空气中有东西吗?

2012 年 8 月 28 日

亲爱的移民公平网络,

几天前,一位在建筑行业工作的朋友过来告诉我,他的同事一直在“教育”同事关于他在谈话广播中听到的一些新信息,即90%无证人员正在领取福利。然后,Human Dignity 的一名成员给我发送了一篇来自当地报纸的扫描文章,将福利接受者与动物园动物进行了比较——如“不要喂动物,它们会变得依赖施舍”。

空气中有东西吗?你是不是又听到这些传言了?随着选举的临近,当我们开始赢得像推迟行动这样的胜利时,我们现在是否更频繁地听到他们的声音?这些谈话要点并不新鲜,但经常从右翼消息传递工厂中提取出来并渗透到我们的社区。以福利为由攻击人们,将甚至没有资格获得大多数服务的无证移民作为替罪羊是老把戏。我们可以很容易地准备好在错误信息出现时纠正它。

以下几点有助于我们更好地进行干预:

· 说“福利”会让我们想到现金福利。事实上,无证移民被禁止接受这种援助。以无证移民为户主的家庭中,只有不到 1% 有任何人领取现金福利(例如配偶或孩子)。
· 无证移民也被禁止领取食品券和社会保障等福利。例如,75% 的无证工人确实用他们的税款支付到这些系统中,但永远不会看到社会保障的好处。
· 为每个人保证的少数服务包括:儿童公共教育、学校免费和减价午餐以及紧急医疗(尽管事后这些服务的价格也很高)
· 在全国范围内,由无证移民领导的家庭使用援助的最高比例是 33%,其中获得基于食物的支持的移民,例如为学龄儿童提供免费或减价午餐。这些孩子中有许多是美国公民。可以说这些孩子在学校期间接受减价午餐相当于“无证移民福利”。
当制造的谣言开始传播时,值得做一点功课。我们很想听听您关于当地报纸正在印刷什么、您听到什么以及您如何回应的故事。

我很感激能与大家一起在俄勒冈州建立热情的社区,
阿曼达

附注。如需有关移民的可打印“流言终结者”情况说明书,请在我们的网站上查找“ROP 流言终结者讲义”:https://rop.org/category/immigrant-fairness/ 仍有问题?我们可以与您讨论这些神话,或派组织者与您的社区讨论移民的真相。

聚苯乙烯。以下是一些其他用于挖掘事实的网站:
· www.politifact.com/truth-o-meter/statements/2012/jun/20/facebook-posts/facebook-post-says-less-2-percent-illegals-are-pic/
http://www.tolerance.org/magazine/number-39-spring-2011/10-myths-about-immigration

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Is there something in the air?

August 28th, 2012

Dear Immigrant Fairness Network,

A few days ago, a friend who works in the construction industry stopped by to tell me that his colleague had been “educating” peers at work about some new information he heard on talk radio, that 90% of undocumented people are on welfare. Then, a Human Dignity member sent me a scanned article from a local paper comparing welfare recipients to zoo animals – as in “don’t feed the animals, they will become dependent on handouts.”

Is there something in the air? Have you been hearing these rumors again too? Are we hearing them more often now as the election draws near, and as we start to win victories like Deferred Action? These talking points are not new, but are regularly cranked out of right-wing messaging mills and filtered down to our communities. Attacking people on welfare, and scapegoating undocumented immigrants who are not even eligible for most services is an old trick. And we can easily prepare ourselves to correct this misinformation as it comes up.

Here are a couple of points to help us be better equipped to intervene:

· To say “welfare” makes us think of cash benefits. In fact, undocumented immigrants are barred from receiving this kind of assistance. Less than 1% of households headed by undocumented immigrants had anybody receiving cash benefits (like a spouse or child).
· Undocumented immigrants are also barred from receiving benefits like food stamps, and social security. 75% of undocumented workers do pay into these systems with their taxes, but will never see the benefits of Social Security, for example.
· Some of the few services guaranteed to everybody are: public education for kids, free & reduced lunch at school, and emergency medical care (though even this comes with a hefty price tag after the fact)
· Nationally, the highest percentage of use of assistance for families led by undocumented immigrants is the 33% of immigrants who receive food-based support, like free or reduced lunch for school aged kids. And many of these kids are US citizens. It is a large stretch to say that these children receiving reduced cost lunch while at school amounts to “undocumented immigrants on welfare.”
When manufactured rumors start flying, it’s worth doing a little bit of homework. We’d love to hear your stories about what the local paper is printing, what you’re hearing, and how you’re responding.

I’m so grateful to be part of building welcoming communities in Oregon with you all,
Amanda

PS. For a printable “Mythbusters” fact sheet about immigration, look for “ROP’s Mythbusters Handout” on our website: https://rop.org/category/immigrant-fairness/ Still have questions? We can talk through these myths with you, or send an organizer to talk with your community about the truth of immigration.

PPS. Here are a couple of other sites for digging up facts:
· www.politifact.com/truth-o-meter/statements/2012/jun/20/facebook-posts/facebook-post-says-less-2-percent-illegals-are-pic/
http://www.tolerance.org/magazine/number-39-spring-2011/10-myths-about-immigration

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English