2009 年 6 月 KTA:安排您的“人民经济客厅对话”

本月的厨房餐桌活动就是要了解我们是如何陷入困境的,以及我们如何以更强大的方式摆脱困境 社区. 我们需要围绕经济和如何解决它来提高自己的智慧;这是您与 ROP 一起挖掘的机会,成为一个聪明、精明和暴躁的人,以应对经济危机,心中有正义,心中有民。

 

2009 年 6 月 KTA:关于崩溃和我们恢复的客厅对话
今天,你和我以 $500 亿的税金购买了通用汽车的 60%。这是一个美国故事:银行被认为资不抵债,不负责任的公司陷入破产,公共资金救助了他们,并且……我们几乎不要求任何回报。

在俄勒冈州,我们感受到了经济的直接创伤,对我们来说,看不到企业救助计划。史蒂夫买不起健康保险,需要做手术,现在被他付不起的账单困住了。 Sharii 无法获得大学贷款,无法以女服务员的身份维持生计,因此求助于海军将她保释出来。 Marko 无法支付兼职工作的租金,他正在沙发上冲浪以摆脱无家可归的境地。

这就是我们经济的样子。那么,我们是想恢复正常工作,还是想要一个新的系统来让我们控制我们的生活、我们的家园、我们的健康、我们的教育、这些战争和我们的尊严?

机会就在那里——我们正处于一个罕见的十字路口,有了足够聪明的组织和大局思维,草根社区就有了一个巨大的机会——说出经济危机的真相,并让我们的政府大吃一惊需要开始构想新经济。

什么?
设置一个 关于经济崩溃和把我们的钱带回家的客厅对话.客厅对话是在某人的家中或其他舒适的地方举行的休闲聚会,社区成员同意相互尊重(但不一定同意)并谈论当天令人困惑、有争议的问题。这是一个教育空间,相互学习,听取彼此的经验,并建立我们对问题如何相互关联的分析。每一次社会运动都始于诚实的对话,尊重我们所有人都在努力解决的问题,并为我们提供强大的社区基础和共同理解。

为什么?
你和我应该知道我们是如何陷入这种混乱的。更重要的是,我们的社区可以利用一些空间来思考如何利用我们的资源来建设我们当地的经济,以实现生活工资工作、经济适用房、智能开发和我们所崇尚的其他价值观。 ROP 工作人员将协助 LRC 帮助您理清这些问题和想法。

农村组织项目促进社区建设文化,在这种文化中,食物、儿童和我们的友谊圈都是我们社会正义努力的一部分。我们正在经历对我们所建立的生活和我们作为一个社会优先考虑的价值观的动荡检查;社区现在比以往任何时候都更加重要。

完成此厨房餐桌激进主义 (KTA) 活动的步骤。
入门:

与一群朋友、您的人类尊严小组或您自己聚在一起。联系我们 (cara@rop.org) 为我们安排时间来您的城镇。按照这些明确的步骤取得成功。

找主机:
这可以是任何愿意打开他们家的人!试着找一个可以容纳 10-20 人的中心位置的房子,不一定是你所知道的最大、最好的房子。当地教堂或其他安全空间也可以工作。如果人们很舒适并且有些人需要坐在地板上,那很好——事实上,这会产生某种兴奋。主持人可能是你,也可能是一个不太参与的人——他们可能会邀请他们的整个地址簿,或者只是加入对话并准备一些零食。

邀请对象:
你想和谁进行这次对话?您所在城镇的哪些人正在积极致力于使您的社区蓬勃发展?受邀者可以来自您所参与的组织、一群临时朋友或对当地可持续经济感兴趣的战略人士。我们不必都同意,唯一的规则是我们相互尊重。 最重要的是邀请的人数是您想参加的人数的 3 倍。这是一个组织规则,不是您邀请的每个人都想来,也不是每个说“是”的人都能做到。所以最好自己做好准备。如果你想要 10 人——你必须邀请 30 人! 在我们邀请整个城镇之前,让我们先从我们认识的人开始。一步一步来!

如何邀请他们:
最好的邀请来自温暖和勤奋的地方。打电话或亲自邀请您名单上的人加入您与食物和朋友的随意对话,了解我们如何陷入这种经济混乱,它如何影响我们的人权以及我们如何通过建立强大的本地化来摆脱困境社区。

邀请人没有捷径 - 被邀请者必须至少获得一次基本信息,要求他们对他们的可用性做出可靠的承诺,然后提醒。电话、电子邮件和邮件的组合是理想的。声音和面孔建立关系——所有电子邮件或所有邮件外展通常不会建立信任或社区。

LRC的准备:
尽管我们生活在全球化时代,但每个城镇都是不同的,每个地方的经济都很特殊,每个人的故事都是独一无二的。在 LRC 之前做一些思考和挖掘,为我们设置成功所需的所有信息。

  • 我们把钱放在哪里以及机构用这些钱做什么是经济崩溃的重要组成部分。你的城镇怎么能把我们的钱带回家?
  • 想想你的个人故事和你的城镇。
  • 您如何受到经济危机的影响?个人故事比统计数据或事实更有说服力。想想你可以如何在 LRC 分享你的故事。
  • 你的社区需要哪些东西现在没有得到?教师、住房、食物、医生?当地投资如何帮助满足这些需求?

对话之外:
我们知道大多数人都觉得很忙,不需要其他义务。然而,在这个疯狂的政治时刻,大多数人也感到孤立和有点绝望——他们确实想进行有意义的讨论。邀请您的客人参与讨论当今最棘手的问题之一,即经济——人们想要谈论它——但我们不希望他们觉得露面让他们承诺的不仅仅是 LRC .因为事实上,只是在那里确实很重要。

LRC 是将我们的钱带回家、投资当地机构、建立当地生活工资工作和健康社区的更大努力的一部分。这是第一步,互相交谈并邀请我们的邻居参与对话。

简体中文

June 2009 KTA: Schedule your “People’s Economy Living Room Conversation”

This month’s Kitchen Table Activity is all about understanding how we got into this mess and how we can get out of it as a stronger community. We need to smarten ourselves up around the economy & how to fix it; this is your chance to dig in with ROP to be a smart, savvy & rambunctious in confronting the economic crisis, with justice in mind and people in your heart.

 

June 2009 KTA: Living Room Conversations on the Collapse & our Recovery
Today, you and I bought 60% of General Motors for $50 Billion in tax dollars.  It’s an American story: banks are deemed insolvent left and right, unaccountable corporations fall to bankruptcy, public dollars bail out the both of them, AND…. we demand almost nothing in return.

In Oregon, we are feeling the blunt trauma of the economy & for us there is no corporate bailout in sight. Steve can’t afford health insurance, needed surgery and now is stuck with a bill he can’t pay. Sharii can’t get loans for college, can’t make ends meet as a waitress and has turned to the Navy to bail her out. Marko can’t pay his rent on his part time work and is couch surfing his way out of homelessness.

This is what our economy looks like.  So do we want to get back to business as usual, or do we want a new system that gives us control over our lives, our homes, our health, our education, these wars, & our dignity?

The opportunity is there – we’re at a rare crossroads where, with enough smart organizing and big-picture thinking, grassroots communities have an enormous opportunity – to tell the truth about the economic crisis, and give our government the kick in the pants it needs to start envisioning a new economy.

What?
Set up a Living Room Conversation on the Economic Collapse & Bringing our Money Home. Living Room Conversations are casual gatherings in someone’s home or another cozy place where community members agree to respect each other (but not necessarily agree) and talk about confusing, controversial issues of the day.  It’s a space for education, learning from one another, hearing about each other’s experiences & building our analysis of how issues are interconnected. Every social movement begins with honest conversation that honors the issues that we all grapple with, and gives us a strong foundation of community and shared understanding.

Why?
You and I deserve to know how we got into this mess. More importantly, our communities can use some space to think about how to use our resources to build our local economy for living wages jobs, affordable housing, smart development & other values we hold high. ROP staff will facilitate a LRC to help you sort through these questions and ideas.

The Rural Organizing Project promotes a community building culture where food, children and our friendship circles are all a part of our social justice efforts. We are experiencing a turbulent check on the lives that we’ve built and the values that we prioritize as a society; community is now more important than ever.

Steps to complete this Kitchen Table Activism (KTA) Activity.
Getting started:

Get together with a group of friends, your Human Dignity Group or on your own. Contact us (cara@rop.org) to schedule a time for us to come to your town. Follow these clear steps for success.

Finding a host:
This can be anyone who is willing to open up their home! Try to find a home that offers a central location with space for 10-20 people, not necessarily the biggest, nicest home you know of. A local church or other safe space can also work.  It is fine if people are cozy and some need to sit on the floor – in fact, that creates a certain excitement. The host might be you or it might be someone who is not incredibly involved – they might invite their whole address book or simply join the conversation and prepare some snacks.

Who to invite:
Who would you want to have this conversation with? Who in your town is actively working to make your community thrive? The invitees can be from the organization that your are involved with, a casual group of friends or a strategic group of people interested in local sustainable economies. We don’t all have to agree, the only rule is that we respect one another. The most important thing is to invite 3 times as many people as you want to attend. It’s an organizing rule that not everyone you invite will want to come and not everyone who says Yes will be able to make it. So it’s best to prepare ourselves. If you want 10 people – you have to invite 30! Let’s start out with people that we know before we invite the whole town. One step at a time!

How to invite them:
The best invitations come from a place of warmth and diligence. Call or in-person invite the folks from your list to join you for a casual conversation with food and friends about how we got into this economic mess, how it affects our human rights and how we might get out of it by building a strong local community.

There are no shortcuts in inviting people – invitees have to be given the basic information at least once, asked for a solid commitment regarding their availability and then reminded. A mix of phone, email and mail is ideal. Voices and faces build relationships — all email or all mail outreach doesn’t generally build trust or community.

Preparation for the LRC:
Though we live in a global age, every town is different, every local economy special and each personal story unique. Do a little thinking and digging before the LRC to set us up with all the information we need to succeed.

  • Where we keep our money & what institutions do with that money is a huge part of the economic collapse. How could your town Bring Our Money Home?
  • Think about your personal story and your town.
  • How are you being affected by the economic crisis? Personal stories are stronger than statistics or facts. Think about how you might share your story at the LRC.
  • What are the things your community needs that it’s not getting right now? Teachers, housing, food, doctors? How could local investment help these needs be met?

Beyond the conversation:
We know most people feel busy and do not need another obligation.  Most people, though, are also feeling isolated and slightly desperate in this wild political moment – they do want to engage in meaningful discussion.  Invite your guests to be a part of a conversation on one of the toughest issues of the day, the economy – people want to talk about it – but we don’t want them to feel like showing up commits them to more than just the LRC.  Because in fact, just being there does matter.

LRC’s are part of a larger effort to Bring our Money Home, invest in local institutions, build local living wage jobs and healthy communities. This is step one, talking to each other and inviting our neighbors into the conversation.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English