إستراتيجية مسقط رأس المتدرب كاتي: هيا ننمو!

يتضمن جزء من برنامج التدريب الداخلي لـ ROP خيارًا لـ الرؤية والتصميم وتنفيذ المشروع من البداية إلى النهاية.  جاءت المتدربة كاتي جومبوليني إلى شرطة عمان السلطانية بخلفية في عدالة الطعام. بدأت مزرعة يديرها الطلاب عندما كانت طالبة في جامعة ويلاميت ، وعملت في المزارع خلال عطلاتها الصيفية ، ونشرت مقالًا راجعه الزملاء حول قدرة وادي ويلاميت على إنتاج ما يكفي لتلبية الاحتياجات الغذائية للسكان المحليين.

بالنسبة لمشروعها المستقل ، قررت التركيز على تعزيز شبكة الغذاء المحلية هنا في مقاطعة كولومبيا. كان لديها 4 أهداف:

  1. إجراء أ التقييم الكامل لنظام الغذاء في مقاطعة كولومبيا الحالي من خلال المقابلات والاجتماعات والأبحاث ؛
  2. إنشاء دليل الغذاء والمزرعة المحلية;
  3. امسك ال حزب زراعة الربيع مع CCCHD في حديقة ROP المجتمعية ؛
  4. إنشاء أدوات للمجموعات المحلية وحوار مستمر في مجتمع شرطة عمان السلطانية فيما يتعلق بالعدالة الغذائية وأنظمة الغذاء المحلية

لقد أنجزت كاتي تقريبًا كل ما شرعت في القيام به.  لكن كما ترى ، #4 هو المكان الذي أتيت إليه.  بيانها الختامي مُدرج أدناه - مليء بالحكمة والبصيرة الجديدة.

معها نشارك:

شكرا لك كاتي لعملك الرائع.
أماندا


في أواخر الشهر الماضي ، قام 15 من أفراد مجتمع مقاطعة كولومبيا بتسخين أيديهم في حديقة المجتمع خارج مكتب شرطة عمان السلطانية.  قمنا بتعبئة الأسرة المرتفعة بكل شيء من الشمر إلى الطماطم إلى اللفت. مزقنا العشب. قمنا ببناء تعريشات طماطم مذهلة. أكلنا الكثير من الطعام الرائع. جمع الحدث مزيجًا رائعًا من الأشخاص - منذ فترة طويلة ROPers ، والشباب المهتمين بزراعة الطعام ، وأفراد المجتمع الذين لديهم فضول حول ما يجري داخل هذا المكتب الصغير في Scappoose ، أوريغون.  من خلال الموسيقى والمحادثات الجيدة والهدف المشترك أظهرنا قيمنا من خلال الحفر العميق وزرع البذور وتنظيم أنفسنا للتأكد من استمرار هذه الحديقة في النمو.

على مدار الأشهر التسعة الماضية في شرطة عمان السلطانية ، تعلمت كيف نشارك فيها على المدى الطويل ؛ نحن بصدد تغيير طريقة تفكير الناس وتصرفهم. إنها ليست حملة قصيرة المدى لكنها صراع مستمر. بالنسبة لي ، هذا يعني تغيير طريقة تناولنا للطعام وتغيير طريقة تفكيرنا في الطعام واستخدام الطعام كطريقة لإلهام أولئك الذين يواجهون اقتصادًا كسادًا. فيما يلي بعض الطرق التي تستخدم بها شرطة عمان السلطانية الطعام كأداة تنظيم:  دعنا نزرع

يتمتع الطعام بقدرة مذهلة على الجمع بين الناس وإعالتنا مثل المجتمع والعائلات والأصدقاء والجيران.  كان الأشخاص الذين يعملون في الحديقة في نهاية هذا الأسبوع أشخاصًا يبحثون عن مجتمع ، ويبحثون عن مكان لتحقيق شيء ما ، لفعل شيء يعكس ما يقدرونه.  ماذا أقدر؟ ما الإجراء البسيط الذي يمكنني القيام به لعكس هذه القيم؟  يعد تذكير أنفسنا بقيمنا ثم إيجاد طرق لمشاركة قيمنا مع الآخرين من خلال إجراءات بسيطة مثل زراعة حديقة تمرينًا مهمًا لإعادة تنشيط أنفسنا وإعادة تركيزنا بينما نواصل إحداث التغيير.

من أي وقت مضى إلى الأمام ،
كاتي
متدرب شرطة عمان السلطانية

 

العربية

Intern Katy’s Hometown Strategy: Let’s Get Growing!

Part of the ROP Organizing Internship program involves an option to vision, design, and carry out a project from start to finish.  Intern Katy Giombolini came to ROP with a background in food justice.  She started a student-run farm as a student at Willamette University, worked on farms during her summer breaks, and published a peer reviewed article about the ability of the Willamette Valley to produce enough to meet the nutritional needs of the local population.

For her independent project, she decided to focus on strengthening the local food network here in Columbia County.  She had 4 objectives:

  1. Conduct a full assessment of the current Columbia County Food System through interviews, meetings, and research;
  2. Create a Local Food & Farm Guide;
  3. Hold a Spring Planting Party with CCCHD at the ROP Community Garden;
  4. Create tools for local groups & a continuing dialogue in the ROP community regarding food justice and local food systems

Katy has nearly accomplished everything she set out to do.  But you see, #4 is where you come in.  Her closing communique is included below – packed with wisdom and fresh insight.

With it we share:

Thank you Katy for your amazing work.
Amanda


Late last month, 15 Columbia County community members got their hands dirty in the community garden outside the ROP Office.  We packed the raised beds with everything from fennel to tomatoes to kale; we tore out grass; we built amazing tomato trellises; we ate a lot of great food.   The event brought together a great mix of people – long time ROPers, young adults interested in growing food, and community members curious about what goes on inside this small office in Scappoose, Oregon.  With music, good conversation, and a common goal we showed our values by digging deep, planting seeds, and organizing ourselves to make sure this garden continues to grow.

Over the past 9 months at ROP, I’ve learned how we are in it for the long haul; we are about changing the way people think and act.  It’s not some short term campaign but a continual struggle.  For me that means changing the way we eat and changing the way we think about food and using food as a way to inspire those faced with a depressed economy.  Here are ways ROP is using food as an organizing tool:  Let’s Get Planting

Food has the amazing ability to bring people together and sustain us just like community, families, friends and neighbors.  The people working in the garden this weekend were people looking for community, looking for a place to make something happen, to do something that reflected what they value.  What do I value?  What simple action can I do to reflect those values?  Reminding ourselves what our values are and then finding ways to share our values with others through simple actions like planting a garden is an important excercise to re-energize and refocus ourselves as we continue on making change.

Ever Forward,
Katy
ROP Intern

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English