加入反对种族定性的抵制

亲爱的 ROPnetters,

Trayvon Martin 案是种族定性可能对我们的青年和我们的家庭产生影响的一个悲惨例子。随着最高法院将在接下来的几周内就亚利桑那州的 SB 1070 法案做出裁决,该法案旨在使种族定性合法化,全国各地的人们一直在联合起来,在全国性的行动日中对抗种族定性。

今天,俄勒冈州的农村人正在与权利工作联合起来,倡导结束种族歧视法。  自从我们上次在 4 月份就这个问题进行调查以来,已有超过 25 名国会议员签署成为共同提案国。今天, 我们需要让 Wyden 参议员知道俄勒冈州人支持终止种族貌相法案。

今天花点时间拿起电话或发送电子邮件,让他知道!单击此处将您的姓名添加到给 Wyden 参议员的信中,或 在这里写下你自己的个人故事。

感谢您抽出时间参与。在线激进主义可以在关键时刻产生深远的影响——让我们的代表注意我们正在关注的事实。一个字母代表数百名选民。回复此电子邮件,让我们知道您已采取行动,我们保证让您了解最新情况。

团结一致,
阿曼达

权利工作组的背景:

问题
种族定性是一种执法行为,根据个人感知的种族、民族、宗教、国籍或性别,针对和/或区别对待个人。它在美国各地普遍存在,并且在很大程度上继续不受控制,在许多社区违反宪法和人权。种族定性已被证明在打击犯罪方面无效,而且由于它依赖于刻板印象,无辜的人受到伤害和贬低,导致对执法失去信任。

解决方案
我们需要向这些重要的参议员展示对 ERPA 的广泛支持,鼓励他们共同发起,并向参议院司法委员会施压,要求他们在今年秋天对 ERPA 进行标记并将其从委员会中通过。立即采取行动,通过电子邮件将这些内容发送给您的参议员,并表示您支持结束种族定性。

2011 年结束种族定性法 (ERPA) 将禁止联邦、州和地方执法部门基于种族、民族、宗教或民族血统进行定性。 ERPA 采取以下重要步骤来禁止种族定性:

  • 使联邦、州、地方或印度部落执法部门基于种族、宗教、民族或民族血统的个人资料成为非法;
  • 为貌相的受害者创造一项私人诉讼权,这将允许认为自己受到种族貌相影响的个人起诉他们认为违反了 ERPA 的机构;
  • 允许美国司法部长扣留不遵守 ERPA 的州执法机构的拨款;
  • 需要对执法人员进行种族貌相培训;
  • 需要数据收集和监控机制,例如投诉流程;和
  • ERPA 首次禁止在执法监视活动的背景下进行种族定性。
打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Join the pushback against Racial Profiling

Dear ROPnetters,

The Trayvon Martin case is one tragic example of the impact racial profiling can have on our youth and our families.  With the Supreme Court due for a decision in the next few weeks on Arizona’s SB 1070, which seeks to legitimize racial profiling, people across the country have been uniting to confront racial profiling in a nationwide day of action.

Today, rural Oregonians are uniting with the Rights Working to advocate for the End Racial Profling Act.  Since we last checked in about this issue in April, over 25 members of Congress have signed on as co-sponsors.  Today, we need to let Senator Wyden know that Oregonians support the End Racial Profiling Act.

Take a moment to pick up the phone or send an email today and let him know!  Click here to add your name to a letter to Senator Wyden, or here to write your own personal story.

Thank you for taking the time to participate.  Online activism can have a deep impact at key moments – calling our representatives attention to the fact that WE ARE WATCHING.  One letter stands in for hundreds of constituents.  Reply to this email to let us know you have taken action, and we pledge to keep you updated.

In solidarity,
Amanda

Background from the Rights Working Group:

Problem
Racial Profiling is the law enforcement practice of targeting and/or treating individuals differently based on their perceived race, ethnicity, religion, national origin, or gender.  It is pervasive across the United States and continues largely unchecked, violating constitutional and human rights in many communities. Racial profiling has proven ineffective in fighting crime, and because it relies on stereotypes, innocent people are harmed and degraded, leading to a loss of trust in law enforcement.

Solution
We need to show these key Senators the widespread support for ERPA, to encourage them to co-sponsor, and to pressure the Senate Judiciary Committee to mark-up and pass ERPA out of committee this fall. Take action today by e-mailing these your Senator and showing your support for ending racial profiling.

The End Racial Profiling Act of 2011 (ERPA) would ban profiling by federal, state and local law enforcement based on race, ethnicity, religion, or national origin.  ERPA takes these important steps to ban racial profiling:

  • Makes it unlawful for federal, state, local, or Indian tribal law enforcement to profile based on race, religion, ethnicity or national origin;
  • Creates a private right of action for victims of profiling, which would allow individuals who believe they have been subject to racial profiling to sue the agency they believe to have violated ERPA;
  • Allows the U.S. Attorney General to withhold grants from state law enforcement agencies that are not complying with ERPA;
  • Requires training on racial profiling for law enforcement agents;
  • Requires data collection and monitoring mechanisms such as complaint processes; and
  • For the first time, ERPA prohibits racial profiling in the context of law enforcement surveillance activities.
Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English