links to some sample letters, courtesy of Alan.

May we keep those wheels a turning…
Sarah

1. Thank Speaker of the House Dave Hunt for putting forward HJM 22 (sample letter).

Dave Hunt, Speaker of the House
rep.davehunt@state.or.us
503-986-1200
D-Clackamas County -District 40

2. Thank Arnie Roblan, Chair of the House Rules Committee, for his past support and encourage him to give HMJ22 a hearing and a work session (sample letter).

Arnie Roblan, Chair of the House Rules Committee
rep.arnieroblan@state.or.us
503-986-1409
D-Coos Bay-District 9

3. If your representative is on the Rules Committee (see list of committee members below), ask them to pass HJM22 to the floor (sample letter).  If your rep isn’t on the committee, give them a call and ask them to encourage the Rules Committee to pass HJM22 to the floor.

Vicki Berger, Vice-Chair
rep.vickiberger@state.or.us
503-986-1420
REP : Salem-District 20

Chris Edwards, Vice-Chair
rep.chrisedwards@state.or.us
503-986-1414
DEM: West Eugene, Santa Clara, Junction City, Cheshire & Alvadore-District 14

Bill Garrard
rep.billgarrard@state.or.us
503-986-1456
REP:Klamath Falls-District 56

Sara Gelser
rep.saragelser@state.or.us
503-986-1416
DEM: Corvallis-District 16

Bob Jenson
p.bobjenson@state.or.us
503-986-1458
REP: Pendleton- District 58

Mary Nolan
rep.marynolan@state.or.us
503-986-1436
DEM: Portland-District 36

Tobias Read
rep.tobiasread@state.or.us
503-986-1427
DEM: Beaverton-District 27

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English