2011 年 1 月 KTA:讲述我们的民权故事

你的民权故事是什么?

2011 年 1 月的 KTA 将根据我们的条件,从我们的角度撰写我们的民权故事。什么是活动? 负责监督该州民权司的专员布拉德·阿瓦基安 (Brad Avakian) 正在主持一个项目 “记录我们不同的俄勒冈社区所经历的历史和当今的民权斗争。” 这些故事中最好的将出版成书。让我们确保我们的故事,俄勒冈州一个进步的农村的故事,出现在那个项目中。为什么要开展这项活动? 还记得罗莎帕克斯在蒙哥马利公交车上的故事吗?还是导致 1964 年通过《民权法案》的华盛顿游行?或者,当俄勒冈州农村的一对夫妇一直将他们的“9 号不准”标志拆掉,一次又一次地把它放在他们的财产脚下时,这意味着什么?这些是我们的故事。

讲故事是一种主要方式,我们可以展示我们随着时间的推移产生的影响,并用他们继承的运动历史激励后代。你们写的故事将成为我们集体记忆的一部分,塑造我们对过去的看法,以及我们对未来的希望。
完成活动的步骤:1。查看 Brad Avakian 网站 http://www.mycivilrightsstory.net/.2 上的指南和建议。想想你个人历史中应该分享的一个故事。或者,想想您知道应该招募的朋友或家人来写故事,或者您可以采访并帮助分享他们的经验的人。

3. 点燃你的柴火炉或壁炉(如果你有的话),把一月黑暗的夜晚变成适合写作和反思的机会。

4. 请务必在 2 月 14 日情人节前将您的故事提交给 Brad。与 ROP 分享您的故事,将其通过电子邮件发送至 cara@rop.org。

简体中文

Jan 2011 KTA: Telling our Civil Rights Stories

What is your Civil Rights story?

The KTA for January 2011 is to write our civil rights stories, on our terms, from our perspective.WHAT IS THE ACTIVITY? Commissioner Brad Avakian who oversees the state’s Civil Rights Division is hosting a project to “document the historic and present day civil rights struggles experienced by our diverse Oregon communities.” The best of those stories will then be published in a book format. Let’s make sure that our story, the story of a progressive rural Oregon, is present in that project.WHY THIS ACTIVITY? Remember the story of Rosa Parks on the bus in Montgomery? Or of the March on Washington which led to the passage of the Civil Rights Act in 1964? Or what it meant when one couple in rural Oregon consistently had their “No on 9” sign torn down, putting it up again and again at the foot of their property? These are our stories.

Storytelling is a primary way that we can show our impact over time, and inspire future generations with a movement history that they inherit. Stories that you all write will become part of our collective memory that shapes our view of the past, and our hopes for the future.
STEPS TO COMPLETE THE ACTIVITY:1. Review the guidelines and suggestions on Brad Avakian’s site http://www.mycivilrightsstory.net/.2. Think about a story from your own personal history that should be shared. Or, think of a friend or family member you know that you should recruit to write a story, or who you could interview and help to share their experience.

3. Light up your wood stove or fireplace if you have one, and turn those dark January evenings into chances to fit in some writing and reflecting.

4. Be sure to submit your story to Brad by Valentine’s Day, Februray 14th. Share your story with ROP be emailing it to cara@rop.org.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English