在团结和哀悼中

2015 年 6 月 20 日

亲爱的 ROPnetters,

上周末在农村核心小组与战略会议上,我们深入讨论了我们所处的时刻;随着该运动为“黑人的命也是命”而建立,这是一个充满希望和灵感的时刻,但也承认有越来越多的反运动和强烈反对的可能性。对许多人来说,在南卡罗来纳州查尔斯顿的伊曼纽尔 AME 教堂的圣经研究中杀害九名手无寸铁的黑人,这座教堂拥有一个多世纪的历史,是黑人反抗奴隶制和白人至上的中心,回想起对民权运动。

像你们中的许多人一样,我们感到悲伤和愤怒。一个白人小伙子在黑人教堂开火作为预谋发动“内战”的消息令人难以接受。这引发了很多问题,包括:如果黑人在美国的教堂里不安全,他们在哪里安全?

Tillamook for Love 周五晚上为南卡罗来纳州查尔斯顿和伊曼纽尔 AME 教堂举行了守夜活动

在过去的几个月里,“黑人的命也是命”的呼声在全国乃至俄勒冈州都回响了。农村和小镇俄勒冈人感到有胆量站出来说话,不要保持沉默,因此成为同谋,即使在他们的社区中就种族主义展开有意义的对话几乎是不可能的。人们成百上千地游行穿过本德,在街角默默守候,在邮局前举着牌子,给编辑写信。在这样的时刻,在场、公开和可见的价值是开启社区对话的关键。

黑人生命运动呼吁在 6 月 21 日星期日下午 6 点举行一天的守夜活动和行动(阅读下面他们强有力的声明)。我们不在查尔斯顿,但作为人类尊严的组织者,作为致力于正义的人们,我们可以在俄勒冈州的农村和小镇做一些事情:

组织或参加守夜活动或行动。到目前为止,我们知道全州有几个,当我们听说它们时,更多将添加到我们的 Facebook 页面。人类尊严团体的组织者正在计划整个星期的活动。您也可以组织演示——只需要几个人和标志。需要一些支持吗?给我发送电子邮件至 jessica@rop.org!
使困惑?难过?生气的?你的邻居也是。本周末与家人和朋友交谈的哪些方面适合您的计划?变革性对话是我们运动的基础。连接,分享你的感受,并一起处理。
不知道要谈什么?阅读然后参与。在此 ROPnet 的底部链接了许多文章,可以帮助引发一些对话。
开始讨论您可以在本地做什么。在过去的几年里,人类尊严团体一直在组织为所有人建立安全和友好的社区,从与(有时挑战)当地执法部门建立关系到解决种族定性问题,到将教育活动带到城镇,再到发展快速反应团队能够回应仇恨活动。联系 ROP,让我们安排一次聚会,开始为您的团队制定策略。
让我们为正义而团结起来,深入思考我们作为组织者必须建立和创造的东西,以便我们社区的每个成员都能安全而有尊严地过上充实的生活。

热烈地,
杰西卡

黑人生命运动关于查尔斯顿枪击案的声明:

查尔斯顿的伊曼纽尔 AME 教堂沉浸在令人难以置信的反奴隶制历史中,现在将被称为无法形容的悲惨行为的发生地。我们的心与遇难者的家属同在。我们还想到了一个失去牧师的会众和一个为失去邻居而哀悼的社区。

今天提醒我们,虽然我们的注意力集中在增加国家和警察对黑人的暴力行为上,但种族主义私刑袭击是这个国家遗产的很大一部分。如果我们甚至不能安全地在教堂敬拜,我们就必须面对一个严峻的事实,即我们的集体工作远不止实施随身摄像机和警察改革举措。

无论是 1963 年在伯明翰教堂谋杀 4 名女学生,还是克利夫兰警察杀害 12 岁的塔米尔赖斯,还是卡利夫·布劳德 (Kalief Browder) 在少年时期被不公正地监禁和折磨后的自杀莱克斯岛监狱——我们的社区继续遭受允许在这个国家盛行的恶性种族主义的多种压力。虽然逮捕这名枪手对遇难者家属来说是一种小小的安慰,但我们知道我们无法通过逮捕来摆脱这个国家的历史或现在。

因此,作为一个运动,我们必须说我们的总统不能或不会说的。在我们勇敢地站在一起宣布 #BlackLivesMatter 无处不在的时候,这是一种不可否认的恐怖主义行为,目的是在黑人社区的心中制造恐惧。

我们将继续为一个以我们失去的所有人的名义珍视黑人生命的世界而奋斗,尤其是那些在我们永远不会忘记的约会中被杀的人。

俄勒冈州的人类尊严团体正在分享的文章:

拉托亚·彼得森 (Latoya Peterson) 的“查尔斯顿枪击案的 9 次心碎”
“为什么我们必须称 Dylann Roof 为恐怖分子” by Shaun King
艾丽西亚·加尔萨的“我们从来没有想过要生存:对查尔斯顿袭击的回应”
艾玛·阿克潘牧师的“白人基督教盟友,从你的讲坛谈论种族”
查看有关查尔斯顿及其他地区的综合阅读大纲!

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

In Solidarity and Mourning‏

June 20th, 2015

Dear ROPnetters,

Last weekend at the Rural Caucus & Strategy Session, we discussed in depth the moment we are in; a moment of great hope and inspiration as the movement builds for Black Lives Matter, but also acknowledging that there is a growing counter-movement and potential for backlash. For many, the killing of nine unarmed Black people in bible study at Emanuel AME Church in Charleston, SC, a church with over a century of history as a center of Black resistance to slavery and white supremacy, hearken back to the violent backlash to the civil rights movement.

Like many of you, we are saddened and we are angry. The news of a white young man opening fire in a black church as a premeditated plot to start a “civil war” is difficult to absorb. There are so many questions this raises, including: if Black people aren’t safe in church in the USA, where can they be safe?

Tillamook for Love held a vigil Friday evening for Charleston, SC and Emanuel A.M.E. Church

Over the last several months, the cries for “Black Lives Matter” have echoed across the country and across Oregon. Rural and small town Oregonians have felt emboldened to speak out, to not remain silent and therefore complicit, even when it felt nearly impossible to start meaningful conversations about racism in their communities. Folks have marched through Bend in the hundreds, stood vigil silently on street corners, held signs in front of their post offices, and written letters to the editor. In moments like these, the value of being present, of being public, of being visible is key to opening up the community conversation.

The Movement for Black Lives has called for a day of vigils and actions on Sunday June 21st at 6PM (read their powerful statement below). We aren’t in Charleston, but there are things we can do here in rural and small town Oregon, as human dignity organizers, as people committed to justice:

Organize or join a vigil or action. So far we know of several around the state and more will be added to our Facebook page as we hear about them. Human dignity group organizers are planning events throughout the week. You can organize a demonstration, too – all it takes is a few people together with signs. Need some support? Send me an email at jessica@rop.org!
Confused? Saddened? Angry? Your neighbors are too. Where does talking to your family and friends fit into your plans this weekend? Transformational conversations are what our movement is built on. Connect, share what you’re feeling, and process together.
Not sure what to talk about? Read up and then engage. There are a number of articles linked at the bottom of this ROPnet that can help spark some conversation.
Start the conversation about what you can do locally. Over the last few years human dignity groups have been organizing to build Safe & Welcoming Communities for all, from building relationships with (and at times challenging) local law enforcement to address racial profiling, to bringing educational events to town, to developing rapid response teams able to respond to hate activity. Contact ROP and let’s schedule a gathering to start developing strategies for your group.
Let us come together for justice and deeply consider what we, as organizers, must build and create so that every member of our communities can live their lives fully with safety and dignity.

Warmly,
Jessica

Statement from the Movement for Black Lives on the Charleston Shooting:

Charleston’s Emanuel A.M.E. church, which is steeped in the incredible history of resistance to slavery, will now be known as the site of an unspeakable and tragic act. Our hearts go out to the families of those killed. We also keep in our thoughts a congregation that lost its pastor and a community mourning the loss of its neighbors.

We are reminded today that while our attention has focused on increasing state and police violence against Black people, racist vigilante attacks are a large part of this country’s legacy. We must face the hard truth that our collective work goes much further than the implementation of body cameras and police reform initiatives if we cannot even be safe worshipping at church.

Whether its the murder of four schoolgirls at a Birmingham church in 1963, the killing of twelve year old Tamir Rice by Cleveland police officers, or the suicide of Kalief Browder after years of being unjustly imprisoned and tortured as a teenager at Rikers Island jail– our communities continue to suffer the many strains of a cancerous racism allowed to flourish in this country. While the arrest of this shooter must come as a small comfort to the families of those killed, we know we cannot arrest our way out of this country’s history or its present.

Therefore, as a movement, we must say what our President cannot or will not say. This was an undeniable act of terrorism intended to strike fear into the hearts of Black communities at a time when we have bravely stood together declaring that #BlackLivesMatter everywhere.

We continue to fight for a world that values Black life in the names of all those we have lost, including and especially those who were killed last night on a date we will surely never forget.

Articles that human dignity groups across Oregon are sharing:

“The 9 heartbreaks of the Charleston shooting” by Latoya Peterson
“Why we must call Dylann Roof a terrorist” by Shaun King
“We Were Never Meant to Survive: A Response to the Attack in Charleston” by Alicia Garza
“White Christian Allies, Talk About Race From Your Pulpits” by Reverend Emma Akpan
Check out this comprehensive syllabus of readings on Charleston and beyond!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English