“我要生孩子了!”

我要生孩子了!明天,7 月 3 日,是我 3 个月假期的第一天,我将开始学习如何为 7 月 11 日到期的第一个孩子做父母。我称这是我的假期学习如何成为一名运动妈妈。我感到非常幸运能够利用这段时间专注于家庭和家庭,然后在 ROP 的支持下于今年 10 月以职业母亲的身份返回
社区。为人母的前景引发了一系列关于你是谁以及我们生活在这个世界上的情绪和反思——在我们的情况下,作为社会变革的组织者——我们正在努力创造的这个世界就是关于这个世界的。我最喜欢的名言之一是 Arundhati Roy 2003 年演讲中的摘录 对抗帝国,得出的结论是, “另一个世界不仅是可能的,她还在路上。在安静的日子里,我能听到她的呼吸声。”  对我来说,现在,这绝对是一个诞生的比喻。你和我是支持这个新世界存在的助产士。

正如你想象的那样,我最近学到了很多关于助产士的角色!他们在知识、经验和技能方面带来的最大优势之一是他们能够信任并相信这个过程,同时也认识到分娩是一项非常艰苦的工作。在我们组织实现我们的新世界时,我们必须对我们的正义愿景充满信心,并且愿意努力工作并长期将这一愿景变为现实。

2009 年俄勒冈州立法会议以一些显着的胜利结束——通过保护儿童免受骚扰的安全学校立法、所有反移民立法的失败、为学校提供资金和增加退伍军人福利的预算以及在收入方面改善税收公平– 自 1931 年以来,大公司第一次将最终支付超过 $10 的最低所得税!这些成功得到了 50 多位 ROP 成员的支持,他们始终如一地写信、打电话、发送电子邮件和传真,并给编辑写信,以确保我们的优先事项清晰明了。谢谢你,罗伯斯!

但是,尽管取得了这些来之不易的胜利,但仍有许多需求没有得到满足,并且面临着多重挑战。在我们欣赏这些成功的同时,我们必须继续呼吁我们的立法者表现出所需的骨气,尤其是在这些艰难的经济时期,尽其所能满足人类的需求,支持税收公平,保护公民自由和公民权利,并推进国内外和平。 (阅读更多 ROP 的立法总结.)

今年夏天我将错过的一件事是参与第一阶段 ROP 的人民经济运动.这项运动旨在提升民主经济的愿景,让我们人民可以为我们服务,以满足我们社区的需求。它是关于这样一种信念,即不仅另一种经济是可能的,而且我们现在生活的经济从根本上是不公正和 不民主的.它将大多数人排除在决策之外,它为少数人的利益服务,它阻止世界上的大多数人过上体面的生活,并阻止公开的信息交流和参与。

随着俄勒冈州各地的社区组织起来将他们作为个人和机构的资金从公司银行转移到对他们所服务和投资的社区更负责任的地方信用合作社和银行,我渴望了解今年夏天取得了哪些收获。迈向建设更加民主的经济的一步。如果您还没有,请签署一份 行动卡 将您与竞选联系起来,或者给 ROP 办公室打个电话,以更多地讨论转移资金的含义以及如何在您所在的城镇进行转移。

这是迈向更美好世界愿景的新步骤!

十月前尽我所能!

艾米

简体中文

“I’m off to Have a Baby!”

I’m off to have a baby!  Tomorrow, July 3rd, is the first day of my 3 month leave where I will start learning how to be a parent to my first child due July 11th.  I’m calling it my sabbatical to learn how to be a movement mama.  I feel so fortunate to be able to take this time to focus on home and family and then doubly lucky to return this October as a working mother with the support of the ROP
community.The prospect of motherhood engenders a slew of emotions and reflections about who you are and what this world we’re living in – and in our case as social change organizers – this world that we’re working to create is all about.  One of my favorite quotes is the Arundhati Roy excerpt from her 2003 speech Confronting Empire, that concludes, “Another world is not only possible, she is on her way. On a quiet day, I can hear her breathing.”  To me, right now, that is definitely a birthing metaphor.  You and I are the mid-wives supporting this new world into existence.

I’ve been learning a lot about the role of mid-wives lately as you might imagine!  One of the greatest strengths they bring along with knowledge, experience, and skills is their ability to trust and have faith in the process while also recognizing that it is incredibly hard work to give birth.  In our organizing to bring our new world into existence, we must have both faith in our vision for justice and the willingness to work hard and long to bring this vision into reality.

The 2009 Oregon Legislative Session concludes with some notable victories – passage of safe schools legislation that protects kids from harassment, the failure of all anti-immigrant legislation, a budget that funds schools and increases veterans benefits, and improvements to tax fairness on the revenue front – for the first time since 1931 large corporations will finally be paying more than $10 minimum income tax!  These successes were supported by more than 50 ROP members who consistently wrote letters, made calls, sent emails and faxes, and wrote letters to the editor to keep our priorities clear and present.  Thank you, ROPers!

But despite these hard won victories, many needs are still unmet and multiple challenges lie ahead.  While we appreciate these successes, we must continue to call on our legislators to show the backbone required, especially in these tough economic times, to do what it takes to fund human needs, support tax fairness, protect civil liberties and civil rights, and advance peace at home and abroad.   (Read more of ROP’s legislative wrap up.)

One of the things I am going to miss this summer is being part of the first phase of ROP’s People’s Economy Campaign.  This campaign is about lifting up a vision of a democratic economy that we the people can make work for us to serve the needs of our communities.  It is about the belief that not only is another economy is possible, but that the one that we live in now is fundamentally unjust and undemocratic.   It excludes the majority from decision making, it serves the interest of a small minority, it prevents the majority of the world from living with a decent standard of living, and it prevents open information exchange and participation.

I am eager to learn what gains are made this summer as communities across Oregon organize to move their money as individuals and institutions from corporate banks to local credit unions and banks that are more accountable to the communities that they serve and invest in.  This is one step towards building a more democratic economy.   If you haven’t already, sign an action card that connects you to the campaign or give the ROP office a call to talk more about what moving your money means and how to do that in your town.

Here’s to new steps towards our vision of a better world!

All my best until October!

Amy

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English